The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2012, 6:02 pm

Steups. Boy u can flash the official rom yourself and they wouldn't know the difference. If u wanna stay there and beat up, fix up yes.

dreamyn

Postby dreamyn » July 28th, 2012, 7:33 pm

hey idk if this was posted before but does anyone have the trini gps app 'navfone' apk ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rch_result )? im not that good in knowing my country since i jus got my car and need some hi tech help :)

Postby M_2NR » July 28th, 2012, 8:03 pm

dreamyn wrote:hey idk if this was posted before but does anyone have the trini gps app 'navfone' apk ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rch_result )? im not that good in knowing my country since i jus got my car and need some hi tech help :)

check out mapquest.

Postby pete » July 28th, 2012, 8:37 pm

There's an app called Navitel and they have a map of Trinidad some people made thats free for download. Only problem is all I was able to find was a 30 day demo of Navitel. Had almost every business listed and as you drive along it shows banks, gas stations, police stations, pharmacies etc. Really nice. The full version you see to have to download some Eastern Europe map and it's like 60US so I not even bothering.

http://www.limesim.com/products/gps/tri ... tep01.html

Postby pete » July 28th, 2012, 9:00 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:passed trincity around 11.30 , everything was sold out . person at desk in trincity said everything was sold out in west mall as well.

Nah man they lied. I got my S5690 around 4:30.. I got there around 2:30. For $650 it does everything I need it to and it's unlocked :shock:

The S2, Note and some cheap phone were sold out and people were buying up the Ace 2s like crazy.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 28th, 2012, 9:40 pm

i really went for the s2/note ,will probably take whatever is available on monday.

Postby M_2NR » July 28th, 2012, 10:41 pm

For the money the ace2 is pretty good IMHO.

$$$-dc audio-$$$

Postby $$$-dc audio-$$$ » July 29th, 2012, 7:32 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: at the price of the s2 and note

Postby pete » July 29th, 2012, 7:43 am

Fairly sure that the majority were "sold" before the stores even opened. The time they were taking to organise the paperwork yesterday I don't think they could do more than 100 phones at each branch, so unless this has been out long..

I got there at 2:30 and got the number B362, they were currently serving B330. 2 hours later I got through and about 5-10 numbers were bypassed, people not bothering to wait. "B" was people purchasing new handsets only.

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 2:16 pm

WHOA!
anyone know if the sgs ii sold by digicel is unlockable? I'm seeing sites online providing the service and Redmondpie has a link for an app that can process the unlock codes etc.

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 2:58 pm

M_2NR wrote:WHOA!
anyone know if the sgs ii sold by digicel is unlockable? I'm seeing sites online providing the service and Redmondpie has a link for an app that can process the unlock codes etc.

how much for it by digi?

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 3:23 pm

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:WHOA!

how much for it by digi?

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/phones/view ... hp?id=6421

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 3:27 pm

nice price.
and M, the i9100 is the international version of the S2.
It is factory unlocked. So no worries man.

Might pick up on prepaid since im on bmobile corporate with a year on my contract again.
This also saves me, cuz if i bought the S2 from bmobile at corporate price, even though it would be cheaper i would have to renew my 2 yr contract.

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 4:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:nice price.
and M, the i9100 is the international version of the S2.
It is factory unlocked. So no worries man.

Might pick up on prepaid since im on bmobile corporate with a year on my contract again.
This also saves me, cuz if i bought the S2 from bmobile at corporate price, even though it would be cheaper i would have to renew my 2 yr contract.

ohhhooo scene. didnt realize it works that way. How to tell if an S2 is locked though?

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 4:24 pm

by the model number. sgh/sph-XXX

egs:
Sprint's Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch (SPH-D710)
T-Mobile's Galaxy S II (SGH-T989)
AT&T's Galaxy S II (SGH-I777)
AT&T's Galaxy S II Skyrocket (SGH-I727)
Rogers' Galaxy S Glide(SGH-I927)

Each one above would be locked to their respective carrier.

Once u see GT-I9100 under the battery on the sticker. u safe. factory unlocked.
afaik we only get that model here. since its the international version.
us variants are always locked.

