Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

GRIM

Re: Celebrating the 1990 Coup?!?!?!?

Postby GRIM » July 27th, 2013, 1:58 pm

This wasn't the same guy who awhile ago was to sick to go to court?
Wasn't he sick with his leg or something? yet he healthy enough to palance up and down POS whilst also supposed to be fasting.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » July 27th, 2013, 3:13 pm

till this day i cannot understand why this man is allowed to see the light of day..

Postby maj. tom » July 27th, 2013, 5:14 pm

^ and one has to wonder why there has not been a Commission of Inquiry into the 1990 coup until 3 years ago, and even then, what answers will the public get from it? Too many political players who are still in the game has too much to lose from it.

That's why if we don't learn our history, the causes and full effects of the incident, we are doomed to repeat it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 27th, 2013, 5:34 pm

personally I enjoyed the time....and all the shows on spanking new tv6

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » July 27th, 2013, 5:41 pm

Some lawyer took that case and he won... Trinidad justice system. Not in the Uncle Sam though!

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2013, 9:09 pm

GRIM wrote:This wasn't the same guy who awhile ago was to sick to go to court?
Wasn't he sick with his leg or something? yet he healthy enough to palance up and down POS whilst also supposed to be fasting.

hoss, sometimes my hip does act up. i hobble along in minor agony on some days, while nearly parkouring on others... go figure.

1990 was the last time tnt had opportunity for REAL change, since the dunce eric pull we from Elizabeth

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 27th, 2013, 9:42 pm

maj. tom wrote:Image
Jamaat al Muslimneen leader Yasin Abu Bakr, centre, leads members of his organisation on a march along Frederick Street, Port-of-Spain, yesterday to commemorate the anniversary of the attempted coup of July 27, 1990, which he led. PHOTO: MARCUS GONZALES

© 2012 GUARDIAN MEDIA LIMITED

I just wish the USA would whisk this man away to Guantanamo, never to be seen again.

one sniper was all that was needed here..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2013, 11:28 pm

Myers: Madness
Paying Abu Bakr for his testimony...

By Jensen LaVende jensen.lavende@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jul 27, 2013 at 9:33 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 27, 2013 at 10:29 PM ECT
MADNESS!
This was how former government minister Lincoln Myers yesterday described the notion of Imam Yasin Abu Bakr, who 23 years ago tried to overthrow the then National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR) government, being paid for his testimony on the events that led to the attempted coup.
Abu Bakr, the leader of the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen, on July 27, 1990, led 113 insurgents in a failed coup to overthrow the NAR government led by Arthur NR Robinson. More than 20 people died during the siege.
On Friday Abu Bakr led a commemorative walk from the Red House, where Parliament was held in 1990, to the Port of Spain Waterfront, where the Parliament is currently held pending refurbishment of the Red House.
Abu Bakr reiterated Friday that he would not testify in the Commission of Enquiry into the attempted coup unless he was paid the same amount as commission chairman Sir David Simmons and that his attorney was also be paid the equivalent to attorneys in the matter who represented the State.
Earlier this year, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said the fees paid for the services of the five commissioners at the enquiry amounted to $15,062,147.97.
Myers who spoke to members of the media at the Red House for the commemorative wreath laying yesterday said the only word to politely describe Abu Bakr’s claim was “madness”.
Myers joined Wendell Eversley in the laying of the wreath after Eversley walked from Arima to Port of Spain in commemoration of the day.
Eversley also denounced Abu Bakr’s decision to hold a commemorative walk on the anniversary of the failed coup. Eversley said he thought Abu Bakr was coming to apologise but instead “they came to warn the government”.
Eversley apologised to those who lost loved ones in the coup and added that he was saddened that the entrance to the eternal flame where he had laid the wreath for the past 21 years was blocked.
This year is the second consecutive year that Eversley was unable to lay the wreath near the eternal flame as restoration works are being done on the building.
Eversley said he had written to Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal seeking assistance to have the eternal flame available. When Eversley arrived the eternal flame was barricaded.
Eversley said he felt embarrassed that an acknowledgement letter was not sent to him after he invited political leaders to be present at the wreath laying. He added that come September 11, many of them would be at the United States Embassy to pay their respects for the 9/11 terrorist attacks.
Eversley said he will be sitting outside the US Embassy in Port of Spain on September 11 in a protest demonstration against local parliamentarians who commemorated that day but failed to acknowledge July 27, 1990.

