Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » August 23rd, 2010, 6:21 pm

JWT,
ohh :lol:
i might have to delete your post tho... we don't promote teh piracy.

___

I finally got back some speed. Thank you God! iOS 4 is sooo sweet. i need to check if i am old bootrom though. im model number MC but my serial number is xx013, Which i think is 13th week 2010... :(

EDIT: 359.3.2. *threads carefully with this one*

JWT

Postby JWT » August 23rd, 2010, 6:51 pm

ohho
nah sorry i support vendors
but is AT&T fault we did not get the tethering so on a technicality i get off lolol

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 23rd, 2010, 7:58 pm

When Facebook released Facebook App for iPhone 3.2 last week to incorporate the new Places feature, quite a few users who had jailbroken their iPhone reported issues with the new version.

Last Friday, Facebook had acknowledged that they were aware of the problem and working on a fix.

Facebook has just released an update for their iPhone app, which should fix the problems.

Some jailbroken iPhone users had reported the following issues with Facebook 3.2 (and 3.2.1):

You get the “Unable to Load This Page” error message anywhere you launch the application.

You get the “Error – sorry there was an error” message while trying to load Places.

You get the “Login Failed – Unable to Connect to Facebook” error if you’re trying to log in to the application.

Facebook 3.2 (and 3.2.1) seemed to have some compatibility issue with jailbreak app – BiteSMS as uninstalling it fixed the issue for me.

According to what’s new section, Facebook has fixed the login issues in the new version.

------

The Little Black Book is a stealth case for your iPhone 4 which could prevent unwanted attention when using your expensive device.

There is something alluring about the little black book and we think you will be easily as intrigued by our Pad&Quill take on this classic. Designed as a slim journal that slips comfortably into your purse, messenger bag or backpack, our Little Black Book also cradles your phone in a protective, hand- crafted wood frame. The comfortable feel of black leather binding, wrap around strap and classic red bookmark combine to dress your iPhone in vintage style.

The Little Black Book can be purchased for $39.99 and ships in 10-14 days

------

Apple is significantly increasing telesales positions in preparation for the October release of "a very big new product", according to a MacDailyNews source.

Multiple sources have told MacDailyNews that Apple Inc. is in the midst of an increase in telesales positions that has been described by one as "huge" and by other sources as "significant." These sources also tell us that Apple will begin an intensive four-week training course for these new hires starting next week. The training is said to be in preparation for an October release of "a very big new product."

It's widely expected that in addition to new dual camera iPod touch devices, Apple will unveil a new Apple TV in September.

------

In a bid to capitalize on this year's back-to-school shopping season, one of Apple's largest authorized resellers has dropped Mac prices to the lowest seen this year, offering $150 of white MacBooks, up to $180 off new iMacs, and up to $300 off MacBook Pros.

AppleInsider sponsor MacConnection launched the sale overnight, combining its already reduced pricing with limited-time mail-in-rebates of up to $150. The result is the lowest prices we've seen all year across Apple's three most popular Mac product families: white MacBooks, MacBook Pros and new iMacs.

The sale also offers a $29 mail-in-rebate that can be combined with a $40 HP mail-in-rebate for a free HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer with the purchase of each of the aforementioned Macs.

MacBook Pros
Discounts and rebates factored in, MacConnection is offering the 2.4GHz 13" MacBook Pro for $1,049.00 ($150 savings), the 2.66GHz 13" MacBook Pro
for $1,299.00 ($200 savings), the 2.4GHz 15" MacBook Pro for $1,599.00 ($200 savings), the 2.53GHz 15" MacBook Pro for $1,729.00 ($270 savings), the 2.66GHz 15" MacBook Pro for $1,899.00 ($300 savings) and the 2.53GHz 17" MacBook Pro for $1,999.00 ($300 savings).

MacBooks
Similarly, the 2.4GHz 13" MacBook is being offered for $849, a $150 discount.

iMacs
For desktops, MacConnection is offering the 3.06GHz 21.5-inch iMac for $1,049.00 ($150 savings), the 3.20GHz 21.5-inch iMac for $1,349.00 ($150 savings), the 3.20GHz 27.0-inch iMac for $1,529.00 ($170 savings), and the 2.80GHz 27.0-inch iMac for $1,819.99 ($180 savings).

