National Strike updates/ watch/ News

NXTREME

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby NXTREME » February 17th, 2012, 3:31 pm

9% for the last 3 years, so time to start negotiations for the next period?

Aaron how them salaries gonna be looking with that increase?

Postby hydroep » February 17th, 2012, 3:44 pm

TriP wrote:PSA President Watson Duke calls 3pm today for press conference to discuss 9% settlement at Petrotrin !!

Wanna hear what he has to say. I recall him saying something about re negotiations should anyone have gotten more than 5%.

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2012, 4:09 pm

And this is Petrotrin,
NP and TTEC are still to come.

Roget must be liking himself.

We in a fakin mess.

Later

QuietRiot

Postby QuietRiot » February 17th, 2012, 5:32 pm

So who thinks the Union sell out and settle for nine as oppose to their initial seventy five.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » February 17th, 2012, 5:36 pm

Look @ vehicles pre & post Negotiations :D

goodear

Postby goodear » February 17th, 2012, 5:45 pm

Again, like common sense absent from this forum. All the ppl who work Petrotrin kept saying that the published figures not correct,still you question. We said that 25 % a year is just a bargaining strategy, still you doubt. The last salary evaluation , for the idiot who asked, was in 2005. The salaries were found to be subpar compaired to other refineries, it was called the HAY's evaluation look it up before your foot come through yuh backside from swallowing it. Look is best i buy a set ah fowl and give allyuh so you could stop minding other ppl buisness and wrong. Educate yourself instead of being fooled by propoganda.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 17th, 2012, 5:55 pm

lol u know i still amazed when petrotrin workers feel they different from other state enterprises

what thoes eworkers fail to realise is that the company not privatised

so you cah expect them salaries.

boy my response woulda be you wha strike, fix up. eventually u go come back to wok as u have bills liek the rest of we

nobody could ever strong arm me. unions are the WORST. will never join my union at work. NEVER

Postby SR » February 17th, 2012, 6:13 pm

goodear wrote:Again, like common sense absent from this forum. All the ppl who work Petrotrin kept saying that the published figures not correct,still you question. We said that 25 % a year is just a bargaining strategy, still you doubt. The last salary evaluation , for the idiot who asked, was in 2005. The salaries were found to be subpar compaired to other refineries, it was called the HAY's evaluation look it up before your foot come through yuh backside from swallowing it. Look is best i buy a set ah fowl and give allyuh so you could stop minding other ppl buisness and wrong. Educate yourself instead of being fooled by propoganda.

sorry but this idiot probably has more experince than you do on an actual negotiating table with unions and management and is well aware of strategies used on both sides of the table and is very well aware of the hay's system

even the hays method can be flawed based on who is doing the interpreting and can be used to sway favor on either side

from the overall look petrotrin has always been overstaffed from inception and unfortunalty it has become culture to keep petrotrin overstaffed as it still is a state agency

privatise it and and there will definatly be job cuts from the top come down
the top needs to be more accountable and it will trickle down to the bottom of the ladder of say the labourer who now has to actually show what he is doing each day to justify the salaries presently being demanded

you dont need to be employed within the industry to understand the process

goodear

Postby goodear » February 17th, 2012, 6:14 pm

Madcrix right. I do feel i different from a worker in other non chemical or non hydrocarbon state enterprise, my health and well being at risk, and apparently so does the government, hence the 9%. Is your choice to join a Union and strike,it always was, I was there today singing and was happy, cause we weren't expection to get more than 7%. For those who wish for privatisation be prepared to pay international rates for fuel as the subsidy that the same government agreed to will fly out the window, instead of $120 to fill up, face $500. See what will happen to your buying power. Taxi and transportation costs will sky rocket, what would the inflation rate be then?

goodear

Postby goodear » February 17th, 2012, 6:21 pm

SR it seems that you missed the point, I do have more experience in this than you, have been doing it longer than you peeing with froth, so put that out your head, I know you personally and you know me, so let's get that one clear. You asked a stupid question and I answered, so what is the problem? You got your answer but now you find that the process you asked about could be wrong? What you want? Anyways I happy with what i got, I hope the bankers union can do the same for you since I too worked in a bank for 5 years prior to Petrotrin and think that they are definitely underpayed and would support your struggle side by side with you inspite of your ingnorance to ours.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 17th, 2012, 6:28 pm

lol sigh never mind.

