The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 426 cases, 10 deaths, 277 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2020, 7:02 am

We could of had elections way down in the year...But I thought covid doh cater if u are black...white and responsibility of the right to vote.

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby bluefete » August 15th, 2020, 7:47 am

matr1x wrote:Hearing about so many discrepancies. Head back to the polls

That is why I am vex my contact had to go into quarantine. Now, I have to wait to do that personal visit.

Zoom: Where is rspann? Like he gone real quiet.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 426 cases, 10 deaths, 277 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 15th, 2020, 8:18 am

zoom rader wrote:This Covid is an entire mess thanks to PNM.

UNC warned PNM from the start and they failed to take out measures.

They lied all the way to elections on Covid and lay blame on UNC .

Elections should have been postponed due to go covid. I am sure we now see a further spike.

Trinis are very stupid people and very very guilable.

The PNM had put everyones lives at risk

Hello Zoom,

Covid is an entire mess due to the irresponsibility of Trinis.

Postby eliteauto » August 15th, 2020, 8:48 am

matr1x wrote:The unc would be a band of morons if they accepted the election results
It's for EBC to prove that they operated above board.

San do west recount is completed so we await to see how these figures differ from the prelim results.

1 to 5 votes off in my view is a good indicator that no errors took place.

Anything about 5 votes is cause for concerns.

Toco/Sangre Grande the PNM candidate gained 8 votes, what yuh say by-election orrr?

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 15th, 2020, 8:55 am

Let me ask alluh something. If the PM does grant KPB her wish to recall an election, who you think will win this time? This move would ultimately prompt a larger voter base to come out and we would see which is the real preferred party. Or this is just wishful thinking?

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2020, 8:59 am

Kamla really needs to concede this and stop these games. We have to move on. We are facing a crisis and we need a Cabinet. In any other circumstances i would find this entertaining and laugh at the egg on her face when the results are declared. But Kamla holding the country hostage right now over an issue that she knows she is wrong about. She knows she lost. A recount can't change thousands of votes.

What's sad is that she is still surrounded by the weak yes men in the party who say they supporting her fully, so she believes it and will follow through. She is blind to the fact that the people of TT, through popular vote too, voted against her rather than for another party than the PNM.

Meanwhile more people are getting infected and more people die.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » August 15th, 2020, 9:16 am

maj. tom wrote:Kamla really needs to concede this and stop these games. We have to move on. We are facing a crisis and we need a Cabinet. In any other circumstances i would find this entertaining and laugh at the egg on her face when the results are declared. But Kamla holding the country hostage right now over an issue that she knows she is wrong about. She knows she lost. A recount can't change thousands of votes.

What's sad is that she is still surrounded by the weak yes men in the party who say they supporting her fully, so she believes it and will follow through. She is blind to the fact that the people of TT, through popular vote too, voted against her rather than for another party than the PNM.

Pnm fighting for the win to come in and thief.
Unc fighting for the win to come in and thief.
You interested in Covid and ultimately you and yours.
The common theme is everybody only cares about themselves and their friends and family, you included.
You are being hypocritical.

Postby bluefete » August 15th, 2020, 9:29 am

The next time you go to vote, think about this:

Chris Boothman :

Since the election I have seen evidence that some people across the various divides understand that radical change is necessary. But sadly equally it is clear that many have either not woken up or refuse to accept the reality that stares us in the face.

That reality is that we cannot progress as a nation until a number of issues are tackled including deep seated endemic racism.
Maybe people are so selfish that they don’t really want us to progress “as a nation”

Many do not want recognise that strong measures are needed to address the impact of racism, racial prejudice and racial disadvantage.

Measures including law and punishment. They seem to believe we can solve these deep seated problem by peace and love talks, a drink together and singing the national anthem. Sadly as a nation ( as with crime) we do not posses that level of self discipline.

People want to talk about corruption and crime but they don’t seem to want any measures that will disrupt the activities of people in their particular communities (including within the law enforcement and legal fraternity) or what they feel they should be able to do if they have enough money.

The behaviour of public service employees do not appear to be rooted in public service values and public service is generally seen as a means to an end which is to make money on the side and make sure my people are looked after first in terms of jobs, homes, education, contracts and services.

People don’t accept that taxes are necessary to pay for government services and that the have’s must pay their “fair” share.
People want to depend on the government to give them this and that without them taking responsibility to look after themselves through hard honest work.

People seem intent on giving up a self sufficient home economy and being seduced into expecting to live an international life style now. Beyond the current means of the country without understanding the true cost which is corruption, crime, exploitation and dependency.

Let me end with the treatment of Dr Keith Rowley. A man who is by no means perfect and who, contrary to the belief of some within the PNM, unless I am mistaken, is not God’s representative on earth. If he was White, Indian, Chinese or Middle Eastern would he be talked about in the same hateful and disrespectful way? No.

But despite being internationally recognised, among other things, as one of the most successful world leaders in relation to the management of covid 19 we are calling the man names which reflect badly on us as educated individuals.

