2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Re: 2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2015, 10:05 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pete wrote:They may want to do corporate tax collection but how do you get doubles vendors to register?

Do we move towards the way it's done in the US where all street vendors must have a license, be tax registered and file taxes every year?

Should all business down to the parlor on the side of the road do this as well? Can we crack down on those places with no parking that disrupt the flow of traffic too?

No tax return, no food badge.
No food badge and caught selling food = big fine.

Tax evasion is a serious thing and although doubles/food businesses are a dread hustle, we all have to work hard and pay our taxes. Why should some folks be illegally exempt?
Doh let them fool you, you ever see their 'other' cars or houses?

This ....

Doubles Vendors
Nuts men
Side walk vendors
Fruit stalls

People working outside of the country....OIL/GAS workers....

We need to regulate and enforce compliance.

Postby pete » October 8th, 2015, 10:18 am

Food badge should be separate.

Just an example of how its done in Florida:

http://smallbusiness.chron.com/informat ... 12139.html

http://smallbusiness.chron.com/vendors- ... 12401.html

Postby j.o.e » October 8th, 2015, 10:34 am

1UZFE wrote:
j.o.e wrote:I am NOT buying $5 doubles.

This..
But do u still buy kfc???

I barely buy KFC if I've bought once for the year so far that's plenty. That's unrelated to price .... I just don't buy it. I'm not really even cognizant of the price change.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 10:38 am

Redman wrote:
Daran wrote:Jeez taxing small businesses is the exact opposite of what we should be doing. They can be regulated, but any tax more than 5% will result in drastic inflation.

Rasc please express these same vociferous complaints next time any big business raises their prices ok. At least doubles men were honest about why they raised the cost.

Well when doubles vendors pay rent,NIS,Income tax,Green fund business levy and solid wages ....then they deserve protection....

Until then they are abusing the system while enjoying the benefits of other peoples tax dollars.

How does a 15% increase in FUEL cause a 20% increase in cost of a STATIC FRIGGIN BUSINESS???

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 10:38 am

hops bread is $1 for one....when they going to tax doctors who see 20 patients daily for $100 ea? do they pay taxes? are their businesses registered? and who paid for their education?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 10:42 am

Are you all f*cking nuts? You really want to TAX SMALL BUSINESS? The very force that drives and stimulates the economy, that earns back revenue via VAT commerce?

D f*ck i does be hearing.

If you looking to tackle tax evasion, tackle the landlords, charities, churches, money laundering fronts, tax evasion, off-shore accounts, hell throw in lessons teachers, private practice doctors, lawyers, laborers, carpenters, plumbers, many of whom lower the price if you pay in cash.

Postby 1UZFE » October 8th, 2015, 10:44 am

York wrote:hops bread is $1 for one....when they going to tax doctors who see 20 patients daily for $100 ea? do they pay taxes? are their businesses registered? and who paid for their education?

Please put d addy of the dr who sees patients for $100...

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2015, 10:45 am

Daran wrote:...

If you looking to tackle tax evasion, tackle the landlords, charities, churches, money laundering fronts, tax evasion, off-shore accounts, hell throw in lessons teachers, private practice doctors, lawyers, laborers, carpenters, plumbers, many of whom lower the price if you pay in cash.

Agreed.
My point was not targeted to small businesses only, but the folks who do not pay PAYE, but ride the back of the system funded by everyone else.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 8th, 2015, 10:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Tax evasion is a serious thing and although doubles/food businesses are a dread hustle, we all have to work hard and pay our taxes. Why should some folks be illegally exempt?
Doh let them fool you, you ever see their 'other' cars or houses?

You studying doubles vendors.
What about private doctors?

Most don't accept Linx/Credit Card/Cheque and don't give receipts so no paper trail. They don't even need to bank that money but keep it in a safe or deposit box and spend cash for most things.

They make many thousands per day. I doubt they are declaring now much money they make.

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2015, 10:53 am

Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:
Daran wrote:Jeez taxing small businesses is the exact opposite of what we should be doing. They can be regulated, but any tax more than 5% will result in drastic inflation.

Rasc please express these same vociferous complaints next time any big business raises their prices ok. At least doubles men were honest about why they raised the cost.

Well when doubles vendors pay rent,NIS,Income tax,Green fund business levy and solid wages ....then they deserve protection....

Until then they are abusing the system while enjoying the benefits of other peoples tax dollars.

How does a 15% increase in FUEL cause a 20% increase in cost of a STATIC FRIGGIN BUSINESS???

