The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

jhonnieblue

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby jhonnieblue » August 28th, 2010, 10:48 pm

it makes any sense updating a 2g to iOS4?
right now running 3.1.2

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 28th, 2010, 11:43 pm

^^^ Can't. 3.1.3 is the furthest that & the iPod touch 1G goes.

------

We are just days away from the possible unveiling of Apple’s radically new AppleTV, rumored to be re-named as its former codename, iTV. Since this device is speculated to be running Apple’s iOS, there are countless rumors and debates as to how the planet’s folks will control the thing. Apple’s current remote definitely won’t do the job with its 5 physics buttons. There’s the Magic Trackpad but that might not be convenient with it’s desktop design, and then there’s using an iPhone/iPod/iPad app. That might not work as that means the iTV is a true accessory to the devices you already own, not a product that can be used alone.

The concept you see above, put together by Dan Wineman, is the perfect concept of an iTV remote. The remote is a pure fusion of the Magic Trackpad and an iPhone. The remote takes the physical appearance and multi-touch technology from the Magic Trackpad and scales it to the size of an iPhone. The controller will adapt some iPhone-hardware features like the gyroscope, compass, and accelometer. Essentially, an iPhone without a screen. Or it could be just like this Wii-like “Magic Wand” patent covered last New Years Eve (pictured below).

------

Folks at Pocketnow have compared the boot up (startup) time of iPhone 4 (running iOS 4) with HTC HD2 and Nexus One (running Android 2.2) and LG Panther (running a beta version of Windows Phone 7).

Pocketnow reports:

In this video we compare the startup time of Windows Phone 7 with Windows Mobile, iPhone, and Android. As a reminder, we're testing on non-final Windows Phone 7 hardware and software

Since most people leave their phones turned on all the time, startup time is not that big of a deal

Checkout the video to find out which smartphone boots up the fastest:

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » August 29th, 2010, 8:38 pm

I've got a 3g running 3.1.2 I want to know if it makes sense updating to iOS 4.1?

Postby M_2NR » August 29th, 2010, 8:48 pm

BlueGalant HD wrote:I've got a 3g running 3.1.2 I want to know if it makes sense updating to iOS 4.1?

NO

leave it on 3.1.2 :)

4.1 isnt officially out yet fyi. i think u meant 4.0.1

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 29th, 2010, 8:49 pm

^^^ Well 4.1 may probably come out Wednesday after the Apple Music Event. Other than that there's 4.0.2 which for the most part is unable to be jailbroken. You could either upgrade to 4.0.1 (I had written instructions for this either on this or the previous page or follow M_2nr's guide to getting 4.0.2 on it (a little more work involved).
You may notice some slow down with 4.0 & > but a tip would be to disable Spotlight search. That should speed it up. 4.1 by the way is expected to solve those slow down issues with the iPhone 3G & iPod touch 2G.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 29th, 2010, 8:55 pm

I fine 3.x was better.

4.0 moves a lil slower, I disabled Multitasking and Spotlight and no real gain.
Plus 4.0 misc apps are crashing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2010, 9:50 pm

idlemind wrote:I fine 3.x was better.

4.0 moves a lil slower, I disabled Multitasking and Spotlight and no real gain.
Plus 4.0 misc apps are crashing
on which model phone?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 29th, 2010, 9:57 pm

sorry boss...its the 3G went from 3.0.1 to 4.0.2

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » August 29th, 2010, 10:12 pm

anyone tried out Microsoft Office for Mac 2011 Beta 6 (100802) yet???

i think im goin to upgrade.

Postby M_2NR » August 29th, 2010, 10:32 pm

SRASC wrote:Yup. My iPhone 4 is also a 4.0.2'er. I was cringing to go to the about to see the version. 4.1 can't come soon enough.
Oh & no DeathGrip for me. :D

i now seeing this. glad no death grip issues bhai, what about proximity sensor? my padna now telling me his has that issue.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 30th, 2010, 8:24 am

China Unicom is reportedly advertising a jailbreak service along with the sale of the iPhone or iPad.

