Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

samureye

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby samureye » May 11th, 2012, 12:46 am

Yeah, or even prepaid. Was checking the site but still edge up there. Or can I not just get it as an addon over edge?

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 12:51 am

samureye wrote:Yeah, or even prepaid. Was checking the site but still edge up there. Or can I not just get it as an addon over edge?

no well pre paid is the handset only. And u will have to take a 4G plan if u wish. The plans arent posted yet. Only the handset prices if u qualify.

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 12:54 am

If ur device is let's say 3G. U will have access to a edge plan like normal even though ur device shows 3G. For the faster service to work. U will have to take that 4G plan to get the higher speeds. Just restart ur phone after signup.

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 1:13 am

Here we go.... 4G plans posted for the tuner crew. Thanks folks!

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 1:53 am

Remember use the day pass to test your device if u want to put the system to the test where u work or play.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 11th, 2012, 1:57 am

Are edge prices lowered?

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » May 11th, 2012, 4:19 am

Nice.....

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2012, 4:21 am

Official

http://4g.digiceltt.com/

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/products/4g-data

Also for laptops: http://www.4g.digiceltt.com/en/phones/phones_list.php?type=modem
However it's the same plans 4GB for $300 which is not good for PC use.
I hope later they'll offer unlimited Mifi hotspot like Jamaica for non-3G enabled tablets and devices. They did mention it in their 4G FAQs http://www.4g.digiceltt.com/en/faqs#q15 so most likely soon enough.

You can sign up for and manage your 4G plan account here: http://selfcare.digiceltt.com so I guess you really don't have to go line up at any store once you've got your credit card in order. Please ensure that you read the Terms & Conditions and FAQs carefully and understand them before you sign up. You will also read somewhere on Digicel's website that you can activate 4G by dialling USSD code *400# (Blackberry *401#) on either prepaid or postpaid, which can then be managed at the above website.

Have a monkey-free day residents of Ben Lomond Village, Williamsville.

Postby Stephon. » May 11th, 2012, 6:11 am

300 per month for 3G isn't bad at all
Shaq, look there's even a plan for you too: a 25 dollar pre paid day pass, aww!

achillies

Postby achillies » May 11th, 2012, 6:13 am

Well I am trying by using the website, but I am not being allowed to choose a plan, but the service was activated on my device though

ON another note, I am seeing that they are providing a data calculator for those who may not know what plan to chose, they want to know how much stuff you upload, don't tell me upload is going to count in your data plan also
Last edited by achillies on May 11th, 2012, 6:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2012, 6:21 am

hahahaha I like how http://selfcare.digiceltt.com/ doesn't have any SSL 3.0 or TLS 1.0 security or that I can randomly signup any digicel number and set a password, that some unknown digi user will receive a security code for and not know what going on.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 11th, 2012, 6:36 am

Taking 4GB.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 11th, 2012, 7:23 am

My bredren want the service, Digicel told him he has to go into the head office to activation the plan yess, lol, what kinda 16th century movements is that, these things should be done over the phone

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 11th, 2012, 7:38 am

So did they drop the EDGE prices?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 11th, 2012, 7:43 am

Did u all c the Digicel add this am by nestles intersection.....

a crashed 3 ton on a flat bed, painted green.... with digicel banners advertising 4g service.... jus brilliant marketing if u ask me...

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » May 11th, 2012, 7:51 am

ray786 wrote:Did u all c the Digicel add this am by nestles intersection.....

a crashed 3 ton on a flat bed, painted green.... with digicel banners advertising 4g service.... jus brilliant marketing if u ask me...

Cause they bad like that......lol

Didn't get to take a pic though, I was driving...

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 11th, 2012, 8:14 am

The 4G ad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=&feature=youtu.be

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 11th, 2012, 8:47 am

prices are pretty good!...... $300 for 4g isnt bad at all......edge unlimited on corporate was $199

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 9:10 am

That's the 4g comet that crashed into the truck. :) micro sims stocking soon

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » May 11th, 2012, 9:21 am

Cause real traffic after 8 too! :@

Woke up this morning and see 3G on my phone.

On corporate plan though so.. :roll:

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 9:33 am

achillies wrote:My bredren want the service, Digicel told him he has to go into the head office to activation the plan yess, lol, what kinda 16th century movements is that, these things should be done over the phone

That's rubbish.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 11th, 2012, 9:41 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:
achillies wrote:My bredren want the service, Digicel told him he has to go into the head office to activation the plan yess, lol, what kinda 16th century movements is that, these things should be done over the phone

That's rubbish.

And he working in Piarco Monday to Friday 8 to 4

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 11th, 2012, 9:41 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
jkristoph wrote:Since everyone is asking for it pricing as follows:

Digicel 4G Corporate Plans

400MB $199
1GB $219
2GB $249
4GB $299

I would imagine that postpaid pricing is very similar.
where did you get these prices from? What the price for unlimited.

This seems correct. Friend who works digi told me he getting free 400MB per month since he is a worker. So I believe this info here is correct.

And there wont be unlimited as far as I understand.

TSTT has a very good chance now at competing with Digicel with their EDGE. Most will still take edge over 4G because you can't do anything with 400MB for $199. All you can do is use BBM or wattsapp. Maybe check some emails or browse a website now and then.

You can already do this comfortably with EDGE. Must wait for september when TSTT introduces HSPA+ and then perhaps we will see strong competition.

With a blackberry, 400MB is quite a lot, even with a lot of youtube you may not even use that much within a month. You may need a 2G plan if you have an iPhone or Samsung.

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » May 11th, 2012, 9:47 am

Last edited by honda_soldier on May 11th, 2012, 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » May 11th, 2012, 9:48 am

No unlimited packages for home or corporate.
stueps

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 11th, 2012, 9:52 am

Coppershot wrote:No unlimited packages for home or corporate.
stueps

That's because with 4G there is no unlimited

Check out Verizon, T-Mobile, Sprint etc.

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 9:55 am

U can take the biggest plan for now. Even bigger ones will be rolling out later. U can add a 1gb anytime for. $49 if u running out. But no unlimited.
Last edited by BassMekanik on May 11th, 2012, 10:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 9:56 am

honda_soldier wrote:

remember 3G just means ur handset it capable. U don't get any service unless u take a plan.

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » May 11th, 2012, 9:59 am

BassMekanik wrote:
honda_soldier wrote:

remember 3G just means ur handset it capable. U don't get any service unless u take a plan.

But I was well on the phone this morning and sending some BBM at the same time

*shrug*

BassMekanik

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby BassMekanik » May 11th, 2012, 9:59 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
jkristoph wrote:Since everyone is asking for it pricing as follows:

Digicel 4G Corporate Plans

400MB $199
1GB $219
2GB $249
4GB $299

I would imagine that postpaid pricing is very similar.
where did you get these prices from? What the price for unlimited.

This seems correct. Friend who works digi told me he getting free 400MB per month since he is a worker. So I believe this info here is correct.

And there wont be unlimited as far as I understand.

TSTT has a very good chance now at competing with Digicel with their EDGE. Most will still take edge over 4G because you can't do anything with 400MB for $199. All you can do is use BBM or wattsapp. Maybe check some emails or browse a website now and then.

You can already do this comfortably with EDGE. Must wait for september when TSTT introduces HSPA+ and then perhaps we will see strong competition.

With a blackberry, 400MB is quite a lot, even with a lot of youtube you may not even use that much within a month. You may need a 2G plan if you have an iPhone or Samsung.

I agree. Note the quality of YouTube may be 480p or what is referred to as high quality. Unless u tether u will get it better on a pc.