Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby alfa » October 22nd, 2024, 8:21 pm

Meen no big fruits man but I find on the rare occasion I actually want some it's easier to buy a Libbys in tin with a whole variety or a tin of peaches or pineapple lol

matix

Postby matix » October 22nd, 2024, 8:41 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah but you get the same dry crap
i buy from one of the heaped van fellas like that but he insist you can’t touch them
he have to take them out
never me again

i posted about it in fb trini farmers
plenty resellers took offense to that

matix wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:^thanks

i pay $30 for a heap of 5 from the guy infront by massy
the portugal good but real small

i holding dis small portugal and wondering if is really $6 for this

i will never look at a portugal the same again

Give it some time and you’ll get 20 for $20

Take some drives around in country areas.

Postby X_Factor » October 22nd, 2024, 9:04 pm

Meanwhile in Massy 6 gala apples are $20

Fruit grown in foreign, picked, packed, shipped, taxed and have a conglomerate profit margin attached is cheaper than locally grown fruit!!

that is demand vs supply
foreign fruits are grown in insane quantities
compared to locally grown fruits which are frequently diminishing due to land development
the only local fruit i will spend whatever the price to buy is balata

matix

Postby matix » October 22nd, 2024, 9:11 pm

X_Factor wrote:

Meanwhile in Massy 6 gala apples are $20

Fruit grown in foreign, picked, packed, shipped, taxed and have a conglomerate profit margin attached is cheaper than locally grown fruit!!

that is demand vs supply
foreign fruits are grown in insane quantities
compared to locally grown fruits which are frequently diminishing due to land development
the only local fruit i will spend whatever the price to buy is balata

E bounce. We could lime

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2024, 10:11 pm

try longan if you get a chance
it is cousin to rambutan and lychee
lychee is a top fruit, juicy and sweet but only grows in cooler climates
rambutan is similar but much stiffer and drier
longan is very close to lychee
lot of ppl growing now and will soon take over rambutan because nobody will want rambutan if there is longan

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 24th, 2024, 7:08 am

pugboy wrote:using bread maker a while now
$4 vs $15
I might try one if I get on sale.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 24th, 2024, 7:11 am

hover11 wrote:
viedcht wrote:The kiss mighty loaf is not worth the extra dollar bread too stiff and breaks apart if using for sandwich. For toast is okay.
Yall still buying kiss bread, rel chemicals in that
Kiss bread don't spike my blood sugar like home made, similar sized sandwich using both compared, kiss raised by 40-50 and home made 90-120.

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2024, 8:17 am

prob has to do with how light kiss bread is made to save flour
you will have to tweak your homemade recipe
amount of yeast, rise time etc
factories also use a lot of chemicals to make the dough do things.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2024, 9:10 am

Homemade is the sheit... We don't use bread maker though, moms have the skill to a T. Homemade is cheaper, more fulling and I guess healthier

Postby hover11 » October 27th, 2024, 6:14 am

T&T could be facing a food shortage and spike in prices, as wholesalers have been unable to access foreign exchange for 2 months.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 89RbKGO-oQ

No US for wholesalers but we have US for new car dealers and fast food franchises who have to be paid royalties in US monthly. Never heard them bawl they getting pressure for US yet. Trinidad is an interesting place

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 27th, 2024, 6:57 am

hover11 wrote:T&T could be facing a food shortage and spike in prices, as wholesalers have been unable to access foreign exchange for 2 months.

No US for wholesalers but we have US for new car dealers and fast food franchises who have to be paid royalties in US monthly. Never heard them bawl they getting pressure for US yet. Trinidad is an interesting place

“I am actually owing a supplier right now in Guyana for rice and they not shipping because I don’t have the US to pay them for the previous shipping. I owe this one supplier upwards of US$100,000. That is just one person, I owe a couple million US dollars to foreign suppliers,” said a businessman. He explained that at present the cost to import food is already seeing increases because of global factors such as climate change and world conflict.

Just yesterday I noticed certain brands of brown rice(Happi, Old Mac) weren't available on grocery shelves. Really hope the forex issue affecting basic food items is sorted out.

Postby hover11 » October 27th, 2024, 7:23 am

shaneelal wrote:
hover11 wrote:T&T could be facing a food shortage and spike in prices, as wholesalers have been unable to access foreign exchange for 2 months.

“I am actually owing a supplier right now in Guyana for rice and they not shipping because I don’t have the US to pay them for the previous shipping. I owe this one supplier upwards of US$100,000. That is just one person, I owe a couple million US dollars to foreign suppliers,” said a businessman. He explained that at present the cost to import food is already seeing increases because of global factors such as climate change and world conflict.

Just yesterday I noticed certain brands of brown rice(Happi, Old Mac) weren't available on grocery shelves. Really hope the forex issue affecting basic food items is sorted out.
How can it be sorted out when certain players have an unfair advantage when it comes to forex allocation?

