2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

b18b_turbo

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby b18b_turbo » October 3rd, 2014, 7:31 am

LOL, its called "the pump" nothing pumps you better than raw whole foods. You can use the best pre workout, best pump supplement, drugs watever it is, you still need that glycogen and nutrients to flood the muscles to support that pump.best is to get some nice carb-heavy meals leading up to your workout. Personally, i dont even use a pre workout on days that i know i ate really good and the pump is nice.

the way you say "when you take in food" has me thinking that you dont usually take in much food, lol

Conrad wrote:Anyone else noticed veins be popping when you take in food?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 3rd, 2014, 7:39 am

Nah I eat more food than anything.

Wanted to start a discussion but you nipped it in the bud early. Lots of carbs (even bread) gives me the pump you described.

BTW, cassava (yuca?) has twice the amount of carbs as potatoe, so be warned with your servings. You may think you're having a healthier "blue food" and overdo your carb/calory intake.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » October 3rd, 2014, 7:47 am

Conrad wrote:Nah I eat more food than anything.

Wanted to start a discussion but you nipped it in the bud early. Lots of carbs (even bread) gives me the pump you described.

BTW, cassava (yuca?) has twice the amount of carbs as potatoe, so be warned with your servings. You may think you're having a healthier "blue food" and overdo your carb/calory intake.

What is a good ratio of carbs to calories intake Conrad?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » October 3rd, 2014, 7:50 am

Damn, sorry. White bread from lindas, yummm.

I didnt know that about cassava, doesnt too much cassava give you cyanide or something so? doctor told my wifey not to eat cassava because of that, i didnt ever research it. I rem i learnt in history at school that the amerindians used to squeeze the cassava and juice out the "toxins" before it could be consumed.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 3rd, 2014, 7:53 am

I don't work with ratios but a set quantity based on body composition and after trial and effort.

I follow the iifym (really flexible dieting) method and I just changed my macros to a 45:28:27 c:f:p and I try to hit my fiber of close to 40g but often fall short in the mid 20s.

B18B had me thinking, I use whey to meet my protein goals, anywhere between 1/8-3/8 (usually 1/4) of my protein comes from whey. I always purchase a regular whey protein, no mass gainer or elite/pure/99℅ protein stuff.

In my amateur progress I've seen the best results from my recent monitoring of diet.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 3rd, 2014, 7:55 am

b18b_turbo wrote:Damn, sorry. White bread from lindas, yummm.

I didnt know that about cassava, doesnt too much cassava give you cyanide or something so? doctor told my wifey not to eat cassava because of that, i didnt ever research it. I rem i learnt in history at school that the amerindians used to squeeze the cassava and juice out the "toxins" before it could be consumed.

I learnt the same thing but never put much thought into it as country people who eat cassava regularly look more healthy, hahahaaaaa

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » October 3rd, 2014, 8:06 am

Conrad,

What's your stat's and objective?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 3rd, 2014, 8:11 am

6' 1", 188.4lbs (weighed in today)

Enjoy lifting and observing changes in my body and potential, like a self science project.

As of this morning (reason for change of macros), try to raise my pitiful lifts.

Max
275x5 squat
315x1 deadlift
195x5 benchpress

Any suggestions Norton (you have an uncle named Layne by chance) on how to improve strength?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 3rd, 2014, 9:42 am

Weighed in today.

5' 11.5"
Belly noticeably shrinking with the caloric deficit and intermittent fasting combo. Scale eh showing much, but body composition visbly different.
As of the last month I'm only getting in about 2-3 days per week of training, mixed cardio and weight training.

Doh have no PR stats with raw weights like alyuh niccas doe, my training is my home gym setup, cable based.

Power Tower
Gym set
Bike
Decline Bench

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 3rd, 2014, 9:53 am

I'm now putting together my gym setup at home.

What weight set you have? Really want to buy some decent olympic plates. Bench and rack would come after.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 3rd, 2014, 10:26 am

Weighed in today....wheyed out after 8-)

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 3rd, 2014, 12:32 pm

Conrad wrote:I'm now putting together my gym setup at home.

What weight set you have? Really want to buy some decent olympic plates. Bench and rack would come after.

Got me a weider 4300 pro (lol).
Aint the best, but it's what i got, along with the badmind and discipline to change.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 3rd, 2014, 12:34 pm

Once it's progressive overload youre better than the I.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 3rd, 2014, 1:23 pm

maxed out weights for some stuff, so I started increasing reps

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » October 3rd, 2014, 3:50 pm

Conrad wrote:I don't work with ratios but a set quantity based on body composition and after trial and effort.