MICGadget translates an article from WeiPhone...

According to a Chinese netizen, he saw these posters at a China Unicom store located in Dongguan. He was shocked to see that Unicom is providing the jailbreak service to their customers, and at the same time, he asked the staff for the prices of the iPhone 4. The 32GB model with no contract will be selling at $6980 yuan (about $1025 USD), while the 16GB is unknown yet.

Customers will also get free cases from Unicom when purchasing the iPhone 4 or iPad.

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=11402

NOW THE DUAL SIM iPhone!!!! :?: :?:
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=11397

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 30th, 2010, 8:41 am

Synchronicity is a new application that lets you use your iPhone or iPod touch while it sync with iTunes.

Synchronicity gives you the option to use your device during an iTunes sync. Instead of being stuck at the lock screen while you transfer new content, you can unlock, run apps, make calls, etc. You can do whatever you want, except run the Music app, which is disabled during syncs to prevent data corruption.

Synchronicity works on any device with firmware 4.0 or 4.0.1 and can be purchased from the Cydia Store for $2.

------

These photos taken of airplane propellers with the iPhone illustrate the stunning results produced by the Rolling Shutter Effect.

Pictures like the ones below by Jason Mullins and Soren Ragsdale are due to the iPhone's method of image acquisition.

An iPhone's CMOS camera has no shutter, and reads the pixel values off in rows rather than all at once. In this photo the propeller spins about 5 times while the photo is taken, producing a strange effect.

Ragsdale posts this note from the photographer: "We take a lot of aviation type pictures during our normal day, from crappy workmanship we find in planes to cool flying shoots. This prop shot was way different that any other prop we have shot. If you watch the prop through the camera the blades spun down and came off the prop at the 6 oclock postion, then looked like they bounced off the ramp and reattached at 9 oclock. Very weird, Hope next week we can recreate with a better camera and some video. Aircraft was a Yak TD with a M-14 engine idleing at 1000 RPM, Yes we had someone in the seat and brakes were set. Should of had chocks too. As for Photo shop, if I had those skills I would not be working on communist iron."

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 30th, 2010, 8:50 am

now that reallll wicked!!!!!!!!!

WHO CAN GET ME AN IPHONE4??????????

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 30th, 2010, 3:12 pm

M_2NR wrote:
SRASC wrote:Yup. My iPhone 4 is also a 4.0.2'er. I was cringing to go to the about to see the version. 4.1 can't come soon enough.

i now seeing this. glad no death grip issues bhai, what about proximity sensor? my padna now telling me his has that issue.

I was now reading up on the apparent fact that 4.1 is not going to come with a proximity sensor fix. So far for me, so good as far as that's concerned. (I only now saw this myself)

& in that regard...

It was reported last week that iOS 4.1, which is currently in its third beta includes a fix for the proximity sensor problem reported by iPhone 4 users.

While not documented by Apple in the release notes, some users had reported that after installing iOS 4.1 beta, the proximity sensor on the iPhone 4 is far more reliable.

Though iPhone 4’s antenna issue has been highly publicized, the proximity sensor problem seemed to be a more serious issue based on feedback from our readers. So the news that iOS 4.1 includes the fix for the problem had come as a relief to users.

Apple is expected to release iOS 4.1 (or at least announce the release date) at the special media event on Wednesday.

But The Next Web has just reported that Apple Australia spokeswoman Fiona Martin has confirmed that it still hasn’t fixed the issue. The Next Web reports:

With iOS 4.1 in its final beta testing stages and about to be released to the world, it appears the fix will not be forthcoming when it rolls out to users.

iPhone 4 users who have been patiently waiting for a fix are bound to get frustrated if the issue issue is not fixed in iOS 4.1.

iOS 4.1 is also expected to fix Bluetooth problems and iOS 4 performance issues on iPhone 3G.

We will have to wait and see if Apple provides an update on these problems at the special event on Wednesday.

