.::The Official Nokia Thread::.

tiger balm

Re: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby tiger balm » April 7th, 2012, 8:57 pm

True. I thought with Tango they would have tried to enter the Caribbean with the 610 etc sooner rather than later. Guess we still too small a market for their immediate attention.

Postby ismithx » April 7th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Loyal Nokia e51 user checking in.... 4 years and the phone going strong... battery prolly at 80% original capacity, one of the keyboard backlights gone, and the rubber side keys mashup, but the phone strong as ever, solid metal construction....

i just wish nokia hadn't messed up symbian... T_T

larry_ois3

RE: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby larry_ois3 » April 8th, 2012, 2:51 am

original_lollybob wrote:guess who threw down his Lumia and as such no touch functionality works anymore

:(

ouch!!! Been eyeing the lumia 900 as the upgrade to my dell VP (4.3 inch screen vs my 4.1)
Thanks for the app mention also. This is so much better than using internet explorer.

Sent from my Venue Pro using Board Express

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 10th, 2012, 12:53 pm

One of the selection buttons in my Nokia E71 is giving trouble. Sometimes it works, most times it doesn't.

This happened a few days after I accidentally dropped the phone about 300mm (1ft.) on to my desk. I have re-booted the phone with the factory default settings, taken out the battery, re-loaded the phone software and the problem persists. The phone does not exhibit any other problems after the fall other than the malfunctioning key. So I suspect it my be a hardware problem.

Does anyone know a place where I can take the phone to assess what could the problem be?

Thanks.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 10th, 2012, 1:46 pm

in south, Crow's Nest on Cipero Street...

Driven

Postby Driven » April 15th, 2012, 10:51 pm

WTK: Will the "Phone Only" Lumia 900 option on Amazon be able to work with a local SIM? (i.e. is it an unlocked phone?)

I'm seriously considering getting it and that's the only thing holding me back now :-(

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 16th, 2012, 6:39 am

Is it $450?

If yea... Then yea it's unlocked

Driven

Postby Driven » April 16th, 2012, 8:14 am

yup it is

didn't see them explicitly saying "unlocked" so I had some doubt.. thanks man :)

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 16th, 2012, 10:20 am

no scene

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 29th, 2012, 12:48 pm

makes me want to buy one

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » May 29th, 2012, 1:03 pm

u should

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 29th, 2012, 9:31 pm

Looking to upgrade guys..

Looking at the E6/N8 (with Symbian Belle)...Reason for the E6 is that I want something with a Physical keyboard as it's easier for me to type and it's faster to type with, I've had experience with typing both on Physical and Virtual keyboards from Nokia handsets(E71 & 5800) however the 5800 has a resistive screen so i'm not sure how typing on a capacitive screen is :|

On the other hand the N8 has a larger screen, 12MP camera with autofocus better media capabilities (hdmi output etc..)...I would have considered WP7 phones but only way i'd buy one is it's the Lumia 800/900(which are pretty expensive)...the others really don't appeal to me that much :| So it's between the E6 and the N8

Postby nemisis » May 29th, 2012, 10:00 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Looking to upgrade guys..

Looking at the E6/N8 (with Symbian Belle)...Reason for the E6 is that I want something with a Physical keyboard as it's easier for me to type and it's faster to type with, I've had experience with typing both on Physical and Virtual keyboards from Nokia handsets(E71 & 5800) however the 5800 has a resistive screen so i'm not sure how typing on a capacitive screen is :|

On the other hand the N8 has a larger screen, 12MP camera with autofocus better media capabilities (hdmi output etc..)...I would have considered WP7 phones but only way i'd buy one is it's the Lumia 800/900(which are pretty expensive)...the others really don't appeal to me that much :| So it's between the E6 and the N8

then you need to head over to the misc section.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » May 29th, 2012, 10:11 pm

N8 equals awesome... Symbian Belle is pretty great and Nokia has promised to support til '16 but still... There's no app development for it :(

E6 same as above

If u must do Symbian and you can afford it then u MUST buy the 808 PureView (then call me to see and play with it)

I would recommend either Lumia 800 or 900, even the 710 is a nice phone... but if you can hold off a couple months, wp8 should be out mid June, so the current lineup is sure to fall in price...

But if u going with Symbian, the n8 is the winner. And I think tstt in gb has it for less than 3k

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 30th, 2012, 2:37 pm

808 is over 500 euros :o

Researched a bit about apps for Belle...there are some compatible and some incompatible :(
How's typing on the N8 BTW? Is it smooth?

What about the camera on the E6...will it take good pics seeing that it's a fixed focus camera?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » May 30th, 2012, 5:02 pm

Yea it's expensive, but that camera :o

Can u imagine a Nokia windows phone 8 device with that tech *dead*

Typing is pretty good on the n8... Belle is a good OS yuh know... Sad that it doomed to death

I've never used the E6 so I can't comment

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 3rd, 2012, 10:49 am

Still trying to decide :?
Really want the E6 but the Camera on the N8 has me attracted to it :oops:

There will be the N8 Successor the year BTW

http://www.symbiantweet.com/nokia-801-dual-core-symbian-belle-with-16mp-af-camera-and-xenon-flash-leaked

homeboy

Postby homeboy » June 3rd, 2012, 6:04 pm

My N9 going in 3 months now no problems.......liking the easy router setup to use my laptop remotely with it.........

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 6th, 2012, 5:25 pm

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 6th, 2012, 7:45 pm

that Nokia lumia 900 LCD real strong boy i watch a video online with that things its truly amazing. Wish iPhone and Samsung could of been that strong.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 7th, 2012, 9:18 am

Cool hope they did improvement cause with windows and android things tuff .

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 7th, 2012, 10:39 am

^Found out that Belle's FP1 Keyboard doesn't support Multitouch :/

What's wrong with Nokia omg :?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 7th, 2012, 10:54 am

Where u got that info? That's kinna lame

and the Asha series isnt lame... its aimed at emerging markets where smartphones eh reach yet... smartphone capabilities on a rock solid OS with 3 day battery life for 150 bucks?

really cah go wrong there

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 7th, 2012, 11:04 am

Was watching a review of the 701 and they said the typing sucks cuz it doesn't have a multitouch keyboard.

WRT to Asha
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_asha_311-4802.php

mleh..it's alright imo

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 7th, 2012, 12:09 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^Found out that Belle's FP1 Keyboard doesn't support Multitouch :/

What's wrong with Nokia omg :?

fail :-(

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 8th, 2012, 9:30 am

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 8th, 2012, 11:10 am

^ lol

original_lollybob