Postby nervewrecker » July 28th, 2013, 12:34 am

Sky wrote:It bothers me that the word 'coup' is written with between ' ', when it's short for coup detat.
I have a feeling that this journalist thinks 'coup' is a locally made up name for what he did..

Journalist think everyone talking about a hyundai

Postby pioneer » July 28th, 2013, 1:23 am

This is like if the US allowed muslims to march infront ground zero come 9/11.

Banana republic...we negotiate with terrorists round these parts

Postby rfari » July 28th, 2013, 1:27 am

What had me stumped up to this day is that the high court upheld an amnesty for the jamaat that was signed under 'stress and duress'.
Anyways we like it so yes

Postby pioneer » July 28th, 2013, 1:32 am

Bakr worth more to politicians free and alive, than he is jailed or dead.

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2013, 4:07 am

Eversly, doh hot yuh head that politicians would rather go 9/11 than 1990. 1990 was supposed tp solve that

Hyperion

1990 Coup Inquiry Report

Postby Hyperion » March 13th, 2014, 6:50 pm

So, Sir David Simmonds presented the report on the inquiry into the 1990 Coup to the President and Prime Minister today. Apart from this being an exercise in futility and a waste of money, my biggest issue is that an entire chapter has been deemed confidential as it contains information pertinent to National Security.

Undoubtedly one of the biggest frauds in recent history, Mr. Medal of Honor himself Hafizool Mohammed, would have had access to and made recommendations on these confidential matters. How are we as taxpayers and citizens supposed to put up with this level of absolute nonsense? A man who pins every medal he can buy on ebay to his chest is making recommendations on national security matters which will no doubt at best be considered by the national security council and at worst actually be implemented.

We will continue to be a banana republic for the foreseeable future..............

Re: 1990 Coup Inquiry Report

Postby eliteauto » March 13th, 2014, 7:21 pm

I would like to know when it will be available for public viewing, seeing as taxpayers paid for it

Postby nemisis » March 13th, 2014, 8:13 pm

, ^^^chapter 12 is what I'm interested in

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 13th, 2014, 8:48 pm

eliteauto wrote:I would like to know when it will be available for public viewing, seeing as taxpayers paid for it

FOIA stipulates the availability, just not timelines :lol: :lol: :lol:

Re: REMEMBER JULY 27th 1990.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2014, 12:53 am

