achillies

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby achillies » July 30th, 2012, 5:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:
achillies wrote:
S_2NR wrote:@M_2NR: Yea. But u could just flash a new modem and it should unlock. May not need to do all that.

Phones are locked through software on the EFS partition, flashing different radio/modems does nothing

So u have to flash everything? Word.
Thanks for that info.
Might still get an S2 from bmobile. Working a link.

No, just need an app that can modify the correct file that is stored on the partition, changing firmwares doesn't touch that partition, if a firmware flash does touch the partition, it's un-intentional and it usually results in the phone not being able to make phone calls or recognize SIM cards, a 4.3 inch WiFi tablet.

Using the available tools to back up that partition is the first thing anyone who uses a Samsung Android device should do, people have lost the partition through a Kies update

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 7:44 pm

I guess the next option would be to use a code calculator? I saw their is an app for it in the play store as well as a desktop version.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 30th, 2012, 8:11 pm

so i was considering all this Digicel thing with the s2 but now i am reconsidering....with all this drama for unlocks...it might be problems later on to update to newer versions of android...bess i spend my money and buy an unlocked version international of any of these phones they are selling.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 30th, 2012, 8:20 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:so i was considering all this Digicel thing with the s2 but now i am reconsidering....with all this drama for unlocks...it might be problems later on to update to newer versions of android...bess i spend my money and buy an unlocked version international of any of these phones they are selling.

Just ensure that you are getting the international version from whoever you buy it from, updating a Samsung Android phone is easy, download the update, plug into your PC, confirm correct settings in Odin, click "Start" and wait 5 minutes.

Firmwares are readily available and since the S2 is unbranded, you do not have to wait on Bmobile or Digicel, and even if it was branded, you still would not have to wait, Samsung releases fresh, unbranded firmwares for the top tier Android phones at least 2 or 3 times every month, sometimes with huge changelogs.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 30th, 2012, 8:24 pm

achillies wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:so i was considering all this Digicel thing with the s2 but now i am reconsidering....with all this drama for unlocks...it might be problems later on to update to newer versions of android...bess i spend my money and buy an unlocked version international of any of these phones they are selling.

Just ensure that you are getting the international version from whoever you buy it from, updating a Samsung Android phone is easy, download the update, plug into your PC, confirm correct settings in Odin, click "Start" and wait 5 minutes.

Firmwares are readily available and since the S2 is unbranded, you do not have to wait on Bmobile or Digicel, and even if it was branded, you still would not have to wait, Samsung releases fresh, unbranded firmwares for the top tier Android phones at least 2 or 3 times every month, sometimes with huge changelogs.

nah the usual amazon. the last one i bought upgraded to ICS right out the box, with no problems.

Postby S_2NR » July 31st, 2012, 2:20 am

Everybody who trying to sell their s2 now gettin lowballed because of bmobile and digi bess prices. :lol:

Gotta love competition.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 31st, 2012, 5:10 am

S_2NR wrote:Everybody who trying to sell their s2 now gettin lowballed because of bmobile and digi bess prices. :lol:

Gotta love competition.

true...but I would only buy an s2 from Digicel or bMobile if it can be updated to ICS...i think the average customer may not know that.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 31st, 2012, 7:43 am

^^the average customer not even going to try...they just want a "bess" phone to coast

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 31st, 2012, 8:19 am

achillies wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
achillies wrote:
S_2NR wrote:@M_2NR: Yea. But u could just flash a new modem and it should unlock. May not need to do all that.

Phones are locked through software on the EFS partition, flashing different radio/modems does nothing

So u have to flash everything? Word.
Thanks for that info.
Might still get an S2 from bmobile. Working a link.

No, just need an app that can modify the correct file that is stored on the partition, changing firmwares doesn't touch that partition, if a firmware flash does touch the partition, it's un-intentional and it usually results in the phone not being able to make phone calls or recognize SIM cards, a 4.3 inch WiFi tablet.

Using the available tools to back up that partition is the first thing anyone who uses a Samsung Android device should do, people have lost the partition through a Kies update

To unlock you'll have to root first then download the unlock app from the play store which will back up the EFS partition then unlock.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 31st, 2012, 11:17 am

Just got a SII from Bmobile in Tobago. it's the GTi9100 model so I figure it's supposed to be unlocked.

Will check it out later; leaving it to charge.

Postby S_2NR » July 31st, 2012, 11:46 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Everybody who trying to sell their s2 now gettin lowballed because of bmobile and digi bess prices. :lol:

Gotta love competition.

true...but I would only buy an s2 from Digicel or bMobile if it can be updated to ICS...i think the average customer may not know that.

Flashing is not hard though. Its just to read and understand.
In 5mins u could have ics.
Don't have to wait on the OTA to hit your phone.

Postby M_2NR » July 31st, 2012, 1:26 pm

and ics is also available for the g model (no pun intended) as well...
It's the unlocking might be an issue... it won't be the same implementation for the g as the regular i9100 right? due to hardware differences... or the chipset for the modem/baseband is the same?