------

Google announced on their mobile blog that the Google Mobile app for iOS received an update today which enables Google Calendar and Gmail push notifications. The push notifications will work for the Gmail.com domain as well your own custom domain setups. As Fortune points out, this is a big deal for Google-app users as up until now only Yahoo and MobileMe were able to push email to iOS.

The push notification system will work like any other app so you will get to choose what kind of notifications you would like to receive, whether it be an icon badge or one of those obtrusive popups we all love. The app gains real-time search results for stocks, flight info, weather and currency conversions. The free update is universal for all iOS devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch) and iPhone 4 retina support will join this release.

------

It appears that iTunes accounts are still being compromised, though it isn't certain if hackers are brute forcing or phishing passwords out of users. Today's incident involves PayPal who has swooped into the action as hackers are using iTunes to deplete users' bank accounts.

According to a report by TechCrunch, one user's account was charged $4,700 after receiving close to 50 $99.99 iTunes charges via PayPal. Luckily for this user, he got PayPal to stop the funds transfer but others, like the Twitter user below, aren't so lucky.

iTunes users are ranting their disgust and hacking concerns across the Social 2.0 space and here are some quotes from Facebook:

Everybody watch your itunes account closely. I just got hacked for almost $1000.00 worth of software, videos and music. Hopefully paypal will refund it all. . . . This happened within the last few hours. Once transaction after another.

So apple/itunes had a security breach & someone bought over $500 worth of music through my paypal account. just what i wanted 2 b dealing w/ while in San Diego! AWESOME!!!

The issue seems to reside in iTunes with PayPal being the hackers money-stealing gateway. Until this is officially resolved it might be a good idea to remove all forms of payment from your iTunes account.

These types of 'hacks' usually come down to phishing sites getting your login information from a third party.

------

According to El Reg, Google is building an iPhone version of its Google Goggles product.

"We're working on an iPhone version, and hope to have it out by the end of the year," David Petrou, a Google staff engineer working on the Goggles project, told his keynote audience at Monday's Hot Chips conference at Stanford University in California.

A web app for Goggles, Petrou said, isn't currently an option, even with HTML5's enhanced media-capture abilities. "There is a new part of HTML5," he said, "that allows you to acquire an image from a camera. And that's really nice and really useful, but we don't think it's sufficient for something like Goggles that needs very fine control over the camera.

------

Postby M_2NR » August 23rd, 2010, 10:14 pm

Well we dont need boxcar for google again... or maybe not... hrmm hadda test this google app later :)

I noticed only Installous is using Local Push Notifications tho... wished other apps like iPray would use it as well.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 24th, 2010, 8:58 am

Pocket Now takes us through a neat browser comparison between the iPhone 4 and a Windows Phone 7 device (Nexus One too! Meh). Keep in mind the Windows 7 experience you will see below is still in beta form but both of the other platforms should improve during the time it takes Microsoft to ship their product. Oh and the Microsoft won't do HTML5 (or Flash).

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 24th, 2010, 10:59 pm

GumballTech blogger Brian has used the standard iPhone 4 keyboard to break the world texting record, according to a video posted on YouTube.

After reading yesterday about Melissa Thompson, a 27-year-old British woman who used a Samsung Galaxy S smartphone and its Swype keyboard to set a world record of 25.94 seconds, Brian decided to test his skill.

The official phrase you need to type is: "the razor-toothed piranhas of the genera Serrasalmus and Pygocentrus are the most ferocious freshwater fish in the world. In reality they seldom attack a human"

Brian typed this phrase and started and stopped the timer himself in 21.8s. Both his and Thompson's time have yet to be confirmed by Guinness World Records.

------

Though it is widely expected that Apple will hold a media-centric event in September, a new report claims sources within the company have confirmed the date: Sept. 7.

Bloomberg added to its report on Apple's alleged plans for a 99 cent TV show rental service, and cited an anonymous source in stating the Sept. 7 event date.

"Episodes will be available to Apple's rental service within 24 hours of their air dates and will be commercial-free, one of the people said," author Peter Burrows wrote. "Apple plans to hold a San Francisco Event Sept. 7, two weeks ahead of the start of the new prime-time TV season, to unveil the service and an updated line of entertainment products, two people said."

The report also added that the new Apple TV, called "iTV" in some rumors, will be a "new direction" for the company. Apple previously attempted to start a subscription TV plan, but networks reportedly rejected the company's pitch. A subscription plan could cut into the high retransmission rates that networks receive from cable operators, the report said.