A bloody anniversary
By by Raoul Pantin
Story Created: Jul 26, 2014 at 9:34 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 26, 2014 at 9:34 PM ECT
The man who abjectly surrendered to a bristling Defence Force on August 1, 1990 in order to save his own life and that of his followers and who subsequently benefited from a generous interpretation of the law today sounds like someone key representatives of the State should be afraid of. But hardly likely.
When the local courts upheld the amnesty Bakr’s men had wrested from the government under the gun in the Red House in 1990, the government had appealed to the Privy Council, which ruled the amnesty “invalid” because, it said, the insurgents had continued to make new demands after agreeing to the amnesty.
But the Privy Council also ruled since four years had passed it would not be in keeping with “due process” to have the insurgents all rounded up and tried for their crimes. So they would remain free, as they have to this day.
But Abu Bakr’s threats last Wednesday aimed at the Minister of National Security and at least two senior police officers for detaining the Carapo members of the Muslimeen are unlikely to have any real impact.
On the contrary, those threats are quite likely to land him and some of his key followers in even more serious trouble—because by today, July 27, 2014, as the country marks the 24th anniversary of Bakr’s ill-fated attempted coup the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen no longer has the dread reputation it first acquired in 1990.
This is largely thanks to men like retired Defence Force major general Ralph Brown—which is why I take strong objection to National Security Minister Gary Griffith’s recent rhetorical assault against Brown after he raised the issue of the legality of those army patrols in Laventille.
In fact, the late Colonel Joseph Theodore and Ralph Brown were the two key Defence Force officers who faced down Bakr and his minions in 1990. And it was mere luck of the draw, as it were, that saved Bakr and his men from a very long spell in prison.
Bakr and the 114 men he led in a surprise assault on a sitting session of the House of Representatives at the Red House late on the afternoon of July 27, 1990 certainly caught everyone by surprise—including the police, whose headquarters on St Vincent Street some of his men set on fire by exploding a car bomb after shooting dead the sentry on duty. (In all some 24 people lost their lives as a result of that attempted coup, including former MP Leo des Vignes).
Bakr led the simultaneous takeover of then Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT) so he could announce, as he did at the 7 p.m. Panorama newscast time that evening, that he had “overthrown the government” of then-prime minister ANR Robinson, whose members he promised to “put on trial”.
As I related in a book, titled Days of Wrath, I subsequently wrote on that horrendous experience, I was at work as a freelance parliamentary reporter for TTT when, at around 6.15 on the afternoon of July 27, 1990 I was disturbed by: “Angry men, their voices raised, shouting. This was my first signal, not yet alarm, that something unordinary was going on outside the tiny cubicle in the recording studio at Trinidad and Tobago Television...
I looked out the tiny square glass window in the thick partially sound-proofed cubicle door and was instantly alarmed to see one, then two young men with very large guns in their hands come barging through the outer studio door..
“Out! Out!” they were shouting. “Everybody come outside now!”
I came out of the cubicle where I was working, my hands instinctively raised in the air. Out the corner of one eye I caught a glimpse of news director Jones Madeira, who had been working in the cubicle next to mine, tugging in his door against an advancing gunman.
A futile gesture. The gunman converged on the shut door, slamming his rifle butt repeatedly against it. Madeira quickly joined me and two young German television technicians who had been also working in the studio. They were at TTT to conduct a training course. We were led at gunpoint to the corridor outside the studio, and were joined by a couple of young female employees and one or two newsroom staff.
“Lie face down on the floor!” a gunman snarled.
We all went down, slowly, reluctantly, but down.”
That was the beginning of six days of sheer terror, instigated by one man whom I soon identified.
As I wrote in my book: “There striding up the corridor towards me, closely followed by a retinue of gunmen, was the familiar, tall, strapping figure of Yasin Abu Bakr, dressed in an immaculate white gown, a fez on his head, nodding curtly at me as he walked past.”
Prime minister ANR Robinson, now deceased, and other members of Parliament (MPs) had also been held under the gun in the Red House and Robinson would forever earn a reputation as an extraordinarily brave man when, ordered with a gun to his head to call off the attacking loyal forces, he shouted instead: “Murderers! Torturers! Attack with full force!” He was shot in the leg as a result. But the loyal forces certainly went on the attack.
By 2.40 on the following Saturday afternoon, as I wrote in Days of Wrath: “The first sound of the army on the attack was a stinging hail of machine-gun fire spattering off the outside walls of TTT in a deadly rhythm....we (the TTT hostages) hit the floor, stretched ourselves flat out as the gunfire from outside the building roared and boomed. The sounds were deadly, a non-stop hail of machine-gun fire came at us...
And now the gunmen were to demonstrate something that both astonished and frightened me even more. Man for man, bullet for bullet, they stood up under that thunderous army gunfire and fought back without the slightest hint of fear or confusion. I thought, listening to them return fire, these men are trained combatants. No ordinary civilian stands up to heavy gunfire like that.”
But the unrelenting army gunfire, which lasted five hours that Saturday, eventually convinced the gunmen that they couldn’t beat the Defence Force in a gunfight.
As I subsequently wrote: “These gunmen knew it was all over. The ferocious army gunfire from every point outside that building sealed all exits. Effective as of its first 24 hours, the Trinidad coup, as a military adventure, had ended.”
It eventually took another four days for the gunmen to agree to surrender or else all be wiped out because it was obvious the army wasn’t joking. You want to die for your cause? No problem. We are happy to oblige you.
There had originally been a lot of talk among the insurgents about fighting to the last man, going down as “martyrs” so they could go to “Paradise” and be rewarded with “72 virgins”.
But that was just talk. As one of the more militant of Bakr’s followers said to me the day after the gunfight with the Defence Force: “Pantin, boy, yesterday I was prepared to dead eh but you see today, today is a different story.”
And the minute I heard that, my hopes for liberation from this nightmare soared. Because I knew this was the Trinidadian version of fundamentalist Islam I was hearing, which actually amounted to just so much bluster and bluff.
After days of tense negotiations, in which the Anglican cleric, Canon Knolly Clarke, played a key role prime minister Robinson was eventually released from the Red House on July 31, the beginning of the end of this horrific nightmare.
And for all his initial bravado on August 1, 1990, on the sixth day of this crisis, Bakr, having just spoken to Colonel Theodore on the phone from TTT, carefully related to his men how the army wanted them coming out of that shot-up, battle-scarred television station:
“Hold your gun in your left hand, above the trigger guard, above the magazine, with your middle left finger in the centre of the barrel, your right hand down by your side.”
As I wrote subsequently: “Bakr didn’t have to add that any gunman walking out of TTT that day in any other posture would be leaving for Paradise, going straight up, without passing GO or collecting 200, instantly.”
Six days of sheer terror and it was finally over—except, of course, for the nightmares that would haunt me for years afterwards, even occasionally up to this day, 24 years later!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2014, 12:56 am

