Help identifying a snake

Re: Help identifying a snake

Postby maj. tom » December 12th, 2012, 8:56 pm

Amazingly beautiful and unique creature. From National Geographic.
Green vine snake (Ahaetulla nasuta)

Postby Rooki3 » December 12th, 2012, 9:00 pm

chop after chop after chop

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 12th, 2012, 9:03 pm

seeing dat^

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2012, 9:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:Amazingly beautiful and unique creature. From National Geographic.
Green vine snake (Ahaetulla nasuta)

beautiful!

Postby pioneer » December 12th, 2012, 9:35 pm

d spike wrote:nervewrecker, all you can do is explain the good that snakes do. A macajuel eats about 3,000 rats in its lifetime. Most snakes eat rats and other vermin. I just ask folks if they prefer snakes or leptospirosis.

As far as adventures go...
A few months ago, I took the kids up to the estate, to help me do some planting. When we reached the estate on Saturday evening, the driveway was blocked by a fallen tree - and to make it worse, it was one of those that is covered with vines and lianas... so there I am, playing trapeze artist, tiptoeing along a slippery log that was suspended a foot above the roadway by vines and all sorts of leafy crap, with Nicky behind me holding a rope and the "come along" (my answer to most immovable objects)... I happen to look down and see the fattest mapepire balsain I have ever seen in a long while. All three feet of scaled nightmare was slightly ahead and almost below me, and was far too much interested in my Fred Astaire antics just above his head. The cutlass was TOO short to reach (my hand would be by my ankles if I fired a chop, my arse waving at the heavens, and overbalancing then falling (a most likely outcome) would be rather awkward - especially if I MISSED.

Understand my predicament clearly. While I believe in "live and let live", having a three foot long balsain strolling around so close to the house is like leaving a loaded shotgun lying around the house - sooner or later you won't be paying attention and step on it, or some little kiddie will attempt an up-close inspection, and then the question will be "how soon can you get to the hospital". Next year, that bugger will be four feet long... the following year might result in five feet of signed and stamped death certificate... (and I have no wish to meet THAT!)
Even if I wished to let him go in peace, we still had to clear the roadway. The possibility of me (or worse yet, either of my children) meeting him again in the fading light as we hauled large tangled masses of vines and logs off the road was not something I even wanted to contemplate - spotting a master of camouflage ONCE was luck... a second time, the luck would most likely be his.

Getting the kids to stand clear was the EASY part. Cutting and trimming a staff while balancing on a swaying log WHILE keeping an eye on a one-way ticket to Grande hospital is not an act I am versed in. As the possibility of the snake dying in a fit of hysterical laughter existed, I continued my performance. You know, after all that, when I jabbed at the reptile with my new weapon, he thrashed around (with a balsain, that is NOT a sign that you struck him, merely his reaction to being surprised) and ended up right under me (possibly facing the other direction) with only a few inches of his tail showing.
I am most proud of the fact that I did not instantly perform the act that Exlax claims to take 20 minutes... but I almost did.

I couldn't see his head. Moving forward or backward into the vines would severely limit my movement - and not knowing where was the end of him that had teeth, was a major problem. He wouldn't move, despite my yelling, banging, cursing and pleading. He was waiting to see what else I could do - probably idly sharpening his left fang on a handy stone in the meantime.

There was no spear-gun in the vehicle, no nothing... just two little wide-eyed kiddies watching their father do his best not to wet himself down... and the inevitable argument about whether one should lance a snake-bite or not, and where to apply the tourniquet. The only time I ever felt so helpless was on my wedding day - thank God for divorce, but all that is another story.

Then I made up my mind: I was taking that bugger out. I told Nicky to toss me the gasoline container, and Sarah to toss the lighter. (Thank God she found matches instead - I'm not sure how I would have safely accomplished the following with a Bic.)

Gasoline was sprinkled liberally everywhere, and then I ably demonstrated to my offspring how to perform a standing leap, and how not to light a gasoline fire. A lit match was thrown, and the almost-instantaneous surge of flames ensured that I had no possibility of a body-lice infestation.

We spent the rest of the evening dragging singed material off the roadway, using the "come-along" for the larger logs, and the Sportage for the masses of lianas (pass a rope around a few large ones, fasten the other rope-end to the hitch, then drive down the hill, with the mother of all tumbleweeds clearing the road...)

I didn't find his carcass. He most likely is out there, nursing a singed arse and a grudge... I hope if I meet him again, it will be soon, before he adds more inches.
I will make an extra attempt to have a greater area around the house cleared, and use harsher language with guests who think flip-flops are suitable wear...

I thank God that nothing unfortunate happened to me or my kids... I thank God for my father and all that he has taught me about the bush... But MOST OF ALL, I THANK GOD THAT NEITHER CHILD OF MINE HAD THE PRESENCE OF MIND TO USE THEIR PHONES TO FILM ANY OF MY ANTICS...

This by far has to be the coolest story ever told within recent history on tuner.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 13th, 2012, 11:25 am

d spike wrote:nervewrecker, all you can do is explain the good that snakes do. A macajuel eats about 3,000 rats in its lifetime. Most snakes eat rats and other vermin. I just ask folks if they prefer snakes or leptospirosis.

As far as adventures go...
A few months ago, I took the kids up to the estate, to help me do some planting. When we reached the estate on Saturday evening, the driveway was blocked by a fallen tree - and to make it worse, it was one of those that is covered with vines and lianas... so there I am, playing trapeze artist, tiptoeing along a slippery log that was suspended a foot above the roadway by vines and all sorts of leafy crap, with Nicky behind me holding a rope and the "come along" (my answer to most immovable objects)... I happen to look down and see the fattest mapepire balsain I have ever seen in a long while. All three feet of scaled nightmare was slightly ahead and almost below me, and was far too much interested in my Fred Astaire antics just above his head. The cutlass was TOO short to reach (my hand would be by my ankles if I fired a chop, my arse waving at the heavens, and overbalancing then falling (a most likely outcome) would be rather awkward - especially if I MISSED.

Understand my predicament clearly. While I believe in "live and let live", having a three foot long balsain strolling around so close to the house is like leaving a loaded shotgun lying around the house - sooner or later you won't be paying attention and step on it, or some little kiddie will attempt an up-close inspection, and then the question will be "how soon can you get to the hospital". Next year, that bugger will be four feet long... the following year might result in five feet of signed and stamped death certificate... (and I have no wish to meet THAT!)
Even if I wished to let him go in peace, we still had to clear the roadway. The possibility of me (or worse yet, either of my children) meeting him again in the fading light as we hauled large tangled masses of vines and logs off the road was not something I even wanted to contemplate - spotting a master of camouflage ONCE was luck... a second time, the luck would most likely be his.

Getting the kids to stand clear was the EASY part. Cutting and trimming a staff while balancing on a swaying log WHILE keeping an eye on a one-way ticket to Grande hospital is not an act I am versed in. As the possibility of the snake dying in a fit of hysterical laughter existed, I continued my performance. You know, after all that, when I jabbed at the reptile with my new weapon, he thrashed around (with a balsain, that is NOT a sign that you struck him, merely his reaction to being surprised) and ended up right under me (possibly facing the other direction) with only a few inches of his tail showing.
I am most proud of the fact that I did not instantly perform the act that Exlax claims to take 20 minutes... but I almost did.

I couldn't see his head. Moving forward or backward into the vines would severely limit my movement - and not knowing where was the end of him that had teeth, was a major problem. He wouldn't move, despite my yelling, banging, cursing and pleading. He was waiting to see what else I could do - probably idly sharpening his left fang on a handy stone in the meantime.

There was no spear-gun in the vehicle, no nothing... just two little wide-eyed kiddies watching their father do his best not to wet himself down... and the inevitable argument about whether one should lance a snake-bite or not, and where to apply the tourniquet. The only time I ever felt so helpless was on my wedding day - thank God for divorce, but all that is another story.

Then I made up my mind: I was taking that bugger out. I told Nicky to toss me the gasoline container, and Sarah to toss the lighter. (Thank God she found matches instead - I'm not sure how I would have safely accomplished the following with a Bic.)

Gasoline was sprinkled liberally everywhere, and then I ably demonstrated to my offspring how to perform a standing leap, and how not to light a gasoline fire. A lit match was thrown, and the almost-instantaneous surge of flames ensured that I had no possibility of a body-lice infestation.

We spent the rest of the evening dragging singed material off the roadway, using the "come-along" for the larger logs, and the Sportage for the masses of lianas (pass a rope around a few large ones, fasten the other rope-end to the hitch, then drive down the hill, with the mother of all tumbleweeds clearing the road...)

I didn't find his carcass. He most likely is out there, nursing a singed arse and a grudge... I hope if I meet him again, it will be soon, before he adds more inches.
I will make an extra attempt to have a greater area around the house cleared, and use harsher language with guests who think flip-flops are suitable wear...