Why can’t we as a nation acknowledge when someone has done well. Why can’t we just accept that he is probably the most able and experienced leader of any political party in the country at present irrespective of his origins or appearance.

We also need to accept that young able politicians can be found if you look hard enough in all the other parties.

Indeed the PNM like all the other parties have their fair share of individuals who were never fit to be allowed anywhere near a ministerial office or who now need to be put out to pasture.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 9:32 am

eliteauto wrote:
matr1x wrote:The unc would be a band of morons if they accepted the election results
It's for EBC to prove that they operated above board.

San do west recount is completed so we await to see how these figures differ from the prelim results.

1 to 5 votes off in my view is a good indicator that no errors took place.

Anything about 5 votes is cause for concerns.

Toco/Sangre Grande the PNM candidate gained 8 votes, what yuh say by-election orrr?
Where did you get your figures from?

The media houses report a different view

"In Toco/Sangre the UNC gained 11 votes, while the PNM gained four."

"Sources expected the Toco/Sangre Grande recount would have been completed last night"

It's either you or the media giving incorrect partial results.

https://trinidadexpress.com/elections/2 ... e3ee6.html

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 9:40 am

maj. tom wrote:Kamla really needs to concede this and stop these games. We have to move on. We are facing a crisis and we need a Cabinet. In any other circumstances i would find this entertaining and laugh at the egg on her face when the results are declared. But Kamla holding the country hostage right now over an issue that she knows she is wrong about. She knows she lost. A recount can't change thousands of votes.

Kams did the right thing.

It's up to the EBC to prove they are not tainted.

Rowley had nothing to loose when he invented email gate to which he got into power on a blantant fabrication.
Last edited by zoom rader on August 15th, 2020, 9:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 9:43 am

bluefete wrote:The next time you go to vote, think about this:

Chris Boothman :

Since the election I have seen evidence that some people across the various divides understand that radical change is necessary. But sadly equally it is clear that many have either not woken up or refuse to accept the reality that stares us in the face.

That reality is that we cannot progress as a nation until a number of issues are tackled including deep seated endemic racism.
Maybe people are so selfish that they don’t really want us to progress “as a nation”

Many do not want recognise that strong measures are needed to address the impact of racism, racial prejudice and racial disadvantage.

Measures including law and punishment. They seem to believe we can solve these deep seated problem by peace and love talks, a drink together and singing the national anthem. Sadly as a nation ( as with crime) we do not posses that level of self discipline.

People want to talk about corruption and crime but they don’t seem to want any measures that will disrupt the activities of people in their particular communities (including within the law enforcement and legal fraternity) or what they feel they should be able to do if they have enough money.

The behaviour of public service employees do not appear to be rooted in public service values and public service is generally seen as a means to an end which is to make money on the side and make sure my people are looked after first in terms of jobs, homes, education, contracts and services.

People don’t accept that taxes are necessary to pay for government services and that the have’s must pay their “fair” share.
People want to depend on the government to give them this and that without them taking responsibility to look after themselves through hard honest work.

People seem intent on giving up a self sufficient home economy and being seduced into expecting to live an international life style now. Beyond the current means of the country without understanding the true cost which is corruption, crime, exploitation and dependency.

Let me end with the treatment of Dr Keith Rowley. A man who is by no means perfect and who, contrary to the belief of some within the PNM, unless I am mistaken, is not God’s representative on earth. If he was White, Indian, Chinese or Middle Eastern would he be talked about in the same hateful and disrespectful way? No.

But despite being internationally recognised, among other things, as one of the most successful world leaders in relation to the management of covid 19 we are calling the man names which reflect badly on us as educated individuals.

Why can’t we as a nation acknowledge when someone has done well. Why can’t we just accept that he is probably the most able and experienced leader of any political party in the country at present irrespective of his origins or appearance.

We also need to accept that young able politicians can be found if you look hard enough in all the other parties.

Indeed the PNM like all the other parties have their fair share of individuals who were never fit to be allowed anywhere near a ministerial office or who now need to be put out to pasture.
Bull 5hit

People vote for man that continues to lies

Email gate
Petrotrin sale
Landate
Vene Oil deals
Fake oil
Covid

What a jack arse country we live in filled with stupid people.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 10:08 am

Elections should have been postponed due to go covid. I am sure we now see a further spike.

Hello Zoom,

Had PNM taken action when it was brought up in parliament we would not been seeing this mess.

Stop defending the PNM, they made a total mess.

Stupid country filled with stupid people

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 10:12 am

carluva wrote:This COVID is an entire mess thanks to the people of Trinidad. Regardless of who is in govt, Trini mentality remains constant...

Hello Zoom,

No it's the people to blame.

The PNM failed to put proper measures in placed

Other countries had and have limited curfews with fines.