I follow the iifym (really flexible dieting) method and I just changed my macros to a 45:28:27 c:f:p and I try to hit my fiber of close to 40g but often fall short in the mid 20s.

B18B had me thinking, I use whey to meet my protein goals, anywhere between 1/8-3/8 (usually 1/4) of my protein comes from whey. I always purchase a regular whey protein, no mass gainer or elite/pure/99℅ protein stuff.

In my amateur progress I've seen the best results from my recent monitoring of diet.

same here, i never ever use mass gainers. Its always a bad call because those carbs and calories are mostly garbage. WHey protein is still from whey which is good but the carbs from whole foods is always better. I also do the same, if i have a meal that i think was lacking protein, hit a half scoop self.....it will add up in the long run.

bro u know, up to now i have never tried checking macros. I just take out what i think is enough by feel.....i wana try it soon though and see what difference it could bring. Checkin macros seems like such a headache on my busy schedule. I duno how people with jobs or business (which take a LOT more time than a job) and an active social life really stick to this macro checking thing.....

LOL @ ur cassava post, LOL

VexXx Dogg wrote:Weighed in today.

5' 11.5"
Belly noticeably shrinking with the caloric deficit and intermittent fasting combo. Scale eh showing much, but body composition visbly different.
As of the last month I'm only getting in about 2-3 days per week of training, mixed cardio and weight training.

Doh have no PR stats with raw weights like alyuh niccas doe, my training is my home gym setup, cable based.

Power Tower
Gym set
Bike
Decline Bench

Thats really good, if you could hold your weight and see composition changing you know you;re losing fat AND gaining muscle. I see so many people jus lose fat with their ultra super hero cardio workout and mirasmi diet, they just end up lookin scrawny and feeble as they have gained no muscle. but hey, they happy because the scale ready less....hell, if i could weigh 3 ounces and look how i want, im happy. Its all about the mirror yes.

Postby De Dragon » October 3rd, 2014, 5:43 pm

Man say 'mirasmi" yes! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » October 4th, 2014, 8:52 pm

Conrad wrote:6' 1", 188.4lbs (weighed in today)

Enjoy lifting and observing changes in my body and potential, like a self science project.

As of this morning (reason for change of macros), try to raise my pitiful lifts.

Max
275x5 squat
315x1 deadlift
195x5 benchpress

Any suggestions Norton (you have an uncle named Layne by chance) on how to improve strength?

Your just up to getting strength up? If this is your emphasis then get some creatine, L-taurine and increase your testosterone levels. Together, with the right diet to support the above and the right type of training.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 5th, 2014, 9:15 am

Norton12005 wrote:
Conrad wrote:6' 1", 188.4lbs (weighed in today)

Max
275x5 squat
315x1 deadlift
195x5 benchpress

Your just up to getting strength up? If this is your emphasis then get some creatine, L-taurine and increase your testosterone levels. Together, with the right diet to support the above and the right type of training.

Thanks man, I'm already doing some googling.

Bless

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 14th, 2014, 11:41 am

Fellas, I really want a rack/cage.

Received my olympic barbells, now to get some weight plates.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » October 14th, 2014, 11:58 am

Might be best to have it fabricated.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 14th, 2014, 12:03 pm

I have the plans from Mark Rippetoe, may go that route next year if I dont get something.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2014, 12:13 pm

want dumbells on a budget (or used).
where dem deals at?

Postby X_Factor » October 14th, 2014, 3:38 pm

pricemart has the set up to 30lbs with the rack
2300.00 i think

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 14th, 2014, 5:14 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:want dumbells on a budget (or used).
where dem deals at?

U tried kennys sports centre?

Fearless

Postby Fearless » October 16th, 2014, 8:53 am

Anyone know any gyms that are usually open on a Sunday, along the east/west corridor?

Postby dougla_boy » October 16th, 2014, 11:18 am

Xtreme Fitness

Monday - Thursday 4am - 11pm
Friday - 4am - 9pm
Saturday - 6am - 6pm
Sunday - 6am - 1pm

Fearless

Postby Fearless » October 16th, 2014, 2:14 pm

dougla_boy wrote:Xtreme Fitness

Monday - Thursday 4am - 11pm
Friday - 4am - 9pm
Saturday - 6am - 6pm
Sunday - 6am - 1pm

You know of anywhere else?

Postby UML » October 17th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Will Ebola affect training?

ent it transfer in sweat?

so many inconsiderate ppl in the gym who dont sanitize equipment after use.

....just something to consider.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 17th, 2014, 12:42 pm

Well how bout just sanitizing it yourself before use?

Postby UML » October 17th, 2014, 1:13 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Well how bout just sanitizing it yourself before use?

yea but are u willing to risk it? and moreso spread it!

8-)