The information was added to an initial report filed Tuesday by Bloomberg, in which the publication said that Apple was in "advanced talks" with News Corp., owner of the Fox network, to offer 99 cent TV show rentals ahead of an anticipated Apple TV update. Apple is also said to be in negotiations with CBS and ABC for a service that would allow users to rent shows through iTunes for 48 hours.

The report also said that Apple, at its planned Sept. 7 event, will introduce a new iPod touch with a higher-resolution screen, as well as a cloud-centric Apple TV with less internal storage starting at $99.

Previous reports have also shed light on Apple's alleged Apple TV refresh, which one rumor claimed will be called iTV. It has been suggested the new hardware will run Apple's iOS operating system and will allow access to software on the App Store.

Digg Founder Kevin Rose said Apple's iAds will allow content producers to directly monetize and distribute their content, and the new "iTV" will turn the iPad into a remote control as the "preferred input device." He also suggested that the iPad could be used to edit videos, control games, and see alternate camera angles with an "interactive television experience."

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » August 25th, 2010, 1:17 pm

i looking for a 4....... so pm me whom ever hve 1

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 25th, 2010, 4:41 pm

Apple to hold 'special event' September 1st... we'll be there live!

C'mon, you saw this one coming, right? Just like they always do come fall time, Apple will be holding a "special event" on September 1st out in San Francisco, and we'll be on the ground reporting live. Think we'll see that new Apple TV we've been hearing about? Some iPods? A 'one more thing'? Yes, probably. Tune in here at 10AM PT / 1PM ET on the 1st to catch the best liveblog in the business!

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/25/appl ... -there-li/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 25th, 2010, 5:13 pm

I saw it coming but on the 14th, then this morning on the 7th & now the 1st. Waiting to see what comes of it.
To me its fairly obvious that a new iPod touch will join the iPhone 4 as a FaceTime device. In the WWDC keynote earlier this year Steve chose his words wisely when he said they would be shipping more FaceTime devices this year [iPads, iPod touches, iPhones]

------

SmartPhoneMedic has got a hold of what they believe to be the new iPod touch 4G LCD and Digitizer and compared it to the iPhone 4's.

They note that the iPod touch 4G LCD is slightly shorter then the new iPhone 4's and it has a red/grayish tint when compared to the darker iPhone 4 LCD.

The iPod touch 4G LCD is also missing some brackets on the side that are present on the iPhone 4 LCD.

As rumored previously there is a hole for a front facing camera.

Take a look at the video below for more information...

Postby M_2NR » August 25th, 2010, 5:38 pm

Anyone posted CallTell?

JWT

Postby JWT » August 25th, 2010, 8:08 pm

taken from cnet :

August 22, 2010
Apple applies for patent to kill jailbroken devices

Apple is apparently ramping up its battle to prevent iPhone and iPod owners from jailbreaking their devices.
The company has applied for a patent, titled "Systems and Methods for Identifying Unauthorized Users of an Electronic Device," that covers a series of security measures to automatically protect devices from thieves and other "unauthorized users." Unauthorized users apparently applies to those who engage in jailbreaking, which allows devices to run apps not approved by the company producing the operating system--such as Apple, the main target of such bypasses.
The application, which was filed in February 2009 and published Thursday, describes measures to identify "particular activities that may indicate suspicious behavior," so that "safety measures" can be taken to restrict the device's functions. Those activities include the "hacking, jailbreaking, unlocking, or removal of a SIM card," according to the application. Apple also intends to send warnings to owners via e-mail or text message when such activity is detected.
The application also describes a variety of measures that could be used to help identify the unauthorized user, including the activation of a camera that could capture and geotag the device's surroundings, and perhaps current user, and transmit that information to a remote device:
In some embodiments, an unauthorized user can be detected by comparing the identity of the current user to the identities of authorized users of the electronic device. For example, a photograph of the current user can be taken, a recording of the current user's voice can be recorded, the heartbeat of the current user can be recorded, or any combination of the above. The photograph, recording, or heartbeat can be compared, respectively, to a photograph, recording, or heartbeat of authorized users of the electronic device to determine whether they match. If they do not match, the current user can be detected as an unauthorized user.
When unauthorized use has been detected, "access to particular applications can be restricted, access to sensitive information can be restricted, sensitive information can be erased from the electronic device...," the application states, effectively wiping and bricking the device.
Apple representatives did not immediately respond to a request for comment.
In July, U.S. Copyright Office ruled that bypassing a manufacturer's protection mechanisms to allow "handsets to execute software applications" no longer violates federal copyright law. However, while the U.S. Copyright Office has declared the software legal, Apple has repeatedly discouraged users from loading such a bypass, reminding them that doing so will void their device's warranty.
"As we've said before, the vast majority of customers do not jailbreak their iPhones as this can violate the warranty and can cause the iPhone to become unstable and not work reliably," Apple had said in a statement in response to the ruling.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 7:36 am

