Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Reefplanet » July 13th, 2012, 11:04 am

Oh cool sponges !!! Ive heard that they would not last as they need to be in an established tank
i guess i will take them off an add them later ..and about the crabs r the hermits?

Is raj the only reef /saltwater retailer??

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » July 13th, 2012, 12:28 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Ey ziggy, whats up.

I kool man, wassup you on land ??
I looking to make a turn by Raj tomorrow.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 13th, 2012, 12:32 pm

^^^ nah, i outside. surrounded by salt water....................LOL
was to call him and see if i can special order some fish

Postby UML » July 13th, 2012, 1:21 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:^^ You must do water changes to keep your marine tank healthy.
Trace elements, calcium, magnesium and alkalinity get used up and needs to be replaced also nitrates build up and need to be removed.
For a fish only tank you can do a 20-25% water change every month or more often if you have a reef.
I do a 10% change every week.

thanks well i really have my work cut out for me :|

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 13th, 2012, 3:15 pm

So you can order from raj and he will like mail it to you? lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 13th, 2012, 3:24 pm

^^ no, you order stuff, he gives you a price, and if he brings it, you pay after he puts it in quarantine. He usually brings in the regular fast selling fish and corals. If you see fish online that you interested in, depending on what it is, he might bring 1 or 2. Then you go by him and pick it up

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 13th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Hmmmmmm, cant wait for the young ones to hit the market...... :shock: :shock:
DSC_0223_600w[1].jpg
DSC_0207_600w_6-21-12[1].jpg

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » July 13th, 2012, 9:20 pm

^^^ Maroons boy de pit bull of the clown fish world !!!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 13th, 2012, 11:07 pm

yeah, but the female lightning clownfish i talking about. It was the only one found and it recently had young ones.

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » July 14th, 2012, 9:22 am

aye fellas,
I'm shutting down my reef tank and I'm looking for homes for the fish.
I have a pinktail trigger, yellow tang, lawnmower blenny, mandarin, blue tang, pair of clowns. All these fish except the clowns need a reasonably established tank. I've had most of these fish for over two years.
Give me a call if you are interested.
468-4647

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 14th, 2012, 9:36 am

I'll take the trigger and the lawnmower blenny. I need one for my other tank.
Last edited by HondaB20B on July 14th, 2012, 10:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2012, 10:13 am

ARES0610 wrote:aye fellas,
I'm shutting down my reef tank and I'm looking for homes for the fish.
I have a pinktail trigger, yellow tang, lawnmower blenny, mandarin, blue tang, pair of clowns. All these fish except the clowns need a reasonably established tank. I've had most of these fish for over two years.
Give me a call if you are interested.
468-4647

why u shutting down man? :(

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 14th, 2012, 12:56 pm

Hey B2OB if i ask raj to bring down corals and inverts form liveaquatria ..the cheap ones lol would it be like the same price or so?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 14th, 2012, 1:37 pm

No he wont. He dont do it that way. When he brings fish and corals in he buys in bulk.............like 200 fish and 50 pieces of coral. in that shipment, regular people who buy from him he will special order for. Allot of people used to order stuff and when he bring it they tell him they dont want it again............... he dont like that..............i dont blame him.
call the man and deal with him. It have certain things i cant answer like prices and stuff

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 14th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Is 1/4" glass thick enough for a 48"x18"x18 aquarium? Total volume would roughly be 69 gallons. Does anyone use or have any experience with the AquaClear 110 before? I've seen good reviews online. I called Chais and they have a Resun EF 800 canister filter. Anybody have any experience with this brand or filter?

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 14th, 2012, 3:23 pm

BAZZINGA wrote:Is 1/4" glass thick enough for a 48"x18"x18 aquarium? Total volume would roughly be 69 gallons. Does anyone use or have any experience with the AquaClear 110 before? I've seen good reviews online. I called Chais and they have a Resun EF 800 canister filter. Anybody have any experience with this brand or filter?

Oh forgot to add that the tank wouldn't be heavily planted or heavily populated. A couple female bettas, neon tetras, cardinal tetras & a couple shrimp.

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2012, 3:32 pm

yeh 1/4 inch glass is sufficient for those specs aquarium, i own one with those exact specs.

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 14th, 2012, 5:04 pm

I bought it about 1hr ago from Pet House (Opposite Medford Gas Station). It braced on top. Got it at a reasonable price $550. Next step, build a stand!
So about the filter... Go with the Resun EF 800 canister filter or the AquaClear 110?

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2012, 6:23 pm

i have reservations about those Resun filters, if you really wanna go with a canister filter though, id recommend the Eheim series of filters. Wazir in aranguez supposed to have. his number is somewhere in the thread here.

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2012, 6:24 pm

I sold that same aquarium, aquarium stand, eheim filter and styrofoam etc for about $800 couple months aback. Guy got a good deal. :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 14th, 2012, 6:48 pm

BAZZINGA wrote:Is 1/4" glass thick enough for a 48"x18"x18 aquarium? Total volume would roughly be 69 gallons. Does anyone use or have any experience with the AquaClear 110 before? I've seen good reviews online. I called Chais and they have a Resun EF 800 canister filter. Anybody have any experience with this brand or filter?

I running the Resun EF800 canister filter on a 75 gal saltwater tank 2 1/2 yrs now with only one problem about a yr ago. The rubber seal needed changing....................thats it. Other than that........................real good for my FOWLR.

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 14th, 2012, 7:19 pm

N00b question alert :!:
If it works good on a saltwater tank it would work good on a freshwater tank? Forgive me... :oops:

d@v3

Postby d@v3 » July 14th, 2012, 8:00 pm

anyone knows who have electric blue rams and red shrimp ????

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 14th, 2012, 9:12 pm

BAZZINGA wrote:N00b question alert :!:
If it works good on a saltwater tank it would work good on a freshwater tank? Forgive me... :oops:

Yup, to be honest, most filters work real good because they design them to handle saltwater use. You cant go wrong with either of the filters. Its all dependant on what you really want and your budget. The aquaclears work real good also from my experience..............both work good its just your choice.
One drawback between a hang-on and a canister is the canister runs your water temp a little bit higher......... nothing significant though. For you purpose, you wont see it, someone running a reef will.........................just my 2cents

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 14th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Thanks for the advise fellers! It was greatly appreciated. Will update with some pics by next week.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 15th, 2012, 5:45 am

Bazzinga, I started using the Aqueon 55/75 power filter (2-3mths now) and it working real good in my saltwater tubs right now. The design is is allot better than the Aquaclear and how the flow is, it gives more areation. I bought 3 of them and they working real good. PM Agent Roro on the forum, he's the supplier.
http://www.amazon.com/Aqueon-06079-Quie ... on+filters

If you

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 15th, 2012, 4:30 pm

does raj have tomato clowns

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 15th, 2012, 7:50 pm

Just some pics of the tank at present................... It was a long hard year of worries and tribulations.
Scolymia.JPG
Toadstool.JPG
Flowerpot 2.JPG
Corals.JPG
Side.JPG

napster16

Postby napster16 » July 15th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Hard work pays off... Looking Good

Postby UML » July 15th, 2012, 9:56 pm

looking good....i doh even want to know the price of that nah :shock: