S.I.A Shocker

Re: S.I.A Shocker

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2011, 12:03 am

^^ So these were the pics that were being removed?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 1st, 2011, 5:26 am

She real saucy boy!!!!
*can we move on?*

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 1st, 2011, 5:27 am

She real saucy boy!!!!
*can we move on?*

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2011, 8:08 am

^^ not if you keeping us back with the double posts :|

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 1st, 2011, 8:40 am

Posting from bb is so anoying

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » February 1st, 2011, 1:12 pm

Marsh_TT wrote:Image

^^ So these were the pics that were being removed?

i would want them removed too if my woman looked like an obese ,orca looking, botoxed barrel. not every in thing is for everybody sadly she didn't learn that yet.

Postby Cjruckus » February 1st, 2011, 1:23 pm

Zing!

kevcam

Postby kevcam » February 1st, 2011, 1:40 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Zing!

Postby K74T » February 2nd, 2011, 12:39 am

KAMLA ADMITS TO MISTAKE
The appointment of Reshmi Ramnarine as Director of the SSA
By Camille Bethel camille.bethel@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Feb 2, 2011 at 12:02 AM ECT

Story Updated: Feb 2, 2011 at 12:02 AM ECT

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has admitted the People's Partnership Government made a mistake in appointing Reshmi Usha Ramnarine to head the Strategic Services Agency (SSA).

This is the first time Persad-Bissessar has admitted publicly the appointment of 31-year-old Ramnarine (which took effect on January 14) as director of the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA) was a mistake since the Express exclusively broke the story on January 21.

Ramnarine handed in her resignation 24 hours after questions regarding her qualifications for the job were raised in the Express. Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley had also threatened to withhold Opposition support for critical legislation unless she was removed from the position.

In the days that followed, it would be revealed Ramnarine was not qualified for the post, and Rowley threatened to take National Security Minister Brigadier John Sandy (who said in Parliament she was a University of the West Indies graduate) to the Privileges Committee for misleading the Parliament on the matter.

Sandy apologised and avoided facing the Privileges Committee, but Persad-Bissessar did not clear the air on the issue, saying the country needed to move on.

However, on Monday night while speaking with the media following Vision on Mission's second annual awards ceremony at Queen's Hall, St Ann's, the PM said:

"We had a National Security Council meeting; a couple hours of meetings where issues with, of course, anti-crime initiatives, something to do with the Caribbean Financial Task Force and, of course, looking forward to taking the process forward to find an acting interim director for the Strategic Security [sic] Agency.

"We are doing everything we can to ensure that the misstep that was made doesn't happen again."

When asked if Government would consider getting parliamentary approval for the next appointment, Persad-Bissessar said they could not wait that long to consider having Parliament's approval.

"I do not think we can afford to wait another year to put those special constitutional arrangements in place at this point in time," she said.

She said Government is going to spend time on finding the right person for the job and took the decision "that we will have an interim person which will allow for a longer period of time in which to source the best person for the job".

Persad-Bissessar also admitted her Government needs to improve and said she does not blame the media for publishing the story.

"I don't blame the media; the media does their job. I hold no hostility towards anyone in the media. They got a story and they ran with their story, so I say there is always room for improvement. On the part of Government, there is always room for improvement, and we will continue to try to improve at what we do."

Persad-Bissessar said Government would have to do research to see what happens in other parts of the world when appointing other security heads.

"We do have it in the Police Service and, indeed, those were recommendations that came from us when we had the talks with the then prime minister (Patrick Manning), the constitutional arrangements dealing with the Police Service commissioner, the deputies and so on, but those are matters for much further discussions," she said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/KAMLA_ADMITS_TO_MISTAKE-115077729.html

Postby S_2NR » February 2nd, 2011, 2:55 am

"we are doing everything to ensure it doesn happen again" ??
ehh?

allyu corrupt mofos nt gona change..jus gonna hide it in future.. :arrow:

Postby wagonrunner » February 2nd, 2011, 7:15 am

so kams drop a .

does it end there?

Postby shogun » February 2nd, 2011, 7:55 am

^^Fur real eh? ..it does remind me of that. :lol:
Thing is, this whole S.I.A. fiasco only represets the sh!t that we found out about. one can just imagine the bobol going on behind the scenes.

Postby tr1ad » February 2nd, 2011, 8:20 am

^^ yuh trying to say it ha bobol under the unc ah mean pp regime?

Postby janfar » February 2nd, 2011, 9:55 am

Postby Greypatch » February 2nd, 2011, 11:08 am

That feeble statement was not an apology.

People MUST be held accountable for this

Postby crazybalhead » February 2nd, 2011, 11:43 am

janfar wrote:Image

Bahahahahahaaa!!!!!!

