.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

cheese

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby cheese » May 26th, 2014, 3:34 pm

PariaMan wrote:I can only speak of what I heard directly from the horses mouth and i quote

"It has never been so bad much much worse under the PP. Ministers asking for 15% upfront"

This contractor is in the construction field from side walk to buildings.

Your information comes from one contractor only and we are supposed to believe this? What about the other well established contractors? What do they have to say?

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 26th, 2014, 3:36 pm

Politics of the old day dictates that you get into power by criticising the other party. We the non - tribal voters want to hear about our leaders telling us what they are going to do to improve our standard of living.

Corruption is a major problem in T&T and has been since 1956 and even before that under our colonial masters (Re: hollis dam). How can I say that Rowley will be any better than the current regime if he has no stance on procurement legislation and allows private sector groups to do his work? Why did he not kick up a fuss that under this new legislation, state companies and govt to govt contracts would be excluded. What is my rationalisation for this matter? Clearly he is a man waiting to get in govt to get to our treasury? I can draw my conclusion(s) and you, yours.

I see the PP doing something about corruption. What is the PNM's stance on procurement legislation? So far I am seeing by their actions they are neither for or against it. Am I to garner from this that they are happy to continue with the CTB Act which is just a carousel for corruption regardless of what party is in power?

I want to hear about what they are going to do to prevent corruption and the other ills affecting our nation but if a party has no stance on an issue all I can go on is past deeds and the fact that they are more than happy to continue with business as usual. History dictates that those who do not know it are doomed to repeat it.

Talk is also very cheap. Look at any political party's manifesto and see how many of their objectives are completed and the ones they actually attempt usually end in a commission of enquiry.

Here we have an opportunity to stamp out corruption in this land. I wait to see what happens, the ball is in the court of the PP. The eyes of the swing voters are on them. Their re-election will hinge largely on this.

If what you say of the opposition is true then it seems that the private sector interest groups are our opposition. As they seem to be fighting for what is right and what is in the best interest of our nation while the opposition sits and does nothing. This tells me they are nothing more than the other side of the same coin which they despise so vehemently.

machete

Postby machete » May 26th, 2014, 3:50 pm

cheese wrote:
PariaMan wrote:I can only speak of what I heard directly from the horses mouth and i quote

"It has never been so bad much much worse under the PP. Ministers asking for 15% upfront"

Your information comes from one contractor only and we are supposed to believe this? What about the other well established contractors? What do they have to say?

The well established contractors play on both sides.

The ones most disadvantaged are the PNMite contractors who after years of easy money, now have to play ketch a$$ because the indo PP contractors doing the jobs cheaper (easiest way to win tenders at this level).

Let me share a story of how the PP has made it much more fair for entrepreneurs.

In 2005 my wife formed a small media company doing branding, graphics, video and photography. Under PNM, millions were spent on 'selective tenders' where she was never invited despite sending in numerous requests to be part of tenders. She went through all the channels to get registered in the Ministry of Tourism. After 2 years of being registered she was never invited to any tender, but we both saw huge million dollar contracts being awarded to several 'overnight' Media companies.

These companies were owned by people of the West with the majority outsourcing their work to Indians (from india).

Since PP came into power, public tendering for these types of works has increased exponentially allowing her and many other talented local companies (who used local labour not indians) to get opportunities never offered to them.

PNM corruption was more dangerous and more secretive. PP is more blatant with it (honestly), but IMO their flavour of it is actually more transparent.

Voters will have to decide between the lesser of two evils, but as far as I'm concerned, PP has more than delivered on their actual performance and deserve another 6 years in power. If corruption gets worse or they start doing sh*t like PNM, then I will vote PNM in 2020. As for now, PP is by far a better option.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 3:53 pm

cheese wrote:

I have heard it from more than one contractor. Do you want me to quote exact words from each contractor?

All of them are saying the same thing.

These guys need to live and those who can are paying up in order to do so!

They will not complain publicly because they are making money.

Those who cannot pay are also not complaining because they are afraid of the results of such complaints.

The problem is that the PP is in fact creating a climate where corruption is now the standard way of doing business.

This is very dangerous and will lead us down a dark and very dangerous road.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 26th, 2014, 4:07 pm

I quote

"PNM corruption was more dangerous and more secretive. PP is more blatant with it (honestly), but IMO their flavour of it is actually more transparent.