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 4:31 pm

S_2NR wrote:by the model number. sgh/sph-XXX

egs:
Sprint's Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch (SPH-D710)
T-Mobile's Galaxy S II (SGH-T989)
AT&T's Galaxy S II (SGH-I777)
AT&T's Galaxy S II Skyrocket (SGH-I727)
Rogers' Galaxy S Glide(SGH-I927)

Each one above would be locked to their respective carrier.

Once u see GT-I9100 under the battery on the sticker. u safe. factory unlocked.
afaik we only get that model here. since its the international version.
us variants are always locked.

Ohh! thanks man. Good to know. 8)

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 4:41 pm

digicel does know which branches have stocks?
bmobile so backward they does tell u drive around and check.
one told me yesterday drive to gulf city, then drive to west mall , then try independence square. :|

when u buy it post back which branch.

Postby pete » July 29th, 2012, 4:49 pm

Damn, the Note from Digicel is 1500?!

I need to find out if I can change my order yes.. Note vs S3.. is the S3 worth 2500 more?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 29th, 2012, 4:52 pm

How the note so cheap?

At that price you cant go wrong.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 29th, 2012, 6:25 pm

pete wrote:Damn, the Note from Digicel is 1500?!

I need to find out if I can change my order yes.. Note vs S3.. is the S3 worth 2500 more?

Probably that's the N7000 they selling and not the SGH?

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 7:40 pm

S_2NR wrote:digicel does know which branches have stocks?
bmobile so backward they does tell u drive around and check.
one told me yesterday drive to gulf city, then drive to west mall , then try independence square. :|

when u buy it post back which branch.

I suppose the same is with digi. Don't pray to call after a certain time to CSR either, it gets fwd to up the island.
It's not me doing the buying, but if they get through I shall spread the word.

Postby pete » July 29th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Strauss wrote:

Yeah it's the N7000. What's wrong with that?

achillies

Postby achillies » July 29th, 2012, 9:00 pm

Kukka wrote:ZeroOne I currently got my handset replaced with one of the "new batch S2" they have at the moment and I cannot update. I am in a battle with Bmobile about this issue. Also working together with TATT and TSTT complaints dep. I was originally told to update my phone using odin by "branch manager" only to be called later after I left not to do it. It will void warranty! (I asked the branch manager if it would initially and was told no.)

What is funny about this story is a friend of mines bought a white S2 from them yesterday and is able to update to ICS. So errm, what gives? To get further information about your phone punch in *#1234#. For those getting issues and those not, can you tell me the info there?

As for the further information, here is mines:

PDA: I9100UHKI1

PHONE: I9100UHKI1

CSC: I9100UUBK12

Based on the information you provided, the PDA and PHONE is meant for Brazil/Argentina, the reason Kies is saying it won't update is because the PHONE/Radio doesn't line up with the Phone and the PDA in it's database so it won't find an update for you, every region has gotten their ICS update already, if you are still waiting for one, it will never happen

Go to this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1075278

It has every official unbranded update that has been released for the S2, do a search on the page for PDA:UHLPE PHONE: UHLPE, that is Trinidad's code and upgrade to ICS, it is one of the first ICS firmwares released so the newer firmware would be faster and contain less bugs, people make the mistake of thinking that you have to stay on the firmwares meant for your region, when Samsung releases new firmware every month with improvements in speed and functionality (newer is not always better so read before flashing)

My advise is to flash the XWLPF version as that is the latest safest version that I know of through ODIN, then do a factory reset AFTER letting your phone boot, this is to ensure a clean start and to facilitate the installation of some hidden apps. Now I think I explained everything, but you should read the OP in the thread, that is your mission, if you choose to accept it.

As for TSTT telling you that if you upgrade your phone the warranty is void, that's pure nonsense and they are playing on customers lack of knowledge, while lacking a lot of knowledge themselves, nothing described above involves rooting or anything that should be considered voiding of warranty, it's just an upgrade, that you're entitled too, but I could understand the hesitation

Postby Trini Hookah » July 29th, 2012, 11:16 pm

Gonna check the Centre City Digicel branch if it's instock there & Unlocked.