iPhone Dev Team wrote:Jailbreakme v2.0 was a great success, and it’s provided a nice leveling point for all jailbreakers and unlockers on all devices at firmware versions less than 4.0.2/3.2.2. We hope that everybody ever interested in jailbreaks or unlocks was able to join in on the jailbreakme bonanza. Those of you who had Cydia capture your SHSH blobs, or those of you who captured them locally, will always be able to benefit from the jailbreakme.com v2.0 release. Congratulations!

Now it’s a few weeks later, and Apple has closed the jailbreakme.com hole. They’re shipping devices with FW 4.0.2/3.2.2, impervious to this particular jailbreak. So now, people will begin to ask: will there be a jailbreak for devices that shipped with 4.0.2/3.2.2, out of the box?

No, there won’t be. FW 4.0.2/3.2.2 was *only* released to fix the jailbreakme hole. With FW 4.1 still in its beta stages, it makes no sense to escalate the “cat & mouse” with Apple for FW updates that only fix the jailbreak holes. To quote WOPR, “the only winning move is not to play”.

If the cat & mouse game escalates too quickly, especially during beta FW periods, nobody but Apple benefits. For this reason, there won’t be a 4.0.2/3.2.2 jailbreak specifically during the period where 4.0.2/3.2.2 is the latest public release. At best, some future 4.1x FW jailbreak *may* be compatible with 4.0.2/3.2.2 (but don’t count on that).

If any of this is confusing, please ask below in our comments section!

P.S.: For those of you with iPhone3G or iPod Touch 2G(not MC version), it’s true you can always use redsn0w to jailbreak your 4.x devices. Don’t let that dilute the above message, though :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 7:46 am

idlemind wrote:thanks man....i took note of your suggestion to use Google Accounts to backup Contacts

Thats still good to go?

I know I kinda late on this (I only now noticed this morning, :oops: ) but yea it works fine for me but there are 2 issues though.
1. If you have contacts with 2 first names or 2 last names they sometimes (not in all cases oddly) come up with one of those names being a middle name, which subsequently makes it come up wrong either on the Gmail account or the iPhone or both. I battled with that for so long I eventually gave up & added a hyphen to those contacts.
2. Birthdays don't sync properly or at all (if that matters).

Now talking about the September 1st event yes on tv as I typed that. iPod touch 4G! (Maybe this would stop people from buying iPhones to use as iPod touch + camera)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Hey fellas, anyone know of any SIM adapters available in Trinidad? For like when you cut a SIM into MicroSIM size but just in case of wanting to use it in a phone that takes regular sized SIMs?

Thanks.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 4:25 pm

zcrugby wrote:Image

Welcome to iPhone 4, Trinidad, population, 2!

Postby M_2NR » August 26th, 2010, 4:31 pm

SRASC wrote:Hey fellas, anyone know of any SIM adapters available in Trinidad? For like when you cut a SIM into MicroSIM size but just in case of wanting to use it in a phone that takes regular sized SIMs?

Thanks.

Wrt to sim adapters... firstly CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!
secondly
u can make your own. use one of those itunes cards and cut it up :)

BTW i think u mean population 2 (Hardware Unlocked) :P

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 4:37 pm

^^^ Yea... lol. I looked it up & saw how. Hopefully it wouldn't be so necessary (wasn't for me in any case).

Man getting a SIM down to microSIM is like performing triple bypass surgery & had to do it twice for 2 iPhone 4s. Pressure!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 26th, 2010, 4:50 pm

Fellas I scurredddd

I going an try and upgrade my 3G to 4.0.2 from 3.0.1 NOW!!!

going to follow this http://www.redmondpie.com/jailbreak-ios ... -to-guide/ from M_2nr.

Um....as a noobie would ask...

Should I take out the sim or leave in?
Should I update iTunes to 9.2.1 or dont?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 26th, 2010, 5:26 pm

^^^ Upgrade iTunes to latest

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 5:36 pm

I'd avoid 4.0.2 personally since it is only to disable the jailbreakme.com jailbreak. I'm learning that the hard way :(

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 26th, 2010, 5:41 pm

So where should I go to? 4.0.1 or lower?