We had slap dash measures put in place and it was never addressed when brought up in parliament.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 10:38 am

The_Honourable wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That statement from carpha have some panties in a bunch atm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:From day one ive been telling people to listen to doctors and nurses over the MOH...CARPHA spell it out for allyuh

CARPHA not entertaining being accused of delayed results. So the question is where is this "delay" coming from.
I will take a guess and lay blame on PNM

We in a mess

Postby bluefete » August 15th, 2020, 10:38 am

A young lady is now finding out, the hard way (absolutely no pun intended) that when you have cocoa in the sun, is to hush yuh blasted mouth!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 10:40 am

elec2020 wrote:I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month
PNM was warned to take actions and it got shot down in parliament.

What a stupid country filled with stupid people

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 10:51 am

bluefete wrote:A young lady is now finding out, the hard way (absolutely no pun intended) that when you have cocoa in the sun, is to hush yuh blasted mouth!
Be specific to what she saying .

abducted

Postby abducted » August 15th, 2020, 10:54 am

Hello Zoom,

Had PNM taken action when it was brought up in parliament we would not been seeing this mess.

Grow up, you have to bring your stupid political talk into every topic, every country in the world is dealing with this, the government closed schools and shut down the country early, we were doing well, the opposition wanted bars to reopen, opposition called to reopen borders, opposition opened their mouth just to oppose and feel like they were relevant, said sunlight could kill covid, where has reopening bars and letting people back home led us? The political ranting is more sickening than this virus.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 11:02 am

abducted wrote:

Hello Zoom,

Grow up, you have to bring your stupid political talk into every topic, every country in the world is dealing with this, the government closed schools and shut down the country early, we were doing well, the opposition wanted bars to reopen, opposition called to reopen borders, opposition opened their mouth just to oppose and feel like they were relevant, said sunlight could kill cover, where has reopening bars and letting people back home led us? The political ranting is more sickening than this virus.
Other countries took the precautions very early and are at ease now.

This country was warned very early and did nothing.

However you look at it, it is a political mess.

Why was cases kept on hush?

Why all this sudden increase?

Elections in covid was a total mess it was ill conceived.

Face the facts, your health and family are at risk cause the last government failed to take actions in the very earlies.

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby elec2020 » August 15th, 2020, 11:07 am

elec2020 wrote:I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month

Ok ZR everything is pnm fault.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 11:15 am

elec2020 wrote:

Had they taken actions very early, we would not be in this situation.

This my last post in here to many idiots in here

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2020, 11:18 am

It's a hard balance though.

People were already without money and starving 2 weeks into lockdown....how much more the government cudda really do wrt to lockdown.

The least they could have do is not hide the facts though. As they have been doing for a while.

abducted

Postby abducted » August 15th, 2020, 11:20 am

abducted wrote:

Hello Zoom,

Grow up, you have to bring your stupid political talk into every topic, every country in the world is dealing with this, the government closed schools and shut down the country early, we were doing well, the opposition wanted bars to reopen, opposition called to reopen borders, opposition opened their mouth just to oppose and feel like they were relevant, said sunlight could kill cover, where has reopening bars and letting people back home led us? The political ranting is more sickening than this virus.

Face the facts, your health and family are at risk cause the last government failed to take actions in the very earlies.

Why the UNC didn't contact CARPHA and show that cases are being hushed? The sudden increase is due to community spread because the opposition pushed for bars to reopen and nationals to return, elections in covid is total mess? but the UNC holding back progress by calling for a recount, grow up and stop blindly supporting one side over the other, you always talking about being in the rum shop, stay home, it's safer there.

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2020, 11:22 am

But the pnm still in govt. What process ?

Postby MaxPower » August 15th, 2020, 11:31 am

The UNC would have made it worse.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 15th, 2020, 11:31 am

^ who cause that. ZR. He need to stop with this pnm unc trash. Move on elections done.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 15th, 2020, 12:01 pm

Dawg they took action early. Stop making it political. The rampant spread now is due to Citizens not adhering to social distance guidelines. We have real stupid people in trini that can't understand basic things as keeping a mask in, washing hands before entering businesses and keeping 6 feet apart.
So please stop making it political.
elec2020 wrote:

Had they taken actions very early, we would not be in this situation.

This my last post in here to many idiots in here

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 12:05 pm

abducted wrote:

Hello Zoom,

Why the UNC didn't contact CARPHA and show that cases are being hushed? The sudden increase is due to community spread because the opposition pushed for bars to reopen and nationals to return, elections in covid is total mess? but the UNC holding back progress by calling for a recount, grow up and stop blindly supporting one side over the other, you always talking about being in the rum shop, stay home, it's safer there.
It is UNC constitutional rights to call for a recount where they see fit.

It is up to EBC to prove that they operated above board.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 12:08 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ who cause that. ZR. He need to stop with this pnm unc trash. Move on elections done.
Has the official EBC results been released?

If so then we can move on .

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 15th, 2020, 12:11 pm

^ and who cares if infections gone up because of the recount as with no sitting government no regulations can be passed to stop or slow down the spread of the covid. All that counts is proving that rhe pnm cheated and unc won the elections. That more important than life and financial well being aint. Where they does find people like you.