The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread (2013)

Re: The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 1:53 am

Habit7 wrote:The best run local govt in the country is the THA, and although they soundly voted out PNM in the 2010 general elections, they want nothing to do with any PP THA (who have gone deafeningly silent on THA reform)

PNM isnt perfect, but the country has seen once again that the alternatives are worse.

Yes they are the best run when you throw money at it while the other local govt get less funding from PNM.
If half of bago was Indo will they be the best?

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 1:56 am

Just a matter of time u.come back wid ur dotishness

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 3:54 am

rfari wrote:Just a matter of time u.come back wid ur dotishness

dotishness or is it a fact that under PNM indo populated areas are neglected and underveloped.
Penal, debe and Barrackpore used to look like Afghanistan rather that a part of Trinidad

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 5:47 am

Chaguanas, Couva and Marabella always looked mighty fine to me.

It is funny to hear ppl claim that south was neglected and north was focused on. While areas like Laventille, Morvant and Beetham claimed they were neglected while places in south where a man with no qualifications could have gotten a lucrative job in the oil sector (ZR say thx PNM). Point is the country start off rough and development could not have been even. But now after PNM has done the hard work of developing money making industries in different areas of the country, the entire country could benefit and it is up to you to take advantage of the opportunities (if your family was squatting or had no deed and had no electricity hard luck pios)

Thanks to the efforts of the PNM, the PP could build bridges to join villages of less than 100 ppl, when they wont build a bridge to create an extra lane eastward after the Trincity lights on the CRH.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 8th, 2013, 5:51 am

Places in Santa Flora still get water one day per week. That is madness. People there still depending on rain water.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 6:03 am

Habit7 wrote:Chaguanas, Couva and Marabella always looked mighty fine to me.

It is funny to hear ppl claim that south was neglected and north was focused on. While areas like Laventille, Morvant and Beetham claimed they were neglected while places in south where a man with no qualifications could have gotten a lucrative job in the oil sector (ZR say thx PNM). Point is the country start off rough and development could not have been even. But now after PNM has done the hard work of developing money making industries in different areas of the country, the entire country could benefit and it is up to you to take advantage of the opportunities (if your family was squatting or had no deed and had no electricity hard luck pios)

Thanks to the efforts of the PNM, the PP could build bridges to join villages of less than 100 ppl, when they wont build a bridge to create an extra lane eastward after the Trincity lights on the CRH.

What hard work did PNM do to make money?
What industries did PNM make?

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 6:49 am

Zr. U issa ungrateful goat dan. Just wanted to say dat

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 7:00 am

The natural gas boom we experienced in 2000-2007 was not a fluke. It was a decisive policy by the Manning administration 1991-95, continued against the 'best' advice given to Panday 1995-2001, and reaped by the subsequent PNM govt.

What industries have the PP set up to benefit us 10,15,20 years down the road?

Postby AllTrac » October 8th, 2013, 7:20 am

pioneer wrote:Anything to keep pnm outta power I glad.

8-) 8-)

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 8:54 am

Hear nah I readin back wha I post dey lasnite, tears come to my eyes oui.

That stir up real emotions dey ah sorry.

But is a reality my south people had to live with, allyuh feel when I say south people now get electricity, water and internet allyuh feel I lie. I grow up in south, if it wasn't for south I wouldn't know what I know today.

Huh much ah allyuh could say allyuh get up at 5am to help tie and feed cow, and pick dasheen bush?

Now to give up what we have for who?....rowlie?...ahahahaha NO

Postby eliteauto » October 8th, 2013, 9:21 am

pioneer wrote:I grow up in south, if it wasn't for south I wouldn't know what I know today.

allyuh like to fcuk up south any chance allyuh get yes

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 9:29 am

World Economic Forums Global Competitive Index
Trindad and Tobago 2013
96th of 148 countries (84th in 2012)

Performance in the macroeconomic environment
52nd in 2013 (19th in 2012)

Intellectual property protection
91st in 2013 (81st un 2012)

Public Trust in politicians
111st in 2013 (104th in 2012)

irregular payments and bribes
95th in 2013 (85th in 2012)

favoritism in decisions of Government officials
125th in 2013 (109th in 2012)

wastefulness of Government spending
96th in 2013 (78th in 2012)

business cost of crime and violence
145th in 2013 (139th in 2012)

reliability of police services
121st in 2013 (117th in 2012)

ethical behaviour of firms
118th in 2013 (104th in 2012)

strength of auditing and reporting statistics
95th in 2013 (91st in 2012)

efficacy of corporate boards
116th in 2013 (114th in 2012)

available airline seats

but yet:
pioneer wrote:Anything to keep pnm outta power I glad.

The country needs an informed electorate that would vote on issues, not on perceived emotional grievances.