I thank God that nothing unfortunate happened to me or my kids... I thank God for my father and all that he has taught me about the bush... But MOST OF ALL, I THANK GOD THAT NEITHER CHILD OF MINE HAD THE PRESENCE OF MIND TO USE THEIR PHONES TO FILM ANY OF MY ANTICS...

This by far has to be the coolest story ever told within recent history on tuner.

Snakes just love to sit below fallen trees just waiting for someone or animal to cross.

Postby Bizzare » December 13th, 2012, 1:18 pm

sorry yodins and others, but any snake on my premises is chap chap and more chap.
they serve no good purpose. u really think they'll help a rat infestation problem?

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2012, 2:20 pm

unless it's for self-defence, why would you want to kill another creature? Why not isolate it if you can and call someone to handle it and release it somewhere safe? The fact that you found a snake there means that it has food, and most likely rats living in your place. What, you feel snakes does just be "passing through" your property?

Also there are lots of snakes that are not deadly to humans that kill and eat other very venomous snakes. I think one in Trinidad is called the Cribo locally. It's a black colubrid and it actually looks friendly. They have mild venom which does not or hardly affects humans, but they're bad ass snake killers. They love vipers.

Postby Rooki3 » December 13th, 2012, 2:58 pm

my place have no rats, so if yuh by me yuh en servin no purpose

chop after chop after chop

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2012, 6:41 pm

Donno what kinda rats you guys accustomed with but the kind I know of don't jump out in front me and say "look meh here, ah just chillaxing in yuh yard and pissing in your stuff". I know them to run and hide when they hear people.

Biz, aren't you the same one with the pigeon problem?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 14th, 2012, 6:21 am

nervewrecker wrote:Donno what kinda rats you guys accustomed with but the kind I know of don't jump out in front me and say "look meh here, ah just chillaxing in yuh yard and pissing in your stuff". I know them to run and hide when they hear people.

kakahole :lol: :lol: :lol:

but he aint lie though.

Postby Bizzare » December 14th, 2012, 9:39 am

pigeon problem solved, no help from snakes.

Postby rfari » December 14th, 2012, 9:45 am

I does maintain a ketch and release with snakes in my yard. Only if i by my grandmom i'll carve a snake up rell nice cus if its up to her she will empty a bottle of malathion on it :evilbat: and because she's in her garden alot and has a srs fear of snakes. She's the type to be tending to her orchids and if she sees a snake skin in the greenhouse she done work dey

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 14th, 2012, 1:34 pm

B14 on 20" Rims speeding on the highway bounced down a snake yesterday...didn't get pics tho sorry :(

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 14th, 2012, 2:04 pm

maj. tom wrote:unless it's for self-defence, why would you want to kill another creature? Why not isolate it if you can and call someone to handle it and release it somewhere safe? The fact that you found a snake there means that it has food, and most likely rats living in your place. What, you feel snakes does just be "passing through" your property?

Also there are lots of snakes that are not deadly to humans that kill and eat other very venomous snakes. I think one in Trinidad is called the Cribo locally. It's a black colubrid and it actually looks friendly. They have mild venom which does not or hardly affects humans, but they're bad ass snake killers. They love vipers.

Exactly maj. tom. The Cribo EATS, thats right, EATS the highly-venomous mapepire balsain (fer-de-lance). the vine snake (or horse whip) is rear-fanged which means his fangs are at the back of his jaw. the only way you can be bitten is if he bites you somewhere like between your fingers and chews his fangs in. all the bad ppl say machetes are, they are actually small, non-venomous colubrids. so instead of firing a 3line behind the poor animal, 'llow him nah.

nervewrecker wrote:Donno what kinda rats you guys accustomed with but the kind I know of don't jump out in front me and say "look meh here, ah just chillaxing in yuh yard and pissing in your stuff". I know them to run and hide when they hear people.

rats hide in the most amazing of places

Bizzare wrote:sorry yodins and others, but any snake on my premises is chap chap and more chap.
they serve no good purpose. u really think they'll help a rat infestation problem?

yuh know how often rats does bull? a rat reaches sexual maturity at 5 weeks. their gestation period is 21 DAYS and can give birth to on average 10 younglins. now if you even step on rat pee thaz leptospirosis guaranteed. that 1 snake yuh kill could have killed masses of those rats during its stay at your house. but no, you rather kill it and sleep with the rats. I can't force you to dfo anything but if you're too stubborn to not listen thats your problem. tell Ratatouille I had hi.