------

When word got out that Apple had sent out invitations to a September 1 media event, I expected the usual speculation about new iPods, new versions of iTunes, and—just maybe, after years of unfulfilled hopes and dreams—a new, usable Apple TV. What I didn't expect was much prognosticating about the venerable iPod classic.

Yet much prognostication have I seen. For example, our own Christopher Breen thinks the iPod classic has reached the end of the road, especially if Apple announces some sort of streaming-audio service. And Business Insider thinks Apple may offer a 128GB iPod touch that could spell the end of the classic's tenure.

I addressed this very possibility a couple years back, just a few days after Apple's September 2008 music event. I confidently proclaimed that the iPod classic was "just keeping the seat warm" until flash memory was cheap enough for Apple to offer a 128GB iPod touch. At the time, flash-memory prices were nosediving, and I predicted we'd see such a product sometime in 2009.

I was wrong, of course. For various reasons, flash-memory prices didn't keep going down. In fact, they eventually reversed direction. And instead of releasing a 128GB iPod touch for the high-capacity crowd, Apple in 2009 simply bumped the classic's storage back up to 160GB. (The September 2007 iPod classic was available in 80GB and 160GB models; Apple replaced those models in September 2008 with a single 120GB model.)

But while Chris is right that a streaming-audio service would reduce demand for a high-capacity iPod, I believe there would still be enough demand that Apple will continue to offer a player with lots of storage. For example, the classic is popular among those who rip their music to high-bit rate, lossless, or uncompressed files—64GB, the memory in the current highest-capacity iPod touch, just isn't enough for these folks. (Heck, my video on upgrading an iPod classic to 240GB of storage was viewed by tens of thousands of people.) Until there's an iPod touch with at least 128GB, I expect Apple to quietly keep the classic in the lineup.

So, for me, the big question is whether or not we'll see a 128GB iPod touch this week. I'd love to see one, but given current prices for flash memory, I think it's a long shot. Consider that you can currently buy a 160GB, 1.8-inch hard drive—similar to the one used in the current iPod classic—including a USB enclosure for less than $100. Apple surely pays a fraction of that for bare drives. Meanwhile, 128GB versions of the flash modules used in the iPod touch aren't even officially available yet and will cost a pretty penny when that time comes.

Of course, Apple's purchasing power might allow the company to get those 128GB chips before anyone else, but there's still the price issue. In fact, I suspect that even using two 64GB modules—the current iPod touch uses two chips—would cost Apple considerably more than the aforementioned 160GB hard drive. So I'll go out on a limb and say that if Apple is able to produce a 128GB iPod touch this fall, the price will be higher than that of the current 64GB iPod touch...which would make it just a virtual stone's throw from the price of an iPad.

So here's betting that the iPod classic will live to see another holiday season. But I'd love to be proven wrong. A retina-display, camera-sporting iPod touch with 128GB of memory...drool.

------

Here's an interesting interactive video
http://www.thewildernessdowntown.com/

Its not iPhone, Apple related, directly, but it was made in HTML5.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » August 30th, 2010, 6:41 pm

The Apple store in Eaton's Center Toronto is being camped from 6am by kids waiting buy iphone 4s like it's launch day and they have a daily quota usually sold out soon after opening.

Windsor has a waiting list.

I don't want to ebay it and get teh customs rapage :evil:

Bleh!

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2010, 6:59 pm

SRASC wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

I was now reading up on the apparent fact that 4.1 is not going to come with a proximity sensor fix. So far for me, so good as far as that's concerned. (I only now saw this myself)

That's good to hear! seems that only US iPhones having all the issues :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 30th, 2010, 8:02 pm

They don't call it the Great White North for nothing lol

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2010, 11:23 pm

btw... guys... uhh... watch this...

Downgrade iPhone 4, 3GS from iOS 4.0.2 to 4.0.1 Without SHSH Blobs Saved [Guide]

:wtf:

http://www.redmondpie.com/downgrade-iphone-4-3gs-from-ios-4.0.2-to-4.0.1-without-shsh-blobs-saved-guide/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 30th, 2010, 11:33 pm

Zcrugby linked me to that this morning, but with the 4.1 possibility on Wednesday & that it was untested kinda has me holding off.

