Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

viedcht

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby viedcht » December 4th, 2024, 2:18 pm

Jeeeezah!!! The price of milk becoming more and more exorbitant evaporated milk raise the most over the last two years

Postby j.o.e » December 4th, 2024, 3:17 pm

viedcht wrote:Jeeeezah!!! The price of milk becoming more and more exorbitant [emoji[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]] evaporated milk raise the most over the last two years [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]

Ain’t buy milk in years. Most of our milk is watered down reconstituted sheit anyways. Paying more for lower quality

Postby hover11 » December 4th, 2024, 3:47 pm

Milk not even good for you, the human body doesn't need milk especially that box crap they selling on shelves with long expiration dates

Postby paid_influencer » December 4th, 2024, 6:55 pm

timely topic because recently I was start to get vex at all these food places prices. Big big money they calling and the portions getting smaller and smaller. Every "deal" that KFC launch is literally just a rebrand of the regular menu and only small leg and thigh and fries yuh getting. $39 for that !

Today I finally gone a place called Caribbean Cuisine off high street and the food was okay, but the real star was the portion size. I buy a box for $45 or thereabouts and get nice big big bake chicken leg and thigh, plenty rice portion and plenty pasta salad portion. Real line too, some people saying wheey not so much, doh take out so much- but the server saying that is the portion size. Big portions! I get my money's worth for that $45. I honestly feel for the first time I seeing Christmas now after I eat my belly full with that box of food.

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2024, 9:15 pm

i see haagen daz pint is now $80 in massy

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 4th, 2024, 9:40 pm

^Lucky in endeavour have 2 for 100.00/65.00ea dunno the fancy flavours though

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 4th, 2024, 9:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:timely topic because recently I was start to get vex at all these food places prices. Big big money they calling and the portions getting smaller and smaller. Every "deal" that KFC launch is literally just a rebrand of the regular menu and only small leg and thigh and fries yuh getting. $39 for that !

Today I finally gone a place called Caribbean Cuisine off high street and the food was okay, but the real star was the portion size. I buy a box for $45 or thereabouts and get nice big big bake chicken leg and thigh, plenty rice portion and plenty pasta salad portion. Real line too, some people saying wheey not so much, doh take out so much- but the server saying that is the portion size. Big portions! I get my money's worth for that $45. I honestly feel for the first time I seeing Christmas now after I eat my belly full with that box of food.
Notice that food biz rellllll competitive now eh. Remember no biz eh happily making a loss eh. You know the days when chinee restaurants used to refry chicken, rice, etc? and only for lunch time they hitting yuh the fresh food and pelting Yuh with old food rest of the day? Chins eh the only ones doing it. When Yuh deep in the bess deals with food, do ah lil analysis, don't just lash ( ah know Yuh belly empty at that point but take a second). Sometimes you realise is old food you now get mix in with the freshly cooked.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 12th, 2024, 7:24 am

viedcht wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:timely topic because recently I was start to get vex at all these food places prices. Big big money they calling and the portions getting smaller and smaller. Every "deal" that KFC launch is literally just a rebrand of the regular menu and only small leg and thigh and fries yuh getting. $39 for that !

Notice that food biz rellllll competitive now eh. Remember no biz eh happily making a loss eh. You know the days when chinee restaurants used to refry chicken, rice, etc? and only for lunch time they hitting yuh the fresh food and pelting Yuh with old food rest of the day? Chins eh the only ones doing it. When Yuh deep in the bess deals with food, do ah lil analysis, don't just lash ( ah know Yuh belly empty at that point but take a second). Sometimes you realise is old food you now get mix in with the freshly cooked.

big chicken leg an thigh ??? i thinking TYSON leg and thigh quarters. that chicken does look nasty from the box.

Postby paid_influencer » December 21st, 2024, 7:25 am

massy have real deals today but it ram packed, good luck if you GT

https://massystorestt.com/12-days-of-fl ... -dec-21st/

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2024, 8:35 am

i went west mall massy
reached 7:15
place packed and no avail shopping carts
haagen daz finished, they was waiting to restock
the 2 for $100 chickens were big chickens
picked up a few and ribs

Postby alfa » December 21st, 2024, 8:44 am

I woulda think west mall of all places wouldn't have so many sufferer types rushing for deals :shock:
Roads go me in a mess until Xmas. I laying low until after

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 21st, 2024, 9:05 am

Prices in the market were lil stiff
Garlic: $20 per lb
Tomatoes(imports) : $20 per lb
Brocolli: $15, same for christophene
Lettuce:$8-$10 depending on size
Pimento:20 for $10
Cucumber: $7 per lb

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2024, 9:32 am

local tomato prices came down drastically last couple weeks
seems farmers got good yields with the less dry weather

massy have a good deal on frozen veggies pack incl broccoli, good quality and works out way cheaper than buying fresh

dogg

Postby dogg » December 21st, 2024, 9:46 am

why is ham so much cheaper than fresh pork?

Postby bluefete » December 21st, 2024, 1:11 pm

alfa wrote:I woulda think west mall of all places wouldn't have so many sufferer types rushing for deals :shock:
Roads go me in a mess until Xmas. I laying low until after

Nah, dem wasn't Weeessstttt Mourings peeple.

Sufferers from Port of Spain took maxi and bus to go West Mall.

The rich can be the most economical of people, eh. Just saying.

Massy St. Augustine was the same this morning. reached 7:00 a.m. Not a trolley in sight.

I usually go Big Deal, Better Deal, Food Basket, sometimes Xtra-Foods.

I Don't shop there at all BUT I Went Tru-Valu yesterday just to get the 3lb Butterball boneless breast turkey for $99. Massy selling for $175, Better Deal and X-tra Foods for $150.

Postby alfa » December 21st, 2024, 2:45 pm

I get catch with buying the boneless turkey for 175 already, sigh.

Postby bluefete » December 21st, 2024, 3:10 pm

alfa wrote:I get catch with buying the boneless turkey for 175 already, sigh.

I feel it for you bro. That is about 78% more. Dang.

Sometimes, it is good to wait or shop around.

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2024, 4:13 pm

those boneless ones are glue hams
interestingly you cannot don’t find glue hams in other countries
at least from google search
you will find boneless hams which are ones where the bone was removed but not the glued ones

dogg wrote:why is ham so much cheaper than fresh pork?

Postby paid_influencer » December 22nd, 2024, 9:42 am

is glue healthy to eat?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 22nd, 2024, 9:50 am

I ain't know about that one, but I heard ppl does sniff it.

Postby alfa » December 22nd, 2024, 11:47 am

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2024, 11:58 am

imagine 90% of hams sold here now are likely glue hams
such a habit we have developed

Postby bluefete » December 22nd, 2024, 12:07 pm

pugboy wrote:imagine 90% of hams sold here now are likely glue hams

If yuh go in dem ole Chinese groceries yuh might get a real old fashioned, non-glue, salted ham from de USA.

Sing Chong on Charlotte St. used to have them a few years ago.

Market was not too bad today. Sweet potatoes - $5/ lb.
Carrots $5 a pack (price finally dropped).
Last edited by bluefete on December 22nd, 2024, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2024, 12:08 pm

actually the correct name is “formed ham”
but they aren’t sold as a primary product in other jurisdictions

Postby alfa » December 22nd, 2024, 12:12 pm

The butterball turkey boneless breast is the same thing. The netting kinda holds it together

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 23rd, 2024, 8:28 am

alfa wrote:The butterball turkey boneless breast is the same thing. The netting kinda holds it together
WTF doh make that joke nah man... I buy two @ 90.00 each and have in freezer for later down the year I rell say is the natural deboned breast.

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2024, 9:12 am

yeah but yuh have to boil them hams til the cows come home lol

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:imagine 90% of hams sold here now are likely glue hams

If yuh go in dem ole Chinese groceries yuh might get a real old fashioned, non-glue, salted ham from de USA.

Sing Chong on Charlotte St. used to have them a few years ago.

Market was not too bad today. Sweet potatoes - $5/ lb.
Carrots $5 a pack (price finally dropped).

Postby MaxPower » December 23rd, 2024, 10:21 am

Watching the diet these days.

All them processed/smoked meat is poison.

Taste blasted good though.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 23rd, 2024, 10:32 am

MaxPower wrote:Watching the diet these days

Ah boy max like you link with a band. Way to look for yuh? Harts? Kalicharan? Tribe?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 23rd, 2024, 10:39 am

viedcht wrote:
alfa wrote:The butterball turkey boneless breast is the same thing. The netting kinda holds it together
WTF doh make that joke nah man... I buy two @ 90.00 each and have in freezer for later down the year I rell say is the natural deboned breast.

Massy is selling Turkey Quarters - you can get a real Turkey breast with the wing attached.