Postby tr1ad » July 31st, 2012, 1:37 pm

one ah ollur grabe a note fuh meh nah.. ah will pay ollur back when yuh drop it orf

samureye

Postby samureye » July 31st, 2012, 3:56 pm

Loving my white S3. Now looking for fun apps and mods for it without getting too over the top and putting useless stuff in there.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 31st, 2012, 6:30 pm

The Bmobile S2 is unlocked (happy joy) but admittedly it's either I got too used to my Sony Arc or the S2 isn't as user friendly...

right not I can't seem to get my music folder on the card to use for any ringtones etc

Postby pete » July 31st, 2012, 7:02 pm

When song is playing hit the menu button, Set as, caller ringtone or phone ringtone.. simple

*edit* that may just be in ICS though, my other android phone running gingerbread that doesn't work

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 31st, 2012, 8:31 pm

Nah I just downloaded an app for it. The Arc allowed you to use tones directly from the card in the settings... Both using Gingerbread 2.3.4

sentraman

Postby sentraman » July 31st, 2012, 11:19 pm

Gotta love competition.

Let me see men get it for $1500 used when stock run out

Postby Trini Hookah » July 31st, 2012, 11:47 pm

MISHI wrote:Nah I just downloaded an app for it. The Arc allowed you to use tones directly from the card in the settings... Both using Gingerbread 2.3.4

Arc or Arc S mishi?

Any complaints about that model?

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2012, 3:57 am

sentraman wrote:

Gotta love competition.

Bmobile is restocking all branches. Sorry.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 1st, 2012, 8:55 am

S_2NR wrote:
sentraman wrote:

Gotta love competition.

Bmobile is restocking all branches. Sorry.

Hopefully with I9100 and not the I9100G

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 1st, 2012, 9:34 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
MISHI wrote:Nah I just downloaded an app for it. The Arc allowed you to use tones directly from the card in the settings... Both using Gingerbread 2.3.4

Arc or Arc S mishi?

Any complaints about that model?

It's the Arc international (LT15i). It is a bit disappointing in the fact that it has no foward facing camera (neither the "S") the internal memory is almost non existant (though it isn't a big deal with a SD card) and compared to the S2, the processing speed etc is much slower. Also they made the phone a little too smooth.

That being said, I always wanted the S2: but now that I have gotten it, I honestly have to say I find the Arc to be a more pleasing phone to own...

The winning factor here is the screen quality: the Bravia engine they use in their TVs shows the images/ videos tons better than the S2( which shows a bit more grainy)

As with all brands, Sony Ericsson tweaked their Android software to their spec and compared to the S2, it's more user friendly and direct: something as simple as plugging the USB to access the media storage is more straightforward than the S2, in which you have to enter settings and engage the USB mode everytime...

Also, it's just a better looking phone. If it had a forward camera this would have been a heck of a competitor to samsung. It honestly is quite an underrated phone. If you have to get one, get the Arc-s with more memory and faster processor. If things like a foward facing camera etc is something you need, then the S2 is something to go for.

I was considering to just sell my Arc as I got the S2, but I love the phone so much I just use it as my digicel line now. I do plan to get the ARC-S in time. Amazon has them pretty reasonable.

BTW both on Gingerbread 2.3.4

Postby tr1ad » August 1st, 2012, 3:36 pm

ollur eh wa help me get a note

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2012, 9:55 pm

LOL @ all the ppl selling S2s, Notes and other phones bmobile have on sale at inflated prices in Classifieds. They dunno bmobile restocking and this promo finishing quite 11th August :lol:

Only want to suck ppl blood.

Postby Stephon. » August 2nd, 2012, 12:48 am

Ammm, so if I wanna upgrade my S2 OS? I gonna lose everything? apps etc. ?
I shoulda do that before I start to play up with the phone inno :?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 2nd, 2012, 1:15 am

Rooted my S3 today. Anyone have any recommendations for roms to flash? Also should I back up my EFS partition? Never did it with my S2, but I'm now reading that it's a bit.. Important :|

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2012, 8:01 am

^^^ check links under video too in youtube if you like what you see. 10 is just a preview of Jellybean and they're working on it. 9 is the official working cyanogenmod for S3.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » August 2nd, 2012, 9:32 am

S_2NR wrote:LOL @ all the ppl selling S2s, Notes and other phones bmobile have on sale at inflated prices in Classifieds. They dunno bmobile restocking and this promo finishing quite 11th August :lol:

Only want to suck ppl blood.

and after the promo?? what then?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 2nd, 2012, 12:46 pm

My S3 began to download a software update yesterday but I stopped it.

I think it was jelly bean. :shocked!: :skurry:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » August 2nd, 2012, 12:56 pm

that was not jelly bean. they did some small fixes and added the screen brightness adjustment to the notification bar, added mute to the power button options and for me it fixed the 100% fully charged issue. NOT JELLY BEAN