Your argument would be valid ....if doubles vendors were paying for ALL their inputs...Union members pay taxes and contribute statutorily....

We ALL obligated to pay our due......taxation does not have to be oppressive....you are generalizing by using the term small business...conflating 2 separate issues...

I used to run a business that a doubles man set him self up next to....to benefit from my traffic.

Regardless of the fact that he paid no rent no electric/wasa rates no maintenance,no insurance/work mans comp
....I had to...and his customers would obstruct my business.....by parking and stopping on my property....

Now I didnt have an issue with it really...Im a doubles HO.....but we want an equal treatment of ALL small businesses.
Not just the demographic that you like.

The benefits of the small business sector are derived from the revenue generated through their activity and their tax contribution to the social network....

The use the hospitals,buy subsidized fuels,the roads etc....we ALL have to contribute

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 10:57 am

Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:

it is said that Economists can never predict what will happen in the future but are great at explaining the past...charts and all!

Postby 16 cycles » October 8th, 2015, 11:01 am

fishermen is pay tax?

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 11:08 am

Daran,

wouldn't it be fairer if PAYE was 0% and VAT was say 35% for all? that way the doctors, doubles men, mechanics, straightener, etc would all pay their fair share like the rest of us who are double taxed to ensure that they have hospitals, national security, education, etc all paid for with our tax dollars?

damn if i had no PAYE taken from my salary i would pay $10 per doubles!

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 11:09 am

Redman wrote:
Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:

Your argument would be valid ....if doubles vendors were paying for ALL their inputs...Union members pay taxes and contribute statutorily....

We ALL obligated to pay our due......taxation does not have to be oppressive....you are generalizing by using the term small business...conflating 2 separate issues...

I used to run a business that a doubles man set him self up next to....to benefit from my traffic.

Regardless of the fact that he paid no rent no electric/wasa rates no maintenance,no insurance/work mans comp
....I had to...and his customers would obstruct my business.....by parking and stopping on my property....

Now I didnt have an issue with it really...Im a doubles HO.....but we want an equal treatment of ALL small businesses.

The benefits of the small business sector are derived from the revenue generated through their activity and their tax contribution to the social network....

The use the hospitals,buy subsidized fuels,the roads etc....we ALL have to contribute

Redman, the economy allows for this. Sole Traders earning less than $500k per anum do not pay income tax or VAT. That is by design, and in fact probably should be increased.

In any economy you want to stimulate private sector activity which has down stream benefits. Don't doubles men pay VAT on their everyday purchases. Remember their profits are their salary, and they too have families, groceries etc to buy.

The public outcry for this is unjustified. Doubles vending isn't easy, if you making it, it's laborious and dangerous (ask any doubles men how much burns they have).

Listen, Doubles men can charge whatever the f*ck they want. The market (consumers) will determine if that price is justified. Y'all acting like doubles is an inelastic good or like it have some doubles monopoly in Trinidad.

Also, where is the outcry in bmoblie increasing rates? Why kick up so for doubles?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 11:14 am

York wrote:Daran,

wouldn't it be fairer if PAYE was 0% and VAT was say 35% for all? that way the doctors, doubles men, mechanics, straightener, etc would all pay their fair share like the rest of us who are double taxed to ensure that they have hospitals, national security, education, etc all paid for with our tax dollars?

damn if i had no PAYE taken from my salary i would pay $10 per doubles!

I would prefer that honestly, but that would lead to everyone shopping away or bribing customs to dodge VAT.

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2015, 11:20 am

Not all doubles men are increasing.....

A bottle water in a grocery is $1
By a parlour.its $3
On the highway or a roadside vendor its $5

In subway or rituals its $5 or $10......

Prices vary all over.......

A pvc fitting in bhagwansingh is 90 cents......$4 dollars in other hardwares....

Doubles isnt air or water....yuh doh need it. Whoever want to buy it will buy it.

A lil bread and chicken with some sauce and lettuce is $25 to $30.....

Up to the consumer if they willing to pay. Two doubles and a water still faster and cheaper than most other fast food options for breakfast

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 8th, 2015, 11:26 am

Where is this paltoo ..

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 8th, 2015, 11:35 am

Image[/quote]

Excluding the price of gas...the statement in red assumes the following:

1. The amt of channa, bara and ingredients in each doubles sold remained constant.

2. The cost (and quality) of raw materials hasn't changed.
Last edited by Miktay on October 8th, 2015, 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 11:36 am

Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:
Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:

Redman, the economy allows for this. Sole Traders earning less than $500k per anum do not pay income tax or VAT. That is by design, and in fact probably should be increased.