privatise petrotin doe snot mean subsidy will go out the window lol but OK

and if you check back to teh budget thread i was all for decreaseing the subsidy, it is ridiculous how low our fuel is and even more so when you look at the poor state of state bank reserves

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » February 17th, 2012, 6:31 pm

Based on the following taken from Petrotrin's 2010 Consolidated Financial Statement the company has approximately 5300 workers that cost them about 1.25 billion in wages and salaries. This works out to an average salary of 240k/year or 20k/month plus other allowances.

Petrotrin_Staff_Costs.png

2010 Consolidated Financial Statements
http://www.petrotrin.com/Petrotrin2007/ ... ed2010.pdf

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2012, 6:38 pm

goodear wrote:Madcrix right. I do feel i different from a worker in other non chemical or non hydrocarbon state enterprise, my health and well being at risk, and apparently so does the government, hence the 9%. Is your choice to join a Union and strike,it always was, I was there today singing and was happy, cause we weren't expection to get more than 7%. For those who wish for privatisation be prepared to pay international rates for fuel as the subsidy that the same government agreed to will fly out the window, instead of $120 to fill up, face $500. See what will happen to your buying power. Taxi and transportation costs will sky rocket, what would the inflation rate be then?

Uh Petrotrin as a co is an entity
The ownership now is the state. Privatization will change owners.
And since all fuel is bought/sold at market prices the ownership is irrelevant to the Fuel Subsidy.
That might have been communicated to you,but like it pas through one ear and ......uh never mind. :shock:

Later

goodear

Postby goodear » February 17th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Dred it seems like some of the ppl here know more than he ppl who actually know. The refinery has the highest salary bill cause it is actually 65 operators short staffed so men working overtime so you could enjoy a billion dollar budget. And as for the subsidy, thank god the ministers of finance over the last 40 years and 4 different governments can see, that the economy cannot withstand its loss or the privatisation of the national oil company.Look ignorance is bliss, you all go and be blissful, I get 9% and I am very elated....... I done order the fowls already......

goodear

Postby goodear » February 17th, 2012, 6:46 pm

Um the contract to sell fuel is between the owers [the state] and np to sell localy. New owner, renegotiate contracts , renegotiate subsidy [government does always pay late, new owners will want money faster]. Anyone who is looking for investment will not want to wait on money. First fowl is yours

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 6:56 pm

The way Petrotrin workers talking you would swear they are Gods yes...No need to get on ignorant in a thread when asked questions....

Postby hydroep » February 17th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Duke is praising Ancil and the OWTU, seeing the breakthrough as an indication that the "economy has turned around."

So will this 9% be the starting level in negotiations for the 2011 - 2013 period?

villain

Postby villain » February 17th, 2012, 7:26 pm

goodear wrote:SR it seems that you missed the point, I do have more experience in this than you, have been doing it longer than you peeing with froth, so put that out your head, I know you personally and you know me, so let's get that one clear. You asked a stupid question and I answered, so what is the problem? You got your answer but now you find that the process you asked about could be wrong? What you want? Anyways I happy with what i got, I hope the bankers union can do the same for you since I too worked in a bank for 5 years prior to Petrotrin and think that they are definitely underpayed and would support your struggle side by side with you inspite of your ingnorance to ours.

man let them gripe all they want...they want to be the only ones who can afford ah evo (as a toy) or want to have things and see other people struggling to feel good about themselves...i happy with what i get ,to hell them,they could bump they mouth from now till Jesus come again...lol

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » February 17th, 2012, 7:32 pm

I was curious how the 9% get pass Dookeran but apparently come next budget they propose to raise income tax to 30% on individuals making more than 240k per year. Guess it may be a case of they give you on one hand and take it away on the other.