Postby tr1ad » July 29th, 2012, 11:44 pm

anyone using a RazR XT910?
saw a month old one for sale in the classifieds and it caught my eye

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 30th, 2012, 6:04 am

I see. So his problem was simply outdated radio firmware which was not in the database because it was obsolete.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 30th, 2012, 7:34 am

ZeroOne wrote:I see. So his problem was simply outdated radio firmware which was not in the database because it was obsolete.

Not obsolete, just that Kies checks those three and applies it to a database to figure out which region the phone is from and which update to send to his phone, if any of those three are don't line up to what Kies has in it's database, then it would report that there is no update available.

The entire step could be bypassed/eliminated by the user, the easiest way is to visit the thread I posted or use Check Fus. If he wants the firmware meant for Trinidad, he just has to look for the Firmware code UHLPE, barring the fact that there is miscommunication, there is zero reason to wait on Kies or TSTT/Digicel to have your phone running on the latest firmware.

I can only assume that the reason there is miscommunication about warranty and stuff is due to the Superbrick Bug, I'm sure a few Note users would have ended up with a dead device after updating to ICS

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 30th, 2012, 9:55 am

hi guys,samsung galaxy s2 was stolen, i made a report to the police, took it to tstt but they are saying that they cannot trace android. any advice?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 30th, 2012, 10:23 am

pete wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Yeah it's the N7000. What's wrong with that?

Nothing wrong.
Just probably one of the reasons they can offer it so cheap.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 30th, 2012, 10:34 am

Apple vs. Samsung: the complete guide to a billion-dollar trial
Can Apple convince a jury that Samsung ripped off the iPhone and iPad?
By Matt Macari on July 30, 2012 10:00 am

After over a year of drama, the patent battle between Apple and Samsung heads to trial in California today. While there’s no doubt both sides will do their best to present theatrical and emotional arguments, in the end the jury will be left with a defined set of intellectual property rights asserted against a specific list of devices — mostly variants of the Samsung Galaxy S, Galaxy S, and the Galaxy Tab 10.1. (Remember that the Galaxy Nexus and Galaxy S III aren’t part of this trial — they’re part of another case between these two companies scheduled to go to trial sometime next year.)

All that may not be nearly as sensational as eight-sided iPhone prototypes and other glimpses into Apple and Samsung’s inner workings, but understanding what’s really at stake is the key to organizing the deluge of information we’ll see over the months ahead. So let’s review what Apple and Samsung are really fighting over, as well as the stories each company will try to tell. There’s a lot going on.

Samsung's case against Apple

SAMSUNG HAS TO KEEP THE FOCUS AWAY FROM THE FRAND CONTROVERSY

SAMSUNG’S NARRATIVE

As you might guess, Samsung’s most important task is to get the jury away from Apple’s narrative. In order to do that, it has to tell its own story — one that makes Samsung seem equally if not more inventive than Apple, while making Apple seem anticompetitive for using patents to block Samsung’s products rather than fairly competing in the market.

That story won’t necessarily be hard to tell. Samsung spends billions on research and development, and it owns thousands of patents, some of which cover elements of standardized technologies like 3G cellular networking. Samsung will argue that Apple is a relatively new player in the mobile market that’s using decades of Samsung research without paying for it — or entering into industry-standard cross-licensing agreements. Samsung will also try to show that Apple wasn’t inventing from scratch, getting inspiration from industry veterans like Sony along the way.

What’s more, Samsung can point to its 20-year history in selling mobile devices to demonstrate that it was independently developing products similar to the iPhone before Apple entered the market. That may be a bit of a tough sale, but it’ll really depend on how believable the connection is between what Samsung was doing, or preparing to do, before the iPhone hit the market in 2007.

Two of the five patents Samsung’s asserted against Apple cover parts of the 3G wireless mobile standard, which involves what has now become an international controversy: the use of standards-related patents in litigation. Standards patents are required to be licensed under fair, reasonable, and non-discriminatory (FRAND) terms, and the use of FRAND patents in litigation is currently being investigated by the US FTC and the EU. Samsung has to keep focus away from all this controversy during the trial — Apple will try to convince the jury Samsung isn’t playing fair.

FULL STORY:
http://www.theverge.com/2012/7/30/31994 ... rial-guide