Price of Doubles Increased

Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2015, 2:41 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I can't find anyone selling doubles for $5 in chaguanas.

on another note, I don't like fat bara at all!

Thin bara, runny channa, all the pepper/chutney, no sweet sauce 0X 0X

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 21st, 2015, 3:33 pm

firetruck boy I looking for a doubles now

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » October 21st, 2015, 3:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I can't find anyone selling doubles for $5 in chaguanas.

on another note, I don't like fat bara at all!

Fatman who does sell next to old Ramphalies grocery in Endeavour.... $5 since 2 weeks now

York

Postby York » October 21st, 2015, 4:17 pm

Doubles reach back on the doubles thread yes. Wait nah...it have ah official doubles thread before $5 ah doubles / recession time?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » October 21st, 2015, 8:53 pm

1UZFE wrote:
bluesclues wrote:as soon as i make enough money i gone live down south yes. not just for the cheap doubles. but for d in house doubles maker *ahem*cough

Wah? U goin n marry desifaglove?

:| I kno many a south chic who never cook eh so watch yuhself lol

York

Postby York » October 21st, 2015, 9:11 pm

Seems like Eurogirl knows herself. Actually had 2 doubles this afternoon, with slight & coconut chutney....really doesn't matter if was $4 or $5...was the former tho.

Postby 1UZFE » October 21st, 2015, 11:02 pm

eurogirl wrote:
1UZFE wrote:
bluesclues wrote:as soon as i make enough money i gone live down south yes. not just for the cheap doubles. but for d in house doubles maker *ahem*cough

Well played. Touche`

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2015, 6:10 am

eurogirl wrote:
1UZFE wrote:

lol nah man. the words, ' the way to a man heart is thru he belly'. have never been more true here. it kinna like 'no ring no ting'...

no foody, no marry

neexis

Postby neexis » October 22nd, 2015, 6:50 am

bluesclues wrote:lol nah man. the words, ' the way to a man heart is thru he belly'. have never been more true here. it kinna like 'no ring no ting'...

no foody, no marry

Yea.. and where you finding that nowadays?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2015, 2:13 pm

neexis wrote:
bluesclues wrote:lol nah man. the words, ' the way to a man heart is thru he belly'. have never been more true here. it kinna like 'no ring no ting'...

no foody, no marry

Yea.. and where you finding that nowadays?

wouldnt we all like to know? i was thinkin chances would be good down penal side.

Postby De Dragon » October 23rd, 2015, 12:42 pm

Not affected since I eat doubles very rarely. If people cannot adjust to something simple like this then we're really in a mess.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 23rd, 2015, 12:45 pm

Doesn't matter if the price raised

Postby Slartibartfast » October 23rd, 2015, 1:22 pm

I still find it funny that I have not seen anywhere selling the $5.00 doubles as yet. Everywhere I went they still sell it for $4.00 but there are less customers because of the boycotting. The fact that the people I go by keeping the lower price despite dealing with the consequences of a spiteful few means that I would continue to patronise them. In fact, even though I started off on the other side of this argument, I actually wouldn't mind paying $5 for doubles. Better that than $35 gyros that seem to be raising by $5 every year. 8 years ago when gyros was now becoming a thing they used to sell for $17 to $18 when doubles was selling for $3. Doubles increase by $1 while theirs increased by $20. Same goes for a lot of roadside burgers as well.

I still going cutting back on doubles though... cuz regardless of the price, it still not healthy.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2015, 2:25 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I still find it funny that I have not seen anywhere selling the $5.00 doubles as yet. Everywhere I went they still sell it for $4.00 but there are less customers because of the boycotting. The fact that the people I go by keeping the lower price despite dealing with the consequences of a spiteful few means that I would continue to patronise them. In fact, even though I started off on the other side of this argument, I actually wouldn't mind paying $5 for doubles. Better that than $35 gyros that seem to be raising by $5 every year. 8 years ago when gyros was now becoming a thing they used to sell for $17 to $18 when doubles was selling for $3. Doubles increase by $1 while theirs increased by $20. Same goes for a lot of roadside burgers as well.

I still going cutting back on doubles though... cuz regardless of the price, it still not healthy.

But a $1 dollar increase on a $3 is 33%
And I dunno where you buy gyros but everywhere I buy (Curepe and Avenue) are still $30 and used to be $25 when doubles was $3. So Gyros have gone up by 20% and doubles by 33% from the vendors I use.

