Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 24th, 2012, 3:54 pm

for the guys, don't forget to boost tes levels for even more fat burning....especially belly fat...simple things like raw onions, black pepper, chai tea, geera, pepper, almonds, cabbage, garlic, eggs, etc....also a zinc supplement is advised....

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2012, 3:57 pm

Polar is a very good brand, I used to use a Sigma.

Using HR to estimate calories burnt is not accurate for running or walking
since it doesn't take into consideration your weight which your muscles have to propel

If you are using the electronic bikes in the gym they usually have built HR monitors and also more accurate calories burnt since they measure actual forces of the crank.

For those who ride the gym bikes a better way to train is to use the power meter on the bike.
You can easily figure out how strong you are on the bike and train around that.
You will burn a lot more calories that way as well as improve your fitness which translates to being able to ride harder and burn even more.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 24th, 2012, 5:26 pm

pugboy wrote:Polar is a very good brand, I used to use a Sigma.

Using HR to estimate calories burnt is not accurate for running or walking
since it doesn't take into consideration your weight which your muscles have to propel

If you are using the electronic bikes in the gym they usually have built HR monitors and also more accurate calories burnt since they measure actual forces of the crank.

For those who ride the gym bikes a better way to train is to use the power meter on the bike.
You can easily figure out how strong you are on the bike and train around that.
You will burn a lot more calories that way as well as improve your fitness which translates to being able to ride harder and burn even more.

Good to know and thanks for that suggestion! Sometimes the monitors on the elliptical/bikes/treadmill are completely inaccurate or cannot read my heart rate, hence my reliance on an HR monitor.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 24th, 2012, 5:43 pm

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0013OWAB4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

well i've been searching for a protein suppliment that isnt packed with fillers and cals and carbs..
something almost pure...gram for gram so it will help in the belly fat loss which is my present goal....
when i get that goal, i'll switch to the bulking phase where i can control it better without being big and having a big belly as i've seen on most ppl.

the serving size is one scoop and it equals 28g of which 25g is protein!!
and you need 2 and a little extra to fill ONE scoop of Serious MASS...so double the protein, minus the fillers
i've been using it 2 weeks now and i must say its nice...mixes creamy in the cold water and tastes pretty good...and i can use it as a post workout suppliment after gym(9-10pm) without worrying much about the carbs/cals

sounds good X.....I am especially liking the part with no fillers/artificial sweeteners/carbs and high concentration of branched chain amino acids....you order off amazon? let me know more....I want!!!!

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2012, 6:13 pm

what ever happen to egg whites ?
pure protein, few calories

Postby r3iXmann » May 24th, 2012, 6:25 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:for the guys, don't forget to boost tes levels for even more fat burning....especially belly fat...simple things like raw onions, black pepper, chai tea, geera, pepper, almonds, cabbage, garlic, eggs, etc....also a zinc supplement is advised....

good stuff there but remember, with zinc supplements, take as recommended or you can get zinc poisoning quite easily

Postby X_Factor » May 24th, 2012, 6:56 pm

I got my gf's sister to bring it for me when she visited last mth...i've never seen it selling locally

im not sure how via skybox will be, but im guessing about 100-120 in charges

Postby AllTrac » May 24th, 2012, 11:36 pm

pugboy wrote:what ever happen to egg whites ?
pure protein, few calories

aint nutting wrong with them but its nice to have a variety, having many high protein low cal meal options makes it easy for you to stay on that path than getting bored of eating the same thing over and over.

Postby X2 » May 25th, 2012, 1:33 am

subscribed

Postby X_Factor » May 25th, 2012, 7:30 am

http://www.coachcalorie.com/afterburn-e ... -training/

take a read....
u can also further research the EPOC effect

Postby AllTrac » May 28th, 2012, 9:10 am

very informative, thats why i take it ot he max every time i do cardio, if im done with cardio at 9pm, all 11pm while im in bed i can still feel my heat rate up

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 28th, 2012, 9:28 am

ill prob get a weighted vest to put on while running. Added resistance should be useful, thought?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 28th, 2012, 9:49 am

allyuh forgetting about the caffeine...that is also a fat buring supplement...coffee and green tea ppl!...works wonders for me...i out the gym about 2 months now and started putting on alot of bodyfat within the 1st month of stopping my rigourous training...so i started watching my diet at home, eating my 6 sqaure meals...well 1-2 of those would be substituted my a supplement meal replacement which i put together on my own and consuming 1-2 large cups of coffee or sometimes green tea, but rather the coffee..lol...also eggs are vital as well as oats and whole wheat products!

Postby sharkman121 » May 28th, 2012, 10:02 am

i read somewhere back that someone was buying chicken breast by the crate/pack/box, im looking to go buy chicken breasts by the big pack as well. I wanna go check awarak factory mausica this evening. Does anyone else buy in bulk or know the prices or where else that sells that may have competitive prices?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 28th, 2012, 10:04 am

yow "sharkman121" lemme know if/when yuh find out about this...ah wanna get some as well!

