Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby supercharged turbo » October 31st, 2017, 4:33 pm

Will check them out

Lance

Postby Lance » November 1st, 2017, 7:19 am

I just managed to pick up my Tig Welder.

I'm in the market for durable hobbyist machines to support some light stainless steel and aluminum fabrication. I've checked out the online prices but it would be good to see what options are available locally. No duty on the imports but these things can be a bit heavy. I need:

- A 4x6 Bench Sander
-An 8'' Drill press
- A 10'' bandsaw

Who has decent prices locally? If anyone has recent estimates, that would be great too.

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2017, 8:49 am

Get a portaband saw and build a table for it
Most convenient tool

Lance

Postby Lance » November 1st, 2017, 9:30 am

pugboy wrote:Get a portaband saw and build a table for it
Most convenient tool

I was consider this but I think it will severely limit the length of my sheet metal cuts (given the blade direction). You will essentially be cutting towards the saw with a table mounted portaband.

A dedicated table band saw positions the cut direction perpendicular to the saw itself so you have more flexibility for longer metal sheets..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 1st, 2017, 10:19 am

Anybody saw oil drain pans selling? Need something sturdy, the half of container I have got a hole and with hot oil drain it gets really hard to hold (hot and bends).

car

Postby car » November 1st, 2017, 12:27 pm

ADONI wrote:Anybody saw oil drain pans selling? Need something sturdy, the half of container I have got a hole and with hot oil drain it gets really hard to hold (hot and bends).

Price club grocery Chaguanuas

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2017, 5:59 pm

went to check out the track for the sliding door.

they told me i just need to use the top track, run angle iron for the underneath and put a roller guide onto it as well as brackets at the end so when its closed, it wont be able to kick off the track at all.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 1st, 2017, 6:06 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:went to check out the track for the sliding door.

they told me i just need to use the top track, run angle iron for the underneath and put a roller guide onto it as well as brackets at the end so when its closed, it wont be able to kick off the track at all.

Yea
That what i was telling you.
If it secured at the top and bottom
It cant come off either rail system.and will be really solid

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2017, 6:57 pm

yea i was thinking that it would just be on the angle iron alone, i forget that they would put a roller guide as well as a bracket underneath and at the end to hold it in place

doing that project this weekend hopefully

yall ever see this item locally?

thinking of getting a firepit for the outside liming area

https://www.amazon.com/American-Firegla ... 2BB3K?th=1

GOOD STUFF

Postby GOOD STUFF » November 3rd, 2017, 10:24 pm

GOT THE CORRECT THING FOR YOU ,

ATV AND TRAILER
8b1348a8-e540-47e5-97c5-180727938997.jpg
7ecb00e5-7133-40f0-9ed1-5ab8b3af3dbf.jpg
6d57ba3e-bc65-49c7-9135-b82c030a4386.jpg
664eade4-2187-4c13-b513-5e8eab2d2e12.jpg
75ad6e9f-c34a-4a77-82d5-667a9f4d7980.jpg
8e46ae7c-f541-40e4-8472-87da98fc81b8.jpg
3c5f8d4b-d5b7-4dc1-9aff-c32e0139d85f.jpg
0d5f36b4-ccb8-4e2e-9bc0-fee371eeba50.jpg

GOOD STUFF

Postby GOOD STUFF » November 3rd, 2017, 10:27 pm

GOT THE CORRECT THING,

ATV WITH TRAILER
8b1348a8-e540-47e5-97c5-180727938997.jpg
7ecb00e5-7133-40f0-9ed1-5ab8b3af3dbf.jpg
6d57ba3e-bc65-49c7-9135-b82c030a4386.jpg
664eade4-2187-4c13-b513-5e8eab2d2e12.jpg
75ad6e9f-c34a-4a77-82d5-667a9f4d7980.jpg
8e46ae7c-f541-40e4-8472-87da98fc81b8.jpg
3c5f8d4b-d5b7-4dc1-9aff-c32e0139d85f.jpg
0d5f36b4-ccb8-4e2e-9bc0-fee371eeba50.jpg

GOOD STUFF

Postby GOOD STUFF » November 3rd, 2017, 10:30 pm

car wrote:You can get the digital ones that rap around the spark plug wire. Less than 20us Amazon or eBay. Have one on my Atv about 5 years now.

Do you still have the atv, is it for sale by chance

car

Postby car » November 3rd, 2017, 10:34 pm

GOOD STUFF wrote:
car wrote:You can get the digital ones that rap around the spark plug wire. Less than 20us Amazon or eBay. Have one on my Atv about 5 years now.

Still have it. Not sure bout selling it yet.

