*The OFFICIAL-Men's hair grooming THREAD*

DJ Q

Re: Recommended electric shavers

Postby DJ Q » January 2nd, 2014, 3:22 pm

Can/should you use a blade more than once?

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2014, 3:30 pm

Wayz...rel hate fuh d lectric shaver in here bai :|

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2014, 3:30 pm

Wayz...rel hate fuh d lectric shaver in here bai :|

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 2nd, 2014, 3:32 pm

I use disposables from Pricemark.

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2014, 3:34 pm

So much awareness ITT

Postby maj. tom » January 2nd, 2014, 3:58 pm

DJ Q wrote:Can/should you use a blade more than once?

yeah I shave every 2 or 3 days for a week with one of those. Use the WS blades, they are so much superior. Made in Germany. Don't use that crap Minora sheit. After all the March 5 Gillette fad, and the rising prices... I just reverted back to these.

4 blades a month. Pretty cheap and a very smooth, expert shave. You really can't cut yourself with these things if you use the handle correctly with the guard. Use soap or shaving gel after a warm bath. Lather up and let it soak in for a few minutes to soften up the hair on your face.

You afraid of a scratch anyway?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 2nd, 2014, 4:14 pm

You don't "scratch" yourself with a blade.
Right now I'm using some BiC disposables. Lots of ingrown hair.

Will try this when stocks deplete.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 2nd, 2014, 4:53 pm

I normally use one of the Wahl clippers with the adapters to trim the beard. Then i use of of the Andis clipper like the one below to mark. The andis works well, almost clean shaves but it works for me.
Bought both at pennywise. BTW i still cant see how some men can get up everyday and clean shave. I too lazy for that shiet. I shave once every two days and takes less than five minutes :mrgreen:

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2014, 5:04 pm

Ent..Gimme a break wid dat "be a real man ish"

Don't get me wrong I have my razor which I use when i want that extra close clean shave...but for regular tri weekly shave my lectric works just fine.

Postby S_2NR » January 2nd, 2014, 6:22 pm

Phillips bodygroom body shaver for body.
And Gillette fusion for face.

Postby M_2NR » January 2nd, 2014, 6:38 pm

S_2NR wrote:Phillips bodygroom body shaver for body.

This.

Got one of those multigroom plus. Tried using the mini foil last night (gettin rid of der neckberd) and took a good while to get it to reasonable height. I then took <20 seconds with a Fusion blade :| and achieved better results. Mind you the blade wasn't even new.

Blade > electric
for facial

However for shaving of your head, those sensotouch's are awesome once the hair is low.

ear sharky yuh check the price on those replacement heads that "supposed" to be replaced yearly?

Postby Sky » January 2nd, 2014, 6:47 pm

3 times a week yes. Real yetis ITT.
But that's what happens when you clean shave, you need to maintain it.
My face is going under less stress with the 3mm machine business, while keeping a deadly scruff for the ladies.

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2014, 7:26 pm

M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Phillips bodygroom body shaver for body.

This.

Got one of those multigroom plus. Tried using the mini foil last night (gettin rid of der neckberd) and took a good while to get it to reasonable height. I then took <20 seconds with a Fusion blade :| and achieved better results. Mind you the blade wasn't even new.

Blade > electric
for facial

However for shaving of your head, those sensotouch's are awesome once the hair is low.

ear sharky yuh check the price on those replacement heads that "supposed" to be replaced yearly?

Yea I did. They ridiculous eh. I bought 3 more one time during black Friday sale though.

Love the close shave I get with the 3d sensotouch though, but I eh goin thru dat for the cleaning solution I makin my own.

Postby S_2NR » January 2nd, 2014, 7:36 pm

sharky, how is the electric razor on your face with ingrown hairs?
considering an electric razor for face, fedup buy gillette blades

Postby shogun » January 2nd, 2014, 7:43 pm

Found this sharky...

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2014, 7:45 pm

My blades cost $0.70TTD each.

Postby M_2NR » January 2nd, 2014, 8:40 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Yea I did. They ridiculous eh. I bought 3 more one time during black Friday sale though.

Love the close shave I get with the 3d sensotouch though, but I eh goin thru dat for the cleaning solution I makin my own.

I think (from reviews) the head interchangeable. I saw a person said he swapped a 3D on his 2D. However I almost never use mine now since I don't shave clean anymore :(

I normally tear down my 2D and wash it every use but it seems that solution helps lift any grime also.

How long you using it? It gets better and better after a while but pray the arrangement/orientation don't go off. I made that mistake and it took me a good few uses to get back in gear. I added little marker dots to make sure I don't lose the order (See pic, sorry about shitty focus)
2014-01-02-20.36.51.jpg

Postby Trini Hookah » January 2nd, 2014, 9:17 pm

silent_riot wrote:I use disposables from Pricemark.