UPDATE: Doesn't work.

Notcom the creator of TinyUmbrella has finally cleared up a lot of misinterpretation regarding out of the box iphone’s with 4.0.2 firmware being able to downgrade. As you may know a lot of people are posting a how to guide on downgrading to 4.0.1 without shsh’s. Sorry to all but that is completely false.

Notcom explains it all on his blog and then some telling people what exactly is being done when doing this supposed firmware trick that lets you downgrade. More info after the break:

Below is what NotCom had to say about this whole situation:

There is much discussion on many blogs about a potential means of downgrading iOS 4.0.2 to 4.0.1 by simply changing a couple values in the buildmanifest.plist and copying all of the images from 4.0.1 into 4.0.2 and then deleting the files ending with 002. Following all of this, perform a DFU restore and somehow you will be on 4.0.1.

There is a perfectly logical explanation for all of this and I will lay out exactly what is happening and explain why it is working for the folks that are the lucky ones.

Let me get this out first.

This is not a miracle, at least not in the sense you all hope for
SHSHs are STILL required for any iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS, iPad, iPod Touch 3G, and iPod Touch 2G (MC Model)
There is NO way around this… unfortunately this method included.
Let me start by explaining something very important. The buildmanifest is used by iTunes to build much of the TSS request that is used to obtain your SHSH for any given firmware revision. Unfortunately, the BuildNumber has no part to play in the request for SHSH. All that you ended up doing in following these directions is request 4.0.1 SHSH blobs. THAT IS ALL. Since every single one of you that got this to work changed your hosts file to point to Cydia, Cydia responded to the TSS request with an SHSH blob that was ALREADY “on-file”. There was no magic. There was no miracle, apart from the lucky break that your device had been put on Cydia’s SHSH request list at some time in the distant past.

That’s it in a nutshell folks. There was no amazing technique for bypassing Apple’s TSS. There was no amazing exploit that exists in DFU mode allowing for 4.0.2 -> 4.0.1 downgrading. It’s simple; Cydia had your SHSH because at sometime in the past either:

Someone saved your SHSH with that device using TinyUmbrella and the default options
Someone restored that device with Cydia in the hosts pointing to gs.apple.com
Someone jailbroke the device and pressed ‘Make my life easier’
That’s it folks. Sorry to be a buzzkill but there was much confusion about this issue and many blog posts that simply didn’t give the full story of what exactly was going on.

------

Apple may at least double length of time users have to preview music tracks on iTunes, according to a CNET source.

Currently, iTunes offers 30-second snippets of songs, a feature designed to give users a taste of the music to help them decide whether they like it enough to buy. Some users have long complained that half a minute isn't enough time to really hear a song.

CNET also notes that it's unlikely that Apple will reveal iTunes Cloud services on Wednesday, given that they have not acquired permission from the labels to do so.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 31st, 2010, 1:06 pm

Marco Quatorze, Telcel's Director of Value Added Services in Mexico, says that Apple will release an iPhone 4 hardware update at the end of September to fix reception issues.

As of September 30 Telcel will be available in new devices that do not have the malfunction of the reception and explained that the company will have several options to make changes from one phone to another flawed not to take: "If the previous plan is over, you will need to hire a new change for iPhone 4. If, for example, already has one and take three months for payment, change the cell with a re-employment and takes into account the previous time, so instead of paying 24 months, only done in 21."

It's unclear whether there is any truth to this statement or whether the director is simply assuming the new hardware since Apple put an expiration of September 30th on its free bumper program.

------

M_2NR wrote:BTW i think u mean population 2 (Hardware Unlocked)

In that regard how many iPhone 4s you guys know of in the country now?

