3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Sumana.00

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby Sumana.00 » June 22nd, 2010, 6:12 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Pretty flowers

Fujifilm

Pretty flowers
Blackberry 9700 - boo ya! :D

kaptainkermit

Postby kaptainkermit » June 23rd, 2010, 10:58 pm

Blackberry picture-taker-outers, UNITE!!

Taken with a Blackberry Bold 9700. View over the Eastern US seaboard, on a Caribbean Airlines overnight flight.

Taken with a Blackberry Curve 8900 (my old phone). Driving to Macy's in Manhattan!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 23rd, 2010, 11:34 pm

"God's Bridge"

"Troubled Sunset"

"T -20..."

kaptainkermit

Postby kaptainkermit » June 24th, 2010, 12:54 am

These were taken back when I had the Nikon D40. Don't have it anymore, my younger bro' inherited it.

A young tomato-looking plant thing.

Flower dying in the Fall-season.
Taken in London.

Fall leaf

Friend from university, lining up his shot while out on a boys' lime night.

I'll give you 3 guesses to figure out where this is:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 24th, 2010, 6:51 am

Some how trinituner upload just hangs up there when sending the request to trinituner forums , when the request is sent no url is derived :?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » June 24th, 2010, 9:30 am

Awesome sky pics Mishi 8-)

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » June 24th, 2010, 1:58 pm

Birmingham Bullring Mall!!!! Selfridges!!
Last edited by Sumana.00 on June 24th, 2010, 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » June 24th, 2010, 2:30 pm

God seemed pretty happy with the day's proceedings

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2010, 6:33 pm

How many people use separate AF-On button as opposed to 1/2 press shutter button ?

Postby wagonrunner » June 25th, 2010, 12:00 am

pugboy wrote:How many people use separate AF-On button as opposed to 1/2 press shutter button ?

turned off the 1/2 button press. found it slowed the process.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 25th, 2010, 12:23 am

sorry eh.... but...

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 25th, 2010, 2:01 am

Chemical wrote:Bacon, boi get a close up shot of a skunk or racoon for me please ! Long time I ain't see one.

Couple months later but I remembered you on Sunday......

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This is where things started to get awkward.... :|
It have some more graphic ones....lips etc :skurred:

I hope you appreciate what really went into gettin dem shots for you ..... :lol:

kaptainkermit

Postby kaptainkermit » June 25th, 2010, 4:21 am

Sumana.00 - That's absolutely-positively-100% correct!!

Ever been there?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 25th, 2010, 7:02 am

North Coast T&T

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » June 25th, 2010, 7:20 am

kaptainkermit wrote:Sumana.00 - That's absolutely-positively-100% correct!!

Ever been there?

yess :D Love it!! Birmy is one of my fave cities here :D

Postby RBphoto » June 25th, 2010, 7:24 am

pugboy wrote:How many people use separate AF-On button as opposed to 1/2 press shutter button ?

Try it. Some people, especially nature photographers I know, swear by it. I tried it, but don't like it.

Postby RBphoto » June 25th, 2010, 7:28 am

A few more flowers
Edit2C.jpg

Postby shogun » June 25th, 2010, 7:25 pm

I in no way consider myself to be a photographer...especially after seeing some of the work in this thread.
Just some pix i took while "down d' islands" at a friend's house.

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2010, 9:15 am

there are cycling races today at king george after lunch
good opportunity to practice panning brightly colored moving subjects

stretch

Postby stretch » June 26th, 2010, 12:21 pm

a lil help needed here, what is a good portrait lens?

stretch

Postby stretch » June 26th, 2010, 12:22 pm

a lil help needed here, what is a good portrait lens?

stretch

Postby stretch » June 26th, 2010, 12:23 pm

tian108

Postby tian108 » June 26th, 2010, 5:45 pm

Some trees and a road.
SDIM1753.jpg

kaptainkermit

Postby kaptainkermit » June 26th, 2010, 9:52 pm

shogun - Nice shots dey boy, brings back childhood memories :) :)

stretch - depending on whether your camera is a modern DSLR or an older film camera, your starting point would be 35mm or 50mm prime lenses for portraits.

Modern DSLR's have a smaller sensor for the lens to project the image onto, so they are known as "cropped sensors". Full-frame cameras, which almost all of the older film-style cameras were, have a larger image-window for the film to be exposed on.