Postby zoom rader » October 23rd, 2015, 2:56 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I still find it funny that I have not seen anywhere selling the $5.00 doubles as yet. Everywhere I went they still sell it for $4.00 but there are less customers because of the boycotting. The fact that the people I go by keeping the lower price despite dealing with the consequences of a spiteful few means that I would continue to patronise them. In fact, even though I started off on the other side of this argument, I actually wouldn't mind paying $5 for doubles. Better that than $35 gyros that seem to be raising by $5 every year. 8 years ago when gyros was now becoming a thing they used to sell for $17 to $18 when doubles was selling for $3. Doubles increase by $1 while theirs increased by $20. Same goes for a lot of roadside burgers as well.

That's because it was a rumor spreaded by the PNM radio stations to stir up anti indo sentiments

Postby Slartibartfast » October 23rd, 2015, 3:53 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:But a $1 dollar increase on a $3 is 33%
And I dunno where you buy gyros but everywhere I buy (Curepe and Avenue) are still $30 and used to be $25 when doubles was $3. So Gyros have gone up by 20% and doubles by 33% from the vendors I use.

First time I had Gyros was in the Arabic place in Trincity mall back in 2007. I remember because I went to lime there after some exams and it was $17 at the time. Flash forward to 2009 I used to buy from curepe in front of Wu's chinese restaurant (just opposite Grand Central pool hall) and it was $25 normal and $30 with double meat. I didn't buy on the avenue for the past couple years but I paid $30 for it back in about 2013. Now I buy from the place in Medford and end up paying $35-$40 for one... Come to think of it I think a normal gyro could be about $30 but those too small to fill me. Anyway, still way more expensive than doubles.

I guess I had a different experience to you... it happens. I still find gyros are overpriced but that's beside the point. I just find it funny that even though there was a comparable increase in price, I heard absolutely no complaints from anyone.

zoom rader wrote:That's because it was a rumor spreaded by the PNM radio stations to stir up anti indo sentiments
Zoom we get it. You are racist against black people and enjoy long walks gazing at the stars with your head in Uranus. Go play with your crayons somewhere else. Big peepul talkin.

Postby Morpheus » October 23rd, 2015, 5:59 pm

LoL. Truly obnoxious for no reason......

Postby Habit7 » October 23rd, 2015, 7:32 pm

Food prices increase by 34% in five years....

Nadaleen Singh
Published: Thursday, October 22, 2015

Prices in the Business Guardian’s Food Basket increased by 34 per cent between October 2010 and this month, October 2015. Examining the basket of items measured during the period September 2004, August 2010, October 2010 as well as October 2015 overall, food prices have increased. Business Guardian’s total food basket—which was done at Massy Stores (then HiLo) in October 2010 was $228.44 compared to 2015 where it moved to $306.62; a climb of 34 per cent.

According to the Index of Retail Prices in the Central Bank’s data centre, food prices increased by 61.6 per cent between October 2010 and August 2015, the most up-to-date entry on the institution’s Web site. Looking at the Business Guardian’s list, basic bread and cheese, bread increased by 21.4 per cent and cheese by 19 per cent compared with October 2010. The price of lentils has remained the same though.

Now that the national budget has been presented, many consumers would be looking for ways in which they can make adjustments to their personal budgets. Measuring the affordability of food would be a priority for consumers, especially as Minister of Finance Colm Imbert said VAT would be decreased to 12.5 per cent from 15 per cent, but with indications that the Government intends to reverse VAT exemptions and zero-rated goods.

Addressing the issue of food, Imbert said: “I propose to improve efficiency in collection to broaden the base by reviewing and adjusting exemptions and zero-rated items which are associated with non-essential or luxury items, and which are not critically important to the livelihoods and basic cost of living of our citizens.....I propose to reduce the value added tax rate from 15 per cent to 12.5 per cent.”

In 2012, the People’s Partnership government had removed VAT from 7,000 items in order to ease consumers from food inflation. A statement from the Ministry of Trade, at that time, had indicated: “Determination of the final list of items was a very complex process which involved careful, detailed and collaborative review of the food items in common use by the majority of our local households, utilising a comprehensive list provided to the ministry by industry stakeholders.”

On July 25, former Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar as an Eid-ul-Fitr/Emancipation gift had announced a 20 per cent discount on selected brands of flour, rice and oil in time for those holiday that year. The gift applied for the period July 26 and August 1.