The site M_2NR sent is for 4.0.2 though any steps to 4.0.1 instead?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 5:52 pm

I think I detailed it on the previous page.

SRASC wrote:Just download the iOS 4.0 (or 4.0.1) since that's safe to jailbreak/unlock as well from here.
Then in iTunes press Restore while pressing Shift on your keyboard, select the firmware & iTunes will deal with the rest.
Then go to www.jailbreakme.com on the iPhone & jailbreak. Cydia for ultrasn0w to unlock.

------

Rumors of a "significant redesign" of Apple's iPod nano have surfaced, suggesting the company could introduce a smaller device with no click wheel at its event next week.

Shaw Wu with Kaufman Bros. issued a note to investors Thursday in which he said one potential surprise from Apple could be a redesigned iPod nano with a smaller form factor and no click wheel. Wu said sources have indicated that Apple has procurement plans for a redesigned iPod nano.

"We frankly are not sure if this model will see the light of day," Wu said. "But this would be a big departure from the design it has had since 2005 when it replaced the iPod mini. From our take, a radical refresh may make sense to jumpstart what was once its top-selling iPod."

He also noted that the image of an acoustic guitar in Apple's invitation to its Sept. 1 event may suggest that the rumored Apple TV update will not be a part of the event. Wu does not believe a new Apple TV will be announced, though he added that the Cupertino, Calif., company "may surprise." But the guitar image in the invitation, coupled with the timing of the event earlier in September than usual, seem to indicate otherwise.

"We find the timing somewhat curious and a little earlier than usual," Wu said. "Historically, AAPL has held these events after Labor Day and sometimes as late as October. Because of the timing and the image on the invite, we would be surprised if a new Apple TV is announced at this event."

He continued: "But then again, AAPL is known to surprise."

The analyst has also heard from sources that Apple will introduce a new iPod touch with most of the features found in the iPhone 4, including a faster processor, high-resolution retina display, video recording, and a forward facing camera for FaceTime video chat.

Apple is also expected to offer a new low-end $199 model with limited storage and the same feature set as last year's iPod touch. This would replace the current entry level model, he said.

Apple sent out invitations on Wednesday for its "special event" on Sept. 1 in San Francisco, Calif. The Wednesday event will begin at 10 a.m. Pacific Time, 1 p.m. Eastern, and will be held at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts. AppleInsider will have full live coverage.

JWT

Postby JWT » August 26th, 2010, 9:31 pm

i am having issues with my bluetooth
3gs running ios4.0

not recognising many cell phones and not accepting file transfers but it works great with my macbook

Postby M_2NR » August 26th, 2010, 9:48 pm

JWT wrote:i am having issues with my bluetooth
3gs running ios4.0

not recognising many cell phones and not accepting file transfers but it works great with my macbook

cellphones? u mean ibluenova? that has limited (if any at all) compatibility with iOS 4

SRASC wrote:^^^ Yea... lol. I looked it up & saw how. Hopefully it wouldn't be so necessary (wasn't for me in any case).

Man getting a SIM down to microSIM is like performing triple bypass surgery & had to do it twice for 2 iPhone 4s. Pressure!

i have some friends who recently came down i told them MAKE SURE they get a sim cutter. I'll have to find out if they brought it. If they did ill offer the service for a small fee if they agree.
Sadly they got i4's on 4.0.2
idlemind wrote:So where should I go to? 4.0.1 or lower?

The site M_2NR sent is for 4.0.2 though any steps to 4.0.1 instead?

bai, ent i say use teh redsn0w.. :?
once it is a 3G and NOT a 3GS, you can go to 4.0.2 and jailbreak with redsn0w. if you want and you could still upgrade to 4.0.1 use that as well.

Remember to use jailbreakme.com you must be activated with an ATT SIM.
here is proof if you needed it:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 26th, 2010, 9:56 pm

Yup. My iPhone 4 is also a 4.0.2'er. I was cringing to go to the about to see the version. 4.1 can't come soon enough.
Oh & no DeathGrip for me. :D

------

The first shots are coming in of Yerba Buena Center getting decked out for the Apple Event. Can you feel the excitement?