GOOD STUFF

Postby GOOD STUFF » November 3rd, 2017, 10:50 pm

car wrote:
GOOD STUFF wrote:

what kind of atv do you have

car

Postby car » November 3rd, 2017, 10:54 pm

GOOD STUFF wrote:
car wrote:
GOOD STUFF wrote:

Chinese 90cc.
Utility

GOOD STUFF

Postby GOOD STUFF » November 3rd, 2017, 11:19 pm

car wrote:
GOOD STUFF wrote:
car wrote:
GOOD STUFF wrote:

Chinese 90cc.
Utility

or ok, not bad man,
i looking for one to buy if you know anyone selling

Postby Ted_v2 » November 5th, 2017, 8:39 am

anyone sees the need for a 12 point socket set?

and where sells rolling tool chest for reasonable amount?

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 5th, 2017, 11:26 am

12 pt are handy in tight spots where a 6 pt has to rotate too much to get onto a nut, 30 deg vs 60 deg. Convenient for the 1 time in 50 when you need it.

Also Toyota NZE 121 and up use a 12pt axle nut which is a fcuking pain in the balls when you didn't realize it and don't have a 32mm 12pt, but, I digress.

Tool chest will cost literally half or more the amount as locally if you get one from harbor freight and sea freight it in. HF chests have great reviews.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 5th, 2017, 12:17 pm

I bought all my axle sockets in 12pt, non impact for that same reason above.

ill check into that.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 5th, 2017, 4:21 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:looking for some advice

i need to make this into a sliding door on the inside of the room
(currently it swings outside but need to change that)

as you see, its off the ground on the inside (but its level with the floor on the outside)

how can i fashion it to make it secure that it cant be simply kicked off the track as well as make it lockable

I made a sliding door similar to what you have
I used 4” pice of flat steel with another piece of flats welded to the back and bolted to wall so the flats lifts off the wall abt 1/4”
On the door welded angle iron opposite to the one bolted to wall
When door slides close the angles interlock
Let me know if you need pics,my explanation ain’t all that.
Very very secure,impossible to kick in and no lower track needed so your wife can sweep the house properly.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 5th, 2017, 5:29 pm

Lance wrote:I just managed to pick up my Tig Welder.

I'm in the market for durable hobbyist machines to support some light stainless steel and aluminum fabrication. I've checked out the online prices but it would be good to see what options are available locally. No duty on the imports but these things can be a bit heavy. I need:

- A 4x6 Bench Sander
-An 8'' Drill press
- A 10'' bandsaw

Who has decent prices locally? If anyone has recent estimates, that would be great too.

Allied home center. Their website also has prices.
Other than that, whs has an ongoing 20% sale.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 5th, 2017, 5:32 pm

silent_riot wrote:
Lance wrote:I just managed to pick up my Tig Welder.

- A 4x6 Bench Sander
-An 8'' Drill press
- A 10'' bandsaw

Allied home center. Their website also has prices.
Other than that, whs has an ongoing 20% sale.

Also Ssl has online prices too. Shopssltt.com

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 5th, 2017, 5:33 pm

ADONI wrote:Anybody saw oil drain pans selling? Need something sturdy, the half of container I have got a hole and with hot oil drain it gets really hard to hold (hot and bends).

Parts places have the ones which basically are a big sturdy bowl with a little spout for $40.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 6th, 2017, 9:08 am

silent_riot wrote:

Parts places have the ones which basically are a big sturdy bowl with a little spout for $40.

Cool, I will have to look around. Have a vehicle home now, draining two gallons of oil... The lil container I have barely holding it.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2017, 9:25 am

allied has the bench sander for around 600$, they also have the drill press too, a bit under 2000$.
the quality is DIY. The drill press in a skil and the bench sander is a skil or a Stanley. They also has some amazing price on vices, grabbed up a irwin mechanics vice there for 600$

bandsaw IDK, i would opt for a portable milwaukee and the adapter to make it into a stationary unit. Would be good for exhaust work ect, moving around and chopping stuff.

http://www.swagoffroad.com/SWAG-V20-Por ... _p_56.html

car

Postby car » November 6th, 2017, 10:38 am

Ted_v2 wrote:allied has the bench sander for around 600$, they also have the drill press too, a bit under 2000$.
the quality is DIY. The drill press in a skil and the bench sander is a skil or a Stanley. They also has some amazing price on vices, grabbed up a irwin mechanics vice there for 600$

bandsaw IDK, i would opt for a portable milwaukee and the adapter to make it into a stationary unit. Would be good for exhaust work ect, moving around and chopping stuff.

Have that same stand. Hardly used my band saw till I got the stand. Now cutting something every 3 days.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Yeah. One day I hope to purchase a similar setup. Seems like a very handy setup.

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2017, 4:53 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:allied has the bench sander for around 600$, they also have the drill press too, a bit under 2000$.

Where allied is again

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2017, 6:12 pm

you can make up a portaband table easily also,
great thing about welding is most of your jigs etc can be self made.

IMG_5286.JPG

Allied in south is down by More Vino.

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2017, 6:57 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:They also has some amazing price on vices, grabbed up a irwin mechanics vice there for 600$

What size was the Irwin vise?