I know of 3, mine, zcrugby's & friend who bought down mine's dad (who mostly is here). Maybe could have been 4, but like that friend got impatient or whatever & got an HTC Desire instead.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 31st, 2010, 1:26 pm

Wolfie wrote:The Apple store in Eaton's Center Toronto is being camped from 6am by kids waiting buy iphone 4s like it's launch day and they have a daily quota usually sold out soon after opening.

Windsor has a waiting list.

I don't want to ebay it and get teh customs rapage :evil:

Bleh!

I hear that the majority of people there just buying them to sell over on eBay for the higher prices. My friend waited 8 hours from 45 mins to the store's opening 10:00am local time to 6:00pm that evening to get them (2 16GBs). Since launch day he tried several times. I heard reports (from others on this thread even) that its a 6-60 daily stock of iPhone 4s & that you got to be there from store opening to even have a 50% chance.
If time wasn't so against us I would have had it ordered from Apple's Canadian wesbite. The wait is 3 weeks but at least it guaranteed one.

By the way, just confirmed my order for my pick of the free case, the Griffin Reveal Etch iPhone 4 - Black/Black Graphite

JWT

Postby JWT » August 31st, 2010, 7:24 pm

Apple to Provide Live Video Streaming of September 1 Event

What:
Live video stream of Apple’s September 1 event

When:
Wednesday, September 1, 2010, 10:00 a.m. PDT

Where:
www.apple.com

Live Video Streaming

Apple® will broadcast its September 1 event online using Apple’s industry-leading HTTP Live Streaming, which is based on open standards. Viewing requires either a Mac® running Safari® on Mac OS® X version 10.6 Snow Leopard®, an iPhone® or iPod touch® running iOS 3.0 or higher, or an iPad™. The live broadcast will begin at 10:00 a.m. PDT on September 1, 2010 at www.apple.com.

This broadcast is the property of Apple and is protected by US copyright law and international treaties. Any reproduction or distribution is strictly prohibited without prior written approval from Apple. Please contact Apple Public Relations with any questions.

Apple designs Macs, the best personal computers in the world, along with OS X, iLife, iWork, and professional software. Apple leads the digital music revolution with its iPods and iTunes online store. Apple is reinventing the mobile phone with its revolutionary iPhone and App Store, and has recently introduced its magical iPad which is defining the future of mobile media and computing devices.

Press Contacts:
Kristin Huguet
Apple
khuguet@apple.com
(408) 974-2414

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 31st, 2010, 7:31 pm

Apple streaming their own event? That's a 1st. Not on a Windows computer... mmm

The keynote will start at 10AM PT on Wednesday, September 1st. Here's a handful of timezone information, just in case you hate doing the math.

07:00AM - Hawaii
10:00AM - Pacific
11:00AM - Mountain
12:00PM - Central
01:00PM - Eastern (TT time)
06:00PM - London
07:00PM - Paris
09:00PM - Moscow
02:00AM - Tokyo (September 2nd)

I wonder if this decision has anything to do with...

AppleInsider tends to agree
This week's apparent change of heart could have been inspired by the Wi-Fi meltdown that occurred at the iPhone 4 unveiling, when Chief Executive Steve Jobs had difficulty showing off the company's latest handset because there were too many Wi-Fi hotspots in the Moscone Center.

JWT

Postby JWT » August 31st, 2010, 7:50 pm

I will be in town any wifi outlet near irie bites wanna see this if not I have to head back south

Postby M_2NR » August 31st, 2010, 9:26 pm

SRASC wrote:Zcrugby linked me to that this morning, but with the 4.1 possibility on Wednesday & that it was untested kinda has me holding off.

UPDATE: Doesn't work.

What weird is that up to last week i got my SHSH's backed up for 4.0.1. Seems that Apple was still signing 4.0.1...

You read chpwn's article?
SRASC wrote:In that regard how many iPhone 4s you guys know of in the country now?

I know of 3, mine, zcrugby's & friend who bought down mine's dad (who mostly is here). Maybe could have been 4, but like that friend got impatient or whatever & got an HTC Desire instead.