------

There's been lots of rumors in the past about iTunes going to some sort of a cloud-based service, with the ability to store or access music remotely over the Internet, but the new word around town is that what's actually revealed at the event next week won't be quite so ambitious. Peter Kafka over at All Things Digital now says that instead of streaming, the new iTunes might be more social, with iTunes accounts serving as nodes on which users can share recommendations for apps or songs, or even share playlists or song information. You wouldn't actually be able to share music, but the idea would be to lay the groundwork on a more connected iTunes system, and set up the music software as not only a location to store your personal music, but to connect with others through the media.

Sounds interesting, and of course a rumor like that dovetails right into what Apple is working on with Game Center, where iTunes accounts will serve as the portal for connections in and around App Store games. This current round of speculation also includes improvements for the web-based version of iTunes pages, and presumably improved ways to browse and post app reviews and recommendations.

As always, we'll have to see. Nothing's confirmed until Steve walks out on stage and shows it to us, so even if Apple is working on a system like this, there's no confirmation we'll see it at the event next week until we, you know, do.

------

Microsoft will enable Exchange ActiveSync for Hotmail users on Monday, giving them the ability to receive push email on devices such as the iPhone.

Microsoft's Dharmesh Mehta told CNET that ActiveSync offers a more robust option than IMAP and, when combined with POP access, should give most Hotmail users the syncing capabilities they are looking for.

------

"The iPhone has no secret for you? Well, that's what you think... join us and develop the most challenging product of your life!" So reads a now-removed job listing on Qualcomm's website for an "iPhone Developer Guru" (still cached, thanks to Google). Responsibilities will include "iPhone software design and development but not restricted to it" as well as some Android and... oh, you've already jumped to conclusions, have you? The forerunners of CDMA technology asking for iPhone software engineering? Teasing with the most challenging product of your life? We wouldn't fault for Qualcomm for a bit of boasting, and for all we know this could be much ado about nothing. Then again, we really don't know anything, and this isn't exactly some super clue in some giant mystery. Sorry, Encyclopedia Brown; don't get your hopes up.

------

Nothing's ever really a secret in this 21st century anymore.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » August 26th, 2010, 10:07 pm

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 27th, 2010, 7:58 pm

Valve has released some detailed figures on Mac user habits in the Steam for OS X universe, confirming a mass move to portable computers and strong steps for Mac gaming.

The latest figures show us that over two thirds of Mac users on Steam own a MacBook or MacBook Pro, another 23 percent use an iMac.

Overall (including PC land), 72 percent of processors are Intel, while the majority (59%)of graphics cards in gamerland come from Nvidia. Interesting stat for Windows: 32.73 per cent of users were still using Windows XP, which is currently celebrating its 9th birthday.

In other news, you can pick up Mount Blade: Warband at 66 percent off this weekend, while Worms Reloaded and Secret of the Magic Crystals both made it to the Mac today. Numerous other game updates have also been released.

------

Apple is poised to introduce a radically redesigned iPod nano next week that will retain its trademark I/O connector despite its drastically reduced form factor, AppleInsider has learned. Meanwhile, rumors pertaining to 3G-enabled iPod touches and a new version of iLife are also on the table.

People familiar with the matter indicated that the size and shape of the device, revealed this week through photos of third-party cases, will be more akin to the iPod shuffle than the current-generation iPod nano. Even with this small size, however, it is expected to have a traditional iPod dock connector, allowing compatibility with the existing iPod accessory ecosystem.

The new iPod nano is said to utilize a tiny 3cm-by-3cm display that was revealed in its bare form as unknown Apple-branded component earlier this summer. For comparison, the second-generation iPod nano had a screen that was about 3cm by 2.5cm.

AppleInsider was told that overseas manufacturers have been creating protective cases that will fit the new form factor since July. The cases seen this week appeared to indicate that the device will have buttons on its side, perhaps for volume control.

The current iPod shuffle, Apple's smallest media player, is not large enough to house the now-ubiquitous iPod USB-powered dock connection. Instead, the iPod shuffle connects to a computer through a special USB cable that plugs into the device's headphone jack.

While the headphone USB cable allows the small form factor of the iPod shuffle to be possible, it also locks the device out from the popular and lucrative submarket of devices that rely on the 30-pin iPod dock connector found on the remainder of the iPod lineup, as well as the iPhone and iPad.

A rendering of Apple's anticipated iPod nano refresh shows the screen size compared to a second-gen model.