If you dont like that then go to a country that improves rural services without improving urban services first (if you could find one).
Last edited by Habit7 on October 8th, 2013, 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 8th, 2013, 9:31 am

Jack rolling een Grande tomorrow and up to now no signs or indications as to when the PP would do so...PNM done fall een already

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 9:53 am

rfari wrote:Zr. U issa ungrateful goat dan. Just wanted to say dat

What should I be grateful for under PNM? a cepep wuk?

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 10:05 am

lol @ PNM sheep, how many yrs pnm held on to governance since we independent?

compared to any other party?

man actually make have a reason for blatanty neglecting certain tax payers oui, Habit7 UDFR eh

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 10:07 am

PPG has done more for infrastructure and delivery of ammenities to PEOPLE in 3 years while PNM had 30 years and did nothing, not even for their own people in the slums.

Even beethamites said it the other day, pnm has done nothing for them.

pnm biggest fear right now is Jack and the ILP.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 10:10 am

pioneer wrote:PPG has done more for infrastructure and delivery of ammenities to PEOPLE in 3 years while PNM had 30 years and did nothing, not even for their own people in the slums.

You keep on believing platform rhetoric, I will read and understand independant analysis.

World Economic Forums Global Competitive Index
Trindad and Tobago 2013
96th of 148 countries (84th in 2012)

Performance in the macroeconomic environment
52nd in 2013 (19th in 2012)

Intellectual property protection
91st in 2013 (81st un 2012)

Public Trust in politicians
111st in 2013 (104th in 2012)

irregular payments and bribes
95th in 2013 (85th in 2012)

favoritism in decisions of Government officials
125th in 2013 (109th in 2012)

wastefulness of Government spending
96th in 2013 (78th in 2012)

business cost of crime and violence
145th in 2013 (139th in 2012)

reliability of police services
121st in 2013 (117th in 2012)

ethical behaviour of firms
118th in 2013 (104th in 2012)

strength of auditing and reporting statistics

efficacy of corporate boards
116th in 2013 (114th in 2012)

available airline seats

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 10:17 am

dan plz post a link from yur independent analysis!!!

typical pliers mouth pnmite, i cud bet my last cent u a racist

Postby bluefete » October 8th, 2013, 10:21 am

kjaglal76 wrote:dan plz post a link from yur independent analysis!!!

When you cannot fight facts, resort to race!!! How sad!

"World Economic Forums Global Competitive Index
Trindad and Tobago 2013"

Go look it up danboidanboi.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 10:25 am

http://www3.weforum.org/docs/WEF_Global ... 013-14.pdf
http://www3.weforum.org/docs/WEF_Global ... 012-13.pdf

kjaglal76 wrote:typical pliers mouth pnmite, i cud bet my last cent u a racist

Hey look rfari another one! When he cannot account for the gov't lack of performance, he tries an ad hominem attack and accuse somebody of being racist when there is no reference to anyone's race.

Is there some kinda playbook for this?

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 10:28 am

thanx for the link, how good of u

means nothing tho, worthless, esp if u tryna use it to compare diff govt competence, post all from which ever when, lets compare & we'll see where the breakdown start.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 10:34 am

Nah, your logic is sad. You just spoke yourself into a corner and trying to wiggle out. It seems that you are beyond reason so I won't be responding much to you.

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 10:43 am

strong backpedal there

u refuse to post previous yrs to enforce yur "point", hardluck, dah chit aint impressing anybody with sense, campaign somewhere else!!

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2013, 10:44 am

Lemme help out lil bit here. GCR formed a piece of a project I did a while back. No 2013-2014 as that only came out a few weeks aback.

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 10:48 am

so under PP we ranked d highest in a 5yr span compared to when PNM was in power(08/09)??

thanx for the info, this is all i was asking Habit7 to do- post comparisons.

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 10:50 am

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 10:54 am

Low socioeconomic, central/south inhabitant identified.

grad

Postby grad » October 8th, 2013, 10:54 am

PNM was in rule for about what 50 years? and have been ruling through the oil boom and when prices of oil skyrocketed. show me the development. look at what oil has done to other countries.

yet we are rich in oil and have about the same landmass and population as dubai.

Postby eliteauto » October 8th, 2013, 10:58 am

grad what is the $ per capita of Dubai vs T&T?
PNM wasted a lot of money and we are far behind where we should be for what we've had but I don't think your comparison is fair

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 8th, 2013, 10:59 am

Why should we vote for the PNM in local gov't elections?

What have they done while they were in power to show that they deserve to get back control of local govt?

We are talking local govt here.

Didn't they suspend local govt elections for 3 years promising local govt reform which never came?

Wasnt Hazel Manning a local govt minister? She didnt have enough pips to push the reform?

Please tell me why we should vote for the PNM. I do not want to hear PP bad, ILP bad and everybody worse than the PNM so we have to vote for them. I don't want to hear about Tobago either, this is not Tobago.

I want to know what they doing for me and my fellow trinis and why I should believe them seeing they have such a poor track record in local govt.