Voters will have to decide between the lesser of two evils, but as far as I'm concerned, PP has more than delivered on their actual performance and deserve another 6 years in power. If corruption gets worse or they start doing sh*t like PNM, then I will vote PNM in 2020. As for now, PP is by far a better option."

So are you going to blame the PNM till infinity for what happened under Manning?

In the same way I did not blame KPB for what happened under Panday's regime and I therefore actually voted for her.

What I got was a series of scandals from Reshmie to the fire truct , section 34, the freeing of ISH, prison gate, and Anil.

I cannot in good conscience put her back.

In the same way I did not blame KPB fir Panday I will not blame Rowley for Manning.

I am willing to give Rowley a chance with a mandate to stop the scandals and the corruption!

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 26th, 2014, 4:11 pm

Rowley has an opportunity to stop corruption in this gov't now and future govts with the procurement legislation. Why doesn't he do something now?

Like support the legislation. I discussed the PNM's stance on this at great length. All yuh fellas aint serious about corruption. All yuh like it so.

Postby desifemlove » May 26th, 2014, 4:21 pm

machete wrote:It's actually the minority who supports the PNM, the majority are all still PP supporters.

In fact, while PP will obviously have lost some support, I've heard many people who either voted PNM or didn't vote last election, now fully support PP.

I heard an old gentlemen (afro trini) yesterday saying that he has never seen so much progress in Trinidad as what he observed over the last 4 years. He said he felt ashamed to support the PNM that squandered our wealth so badly. (this story is 100% true. I doubt he is alone.

What many don't realize is that while many bad talk the government, they don't want back the PNM, especially under Rowley. Penelope actually had a much better chance at the generals than Rowley simply because he WILL NOT garner the undecided voters due to this personality, looks (no shame in saying this, it matters a lot politically whether we want to confront it or not) and lack of new blood and vision.

Out of that 450+ PP got last election, expect ~400K to vote PP again...PNM will get about 315K and a max of 15 seats

hehe...so he too dark? hahaha..

And personality? how? Have you ever met him? you know he?

PP got 400,000 votes due to Tobago and north Trinidad voting for dey. Yuh tink they will keep all dey seats in these areas, when they're ex-PNM and not natural UNC seats?

machete

Postby machete » May 26th, 2014, 4:31 pm

desifemlove wrote:
machete wrote:It's actually the minority who supports the PNM, the majority are all still PP supporters.

In fact, while PP will obviously have lost some support, I've heard many people who either voted PNM or didn't vote last election, now fully support PP.

I heard an old gentlemen (afro trini) yesterday saying that he has never seen so much progress in Trinidad as what he observed over the last 4 years. He said he felt ashamed to support the PNM that squandered our wealth so badly. (this story is 100% true. I doubt he is alone.

What many don't realize is that while many bad talk the government, they don't want back the PNM, especially under Rowley. Penelope actually had a much better chance at the generals than Rowley simply because he WILL NOT garner the undecided voters due to this personality, looks (no shame in saying this, it matters a lot politically whether we want to confront it or not) and lack of new blood and vision.

Out of that 450+ PP got last election, expect ~400K to vote PP again...PNM will get about 315K and a max of 15 seats

PP got 400,000 votes due to Tobago and north Trinidad voting for dey. Yuh tink they will keep all dey seats in these areas, when they're ex-PNM and not natural UNC seats?

Actually I have met Rowley and conversed with him 3 times over the last 2 years. He's a nicer fellow than you'd expect. However, he isn't open minded, he's being controlled by Indian Drug Lords (FACT) and the persons involved with the PNM minus a handful (Colm, Avery, Penelope and a few others) are lacking intellectually. PP on the other hand will always win my vote with people like Bhoe, Dookeran, Prakash, Howai and Kamla herself (extremely smart person you'd see if you ever met her).

PP got 450K votes and Tobago account for a very small portion of these youngman. Those areas in north Trinidad that you mention will be voting for PP again. Have you seen how this government has taken care of those areas with roads, water, internet etc?

PP will win, it's inevitable and it's the best we got right now until PNM rebrands itself properly.

Postby j.o.e » May 26th, 2014, 4:32 pm

yup , I have also heard contractors complaining about requests for bribes and directives over who they MUST get their aggregate etc from regardless of price.

Postby 1UZFE » May 26th, 2014, 5:21 pm

Pene had a better chance of winning the next GE than Rowlie.
Mites voted on their education level n ended up with dat.

Postby pete » May 26th, 2014, 5:32 pm

So how these contractors pay the ministers these bribes? Why after they get their money they don't go to the media? Why no reports in the papers of an alleged minister taking bribes for certain projects?