In any economy you want to stimulate private sector activity which has down stream benefits. Don't doubles men pay VAT on their everyday purchases. Remember their profits are their salary, and they too have families, groceries etc to buy.

The public outcry for this is unjustified. Doubles vending isn't easy, if you making it, it's laborious and dangerous (ask any doubles men how much burns they have).

Listen, Doubles men can charge whatever the f*ck they want. The market (consumers) will determine if that price is justified. Y'all acting like doubles is an inelastic good or like it have some doubles monopoly in Trinidad.

Also, where is the outcry in bmoblie increasing rates? Why kick up so for doubles?

there is merit in what he is saying here. the good doubles vendors have 3-5 persons working with the van selling for the day. so their income / profit is for those 3-5 persons. if they sell 1000 doubles, that's $5000 per day to pay for cost of materials and gas, say $1000? then $2000 salary for workers, so $2000 profit per day with no other taxes to pay. $40000+ tax free per month, $10000 expenses...so $30000 in the bank per month.

corrections welcome Daran...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 8th, 2015, 11:47 am

York wrote:hops bread is $1 for one....when they going to tax doctors who see 20 patients daily for $100 ea? do they pay taxes? are their businesses registered? and who paid for their education?

No wonder that doctor dodging taxes, he not getting paid enough ... recommended consultation fee's for a family practitioner is $300-$500.

Also not all doctors went to UWI and and had tax payers shell out for their education.

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 11:54 am

drchaos wrote:

No wonder that doctor dodging taxes, he not getting paid enough ... recommended consultation fee's for a family practitioner is $300-$500.

Also not all doctors went to UWI and and had tax payers shell out for their education.
dr chaos, yuh is a madman or what? $300-500 is specialist fee. normal GP is much less$100-150. Insurance companies pay $80-100 back for a doctor visit i believe.

high lawyer and doctor fees are the benchmark of the normal corrupt democratic capitalist society...

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 8th, 2015, 12:01 pm

York wrote:
drchaos wrote:

dr chaos, yuh is a madman or what? $300-500 is specialist fee. normal GP is much less$100-150. Insurance companies pay $80-100 back for a doctor visit i believe.

high lawyer and doctor fees are the benchmark of the normal corrupt democratic capitalist society...

Itz the Cartels.

The Medical Cartel...and the Legal Cartel.

York

Postby York » October 8th, 2015, 12:14 pm

yes i know but they are slaves to their profession.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 8th, 2015, 12:17 pm

York wrote:yes i know but they are slaves to their profession.

It have all kina slave.

House slave or field slave?

Postby teems1 » October 8th, 2015, 12:25 pm

I can't remember when last it was 100 for a doctor's visit.

I think it's around 140-150 now.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 12:37 pm

Daran wrote:

Say what ? Isnt personal income tax anything over 60,000 a year. And VAT is payable anyone earning more than 200,000 a year.

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2015, 12:41 pm

Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:
Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:

CW,tstt,bmobile..isn't doubles......doubles is ting to fight for.

Between this and the rapid rail...I ready fuh kamla2020.(over proof) :D

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 8th, 2015, 12:41 pm

York wrote:
drchaos wrote:

You do realize that a GP is a specialist? GP's/Family Practitioners undergo post graduate training just like surgeons and internal medicine specialists. Takes 4 years post grad to train GP's after medical school and internship

The doctors that charging you guys 100 are probably people with little to no experience, as any doctor who finishes internship (1 year) can open a private practice. Technically this should not be allowed and is probably dangerous but there is no law to stop it.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 12:42 pm

York wrote:there is merit in what he is saying here. the good doubles vendors have 3-5 persons working with the van selling for the day. so their income / profit is for those 3-5 persons. if they sell 1000 doubles, that's $5000 per day to pay for cost of materials and gas, say $1000? then $2000 salary for workers, so $2000 profit per day with no other taxes to pay. $40000+ tax free per month, $10000 expenses...so $30000 in the bank per month.

corrections welcome Daran...

So 67% profit ? That is extraordinarily high.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 12:43 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:

Say what ? Isnt personal income tax anything over 60,000 a year. And VAT is payable anyone earning more than 200,000 a year.

I meant VAT, and is it 200k or 500k...i could be wrong on that figure.