up till today 2014.....these ppl still making threats to the government and country.......

SAD DAY in our history....R.I.P. to the innocent ones that lost their lives because of this senseless act by this minority group.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2014, 1:00 am

Forgotten employees of the 1990 night shift
By By DENYSE RENNE denyse.rennne@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jul 26, 2014 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 26, 2014 at 9:36 PM ECT
Twenty-four years have passed since the July 27, 1990 attempted coup.
But for former clerical clerks Althea Passee-Bugros, Lauren Lopez and Grace Payne, the memories etched in their minds from that fateful day cannot be erased.
The women were part of the night staff at the Red House in Port of Spain when members of the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen stormed the building announcing that the government had been overthrown.
Speaking with the Sunday Express on Friday, the women said they were unable to testify at the concluded Commission of Enquiry into the 1990 coup because their efforts to get information about the enquiry were not forthcoming. Their memories of the attempted coup included being locked in a vault, avoiding bullets which rained through the windows of the Red House and jumping through windows to avoid gunmen.
Two employees Lorraine Caballero and security guard Malcom Basanta were casualties on that day.
The women were among a group of 30 employees working the night shift. During that period the Red House catered to people wanting birth, marriage and death certificates.
Passee-Bugros said she worked at the Red House for nine years prior to the attempted coup.
She had been hired to do copying of records which were “tattered and old”.
“We used microscopes sometimes to get the information and place them in the proper order.
On that fateful day, I was three months pregnant, not much people knew and I wasn’t really feeling like coming to work that day. But my sister, she was also pregnant as well, and had an appointment in the hospital and she said ‘come girl, come to work I will buy you lunch’. So I said OK and went down to work.”
Explaining that the night shift employees commenced duties at 3 p.m. and ended at 11 p.m., Passee-Bugros said even though it was late, she commenced duty at 5.30 p.m. and didn’t have a chance to sit, or settle in before she heard a “loud explosion or gunshot or whatever it was, across by the police station.
But we knew that sometime before, a police officer had shot his wife and himself so we thought was something like that going on.”
Passee-Bugros said not knowing what was really going on, a number of employees ran to the window and looked out.
“Then we saw bullets start to fly off the window and one of the co-workers push in the window and we started to run. Another co-worker told us to run, it was an earthquake or something like that and everyone started to scamper.”
She said she ran down to the Binding Section and straight to a window which was facing the Holy Trinity Cathedral.
“A few people ran there and jumped. Some who were already at the bottom of the window encouraged the others to do same. My friend Dorris, she was in front of me, and when she looked down, realised the height. As she was getting ready to jump, some people ran past, shooting at the building. We separated then.”
Passee-Bugros said she ran into the Birth Section to hide and found three other women there as well.
She started crying and was told to start praying.
After some time had passed, she got up and was asked by the other women where she was going.
“I told them I prefer to get a bullet, rather than stay here and die,” she said, explaining that she was unaware that the police building was burning.
She said smoke seeping into the building gave her the impression the Red House was on fire.
She made her way back to a window, and then Passee-Bugros said she spotted a man who looked about 19, armed with a big gun.
“Our eyes make four and I shouted I want to come out, he said OK. So I hiked up my skirt and jumped and I just ran until I found a good Samaritan Coast Guard who took me home”.
I thought I was going to lose my baby. For months after, I was scared to come back to town. I didn’t know what to do, I was just there waiting for my baby to come. I didn’t know I was that strong,” she said.
Both women said with the 24th anniversary of the attempted coup today they wanted the night staff of the Red House to be recognised.
“Nobody to this date knew there was a night staff. A lot of employees broke their legs and were traumatised for years, and still cannot get over what happened,” Lopez said.
Recalling that recently a child “burst an Orchard pack” of juice in a store, and the sound terrified her, Lopez said the clerks had to call her husband to collect her.
Payne said during the unrest she along with others were hidden in a vault, while windows were being shot at.
“We were smelling smoke and we were scared. The vault was locked and we couldn’t get out,” she said.
Eventually they were able to make their way to safety.
They were the lucky ones.
Twenty-four people died in the 1990 coup attempt.