Postby desifemlove » May 26th, 2014, 5:37 pm

pioneer wrote:Nah   

:lol: :lol: :lol: so UNC gonna get people from Beetham or Morvant to cut grass in Couva, if dais local people wit no job and no skills?

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 26th, 2014, 5:39 pm

pete wrote:So how these contractors pay the ministers these bribes? Why after they get their money they don't go to the media? Why no reports in the papers of an alleged minister taking bribes for certain projects?

Them fellas love the corruption. If pnm was in power them woulda be eating ah food but seeing as the pnm not in power and they cah eat ah food they vex. They want rowley back in power so things could go on as they used to.

Ask them about procurement legislation and they leave the thread but kill them dead the PP is the most corrupt thing ever and they need the pnm back.

Their solution to PP corruption is the PNM, not procurement legislation, b/c that would mean they would have to earn an honest living like the rest of us tax paying fools.

Postby rfari » May 26th, 2014, 5:42 pm

SiR8081 wrote:
pete wrote:So how these contractors pay the ministers these bribes? Why after they get their money they don't go to the media? Why no reports in the papers of an alleged minister taking bribes for certain projects?

Them fellas love the corruption. If pnm was in power them woulda be eating ah food but seeing as the pnm not in power and they cah eat ah food they vex. They want rowley back in power so things could go on as they used to.

Ask them about procurement legislation and they leave the thread but kill them dead the PP is the most corrupt thing ever and they need the pnm back.

Their solution to PP corruption is the PNM, not procurement legislation, b/c that would mean they would have to earn an honest living like the rest of us tax paying fools.

seems like u obsessed with this phrase 'procurement legislation'. where can i get a copy of the draft bill. lemme ketch that feeling that you feelin. post it here

Postby desifemlove » May 26th, 2014, 5:48 pm

machete wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Actually I have met Rowley and conversed with him 3 times over the last 2 years. He's a nicer fellow than you'd expect. However, he isn't open minded, he's being controlled by Indian Drug Lords (FACT) and the persons involved with the PNM minus a handful (Colm, Avery, Penelope and a few others) are lacking intellectually. PP on the other hand will always win my vote with people like Bhoe, Dookeran, Prakash, Howai and Kamla herself (extremely smart person you'd see if you ever met her).

PP got 450K votes and Tobago account for a very small portion of these youngman. Those areas in north Trinidad that you mention will be voting for PP again. Have you seen how this government has taken care of those areas with roads, water, internet etc?

PP will win, it's inevitable and it's the best we got right now until PNM rebrands itself properly.

I does live in north.

And in my objective/unbiased opinion, north ent changed much in 2010. places doh get water all the time...roads mash up, etc. yes, UNC build community centres and roads, bridges, but I can't see much improvement vis a vis PNM times. Arima, Puna, Curepe, San Juan, town and Diego all looking the same as they did pre-2010 to me. not much major changes in infrastructure. I tink based on 2013 results, and many north seats is marginal, PP will lose most of them. They'll keep Prakash seat, maybe Dooks (if he going back up, I doubt in honesty de man old now) and maybe Dr. Khan, and at an absolute stretch St. Joseph (if ILP run again, vote split).

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 26th, 2014, 6:09 pm

rfari wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:

seems like u obsessed with this phrase 'procurement legislation'. where can i get a copy of the draft bill. lemme ketch that feeling that you feelin. post it here

http://www.ttparliament.org/documents/2134.pdf

http://www.jcc.org.tt/policy.htm

http://www.ttparliament.org/publication ... =28&id=688

The bill under clause 7 says that govt to govt contracts and special purpose state companies do not fall under the ambit of this legislation, this clause has been agreed to be deleted. If it is not, the legislation is a woft.

Postby rfari » May 26th, 2014, 7:18 pm

SiR8081 wrote:
rfari wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:

http://www.ttparliament.org/documents/2134.pdf

http://www.jcc.org.tt/policy.htm

http://www.ttparliament.org/publication ... =28&id=688

The bill under clause 7 says that govt to govt contracts and special purpose state companies do not fall under the ambit of this legislation, this clause has been agreed to be deleted. If it is not, the legislation is a woft.

knowing this govt's track record, i wouldnt be surprised if the clause is include as a subsection and excluded just before promulgation a la section 34
at a glance, hope these issues are discussed when debated

sec 58(4), why is the minister (of finance) given the power to manually remove blacklisted suppliers? in essence, he/she has veto powers. no?

similarly with sec 38(1) wrt to electronic public procurement, why not make provisions for the office of procurement regulations to make provisions for it? why not specify a timeframe for mandatory implementation? why give the finance minister the authority to roll the ball to its implementation?

sec 10(1), wrt the composition of the board, the only persons that it appears to be mandatory to stand up to academic and professional career rigour is the procurement regulator (degree in finance, economics, law or professional equivalent in accounting(lulz) and 10 years min experience in procurement). for everyone else there isnt a specification of chartership, professional membership or years of experience.