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Too much people see the poor horsewhip and kill it becaus it supposedly whips pregnant women. Ty convincing people horsewhips dont do that nah? We surrounded by idiots.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 14th, 2012, 7:10 pm

^ truth

d spike

Postby d spike » December 15th, 2012, 2:09 pm

maj. tom wrote:unless it's for self-defence, why would you want to kill another creature? Why not isolate it if you can and call someone to handle it and release it somewhere safe? The fact that you found a snake there means that it has food, and most likely rats living in your place. What, you feel snakes does just be "passing through" your property?

I agree with maj. tom.
While I don't go into the bleedin' heart routine of "Why take a life?" as the person you would be addressing was most likely all too happy to take out his frustrations on some hapless reptile, while ably demonstrating manliness, I focus on the "Why would a predator be lurking on your property?" question.

The man has a major point: there has to be food aka vermin nearby. Snakes have to expend energy to find food, so in order to use as little energy as possible (an efficient use of energy is key to survival) they will stay where the food is... and the bigger the snake, the bigger/more plentiful the food.

The Cribo refuses to strike when handled, and when he finally does attempt to strike, he does so with his mouth closed - it takes a lot to piss off a Cribo (I know, for we've tried quite often :oops: ) and I have yet to see one harasses enough to strike at a human.
Once, near where my house is now, we came across one who was seemingly at the losing end of a battle with a small macajuel. The little boa had wrapped himself completely around the Cribo's head and was gamely hanging on, while the larger Cribo thrashed around, trying to extract his head. We felt sorry for both snakes, as they are both extremely useful, and as children (while the Cribo was our favourite snake, as he ate mapepires - we ignored his fondness for Zandolies though) we felt sorry for the young boa.
As all kids have a prerogative for doing stupid things, we decided to rescue the macajuel, and let the Cribo go and chew on some more deserving balsain.

Unwrapping the boa was impossible (yes, we picked up the whole snakey mass and tried to untangle it with 4 feet of limp Cribo trailing behind) and we couldn't wedge a pointed stick between his coils, not even under his head. At some point the Cribo got out, struck at the ball of boa with lightning speed, and then dragged himself off a little way. The macajuel unwrapped himself agitatedly and took off in the other direction. We went home triumphantly, until our father upon hearing of the matter, told us that the Cribo's toxin is deadly to reptiles (while being harmless to humans) and the strike we witnessed was the end of the little boa. The Cribo would trail him and finish his meal in peace.

d spike

Postby d spike » December 15th, 2012, 2:11 pm

Yodins wrote:
Bizzare wrote:sorry yodins and others, but any snake on my premises is chap chap and more chap.

yuh know how often rats does bull? a rat reaches sexual maturity at 5 weeks. their gestation period is 21 DAYS and can give birth to on average 10 younglins. now if you even step on rat pee thaz leptospirosis guaranteed. that 1 snake yuh kill could have killed masses of those rats during its stay at your house. but no, you rather kill it and sleep with the rats. I can't force you to dfo anything but if you're too stubborn to not listen thats your problem. tell Ratatouille I said hi.

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2012, 2:43 pm

d spike, you tryna tell mr clean dem that they have rats in their place? they say they don't see any. :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2015, 10:24 pm

Soooo, I saw a snake last night and it was tackling a frog.
At the distance I swore I saw the neck puff up like something was getting swallowed. I read the tigre does this but this snake was not traditional tigre color. It was light brown to reddish brown with white under belly.
A quick google brings up a tigre rat snake. Is that what I saw?

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 13th, 2015, 10:55 pm

It could be a rainbow boa

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2015, 10:58 pm

Was wondering if it was. He kinda glisten.
They puff up the neck?

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » March 13th, 2015, 11:02 pm

Was ah cobra.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2015, 6:37 am

cobra^ ahahahahahahaha

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 18th, 2015, 11:21 pm

I think it ess a manAconda

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 19th, 2015, 6:41 am

What the Rats goin on in here :lol:

Postby 88sins » March 19th, 2015, 6:54 am

it have plenty ah dem ting by me, i doh kill them tho. they not venomous, & they help keep the lil bush lizards & small mice in check

Postby rollingstock » March 19th, 2015, 2:41 pm

Never got a conclusive answer, what type of snake is it?

Ribbon snake? Really beautiful snake.

Postby nervewrecker » March 19th, 2015, 2:45 pm

Naw, defiantly not the ribbon.
My guess is rat snake or rainbow boa but the puffing up of the area near the neck is what has me baffled. You would swear it had a rat or something in there but the frog it was making a tackle at was still outside.