Postby sharkman121 » May 28th, 2012, 10:06 am

i just ordered the george foreman grill as well for my chicken/fish. what you'll think about this?

it grills thoroughly in about 5 mins and all the fat, grease and extra oil drains out in the collection tray below

Postby sharkman121 » May 28th, 2012, 10:17 am

slickrick777 wrote:yow "sharkman121" lemme know if/when yuh find out about this...ah wanna get some as well!

yeh, supposed to pass later, ill post the prices.

Postby AllTrac » May 28th, 2012, 11:58 am

sharkman121 wrote:i read somewhere back that someone was buying chicken breast by the crate/pack/box, im looking to go buy chicken breasts by the big pack as well. I wanna go check awarak factory mausica this evening. Does anyone else buy in bulk or know the prices or where else that sells that may have competitive prices?

sharkman, please find out if they sell the boneless and skinless by the case also, dont mind sharing up a case with you if you dont have the space.

Postby AllTrac » May 28th, 2012, 11:59 am

sharkman121 wrote:i just ordered the george foreman grill as well for my chicken/fish. what you'll think about this?

it grills thoroughly in about 5 mins and all the fat, grease and extra oil drains out in the collection tray below

I have one, works well and grills fast but clean up is a task tho as with the ridges its hard to get in between each one to clean up whatever is stuck on even tho its non stick u will still get some burn meat or seasoning on it. Later on i bought a black & decker skillet, its god sent.

Postby AllTrac » May 28th, 2012, 12:03 pm

btw, this weekend I made some chicken burgers using some grounded up chicken breast i tore up in the magic bullet. Added one egg to it,, cut up some mushrooms, green pepper, jalapenos, onion and garlic, dashed some seasoning in there. Mixed it all up and fried it in 2 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. Was extremely fulling without the guilt.

Postby sharkman121 » May 28th, 2012, 12:07 pm

AllTrac wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:i read somewhere back that someone was buying chicken breast by the crate/pack/box, im looking to go buy chicken breasts by the big pack as well. I wanna go check awarak factory mausica this evening. Does anyone else buy in bulk or know the prices or where else that sells that may have competitive prices?

sharkman, please find out if they sell the boneless and skinless by the case also, dont mind sharing up a case with you if you dont have the space.

yeh will find out, this would be great cause space is definitely an issue as i dont have a deep freeze...wont mind sharing.

Postby AllTrac » May 28th, 2012, 12:11 pm

cool. ill pm you my number, if you find de price good and want to take it one time call me cause i know you will need to get it off your hands quick before it spoils

Postby 1UZFE » May 28th, 2012, 12:24 pm

check Superstore in Arima Industrial Estate...best prices...

Postby sharkman121 » May 28th, 2012, 12:28 pm

AllTrac wrote:cool. ill pm you my number, if you find de price good and want to take it one time call me cause i know you will need to get it off your hands quick before it spoils

i just called them and they close @ 3:45pm :?

doubt id make it up there in time after work, however they seem to have an interactive website showing all the parts they have and you can request the prices, so i sent them an email. From the info on the site they do seem to have boneless/skinless breasts.

Take a look: http://www.arawak-tt.com/contact_us.html

Postby sharkman121 » May 28th, 2012, 12:29 pm

1UZFE wrote:

you know what time they close? and exactly where in the estate, near to Automotive Components?

Postby AllTrac » May 28th, 2012, 12:33 pm

orhor, hope they actually respond to emails. Thanks anyway.

Anyone check the meat prices at the new supermarket in El secorro extension? forgot the name of it, its like a pricesmart

Postby 1UZFE » May 28th, 2012, 12:46 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
1UZFE wrote:

you know what time they close? and exactly where in the estate, near to Automotive Components?

they close i think 4:30 they are also opens on Saturdays. When u swing in O'Mera industrial estate its the second right nex to the paper factory(i think) . When u go in the street its on the left, huge warehouse...

Postby Trini Hookah » May 28th, 2012, 2:41 pm

It's ~3weeks since i've stopped soft drink, alcohol, and gatorade. Only drink water , coconut water, coffee and juice now.

Just yesterday my mom was telling me she finds my face cleared up quite a bit.

And honestly, this is the best i've felt in years health wise.

After last sweat we just wanted a quick bite and ended up making a doubles run, was the second time I had for the year (first was before the penal sweat) and I can't say that I miss it.

Postby 1UZFE » May 28th, 2012, 2:43 pm

waaw ..u rhel serious hoss... D alco is a serious one d doubles as well...
I just lock off the meat for d year so far. I gave myself an ultimatum no alco or no meat for 2012.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 28th, 2012, 2:46 pm

That would probably be hard for me, but I might go meat-free for a while in a couple months not now.

For now I'm still working on a Fish/Seafood day for the week.

And yeah man, trying to get back in the best shape I can! :D