3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby dougla_boy » August 24th, 2012, 1:47 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:going fishing weekend down mayaro. i think there is a river nearby Eccles Road that i'll be doing the fishing....any tips or anything like that?

staying from saturday into sunday, dont mind doing some night fishing.....or and i using castor and line eh

no answer awa fellas?

Postby rollingstock » August 24th, 2012, 1:51 pm

Wha advice yuh looking for dougs?

Best i can give is walk with extra lines/leads, use shrimp, mullet and herring for bait and if you could get squid. Also walk with different size hooks, and different weight lead, from 1/2 ounce to 2 ounce (will depend on current, maybe more needed?)

Haven't fished there so any advice i can give is general.

Postby dougla_boy » August 24th, 2012, 2:36 pm

stock, i looking just for advice on the tides and sheit. not sure how to read dat sheit. so far i cud basically throw meh line, reel in the fish, take it out.

not sure bout the following:

1) bait : what kind to use? is river i would be fishing and MAYBE just walk out in the see and throw a line......i normally use shrimp and squid......but sometimes the fish doesnt bite it at all.....

2) how to do the whole tide thingy? all i know is u cud ketch the fish when the tide coming in.....

any other friendly advice will be appreciated

Postby rollingstock » August 24th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Approx 2-3 hours before and after ebb and flow, i usually keep away when the tide is stagnant, @ the low and high tide.

River or near river mouth? If near river mouth water will be brackish, baits i recommended will work. Sometimes fish don't take the bait cause they aren't biting.

Postby Razkal » August 24th, 2012, 2:57 pm

usually if you're fishing a river, the tide is easy to predict, well..more like just look and see what direction its flowing really..

my advice will be dig for some chipchip and sea cockroaches, small crabs work too....using any kind of running line or fish finder rig takes full advantage of the current and the hooked bait drifts downstream, away from the lead sinker (fish deterrent).

basically, line from your caster runs through a small egg sinker and ties directly unto an appropriate hook. the sinker can slide along the length of line freely. that's the simplest way, but its easy to modify to suit your needs.

a good start would be to rig maybe three casters, light, medium, medium-heavy. the medium and medium-heavy can be on stronger line than the light rig, and maybe you can use a wire trace on the hook of the medium-heavy rig.

you can throw on an entire squid or whole bait fish on the bigger rig and use that one with a really small sinker or none, the weight of the bait should keep it drifting under.

the big rig is just incase you get a nice tarpon slam! i know the rivers down there have tarps and if you're luckier than me, nice sized snook/brochet.

for me slack lining/running line/fishfinder rigs always work in swampy situations...just google image search the "running line/fishfinder rig" if you're having trouble understanding my description.

good luck!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 25th, 2012, 1:04 am

well as i said, weather was bad in tobago but got out a morning and caught these 2 snook on livebait...was lots of fun catching the livebait...also had a barracuda around but he was very smart and came in ah few time and had a gd look at the bait and left dem...

2 snook caught, one by me and the other by my girlfriend (actually me)...

tarpon caught by my bro, weighed in at 104lbs...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 25th, 2012, 11:11 pm

well guys, wanna do ah lil fishing dis week coming up...which side the fish biting?

Postby Razkal » August 26th, 2012, 11:30 am

dunno nah, haven't fished this entire month :|

i feel i gonna hold out til 2nd week in September and aim for a north coast or something, once the sea conditions hold out

Postby gt4tified » August 26th, 2012, 1:34 pm

Razkal, shout mih when yuh ready nah....I feel that sounding like a 2nr fisherman lime. Btw, ppl does eat tarpon? If so how it does taste ? (serious question)

Postby meccalli » August 26th, 2012, 2:18 pm

Sea tarpon does taste decent......if made in funny ways lol for me at least - I just scrape meat off the bones, season it and fry it as a fritter with some potato hash. River tarpon for me is a no no.. I don't like to eat tarpon tho, meat retains a lottt of moisture so much so it doesn't cook to a flaking state.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » August 26th, 2012, 4:12 pm

ryan99tt......where did you catch the snook in bago?

Postby meccalli » August 26th, 2012, 4:24 pm

http://savethetarpon.com/
I see the ptts tourney on WFN's channel and it is crazy, we in Trinidad eat tarpon marginally, but the way they handle em here is crazy. They are released but after all that stress i'm sure most are eaten by sharks or exhaustion and its the biggest breeding females around (200+)that get the mistreatment.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 26th, 2012, 9:39 pm

i actually dont eat tarpon but my cuz dem do...i does usually just give them an they are really happy...the snook was caught on turtle beach, by the river mouth with some live bait...