It is not clear how input will be handled with Apple's new iPod nano. Previous reports indicated that the new, small display will be a touchscreen, though its limited available real estate could make navigation difficult.

The new device could also have inputs on the back, or through another method entirely, such as that of the shuffle. The cases revealed this week showed an open space on the back that could also be used to clip the device.

People familiar with Apple's plans have also heard over the last few months that the company has strongly considered mimicking its iPad offerings by adding a 3G option to some of its iPod touch portable media players, though it is unclear whether the Cupertino-based company has decided to proceed with those plans as part of next week's announcement.

A similar move was made earlier this year when Apple launched the iPad. The company now offers a Wi-Fi-only iPad, in addition to a version with a 3G radio for an additional $130. Currently, the iPod touch only offers 3G and Bluetooth, but 4th-generation prototypes with a SIM tray akin to the iPhone 4's are said to exist.

The 3G-capable iPad has been a resounding success for Apple, with strong sales that resulted in the device being sold out or in limited availability for months at Apple's retail stores.

At a minimum, Apple is widely expected to introduce a fourth-generation, FaceTime-equipped iPod touch with front and rear facing cameras, as well as a Retina display, at next week's Sept. 1 special event.

Finally, people who have an ear in on Apple plans say there was some talk a few months ago about dedicating some time at next week's media event to a new version of its iLife software suite. Rumors of an update to iLife have persisted for most of the year, but so far an updated version of the software suite has failed to materialize. Like the rumors of a 3G option for new iPod touches, however, this bit of information cannot be confirmed at this time with certainty.

The iLife suite currently includes iPhoto, iMovie, GarageBand and iWeb, and is included free with every new Mac. The last update, iLife '09, launched in January of 2009, with major upgrades to all of its applications, including the Faces and Places features in iPhoto, and the addition of the Precision Editor to iMovie.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 27th, 2010, 9:40 pm

Guys, I got through with 4.0.2

Thanks M_2NR and SRASC

I followed this http://www.redmondpie.com/jailbreak-ios ... -to-guide/
coz i didnt have an ATT Sim.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 28th, 2010, 11:37 am

^^^ Good to hear. The only reason why I thought it would be better to get iOS 4.0.1 instead of iOS 4.0.2 is cause its easier to unlock/jailbreak & cause iOS 4.0.2 other than the jailbreakme.com (PDF exploit fix) was no different.

Based on the last 3 years...
iOS 3.1 released at Apple's It’s Only Rock And Roll But We Like It on September 9, 2009
iOS 2.1 released at Apple's Let’s Rock on September 9 (12), 2008
iOS 1.1 released at Apple's The Beat Goes On on September 14 (27), 2007

...iOS 4.1 would be released at Apple's 2010 Music Event.

What did iOS 1.1, 2.1 & 3.1 bring?

iOS 1.1
    iTunes Wi-Fi Music Store app
    Louder speaker volume
    Double click home to launch favorites or iPod controls
    Double tap space bar for a period (.)
    Landscape support for Mail attachments
    Re-ordering for Stocks and Weather items
    Apple Bluetooth headset (RIP) battery status
    Disable roaming data
    Additional passcode lock time settings
    Adjustable alert volumes

iOS 2.1
    Screen shot added camera shutter sound
    Load earlier SMS messages
    SMS alert repeat
    Disable Camera in Settings Restrictions
    Option to wipe data after 10 failed passcode attempts
    Genius playlist creation
    Tap icon to pause/resume app install
    App icons remain in place following on-device update

iOS 3.1
    Triple click Home for accessibility options
    Voice control over Bluetooth
    Remote passcode lock with Find my iPhone
    Save MMS to camera roll
    Event location in popup alert
    Non-destructive video clip trimming
    Tethered data usage stats
    Fraud warnings toggle for Safari
    iTunes account credit display
    Top Grossing in App Store
    Genius for apps
    Genius mixes
    Copy and paste in Phone and Contacts

iOS 4.1?
Smaller version updates mean smaller feature additions. If you’re holding out hope for a brand new notification system you’ll probably have to wait for next March and the iOS 5 sneak preview event. If Game Center, and FaceTime moving beyond the iPhone, interest you, then you’ll probably have lots to be happy about.

via TiPb

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2010, 9:08 pm

i now watching the kind of features u all were waiting for pre 3.0. Sigh thankfully i started post 3.0 yes. :lol:

I'd say 4.1 brings the obvious facetime calls with email support and probably better stability on the 3G.