I know of at least 4. All US. One of the 4 are on 4.0.1 and unlocked. the others are 4.0.2. I know some PS's on tuner have (doubt in stock but for themselves maybe)

Hardware Unlocked now is the next thing. That is what separates the sheep from the goats. I only know of you guys.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 9:30 am

It came as a surprise to everyone last night when Apple announced that they would be live streaming video of their September media event across the web. The news, however, was somewhat dulled by the fact that Apple announced that the stream will only be viewable on an OS X 10.6 Mac or an iOS device (iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad). The reason for the limitation isn't entirely arbitrary, as Apple is using a new streaming technology called HTTP Live Streaming which was introduced alongside Snow Leopard's QuickTime X and iOS 3.0.

While the protocol has been proposed as a standard, so far Apple is one of a few companies who has implemented it. As a result, the video will only be easily viewable on the specified platforms. There seem to be some advantages to the system over existing streaming technologies. Notably, there should be no router/firewall issues as the stream is sent over standard HTTP protocols.

If you're not sure you will be able to view stream, you can try loading this HTTP Live sample stream that Apple has provided.

For non-supported readers who are desperate to watch the stream close to live, it seems likely that you will be able to watch it -- at least in stops and starts. The HTTP Live Stream protocol is based on very standard technologies. The stream is simply provided in an MPEG2 playlist (m3u file) that is added to as the stream continues. These standard playlists will load in VLC for both Mac and Windows. VLC, for example, will play the above sample stream using this url:

http://devimages.apple.com/iphone/sampl ... index.m3u8

VLC will load all parts of the stream into its own playlist. It works fine for this pre-recorded stream as the entire playlist is already constructed. The catch for tomorrow's live transmission is that VLC doesn't know that more will be coming, so it looks like you'll have to repeatedly reload the playlist manually to get the next few segments. It's not an elegant solution, but with some persistence, it seems like it will work.

------

Apple will introduce a new Apple TV and fourth-generation iPod touch today, but none of the products introduced at the company's keynote will ship immediately, a new rumor claims.

Via its official Twitter account, Australian MacWorld revealed Wednesday the alleged product code for the Apple TV refresh set to be introduced. It is claimed that the code is USA MC572 LL/A, but the product is not yet shipping.

A source also told the publication that "it doesn't look like anything will be shipping immediately." That person also indicated that a fourth-generation iPod touch is "definitely coming."

On Tuesday, AppleInsider first reported that the new, smaller iPod nano will not ship immediately either. The new device will be built around a 1.7-inch display, and will retain the 30-pin iPod dock connector.

Reports have indicated that Apple is set to introduce its new Apple TV, perhaps, running the iOS operating system, at today's event. Bloomberg reported Tuesday that the new set top box will ship with the ability to stream instant content available from Netflix.

Apple has also allegedly brokered deals with major networks Fox and ABC, which will allow 99-cent rentals of TV episodes through iTunes.

In April, Australian Macworld correctly stated that Apple would release new MacBook Pros. In May, it revealed a part number it believed would be tied to a MacBook Air refresh, but instead turned out to be an updated MacBook.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 1st, 2010, 10:41 am

looks like i need a new phone. Break dancing in a wedding (i knwo i know) with my iPhone in my pocket (i know i know) = cracked screen and black lines in the display and its spreading.. iPhone4 from canada i think it is..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 12:42 pm

Hmmm...

Remember, 1pm @ Apple.com on your Mac or iPhone, iPod touch or iPad (iOS 3.0 or >)

------

Bezman wrote:looks like i need a new phone. Break dancing in a wedding (i knwo i know) with my iPhone in my pocket (i know i know) = cracked screen and black lines in the display and its spreading.. iPhone4 from canada i think it is..

Its pretty hit or miss (mostly miss) if you try in the stores. Best bet is to order from here (except you can't right now, see above). 3 weeks guaranteed (well hopefully).

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 1st, 2010, 12:58 pm

T-1 AND COUNTING..............

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 1st, 2010, 1:01 pm

Audience is being asked to switch all devices to silence mode