*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Dohplaydat

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby Dohplaydat » April 29th, 2025, 5:38 pm

sMASH wrote:
viedcht wrote:25-14-2
26-13-2
26-14-1
28-11-2
Is all kinda results people pelting out on the streets here, jumbling my good nice calm lunchtime
Farris said the sando west was very close and sounding like a recount in order ... I agree.

Sando east is gonna get a recount. Only off by a 1k votes .

Even still , pnm maxi still need one to go!

Is it not 27-2-12?

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2025, 5:43 pm

the silence on these figures is becoming suspect

redmanjp wrote:
goalpost wrote:When the final scores coming out? Since when this does take so long?

they eh even release the interim numbers :roll: PNM only get 1 vote in all d east west corridor seats apparently

Postby goalpost » April 29th, 2025, 6:04 pm

Nah, seeing EBC release a press release saying 26-13-2, with 3 recounts going on. No further details, however.

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2025, 6:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
26-13-2
26-14-1
28-11-2
Is all kinda results people pelting out on the streets here, jumbling my good nice calm lunchtime
Farris said the sando west was very close and sounding like a recount in order ... I agree.

Is it not 27-2-12?
I hadda double check but I think 27-12-2 was when they had la Brea ... So losing la Brea would put it 28-11-2.

Brb...

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2025, 6:18 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Someone need to go and interview people who didn't vote for UNC in 2020 but voted for them in 2025.

Also we need a documentary on trini Twitter beat up

goalpost wrote:Also somebody need to help those Twitter peeps. They dying across there

Post some links guys, need some entertainment :drinking:
Sample. There are worse
Screenshot_20250428-213908.jpg
Screenshot_20250428-214116.jpg
Screenshot_20250428-214126.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 6:18 pm

goalpost wrote:Nah, seeing EBC release a press release saying 26-13-2, with 3 recounts going on. No further details, however.

Press release

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/16PFkFZiM6/
1.jpg
2.jpg

Postby goalpost » April 29th, 2025, 6:23 pm

PNM lose 100,000 votes dey

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2025, 6:29 pm

sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
26-13-2
26-14-1
28-11-2

Is it not 27-2-12?
I hadda double check but I think 27-12-2 was when they had la Brea ... So losing la Brea would put it 28-11-2.

Brb...
Ur right... The small seat on the hump behind d door, then.

Them recounts hadda come in yet.
The sando east close .
Surprising Farris not doing it... Prolly aunt fighting up cause it does not matter

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2025, 6:37 pm

Unc was 280 K the last rounds of I Remeber. So they went up a 50k.

Pnm was 340k if I remember ... They lost a 120k.

Partly unc switch up. And more an vex pnm stay home.

If the amt unc incrssd by is the only votes that pnm lost they would go down to 290k

Unc woulda still beat them , but not by much. Prolly a one/two seat more .

Kamala won her election , but pnm voters gave unc the special majority in parliament.

FU, stuie!

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2025, 6:41 pm

Pdp pep nta , not too bad.
But makela blow dem out with 21k by she self.
COP hadda shame to be so low after commanding 22% at one time.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2025, 6:41 pm

mickela get 21k is not bad

pnm lost a bunch of votes, tells a lot

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 6:42 pm

goalpost wrote:PNM lose 100,000 votes dey

Yes... 102,020 votes to be exact.

2020 they got 322,180 votes, now they down to 220,160.

UNC got 309,654 in 2020, now 334,874. As the coalition if you add in COP (6,481) and PEP (9,379), that's now 350,734.

UNC was able to mobilize better, a lot of PNM stayed home.

Postby paid_influencer » April 29th, 2025, 6:49 pm

pugboy wrote:mickela get 21k is not bad

yup. shocking mikela managed that much. is quadruple what gary pulled.

would be interesting to see where her support base lies once EBC releases the breakdown

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2025, 6:50 pm

it still have plenty ppl with pic of bas hanging up in they house eh
just like it have plenty with pic of eric

paid_influencer wrote:

would be interesting to see where her support base lies

Postby zoom rader » April 29th, 2025, 7:01 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
goalpost wrote:PNM lose 100,000 votes dey

Yes... 102,020 votes to be exact.

2020 they got 322,180 votes, now they down to 220,160.

UNC got 309,654 in 2020, now 334,874. As the coalition if you add in COP (6,481) and PEP (9,379), that's now 350,734.