Postby pete » May 26th, 2014, 8:45 pm

Lol a man say Diego Martin is no different to before 2010 there?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » May 26th, 2014, 9:06 pm

machete wrote:
cheese wrote:

The well established contractors play on both sides.

The ones most disadvantaged are the PNMite contractors who after years of easy money, now have to play ketch a$$ because the indo PP contractors doing the jobs cheaper (easiest way to win tenders at this level).

Let me share a story of how the PP has made it much more fair for entrepreneurs.

In 2005 my wife formed a small media company doing branding, graphics, video and photography. Under PNM, millions were spent on 'selective tenders' where she was never invited despite sending in numerous requests to be part of tenders. She went through all the channels to get registered in the Ministry of Tourism. After 2 years of being registered she was never invited to any tender, but we both saw huge million dollar contracts being awarded to several 'overnight' Media companies.

These companies were owned by people of the West with the majority outsourcing their work to Indians (from india).

Since PP came into power, public tendering for these types of works has increased exponentially allowing her and many other talented local companies (who used local labour not indians) to get opportunities never offered to them.

PNM corruption was more dangerous and more secretive. PP is more blatant with it (honestly), but IMO their flavour of it is actually more transparent.

Voters will have to decide between the lesser of two evils, but as far as I'm concerned, PP has more than delivered on their actual performance and deserve another 6 years in power. If corruption gets worse or they start doing sh*t like PNM, then I will vote PNM in 2020. As for now, PP is by far a better option.

Im sorry buy i cant agree with this logic.

So because your wife GT with a government contract, under this government, their tendering processes are now more fair and transparent?

You've just reinforced what this guy said.

SiR8081 wrote:
It seems that corruption is only a problem when you're not getting a piece of the pie and the shoe is on the other foot.

Postby bluefete » May 27th, 2014, 5:46 am

Postby bluefete » May 27th, 2014, 5:48 am

Taken from a PP sheep site.

Last edited by bluefete on May 27th, 2014, 6:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » May 27th, 2014, 5:54 am

Amazing what the serious job of running this country is becoming.... fat jokes and a failed meme. Allyuh minions better have million dollar contracts underway at least in exchange for your sold souls.

Postby bluefete » May 27th, 2014, 6:08 am

shogun wrote:Amazing what the serious job of running this country is becoming.... fat jokes and a failed meme. Allyuh minions better have million dollar contracts underway at least in exchange for your sold souls.

It is much worse than you think!

https://www.facebook.com/reynold.williams.90?fref=photo

I wonder if that is ZR.

Postby desifemlove » May 27th, 2014, 8:13 am

bluefete wrote:Taken from a PP sheep site.

lulz... Kamla commissioned dat? haha...election season may be better dan i thought..

Postby desifemlove » May 27th, 2014, 8:17 am

pete wrote:Lol a man say Diego Martin is no different to before 2010 there?

The river flood, ent? and UNC cleared it but reactive not proactively.

Postby pete » May 27th, 2014, 9:19 am

I was more talking about the upgrade to the highway that was already completed that has significantly reduced the traffic into diego martin on an afternoon..

Postby Dizzy28 » May 27th, 2014, 9:23 am

If people who support UNC very fastidiously are called sheep what are the PNM equivalents called??

Postby zoom rader » May 27th, 2014, 9:32 am

Dizzy28 wrote:If people who support UNC very fastidiously are called sheep what are the PNM equivalents called??

Loyal voters

Postby dougla_boy » May 27th, 2014, 10:59 am

all ah dem is sycophants.....refuse to admit when their party do sh!t.....just that this forum have more UNC sycophants than PNM...

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » May 27th, 2014, 12:22 pm

dougla_boy wrote:all ah dem is sycophants.....refuse to admit when their party do sh!t.....just that this forum have more UNC sycophants than PNM...

more pnm on here