She said: “This initiative forms part of the temporary stop gap measure to allow for ease of living while the Government actively pursue measures to ensure our food security.”

Over several years, two administrations have put measures in place to deal with the rising food prices but nothing can stop the dynamics in the global environment impacting on the final price of food.

Price versus preference

Would shopping for fresh produce in a market versus shopping in a supermarket make much of a difference when it comes to prices?

Not many professionals have the time to go from place to place to shop for produce so they bite the bullet and pay the supermarket price. With extra packaging around the fresh produce and the convenience of a supermarket, the consumer would more than likely have to pay more for their product.

The taste patterns of consumers for imported produce versus local produce would be another factor which would increase any consumer’s grocery bill. The greater the demand for imported produce the higher T&T’s overall food import bill would be. This, in turn, would impact on other aspects of T&T’s economy. One area specifically is foreign exchange.

During its post-budget seminar, the T&T Manufacturers’ Association addressed the issue of foreign exchange. Economist Dr Ronald Ramkissoon indicated that the taste patterns of consumers was contributing to the gobbling up of foreign exchange in T&T, as he had urged consumers to buy local.

Competition is expected to increase in the local food manufacturing sector as consumers look for substitutes and try to walk away from luxury goods, all for a good price.

It’s clear that in order to cope with food inflation, consumers may demand substitute products. Luxury goods would have to be omitted from the grocery list.

Another aspect of food is take-away or fast food such as doubles where some vendors have increased to $5.00 saying that they were justified in the increase because they would have to pay increased costs for gas.

In the case of the Sunday morning diet of doubles and pie, would that routine continue or would consumers see this as a luxury delicacy?

Would doubles become a single given the price increase meted out by some vendors?

Only time will tell.

Imbert is scheduled to have a mid-term budget and perhaps a re-think of spending on a national level might provoke a re-think of spending by consumers.

Then there are the other aspects for consumers, especially consumers who use public transport. The maxi-taxi fares for the Arima to Port-of-Spain route remained at $7 but the Chaguanas to Curepe has increased to $8. How much the consumer is willing to bear is likely to impact how much they are willing to boycott certain brands and discard certain traits in their taste patterns.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... five-years

Postby zoom rader » October 24th, 2015, 3:51 am

^^^ That's smoke, wait till PNM start bussing level tax in their real budget

Postby nervewrecker » October 24th, 2015, 2:39 pm

Doubles in santa flora opposite the gas station gone up to $4.00

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2015, 2:46 am

nervewrecker wrote:Doubles in santa flora opposite the gas station gone up to $4.00

Men don't even know where that is.
Jah bless Los Bajos, it have some banging babes

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 25th, 2015, 7:12 am

Nutritional facts of a doubles?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 25th, 2015, 7:29 am

Depends on the doubles but typically around 200-300 calories with 3-5 grams of protein.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 25th, 2015, 10:31 am

what about saheena? less calories I would imagine.
I had 3 saheena and 1 doubles this morning plus 2 bobby and a small pack of chocolate biscuit.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 25th, 2015, 10:34 am

Lol no way there's almost 10grams of protein in doubles.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 25th, 2015, 11:24 am

Daran wrote:Lol no way there's almost 10grams of protein in doubles.

Channa is fairly high protein source for a non meat source.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 25th, 2015, 12:14 pm

they also using non cholestoral oil and flour lol

Daran

Postby Daran » October 25th, 2015, 12:25 pm

I agree, I live on channa. But to get 10 grams of protein you need about 50 grams of dry channa.

Most times when buy a doubles you get 10 to 20 grains of channa, trust me that isn't close to 50 grams.

Postby SMc » October 25th, 2015, 2:26 pm

Daran wrote:

I agree, I live on channa. But to get 10 grams of protein you need about 50 grams of dry channa.

Most times when buy a doubles you get 10 to 20 grains of channa, trust me that isn't close to 50 grams.

How protein in a gram of cockroach foot?

konartis

Postby konartis » October 25th, 2015, 2:43 pm

Bacchanal by the doubles man this morning a Nagger came and demanded a doubles, bypassed the line up...the woman give him, the skunt eat it out, then start to complain...ohh, so much channa, too much pepper, the paper mess up and one set ah mudda skunt...so he cuss...say he ent paying and walk off....why all them type so boi?? Stupes...