The 30 employees on duty during the night shift at the Red House on July 27, 1990:

Althea Passee-Bugros
Lauren Lopez
Grace Payne
Judy Munroe
Dennis Thompson
Raymond Pollydore
Nathaniel Howell
Bernette Monroe
Burt Le Gendre
Boysie Sookram
Karen George
Leah Notthingham
Joyce Durant
Marva Peters
Denise Cupid
Sandra Rogers
Rhonda Roshan-Mitchell
Annette Charles
Alberta Forbes
Elenor Joseph
Malcom Basanta (deceased)
Curtis Lyons
Kimberlin Greaves
Maureen Wharwood
Yvonne Alexander
Timothy Balfor
Sharon Drakes
Mary Wallace
Dorris Alexander
Lorraine Caballero (deceased)

Postby maj. tom » July 27th, 2014, 1:24 am

no MacGyver that night :cry:

It is a pity that no official inquiry or historians has yet been published of this entire saga: the build-up, the execution and the painful aftermath and reconstruction of this entire incident. Why did they wait until 2010 to start a government inquiry into this incident? If we don't learn our history, aren't we doomed to repeat it? An older man told me that that was the day Trinidad had lost its innocence and everything changed for this country. For the first time he had lived in real fear for his family.

:| Cannot believe the statements that the OP made...

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 27th, 2014, 1:59 am

was abt 18mnths at that time,honestly cant appreciate the severity of what bakr did

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » July 27th, 2014, 9:04 am

Remember Jones P Madera (SP) reading from a piece of paper "we would like to assure the public, we are alright, we are alright". I asked my mom, if he is alright, why is he reading it from a piece of paper for?

Postby 1UZFE » July 27th, 2014, 9:24 am

hope if they do it this time G. Griffith fak dem up...
Seta gunta eid Muslims making the genuine Muslims get a bad name..

TriP

Postby TriP » July 27th, 2014, 9:25 am

To Recap the Highlights:

"At 6.00 pm this afternoon the Government of Trinidad of Tobago was overthrown. The prime minister and members of the Cabinet are under arrest.
We are asking everybody to remain calm. The revolutionary forces are commanded to control the streets ...There shall be no looting ....if these people were rightly guided then why has god given us the power over them?
Why are we sitting here tonight before you? Who makes the decision in the Universe? Is it not your creator? Where is the Prime Minister to address the nation? Where is he? God has removed him. God has removed the authority not the power. Because no man, including myself has any power. We have temporary authority because we all die.."
ad.jpg

Postby Rainman » July 27th, 2014, 9:31 am

Wasn't there a book published....would like to get my hands on a copy.