UNC was able to mobilize better, a lot of PNM stayed home.
Awaits Cro Cro to win kaiso 26

Black man all yuh look for dat part 2

Postby zoom rader » April 29th, 2025, 7:02 pm

pugboy wrote:it still have plenty ppl with pic of bas hanging up in they house eh
just like it have plenty with pic of eric

paid_influencer wrote:

would be interesting to see where her support base lies
Guilty

Bas hanging up in my bago home.

death365

Postby death365 » April 29th, 2025, 7:09 pm

Yeps she will be a force next local then next general she will be my choice.

Postby zoom rader » April 29th, 2025, 7:12 pm

hover11 wrote:MANNING SEAT is getting a recount.

Imagine riding on your father's name and the seat your father held to be neck and neck with a man who is new to politics yet acted on the ground and supported the ppl in the area to the point you only beat him by 500 votes. A recount is needed but I also hope Brian understands that the ppl does not want him there and he can't be riding on his father's strength for much longer.
That was my former district. San Do East is upper hood , but lately, it's slowly getting gentrified.

I loved it, but crime took it over under the 10 terrorist years PNM was there.

Most of the die-hard Eric Williams PNM ppl died out, and their offsprings migrated. A new wave of people moved into HDC homes, and they brought a new way of thinking.

New homes, both hood and modern, are packed into San Do East. Had PNM built new homes,then they would have gained more votes, but lands are limited.

Postby paid_influencer » April 29th, 2025, 7:15 pm

^
I remember being on Guardian forums back in 2007 when COP supporters were saying the same thing (148,345 votes)

and again when the ILP tried in 2013 (102,918 votes)

but historically, third parties not getting a seat is a death kiss unless they join a coalition

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 29th, 2025, 7:39 pm

sMASH wrote:Unc was 280 K the last rounds of I Remeber. So they went up a 50k.

Pnm was 340k if I remember ... They lost a 120k.

Partly unc switch up. And more an vex pnm stay home.

If the amt unc incrssd by is the only votes that pnm lost they would go down to 290k

Unc woulda still beat them , but not by much. Prolly a one/two seat more .

Kamala won her election , but pnm voters gave unc the special majority in parliament.

FU, stuie!

This looking like a pnm protest vote against Stuart. So the base still there but it simmering under the surface. I thought the base came out but still got bad lixxx. I don't think much voted for unc tbh. Which means that the UNC didn't really make in roads, pnm just didn't go out to vote. Kamla at 330000 might be more than Kamlamania.

Postby alfa » April 29th, 2025, 8:11 pm

Could it simply be that they weren't willing to vote for a non Afro?

Postby goalpost » April 29th, 2025, 8:12 pm

I wanna see votes per seat, especially dem West seats

Postby paid_influencer » April 29th, 2025, 8:48 pm

Political Analyst: UNC Cannot Amend Constitution

Speaking via Zoom to TTT News, he said while the United National Congress Coalition of Interest secured victory, they will not have the three-quarter majority needed to amend the Constitution.

The Political Analyst was predicting a close fight and expected the UNC to hold on to their 19 seats and gain a few in some of the key marginals, but he did not predict the PNM would lose some of their safer seats.

“What they do have, however, is that they do have the three-fifths majority. That is clear. So they have the simple majority, 50% plus one. They have a three-fifths majority, which will allow them to pass certain other types of bills. But they do not have the three-quarter majority, which is also necessary if they have to amend the Constitution on their own. To get to that majority, you need 31 seats, that three-quarter majority. As at this point in time, I am believing, I’m hearing 27, 28 for the UNC. And even if you get two more, that brings you up to 30. That still falls just 2% short of the three-quarter majority.”

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 9:03 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Someone need to go and interview people who didn't vote for UNC in 2020 but voted for them in 2025.

goalpost wrote:Also somebody need to help those Twitter peeps. They dying across there

Sample. There are worse Screenshot_20250428-214126.jpgScreenshot_20250428-214116.jpgScreenshot_20250428-213908.jpg

They sound like single mothers or lacking father figures :?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 29th, 2025, 9:07 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Sample. There are worse Screenshot_20250428-214126.jpgScreenshot_20250428-214116.jpgScreenshot_20250428-213908.jpg

I even realize on radio this morning that middle age black women were very bitter

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 9:19 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

I even realize on radio this morning that middle age black women were very bitter

As you mention that, let me check in 91.9 and i95.5 videos on facebook and take in the froth from earlier today :lol:

Postby alfa » April 29th, 2025, 9:23 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Political Analyst: UNC Cannot Amend Constitution

Speaking via Zoom to TTT News, he said while the United National Congress Coalition of Interest secured victory, they will not have the three-quarter majority needed to amend the Constitution.

