Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Ted_v2 » June 18th, 2012, 8:44 pm

how much for a good cordless drill now?
and where can i check? i saw some in dansteel for around 9-1000 i think

also saw pricemart have a nice on in stock for around 400 anyone here uses one like this and can run a small review?

purpose? to work with drywall screws and any daily stuff that pops up

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 18th, 2012, 9:14 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Anyone know where I could get a tool chest like this locally. Looking for something with at least 8 drawers and better quality than the typical "Made in China" quality.

today in bhags chaguanas branch i saw some like this , d brand was ACE , didnt really have time to check it out since i was in a hurry ....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 18th, 2012, 10:31 pm

I saw that in pricemart last week,for about $2500 or so.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » June 19th, 2012, 8:04 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:how much for a good cordless drill now?
and where can i check? i saw some in dansteel for around 9-1000 i think

also saw pricemart have a nice on in stock for around 400 anyone here uses one like this and can run a small review?

purpose? to work with drywall screws and any daily stuff that pops up

got one from pricesmart about 1.5 yrs ago to build a kitchen island. was about 400 i think. used gypsum screws (probably 1000) alone (no glue). since that i used it for many things diy. like concrete boxing, other small cabinets etc.
important to note that this is not a corded drill so torque will be limited. works great on ply and other softer materials just dont expect to drill 1/4" steel :wink: . i also hate that i can never tell how much battery power is left and all of a sudden its dead. average battery life between charges was good and it doesnt seem to lose charge between uses. i probably use mine once every quarter and i just squeeze trigger and go. will definitely advise to get a spare battery if you can (just for convenience). was considering buying the combo deal at pricesmart since that has 2 batteries with the 4 tools.

Postby Chimera » June 19th, 2012, 9:37 pm

a few pages ago i posted that i misplaced my 20v black and decker cordless drill, i immediately order a new one after that, found back my original one under the seat in a car i don't really use lol so now i have meh two 20v drills :D

Postby Chimera » June 20th, 2012, 7:42 am

trying to find a metal sheet like this

i want it like the top row (2nd from left)
or the bottom row (2nd from left)

Postby nervewrecker » June 20th, 2012, 7:46 am

I know some of those rice shops used to sell a metal sheet for men to make automobile grill with but it was more hexagonal instead of circular wrt the holes.

Postby Chimera » June 20th, 2012, 8:50 am

yeah i know the mesh you talking about, that would be far too weak though

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2012, 4:08 pm

those u have there are sold for DJ speaker boxes...they use it for the front grill
the local name is " circle grill"

i cant remember who sells them but i know its quite costly...i'll try to find out for u

Postby Chimera » June 20th, 2012, 5:17 pm

depending on the cost ill probably end up just using a piece of angle iron and boring holes in it lol

Postby Chimera » June 20th, 2012, 5:25 pm

it doesn't actually have to be a sheet though

this would actually be ideal for my purposes

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2012, 6:01 pm

if ur not gonna weld it and just bolt it onto something ...you could look into getting angle aluminum, way easier to drill and use than steel
the company "Lotec" sells all types of material and by just the amount you want

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2012, 6:03 pm

thats the shelving material, i dunno the name they call it
but it should be common ?

Postby Chimera » June 20th, 2012, 6:04 pm

ill pass through bhags tmr and see

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 20th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Dexion shelving i think its called, but thats a brand rather than the name of the item.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » June 20th, 2012, 9:29 pm

Tracmac is the dealer for Dexion locally

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2012, 9:32 pm

ABA, how much of it u need?...i should have a few feet of it somewhere around doing nothing

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2012, 2:46 pm

Kelvin Ghanny is having their sale this saturday ppl, the 30th
thats in the estate by IAM and company

kual

Postby kual » June 26th, 2012, 2:58 pm

if i say i know you how much discount you think i would get?

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2012, 3:07 pm

lol, i jus saw the banner on the highway
i dont work there.....

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » July 1st, 2012, 8:03 pm

has anyone here used the 110v mig from pricesmart?
want to know if it good enough for small diy stuff.

Postby X_Factor » July 1st, 2012, 9:50 pm

^i've used it a couple times
dont expect much out of it....everyone i spoke to told me to save the extra and buy a 220 welder instead
i'd like to get the 220v AC/DC arc welder hopefully for christmas

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » July 2nd, 2012, 8:31 am

already have a lincoln ac 225 for thicker stuff. why do u guys need dc???
i know i was not specific before; have a small auto project to do and i know that machine would melt that metal instantly so i looking for something to do the thinner stuff.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 2nd, 2012, 3:33 pm

It is a light duty/hobby machine so as X said, don't expect much out of it. Most of them have a 10% duty cycle or less and hit thermal protection quite easily.

If you do understand the limitations of the machine, however, with careful use, you can probably get it to do what you want.

DC on the stick welder will not burn as much as the AC and gives a smoother bead.

Postby X_Factor » July 2nd, 2012, 4:30 pm

i've used the 110v for sheet metal and it works decent enough
i tried it on 1x1rhs and it didnt work
BUT
the owner was able to weld it together for me....
so i guess yuh hadda know what u doing as well

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2012, 4:31 pm

dc on stick welder has more options for different types of rods
(not that it makes much diff for regular fabricating)

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » July 2nd, 2012, 8:23 pm

thanks for all the info.
will think about it an do a lil more research when i get time.
my ac unit done make back the cost long time.
never regret :]

Postby X_Factor » July 4th, 2012, 12:12 am

anyone have a rivet gun and willin to lend?
i have one, but its too small for a 1/4" rivet

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2012, 7:57 am

I have a few brand new carbide tipped circular saw blades
they been packed up a while, dusty and dirty but never used.

giving them away $30ea

Postby X_Factor » July 4th, 2012, 4:26 pm

^the amt of times i set u up eh....