Postby K74T » February 2nd, 2011, 11:56 am

janfar :lol: :lol:

Postby rollingstock » February 6th, 2011, 10:55 am

Camini Marajh wrote:
Julie Browne, the deputy spy chief who made the politically explosive recommendation to appoint her very junior technician, Reshmi Usha Ramnarine, 22 rungs up the agency ladder was asked to do so, a source with knowledge of the situation has said.

Sunday Express investigations into the ongoing spy scandal have also revealed that the Ramnarine appointment was not discussed at Cabinet as disclosed by some members of the Kamla Persad-Bissessar government, that Cabinet Note 92 which made the case for Ramnarine's appointment to the top spy post in the country's premier intelligence gathering agency, SSA or Strategic Services Agency, was presented as an ad hoc note to Cabinet and pushed through on the recommendation of the Prime Minister herself.

Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar was not immediately available for comment yesterday but sources familiar with the matter told the Sunday Express that Ramnarine was a political appointee whose credentials were fixed to match the spy chief job specifications. Ramnarine, a Technical Operator 1 in the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA), was secretly appointed to the top spy post on January 14 following the Browne nomination for her accelerated promotion.

She resigned nine days later after a series of Express exclusives revealed that she lied about her academic qualifications and strident public calls for her head and an explanation from the government.

The government got itself embroiled in an angry first response to public criticism, a series of misstatements and, by the Prime Minister's own admission, several missteps. The Prime Minister and her lieutenants in the House consistently defended the Ramnarine appointment before conceding they had erred.

Browne has so far escaped unscathed from the debacle surrounding Ramnarine's falsely-stated credentials which was submitted as an appendix to Cabinet Note 92. Deputy SSA director Browne, who wrote a glowing letter of recommendation for the 31-year-old intercept technician, has failed to respond to repeated calls from this newspaper about the central role she played in getting Ramnarine appointed to the director's chair.

No explanation has been forthcoming for why she went outside of her remit to make the nomination, why she submitted her nomination to the Prime Minister and not her line minister, why she failed to conduct standard security checks or why she permitted an embellished resume to go forward.

Moreover, she is yet to give an account for why her January 10 letter of recommendation sent to the Prime Minister described Ramnarine as a senior member of the agency. Her letter said this: "As a member of a transformation team comprising senior members of the SSA and SIA, who are spearheading the merger of the SSA and SIA, Ms Ramnarine has met the criteria" for the post of interim SSA director.

Ramnarine's CV omits mention of this senior position or the post of acting Chief of Telecom Technology in the Ministry of National Security. In one of the submitted CV's under the heading "Experience", she is listed as a Technical Operator 1 — June 1, 2002 to the present.

In the CV appended to Cabinet Note 92, this experience was changed to read: "Ag Chief of Telecom Technology, Ministry of National Security of Trinidad and Tobago." How or when this Telecom appointment was made is still a mystery.

Browne has not commented on whether she was a willing conspirator to the controversial appointment or why she qualified Ramnarine as a suitable candidate for the sensitive high-level appointment when she knew or ought to have known that Ramnarine had embellished her work experience.

The deputy spy director has been with the shadowy agency for 14 years, according to insiders and were familiar not only with Ramnarine, who joined the SIA in 2002, but also with the laid-down security protocols for thorough background security clearance relating to academic and work experience.

The already existing rigorous vetting process in place, the Sunday Express was told, also look into the character, background and connections of the candidate under consideration. In the Ramnarine case, Browne said: "She has confirmed that she has completed her degree at the University of the West Indies, in Information Technology."

As reported previously by this newspaper, Ramnarine does not have an IT degree from UWI or anywhere else.

Two of the references listed on her resume, Keithan Browne, no relation to Julie Browne, and Sharon Sharma have also denied giving Ramnarine permission to use their names as references.

The first Browne, a senior official with Caricom Implementation Agency for Crime and Security, said she gave Ramnarine authorisation to list her as a reference only for a study-related application to UWI.

She said nobody from the SIA, Ministry of National Security or the National Security Council, of which the Prime Minister is chairman, made a call to her.

Deputy SSA director Browne is among the four references listed in the Ramnarine resume. The other person is Shireen Ali, brand marketing manager at SM Jaleel and Co and close friend of Ramnarine.

Another Ramnarine friend, who spoke to the Sunday Express on condition of anonymity, said Ramnarine spoke about her SIA intercept work relating to the Vindra Naipaul kidnapping.

Ramnarine, a close friend of the Prime Minister's public engagement and policy adviser, Sasha Mohammed, was also identified as one of the sources to a multi-part TV6 expose entitled Spy Games. The series were produced by Mohammed, a former TV6 reporter.

Neither Mohammed nor Ramnarine responded yesterday to requests for a comment. Also, neither answered their phones which went to voicemail.

Sources in the intelligence community said the reported disclosures were in breach of the standard confidentiality contracts signed by all employees of intelligence agencies. Sources also raised concern as to whether there were matters in Ramnarine's personal life that could lead to compromise, including blackmail.

Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar on Friday failed to give a full account of how a junior technician made it to the top director's chair in the country's premier intelligence agency and why nothing worked to protect the State from a potential national security disaster.

She conceded in the House on Friday that "the buck stops" with her and that her government was "human" and liable to make mistakes. She also said: "We will ensure that in all our action, merit trumps political affiliation."

The difficulty with this scripted explanation, however, according to evidence revealed so far by this newspaper, is that the Ramnarine appointment was not a "misstep" but a deliberate act that breached existing security protocols.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SPY ... 97854.html

Postby rollingstock » February 6th, 2011, 10:57 am

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 6th, 2011, 2:30 pm

do people hang for treason here? hmmmm is that kamliars plan?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 6th, 2011, 7:49 pm

rollingstock wrote:Image

I was gonna ask what this was, but I see it says grinding shrimp.....

Julie browne's recomendation letter

Postby SR » February 8th, 2011, 8:28 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 34004.html

anyone care to comment on the qualifications of the previous head

"The human resource records at the SIA and the Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard (TTCG) reveal that Nigel Clement was in possession of 5 0' Levels with grades B's and C's. Moreover, the majority of his career was spent as an ordinary naval officer in the TTCG. His experience in the TTCG did not in any way distinguish him for the position to which he was appointed. He possessed no specific training or qualification over and above the average TTCG officer to qualify him for his appointment as Director of the SSA or SIA. ""In March 2009, one month before the submission of the Ross Report on the National Security Sector Review, which initially recommended the merger of SIA and SSA. Nigel Clement sought to qualify himself for the position of Director of the merged entity at the expense of the State. He began pursuit of a Diploma/Masters of Studies in Applied Criminology and Police Management at Wolfson College, Cambridge University, United Kingdom. The approximate cost of the programme is as follows:

Tuition: TT$142,725—£14,000 (£7,000 per academic year)

Travel: TT$351,900—(Business Class airfare to London @ approx. $36,000. And per diem @ approx $22,650 for six, two-week residential sessions over the two year programme).

Total: TT$494,625.

Some cost was borne by SAUTT and some by SIA.

It is unknown at this present time if he has completed same"

can someone exlpain this

maybe rowley should comment on it instead

sorry i mean

rasc/pioneer

jadakiss

Re: Julie browne's recomendation letter

Postby jadakiss » February 8th, 2011, 8:31 am

SR wrote:rasc/pioneer

^^^ waiting...... :shock:

Postby eliteauto » February 8th, 2011, 9:01 am

well since I'm already labeled I might as well express my view:
Firstly there was/are no educational criteria for the position of director and prior to the current PM's revelations in Parliament that served no purpose other than to grab headlines and score political points, no one was aware of the post ( it's intelligence/Nat sec), however the furore that ensued with the appointment of Reshmi, was directly related to her padded resume and qualifications espoused by Gov't Ministers in and out of Parliament that cannot be substantiated, so the current Gov't highlighted qualifications then found themselves accused of misleading the populace and nepotism.

So what is the relevance of the former Director's qualification when at the time there was no criteria? Grasping at straws IMO

silver

Postby silver » February 8th, 2011, 9:06 am

Is this another one of those "PNM-did-it-worse-so-stop-making-a-big-deal-about-PP's-mistakes" threads?

1sigh

Postby SR » February 8th, 2011, 9:07 am

you were "labeled"

i not disputing reshmi's resume

but how can a position such as that not require qualifications

my questions are to what has been going on in the past and how was it allowed to be like that

Postby Hook » February 8th, 2011, 9:08 am

eliteauto wrote:well since I'm already labeled I might as well express my view:
Firstly there was/are no educational criteria for the position of director and prior to the current PM's revelations in Parliament that served no purpose other than to grab headlines and score political points, no one was aware of the post ( it's intelligence/Nat sec), however the furore that ensued with the appointment of Reshmi, was directly related to her padded resume and qualifications espoused by Gov't Ministers in and out of Parliament that cannot be substantiated, so the current Gov't highlighted qualifications then found themselves accused of misleading the populace and nepotism.

So what is the relevance of the former Director's qualification when at the time there was no criteria? Grasping at straws IMO

Yuh kno, me and a padnuh talkin dis same talk last week. For a position that was never advertised, no suitable qualifications posted, no job description or scope of work defined, ah find REAL ppl jump on d whole "but she not qualified" train.

say wha *bites into fry bake n' pork and sips Folgers*

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2011, 9:11 am

eh dan whe yuh get dat bake an pork

Humes

Postby Humes » February 8th, 2011, 9:14 am

What's your point, SR? You're trying to absolve PP of doing shite because PNM did shite?

The nation needs better governance. The PP promised to provide better governance. This is not an example of better governance.

So you demanding better governance or yuh defendin shite?

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2011, 9:22 am

eliteauto wrote:well since I'm already labeled I might as well express my view:

buh look. dem do it too.

that was the change i guess.