So a good range of full-frame lenses for portraits would be:
- 50mm; good for upper-body and headshots
- 85mm; better for headshots/above the shoulders
- 105mm - 135mm; best for tight, close up portraits where you're focusing only on the face, certain body parts (mouth, hands, etc)

Now with the modern DSLR cameras (Nikon D40/D3000/D5000 and up, as well as Canon Xti/Xsi/T1i/T2i and up) the sensor size is smaller than the equivalent film-window. Hence it's called a "crop-aspect" - the image is cropped down a bit.

This makes the lens focal lengths seem a bit longer than they really are: 50mm now becomes close to 70-75mm, 80mm now becomes 105mm, etc. This is because you're cropping down into the image, giving the impression that you've zoomed in when the final print comes out.

All this means is that your lens now will magnify the image a little more on a digital DSLR than it would have on a film-SLR. Hence your shot is zoomed in a bit more, and the framing of the subject is a bit tighter than with an older film camera.

Therefore, portrait lenses for cropped-sensor DSLRs (Canon calls them APS-C, Nikon calls them DX sensors) are as follows:
- 35mm; good for upper body and headshots (equivalent perspective as a 50mm on a film camera)
- 50mm; good for headshots (equivalent to a 75-85mm lens on a film camera)
- 85mm; good for tight head-shots (equivalent to a 105mm lens on a film camera).
- 105mm; too tight for good headshots, you'd have to stand pretty far away to get the subject's face into the frame.

Bottom line: if you have a DSLR, a good starting point is a 50mm prime lens. Nikon has a 50mm f/1.8 AF-S prime lens that will autofocus on a D40/D60/D3000/D5000 body (they also have an older and cheaper 50mm f/1.8 AF-D, which IMO is the SHARPEST prime lens that Nikon ever made).
Canon has their 50mm f/1.8 EF-S prime lens that's also a great performer. These 50mm lenses are the cheapest of their respective company lineups, hence they are very popular with amateur photogs.

Let me show you what a Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF-D (the older 50mm prime) can do:
Image info: Camera - Nikon D200 | Lens - Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF-D | Light: Window light from camera-right

Look at how sharp the 50mm AF-D prime is. And it costs $120USD in any camera store (and as little as $90USD used, on Amazon.com or Ebay), compared to almost $800USD for a 3rd party Sigma or Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 zoom lens.

If you're on an even tighter budget, and you already have a DSLR with a 18-55 kit lens, all you have to do is zoom your kit lens out to 55mm, and use that focal length to frame your subjects. Instead of zooming, just walk around until you get a good composition and snap-away.

stretch

Postby stretch » June 27th, 2010, 10:33 am

thanks for the info, you only mentioned canon and nikon though. I'm considering the sony a330 because its cheaper. I notice the majority of our local guys use canon or kodak over sony, what are the reasons why? New to slrs so a lil extra help will be greatly appreciated.

Postby MG Man » June 27th, 2010, 10:48 am

took these at manzan last night, around 9:00pm
got down a little to late to see the moon rise tho
took all of them using night mode
I really need a tripod tho

Postby RBphoto » July 2nd, 2010, 2:28 pm

Reflection on the past.
edit.jpg

Postby RBphoto » July 2nd, 2010, 2:38 pm

MG, put your camera on spot metering mode (if you have it) and meter off of the clear sky, and use the lowest iso your camera has. The night shots will come out great, but exposure will be longer and needing a tripod. Hope you don't mind I brightened up your first pic. If you do what I say you will get something like this, but with more detail and less noise.
manzani1.jpg

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2010, 2:42 pm

pont and shoot Fuji and no tripod :-(
I know what to do, I just don't have the gear yet :-(
Guess you could call me an armchair photographer

Postby RBphoto » July 2nd, 2010, 2:59 pm

I use a $200.00 targus tripod from courts. It is a POS as far as tripods go, but it has worked for the past two years, so I can say I got my money's worth. If you put your camera on the timer and not touch it you will get no vibration whatsoever. BTW, what you mean you don't have gear? I recently aquired a Yashica TLR which I believe you said you have as well. That is going to be my "new" beyotch shortly, and I consider it an upgrade from my canon EOS3 film camera that took the sugar factory shot above. Just need to buy some 120 film.