The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby 16 cycles » July 30th, 2012, 10:42 am

reports saying jelly bean on SGS3 faster than ICS...but problems when porting to other phones...

http://www.knowyourmobile.com/blog/1511 ... od_10.html

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 30th, 2012, 10:49 am

got the s2 today in bmobile independence sq.
only color available was white , its the gt-i9000

Postby Trini Hookah » July 30th, 2012, 10:56 am

gfbl wrote:hi guys,samsung galaxy s2 was stolen, i made a report to the police, took it to tstt but they are saying that they cannot trace android. any advice?

That's a lie. A tuner had one stolen and recovered shortly after just the other day.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 30th, 2012, 10:58 am

BTW isn't the i9000 the S 1 Dean?

DSM Plaza only has the cheaper models as well, not even the Beam remaining, and 2-3 wimmen just around the Samsung booth playing Fruit Ninja on their notes, 1jelly

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 30th, 2012, 11:01 am

meant the i9100

achillies

Postby achillies » July 30th, 2012, 11:21 am

gfbl wrote:hi guys,samsung galaxy s2 was stolen, i made a report to the police, took it to tstt but they are saying that they cannot trace android. any advice?

They can trace any device connected to their network, but they won't, only thing I can suggest is to try "Lookout plan B"

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 30th, 2012, 11:44 am

how did it happen?

Postby Trini Hookah » July 30th, 2012, 12:36 pm

Just came back from Digicel, they have to order some S2II's for next week. BUT they say it's locked to their network, as the rest of their phones.
Last edited by Trini Hookah on July 30th, 2012, 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 30th, 2012, 12:37 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Just came back from Digicel, they have to order some for next week. BUT they say it's locked to their network, as the rest of their phones.

order S2's or Notes?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 30th, 2012, 12:40 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

how did it happen?

stole a clutch purse from under arm on saturday night

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 30th, 2012, 12:42 pm

achillies wrote:

They can trace any device connected to their network, but they won't, only thing I can suggest is to try "Lookout plan B"

lookout plan B? the number has been deactivated. the phone was purchased from bmobile. Once the thieves use another sim tstt can trace the device yes?

Postby Stephon. » July 30th, 2012, 12:49 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:got the s2 today in bmobile independence sq.
only color available was white , its the gt-i9000

Same. using my s2 now

Postby Stephon. » July 30th, 2012, 12:50 pm

White is the better colour anyway and you get a pretty neat case with the phone so im happy

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 1:51 pm

Strauss wrote:
pete wrote:
Strauss wrote:
pete wrote:Damn, the Note from Digicel is 1500?!

I need to find out if I can change my order yes.. Note vs S3.. is the S3 worth 2500 more?

Probably that's the N7000 they selling and not the SGH?

Yeah it's the N7000. What's wrong with that?

Nothing wrong.
Just probably one of the reasons they can offer it so cheap.

Afaik for the note there is only the n7003 and the n7000 while the latter is better as it has the dual core chip

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Just came back from Digicel, they have to order some S2II's for next week. BUT they say it's locked to their network, as the rest of their phones.

Refer to my post prior.
Check model number. If is gt-i9100 they dam lie.

If they add a lock to it, is just to flash it. Easy.

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 2:25 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Just came back from Digicel, they have to order some S2II's for next week. BUT they say it's locked to their network, as the rest of their phones.

Refer to my post prior.

That's what I was wondering, a guy told me his is locked as well :/

Postby tr1ad » July 30th, 2012, 2:27 pm

wait wait.. is the note i seeing for 1500 from bmobile?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 30th, 2012, 2:41 pm

$1599 post paid , but they always out of stock in all the branches.

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 3:01 pm

M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Refer to my post prior.

Dont worry bro. If it locked, I'll help u unlock it. Most likely digicel flashed a locked radio file in Odin before selling them. Which is sad because it is factory unlocked.

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 3:29 pm

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Refer to my post prior.

Dont worry bro. If it locked, I'll help u unlock it. Most likely digicel flashed a locked radio file in Odin before selling them. Which is sad because it is factory unlocked.

figured. Thanks man. I'll probably know next week.

I guessing this is basically what i hadda do?
http://androidflip.com/how-to-install-f ... -gt-i9100/

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 30th, 2012, 3:39 pm

Friend of mine bought the S2 from Bmobile, however when he tried to update it to ICS it said that there were no updates available, either through the phone or Kies.

Contacted bmobile they said that the phone was not updateable to ICS at this moment.

Did a little research and found out that there is a some what scaled down version to the S2, which is the I-9100G, the normal S2 is the I-9100. Not sure if this is what TSTT is selling people but i remember a member on here saying that his cannot update to ICS either. (Check GSMArena to see spec difference)

Have anyone here had this issue as well?

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 3:40 pm

@M_2NR: Yea. But u could just flash a new modem and it should unlock. May not need to do all that.

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 3:54 pm

Plot thicken deh boy zaak.

Thanks S_2NR :mrgreen:

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 3:55 pm

Captainzaak wrote:Friend of mine bought the S2 from Bmobile, however when he tried to update it to ICS it said that there were no updates available, either through the phone or Kies.

Contacted bmobile they said that the phone was not updateable to ICS at this moment.

Did a little research and found out that there is a some what scaled down version to the S2, which is the I-9100G, the normal S2 is the I-9100. Not sure if this is what TSTT is selling people but i remember a member on here saying that his cannot update to ICS either. (Check GSMArena to see spec difference)

Click the link M posted and fix yu mix.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 30th, 2012, 4:25 pm

Captainzaak wrote:Friend of mine bought the S2 from Bmobile, however when he tried to update it to ICS it said that there were no updates available, either through the phone or Kies.

Check here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1679636

Official ICS firmwares for the I9100G

It uses OMAP instead of Exynos, few other internal differences.

CM10 is fully functional on OMAP I9100G whereas it isn't on the Exynos version, OMAP has it's advantages in terms of being more friendly to the open-source community.

Also locking a Samsung Android phone doesn't really make sense, there are apps on the market that can unlock the phone for you, easy as pie

achillies

Postby achillies » July 30th, 2012, 4:28 pm

M_2NR wrote:figured. Thanks man. I'll probably know next week.

Be careful there, that information seems very outdated, no need to use .pit files as they are not needed in the routine flashing of firmware, and if there is a glitch while the .pit is doing it's work, your phone is done.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 30th, 2012, 4:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:@M_2NR: Yea. But u could just flash a new modem and it should unlock. May not need to do all that.

Phones are locked through software on the EFS partition, flashing different radio/modems doesn't do anything

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 4:48 pm

achillies wrote:
S_2NR wrote:@M_2NR: Yea. But u could just flash a new modem and it should unlock. May not need to do all that.

Phones are locked through software on the EFS partition, flashing different radio/modems does nothing

So u have to flash everything? Word.
Thanks for that info.
Might still get an S2 from bmobile. Working a link.

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 4:54 pm

achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:figured. Thanks man. I'll probably know next week.

Be careful there, that information seems very outdated, no need to use .pit files as they are not needed in the routine flashing of firmware, and if there is a glitch while the .pit is doing it's work, your phone is done.

We know it's outdated. That was just a general guide. I'm sure that was his intention.

For up to date info, xda wins.

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2012, 4:59 pm

Thanks guys :D
I'll know for sure next week.
My padna who has a locked i9100 on digicel confirmed its the i9100 he has.