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2014, 9:32 pm

U really tear I dong in tru :lol: I have mine close to 2 years now. It so easy I literally shave in the cat on my way to work.

Thanks for the link there shogun, I go try it.

S_2nr I doh really get ingrowns...maybe a couple once in a while. But once I slap on the after shave they doh really come.

Postby DFC » January 2nd, 2014, 9:45 pm

maj. tom wrote:

yeah I shave every 2 or 3 days for a week with one of those. Use the WS blades, they are so much superior. Made in Germany. Don't use that crap Minora sheit. After all the March 5 Gillette fad, and the rising prices... I just reverted back to these.

4 blades a month. Pretty cheap and a very smooth, expert shave. You really can't cut yourself with these things if you use the handle correctly with the guard. Use soap or shaving gel after a warm bath. Lather up and let it soak in for a few minutes to soften up the hair on your face.

Maj.tom u talking about the old safety razor (old man shaver) that uses razor blades?

I been looking for a good quality one for awhile now.

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2014, 9:48 pm

maj. tom wrote:

why you do this?

ched was goin good

Tancredi

Re: *The OFFICIAL-Men's hair grooming THREAD*

Postby Tancredi » May 10th, 2015, 1:16 am

Hello everybody! Regarding the best razors for men there are various good brands: for example “Gilette”: it can be manual or electric. Electric razor is less painful and it has more velocity; on the contrary manual razor is less noisy, it is easier to use and to repair.

amd-dude

Manly stores here? (looking for DE razor & shaving acc.)

Postby amd-dude » December 1st, 2015, 5:11 pm

Hello gents, I was wondering if you all knew of any men's stores down here. I know there is one in Trincity but I never really checked them out. Looking to get a good edwin jagger or Merkur DE razor. I can bring it in from amazon but I rather buy it here, to support the local man.

If you all know of these places, please share.

Re: Manly stores here? (looking for DE razor & shaving acc.)

Postby eliteauto » December 2nd, 2015, 8:35 am

haven't seen those locally, have you ever shaved with a safety razor before? If not, it's not like using a Gillette Sensor, it take a lot more care and time before it becomes natural and you have to shave right i.e. warm water, clean skin and let the shave gel/cream work in before you start. Those you're looking at seem hard to justify the price, save they look nice but if you're accustomed to them then it's a nice treat for yourself. If you're new to it try a handle from pennywise (I got a nice metal one there about 18 yrs ago and it still does the job) for cheap and try it before plunging for the expensive albeit beautiful one like the Merkur.

Postby AllTrac » December 2nd, 2015, 8:49 am

started using Gilette disposable razors every time a shave. A new blade every time, best decision ive ever made. I shave once a week, sometimes twice, so at most i use 6 disposable razors a month which isnt bad. For those that shave daily it might not be economical. With regards to close, clean shave, no bumps and cuts a fresh razor every time works for me.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 2nd, 2015, 8:55 am

Those Gillette disposable, the blue ones, I tried one to see how long it will last. 3 months and going. No rust. The strip still has some usage.

Wtf is this thing?

Postby goalpost » December 2nd, 2015, 9:24 am

Well when you have to shave that one hair on your chin that puberty now give you, it will last three months.

Postby AllTrac » December 2nd, 2015, 9:27 am

lmao :lol: :lol:

amd-dude

Re: Manly stores here? (looking for DE razor & shaving acc.)

Postby amd-dude » December 2nd, 2015, 10:09 am

eliteauto wrote:haven't seen those locally, have you ever shaved with a safety razor before? If not, it's not like using a Gillette Sensor, it take a lot more care and time before it becomes natural and you have to shave right i.e. warm water, clean skin and let the shave gel/cream work in before you start. Those you're looking at seem hard to justify the price, save they look nice but if you're accustomed to them then it's a nice treat for yourself. If you're new to it try a handle from pennywise (I got a nice metal one there about 18 yrs ago and it still does the job) for cheap and try it before plunging for the expensive albeit beautiful one like the Merkur.

Started a few months ago and it is way better on my skin than those mach 3 and other cartridge things. I bought a el cheapo handle from a store down here but I wanted to get something I could feel nice using now and maybe pass down. Strange enough I haven't cut/nicked myself yet. To me I was always wet shaving, that's just the way pops showed me how to, so I guess I had good habits since I started.

Looks like I'll have to order everything from the amazon river. I'll also try a blade sample pack with all the feather, shark and derby blades. Will see which works the best.

Postby eliteauto » December 2nd, 2015, 1:01 pm

well you're ready man, go treat yourself