The Political Analyst was predicting a close fight and expected the UNC to hold on to their 19 seats and gain a few in some of the key marginals, but he did not predict the PNM would lose some of their safer seats.

“What they do have, however, is that they do have the three-fifths majority. That is clear. So they have the simple majority, 50% plus one. They have a three-fifths majority, which will allow them to pass certain other types of bills. But they do not have the three-quarter majority, which is also necessary if they have to amend the Constitution on their own. To get to that majority, you need 31 seats, that three-quarter majority. As at this point in time, I am believing, I’m hearing 27, 28 for the UNC. And even if you get two more, that brings you up to 30. That still falls just 2% short of the three-quarter majority.”

Highly unlikely any party in any country could get a three quarters majority (other than in 1986). Who made this dumb rule

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 29th, 2025, 9:50 pm

I even realize on radio this morning that middle age black women were very bitter[/quote]

As you mention that, let me check in 91.9 and i95.5 videos on facebook and take in the froth from earlier today :lol:

Nah boy all them pnm hosts leave Iwer station. Around 10:30 this morning they had some good talk on i95

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 10:02 pm

Results so far:

United National Congress (UNC) - 26

Aranguez/St. Joseph (Flipped) - Devesh Maharaj
Barataria/San Juan - Saddam Hosein
Caroni East - Rishi Seecharan
Caroni Central - David Lee
Couva North - Jerlean John
Couva South - Barry Paradath
Chaguanas East - Vandana Mohit
Chaguanas West - Neil Gosine
Claxton Bay - Hansen Narinesingh
Cumuto/Manzanilla - Shivanna Sam
Fyzabad - Davendranath Tancoo
La Brea (Flipped) - Clyde Elder
La Horquetta/Talparo (Flipped) - Phillip Watts
Mayaro - Nicholas Morris
Moruga/Tableland - Michelle Benjamin
Naparima - Narindra Roopnarine
Oropouche East - Roodal Moonilal
Oropouche West - Lackram Bodoe
Point Fortin (Flipped) - Ernesto Kesar
Princes Town - Aiyna Ali
San Fernando West (Flipped) - Michael Dowlath
Siparia - Kamla Persad-Bissessar
St. Augustine - Khadijah Ameen
Tabaquite - Sean Sobers
Toco/Sangre Grande (Flipped) - Wayne Sturge
Tunapuna (Flipped) - Roger Alexander

People's National Movement (PNM) - 13

Arima - Pennelope Beckles
Arouca/Lopinot (Recount) - Marvin Gonzales
Diego Martin North/East - Colm Imbert
Diego Martin Central - Symon De Nobriga
Diego Martin West - Hans De Vignes
Laventille East/Morvant - Christian Birchwood
Laventille West - Kareem Marcelle
Malabar/Mausica (Recount) - Dominic Romain
Port of Spain South - Keith Scotland
Port of Spain North/St. Ann's West - Stuart Young
St. Ann's East - Nyan Gasby-Dolly
San Fernando East (Recount) - Brian Manning
Trincity/Maloney - Camille Robinson-Regis

Tobago People's Party (TPP) - 2

Tobago East (Flipped) - David Thomas
Tobago West (Flipped) - Joel Sampson

killercow

Postby killercow » April 29th, 2025, 10:41 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Results so far:

United National Congress (UNC) - 26

Aranguez/St. Joseph (Flipped)
Barataria/San Juan
Caroni East
Caroni Central
Couva North
Couva South
Chaguanas East
Chaguanas West
Claxton Bay
Cumuto/Manzanilla
Fyzabad
La Brea (Flipped)
La Horquetta/Talparo (Flipped)
Mayaro
Moruga/Tableland
Naparima
Oropouche East
Oropouche West
Point Fortin (Flipped)
Princes Town
San Fernando West (Flipped)
Siparia
St. Augustine
Tabaquite
Toco/Sangre Grande (Flipped)
Tunapuna (Flipped)

People's National Movement (PNM) - 13

Arima
Arouca/Lopinot (Recount)
Diego Martin North/East
Diego Martin Central
Diego Martin West
Laventille East/Morvant
Laventille West
Malabar/Mausica (Recount)
Port of Spain South
Port of Spain North/St. Ann's West
St. Ann's East
San Fernando East (Recount)
Trincity/Maloney

Tobago People's Party (TPP) - 2

Tobago East (Flipped)
Tobago West (Flipped)
Would be nice if you could update this list to include the candidate names for ease of reference.