Postby X2 » February 17th, 2012, 7:53 pm

goodear... you a expert... how much of petrotrin's product is actually sold locally ? cuz those subsidies going straight to pay petrotrin for a product that can be purchased cheaper from outside TnT :) Why would you need a subsidy ? Because the company manufacturing the product cannot manufacture it competitively enough to get people to buy it at the expected selling price.

I hope petrotrin workers happy... big salaries get bigger, plus profit sharing... while local contractors are owed millions upon millions which is not being paid by the goverment. So when entire industries go out of business since they cannot get any further loans or facilites due to uncollected debt... I wonder who will be looking to buy all this gas ?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 17th, 2012, 7:55 pm

man let them gripe all they want...they want to be the only ones who can afford ah evo (as a toy) or want to have things and see other people struggling to feel good about themselves...i happy with what i get ,to hell them,they could bump they mouth from now till Jesus come again...lol

now see yute man you take a direct stab at me there so lemme clear that up for you.
the fact that i own an evo seems to bother you, but maybe unlike you i worked my ass off at school, studied and did well, i specialised in my field, whilst working for a measly 3000 a month for several years. i paid for all my schooling myself. so maybe, just maybe what i reap is what i sow for many year before.

so instead of pointing fingers and lookign at me, get qualified and specialised and you go get where you want to go.

Disclaimer: not all petrotrin workers are like this eh one of my best friends is a petrotrin worker

this free for all mentality you all have is ridiculous wee

Postby X2 » February 17th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Man doh understand that after you own a honda for more than 5 years, you get a interest free loan to buy a Evo awah ??

stewps.... ignorant ppl...

air wick

Postby air wick » February 17th, 2012, 8:06 pm

hydroep wrote:Duke is praising Ancil and the OWTU, seeing the breakthrough as an indication that the "economy has turned around."

So will this 9% be the starting level in negotiations for the 2011 - 2013 period?

The next period will be October 2012 to the end of September 2015

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.175544,-61.475441

Postby hydroep » February 17th, 2012, 8:17 pm

Travis wrote:
hydroep wrote:Duke is praising Ancil and the OWTU, seeing the breakthrough as an indication that the "economy has turned around."

The next period will be October 2012 to the end of September 2015

Thanks for the info.

The story carried on TV6, referred to the 2011 - 2013 period. I guess they were referring to PSA negotiations.

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2012, 8:19 pm

where can i sign up to be a laborer?

razi

Postby razi » February 17th, 2012, 8:36 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:I was curious how the 9% get pass Dookeran but apparently come next budget they propose to raise income tax to 30% on individuals making more than 240k per year. Guess it may be a case of they give you on one hand and take it away on the other.

How reliable is this information? 100%?? 50%??.........

goodear

Postby goodear » February 17th, 2012, 8:40 pm

X2 , you getting the second fowl. The amount of fuel sold internationally depends on market, we supply 100% of fuel oil production to the US, we supply gas and diesel to the caricom islands. How much we sell locally depends also on demand and production. It cost us over twice the amount to import fuel for domestic use since we have to pay shipping and demorage for the ships to bring it here along with the cost of the fuel. So no, it not cheaper to buy it outside.
Again I agree with madcrix, I don't know what you did to get your Evo,once it legal I care not, I work hard in dangerous places to make mine, and I am very qualified . I too worked in catch arse jobs before I got the education, and opportunity to do what I do. The contractors you speak of are who are owed for housing by the HDC right? Well I too was there protesting with them the last time and I have friends who are owed money and I believe that they should be paid. I consider myself lucky to work where i work , but I would never put down anyone for getting what they deserve

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 17th, 2012, 8:45 pm

the strike may be off but still fkn pandemonium by my local gas stations.....long lines and men walking with their oil keg for fuel.....unbelievable

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 17th, 2012, 8:48 pm

pioneer wrote:where can i sign up to be a laborer?

ent!!!! I still on 2008 salary and still waiting for my dotish union to negotiate 2008-2011 period and then to start 2011-2014 period..........

Postby Damien » February 17th, 2012, 8:54 pm

big backpay in ollour mc