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2024, 7:44 am

imagine the forex for a few cars over riding food products for feeding thousands of persons

Postby hover11 » October 27th, 2024, 7:57 am

The rich must get richer, I keep saying that statement went over alot of people heads...

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2024, 8:15 am

not a matter of must get richer
they run tings, crumbs for everybody else

hover11 wrote:The rich must get richer, I keep saying that statement went over alot of people heads...

Postby paid_influencer » October 27th, 2024, 8:21 am

hover11 wrote:The rich must get richer, I keep saying that statement went over alot of people heads...

this is not true.

fk wit the population food supply and you create the conditions for the proletariat to fk u up back

Postby paid_influencer » October 27th, 2024, 8:23 am

shaneelal wrote:

certain brands not there but other brands there

this is an economy run by corruption, not market forces. the type of economy cannot function sustainably over any stretch. back in the 80's and 90's both parties (pnm under manning and unc/nar under robinson) figured it out and liberalised the economy. Now under rowley we going backwards where the govt and the banks choosing which companies gets what based on corruption and firetruck the free market, firetruck economic sustainability, and firetruck the population.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 27th, 2024, 9:04 am

Bunch if BS. They do this every year befire christmas. Last time you hear shortage of eggs to justify egg increase. Every year after budget there is a delay while it is passed then things settle out. Food already imported for the next few months such as carrots, potato, onions, flour, rice etc. They dont wait for it to run out an then buy more. Food basket an extra food fully stocked with rice but most chinese grocery not stocking much because of potential war with north korea an the west they send they money for they families incase they have to return home suddenly.

Postby hover11 » October 28th, 2024, 9:46 am

Finance Minister Colm Imbert says a review of the forex window is happening.

Read more:
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/imbert-forex-win ... -reviewed/

How convenient
FB_IMG_1730122975205.jpg

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2024, 11:44 am

The next PNM Cont say visit other countries but regular ppl cant get forex .

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » October 28th, 2024, 1:51 pm

Beef prices are up globally too. The droughts affecting major cattle producers are pushing prices higher and higher, even here in Brazil, the land of cheap beef. Prices have gone up by about 5-8 reais (5.95-9.56 TTD) across the board on almost all cuts. That's definitely gonna translate to a rise in T&T as well..

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » October 28th, 2024, 2:50 pm

I'm cool with shutting down that k-fried-pigeon place.
The new local fried chicken places are really good, like T&T chicken.

Except for royal castle.. they need to shut down. Iz only so much ole oil you can take.

As for poser-bucks coffee.. cockroach's chicken, pork-attitude-pies chicken, and ketchup-hut, well... goodbye, if it means I get to continue buying Charmain.

wing

Postby wing » October 28th, 2024, 5:09 pm

FrankChag wrote:

Except for royal castle.. they need to shut down. Iz only so much ole oil you can take.

As for poser-bucks coffee.. cockroach's chicken, pork-attitude-pies chicken, and ketchup-hut, well... goodbye, if it means I get to continue buying Charmain.

KFC uses mostly Arawak and sometimes fine choice. Frank, as a Muslim you would know how many of those places are Darul uloom certified halaal and what it entails.

Postby paid_influencer » October 28th, 2024, 6:53 pm

what I notice is plenty so-called capitalism and free-market lovers would actually prefer centrally-planned government economic control.

They only have a problem with what the government chooses, not that the government is in a position to choose to begin with.

these people would fit in great with communism

Postby 88sins » October 28th, 2024, 9:07 pm

Kill, dismember, burn, acid bath, and bury local agriculture, and import over 90% of everything, even what can be produced locally, because a 1% product of inbreeding tells you to so he can make money, and see how long you can sustain that stupidity.
That's the peeonem way

death365

Postby death365 » October 29th, 2024, 8:14 am

Wha-is d price ah chatainge this year? How much to clean?

Who kno ah good piper tha can get some for meh .

matix

Postby matix » October 29th, 2024, 9:03 am

death365 wrote:Wha-is d price ah chatainge this year? How much to clean?

Who kno ah good piper tha can get some for meh .

That scarce, hardly seeing any

Postby alfa » October 29th, 2024, 9:53 am

Saw a piperish looking guy debe opposite KFC some months ago selling it pre cleaned and bagged. Was selling fast too, a guy in a Jaguar pulled up and took a few as well as others that stopped to buy.
Didn't even know that does sell outside of divali

Postby bluefete » November 27th, 2024, 11:36 am

Oranges and Portugals -10/$20 - Tunapuna market.

Dave - fix up.

death365

Postby death365 » November 27th, 2024, 12:21 pm

wing wrote:
FrankChag wrote:

KFC uses mostly Arawak and sometimes fine choice. Frank, as a Muslim you would know how many of those places are Darul uloom certified halaal and what it entails.

All eggs for the poultry industry are IMPORTED. all T&T has is a hatcher and grower industry.