TriP

Postby TriP » July 27th, 2014, 9:47 am

More Highlights of July 27th 1990:

1. Panday, leader of the United National Congress party, was apparently at home sleeping when the coup attempt started.The panel noted Panday had fueled speculation by telling his wife to "wake me up when it's finished" as she tried to rouse him from sleep once she saw Bakr on national television telling islanders his group was in charge of the country. :lol:

2. Mr. Robinson was in the Parliament building when the rebels stormed in. They held him and more than 45 others hostage, binding them hand and foot, gagging them and forcing them to lie facedown on the floor. The rebels attempted to force Mr. Robinson to call off the Trinidad military waiting outside the building.

“I shouted, ‘Murderers! Torturers!’ and I called upon the forces outside to attack with full force,” Mr. Robinson later told Reuters. He was beaten and was shot in the right leg

3. Joesph Toney said.. He told the hostages that as they went out, it was quite possible there would be sniper fire from these delinquent soldiers, Toney added...He said while they were held hostage, he got a message to his wife via telephone, and asked her to get the parliamentarians outside to help them go home. He added: “Those on the outside took a decision not to bother with us. They couldn’t care less. They were eating and drinking at the Hilton. If we were killed, so be it. “This was the message that was relayed back to me from Abdullah.” Toney said after he was released he was told that was a tactic used by those advising the government. “I was told they were playing for time to wear down the captors,” he said. Further, then UNC MP, John Humphrey, caused the hostages to be kept in the Red House another day, Toney said.

He said the Muslimeen were getting ready to release the hostages when Humphrey told Abdullah: “Get that in writing. Remember what happened with the soldiers. “We stayed another day,” Toney said. “My colleagues were quite upset. They wondered which side he was on.” Toney, telling of his personal experience, said when the Muslimeen asked for a lawyer to start negotiations, he had to crawl on his belly across the floor, with his hands tied, while gunshots aimed at the Red House rang out from soldiers outside

4.(Reuter) Moslem extremists staging a coup attempt in Trinidad and Tobago, who have wired the country's prime minister and 11 other government officials to explosives, demanded a plane to fly to Libya, the Caribbean News Agency (CANA) said Saturday

You You You We Are Going to Blow U Up...Imam Yasim Abu Bakr sent messages to Camp Ogden demanding they stop jamming the television transmission. He threatened to place explosives on the hostages.

5. At the Stadium Trinidad Against Jamaica..Shell Caribbean Cup...Jamaican football coach, Winston Chung-Fah said..Looting was rampant. It was the first time that I had ever seen a man place a large refrigerator on his back and walk with it down Independence Square, close to the Trinidad Express newspaper offices :lol:

mars

Postby mars » July 27th, 2014, 9:51 am

Bakr also chastised Griffith who talked about stamping out cockroaches and Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar for her unleashing the dogs of war statement. “How could the Minister of National Security call citizens cockroaches? How could the PM be unleashing dogs of war?” Told by one of the interviewers that his statement might be perceived as a threat, Bakr responded, “They have a Dog Act. Men shooting dogs who attacking them and that is within the law.

“The PM say she unleash the dogs and if the dogs every night in Carapo, when they say if dogs attacking you, you shoot the dogs. The law says if a dog attack you, you shoot it. Anand Ramlogan (Attorney General) and them pass that law in Parliament.”

So Commissioner Williams, I guess this is not a threat either?

Postby SR » July 27th, 2014, 12:05 pm

Yuh mean acting...commisioner who cant even speak inteligently

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 27th, 2014, 12:08 pm

I was in a Bar in Starlite playing pool when a Guard ran up stairs and told us what was happening , we turned on the radio and the announcer said that everything was okay and under control so we fired another Drink and played Pool , but I looked out the window and people were driving crazy bouncing cars trying to get out that's when we said time to leave my friend who was driving took me home and he had to stay by me that night as he could not get home to St Ann's .