Postby rollingstock » August 26th, 2012, 9:55 pm

Just reach back home, fished in teh Gulf of Paria, weather was a problem, rain was friggin cold.

Caught about 90lbs of cro cro, cavali, salmon, and a few reds. Nothing big though except for a ray.

Postby gt4tified » August 26th, 2012, 10:05 pm

^^^ scene. anybody went out today? how was it?

Postby rollingstock » August 26th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Frying up some of the catch right now, fresh fish is teh best, have some herring that was supposed to be bait, that getting it too, lil lime pepper and ketchup, yummy. :lol:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 28th, 2012, 12:31 pm

lol...nice...dis weather real spoil my tobago fishing too but i feel i guh have to take ah weekend and go back just to fish...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 2nd, 2012, 12:59 am

went out last thursday with some live bait but dem tarpon dem real bothering yuh boi....held ah few and kept 2...caught some small fish banking except for ah couple...will post some pics soon...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 2nd, 2012, 8:34 am

Long time I havent posted! Lately I've been doing some serious fishing and catching some nice fish ranging from 20-40lbs!!
Caught some nice red fish and some dog teeth pag! Will get pics to u soon! That was caught Mayaro out in the sea!

Me and my cuz also saw and designed a thing to dance the bait! Works really well! I will upload the pic of it and how it wrks later on!

These days I fishing toco area! Might head la fouray today! See to hook up on some big barracudas!!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 2nd, 2012, 12:14 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH, could of check me bro...real wanted to do some missions before skool...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 5th, 2012, 11:16 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH, really love to see d ting yuh design...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 6th, 2012, 5:15 pm

Ok heres the pic of the "thing" how it works is that while it sits at the sea floor the rocking of the boat will cause the "thing" to move in the backward forward motion as indicated on the red circle. It will pull the bait and the current flowing in the blue arrow direction will set the bait back in place.

So thats the so called thing my cuz and i have designed and seems to work pretty well.
My cuz is also a follower of this particular thread. He knows his stuff also.

We are planning to head out overnight saturday out on the east coast for some huge red fish and pag. Captain promises no fish will be less than 20lbs on that particular spot. So me and my cuz went and brought this for the big red and pag.

But as i said before i have mostly been on the toco side and using normal wire rigs and circle hooks. to make running lines. I recently bought a cheap spinning reel to use for the while untill i travel to get a proper reel and rod. Its a penn fierce. Works good.

Caught this La foury! Estimated like 15-18 lbs

Some Reds

When i go out saturday night i will post some pics of any monsters we hold

Postby gt4tified » September 6th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Nice grouper and reds.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 6th, 2012, 11:54 pm

gt4tified wrote:Nice grouper and reds.

not ah grouper bro...cubera snapper...real nice...nice rig, u dont get any problems with snagging or when multiple fish are hooked up?

Postby meccalli » September 7th, 2012, 7:22 am

Nice rig, last time we passed in the mayaro fishing village a boat came in stocked with muttons, cubera and dogtooth. I suspect its on a lobster bank as well given how much cubera like a live lobster :).

Postby meccalli » September 7th, 2012, 7:25 am

[quote="meccalli"]Nice rig, last time we passed in the mayaro fishing village a boat came in stocked with muttons, cubera and dogtooth. I suspect its on a lobster bank as well given how much cubera like a live lobster :).What bait you use for that pag tho?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 8th, 2012, 12:48 am

meccalli wrote:
meccalli wrote:Nice rig, last time we passed in the mayaro fishing village a boat came in stocked with muttons, cubera and dogtooth. I suspect its on a lobster bank as well given how much cubera like a live lobster :).What bait you use for that pag tho?

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2012, 6:38 pm

anyone knows where i can get lead bricks to buy?
8oz and up sinkers are quite costly!
and its not hard to make them!

falken

Postby falken » September 9th, 2012, 12:02 am

X_Factor wrote:anyone knows where i can get lead bricks to buy?
8oz and up sinkers are quite costly!
and its not hard to make them!

would like to know this also....... i make my own sinkers, saves me alot of money...lol. i usually extract lead frm car batteries and wheel weights, bt these can be time consuming at times, u cant go wrong wid the wheel weights. them tyre shop does hav plenty throwing away

Postby X_Factor » September 9th, 2012, 10:05 am

last night i finally caught my first king and carite using artificial

a group of us went on a boat from by alcan bay in chag
we caught ALOT of catfish, cro-cro and salmon

it had about 12 of us, so while they were bottom fishing, i was trying some top water using a yo-zuri
i get real sheit up and thing from my cuz n them.....took me about 4hrs...but after i hit the first one....everyone get quiet...i hit 3 more in about 30 mins then it went dead.....