Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2024, 9:15 am

PariaMan wrote:People good yes man putting more blame on the one who did not repeal versus who implemented it yes

A lot of people I know are not against the principle of the tax but the way it was implemented.

And that lies solely on the short beep and his lap puppy who identifies as a Rottweiler

You seem more than a little confused.

A toolumhead and his minions tell a bunch of idiots prior to election day "is property tax in yuh mc if yuh vote for we", and the idiots vote for them and then complain about property tax.
Then, a bunch of lying arseholes come together to form a coalition, shouting the mantra "axe the tax, vote for we and we will get rid of property tax", idiots vote for them, and they then proceed to do all kinda questionable and unethical not to mention criminal shite, damn near everything wrong under the sun that they could think of with their rather limited intelligence, EXCEPT what they promised to do, while they could have very easily done it.

In a nutshell, the point is this
Politicians in this country DO NOT GIVE A GOOD GOD DAMN ABOUT ANYONE OR ANYTHING ELSE OTHER THAN THEMSELVES AND LINING THEIR POCKETS, and they are more than happy and willing to do this at the expense of the wider population, who they view to be as intelligent as an old wet kitchen sponge, and the population, if they truly want better, MUST recognize this and take action to put a stop to it, to quote Malcolm X, "by any means necessary".
By any means necessary? Problem with that is we don't have radicals in this population, we not going to have another coup attempt at least not in this generation. Trinis are typically laid back and go with with the flow no matter how dire the situation is. The level of decadence in this country is extremely high where to compensate for lack of opposition to policies implemented by the government , the population will rather make memes to laugh , drink and have a good time. Rowley said brace for hard times and ppl was more concerned with cricket, well cricket done let's see what the population will focus on now

Postby zoom rader » September 29th, 2024, 9:16 am

viedcht wrote:Ent the option to defer the tax if you cannot pay, like in the case of a pensioner, still available? Or did they amend that? Was telling someone who is a pensioner 3yrs now, I think that is an option
They still have to pay, who ever takes over the property.

U spent ur life to build ur home, paid vat and now face an unfair tax.

But still idiots will vote PNM

Postby adnj » September 29th, 2024, 9:19 am

Last edited by adnj on October 17th, 2024, 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » September 29th, 2024, 9:51 am

adnj wrote:
viedcht wrote:Ent the option to defer the tax if you cannot pay, like in the case of a pensioner, still available? Or did they amend that? Was telling someone who is a pensioner 3yrs now, I think that is an option

Yes. They may apply for deferral.
Still have to pay

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2024, 9:54 am

adnj wrote:

Yes. They may apply for deferral.
How long can you defer for that's the question, all debts and taxes must be paid. Someone will have to be pay that deferral amount at some point.

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2024, 10:32 am

Yes,it still available
However
Say your pops property tax is $2000 per year. And say he applies for and gets a deferral at 65, pays no property taxes, and lives till 85, and leave the house for you.

You have now inherited a house, and a $40k debt to the state, that MUST be paid FIRST, BEFORE you can then transfer ownership of said house into your name, and then proceed with paying stamp duty to the state, and if you wait too long, is interested and penalty in yuh pweffn

In other words
They screw yuh coming and going.

In short, that deferral is really a way to discourage people from delaying paying it, not to make it easier on anybody.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 29th, 2024, 10:39 am

Okay thanks I also guessing they will have some assessment/means test?

I think it fair enough that as long as the property is legally yours (deferred by you) that it be paid and due to whoever the new owner is, which is sheety for a new owner who hasn't inherited the property or associated with the previous owner... It just understandable that for someone who struggled to build/maintain the property and now has financial issues there is some type of relief, considering how downhill this whole place rolling.

Now anybody buying property will have to do some type of search for unpaid property tax. Place getting like the US no joke

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2024, 10:40 am

hover11 wrote:
Please remember Kamla only had FIVE
years.Surely, you can't expect the woman to address everything in just five years. Probably if the citizenry gave her another term as they did with the Rowley led PNM administration, she may have done such. However, let's stay focused on who reimplemented the tax and using it to their advantage at this time

and repeal of the act is something that could have been accomplished within 5 months. With enough effort, could be done in 5 weeks.

So imho that idea that "is only 5 years" is at best a very weak attempt at an excuse for trying to justify incompetence and lying.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 29th, 2024, 10:44 am

Yes,it still available
However
Say your pops property tax is $2000 per year. And say he applies for and gets a deferral at 65, pays no property taxes, and lives till 85, and leave the house for you.

You have now inherited a house, and a $40k debt to the state, that MUST be paid FIRST, BEFORE you can then transfer ownership of said house into your name, and then proceed with paying stamp duty to the state, and if you wait too long, is interested and penalty in yuh pweffn

In other words
They screw yuh coming and going.

In short, that deferral is really a way to discourage people from delaying paying it, not to make it easier on anybody.
I find it fair if your parents leave it for you, family ties etc... imagine you finally looking to buy a property listed for say 2.5MTT, you done prime up yuhself and your new family to provide a home for them... To find out 20yrs of unpaid property tax plus interest

Postby paid_influencer » September 29th, 2024, 10:48 am

it was a COP platform issue
questions on parliamentary inactions should be directed at the COP
and the COP leadership
who sat in Parliament and never raised the issue

frankly it sounds like a case of moving the goalposts
kamla froze the tax and never collected a cent
everybody quiet like mouse
but now the goalposts shifted to why she didnt repeal it

this time around Kamla has made it part of the UNC platform.
explicitly promised to repeal it
so however allyuh want to move the goalposts,
she will axe the tax

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 29th, 2024, 11:15 am

1- She not getting in power
2- She wouldn't repeal one arse even if she did get in power
3- Even if the tax was repealed, the law which allows the public servants to assess your house and furnish you with an ARV is a completely separate law which was around since 1969.

Postby paid_influencer » September 29th, 2024, 11:19 am

look nostradamus reach oui

Postby MaxPower » September 29th, 2024, 12:13 pm

PNM 2025 coming.

I will say again, despite all the whining and crying about O the place hard, Trinis asses are still suffering happily.

There is enough support presently to make it happen.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 29th, 2024, 12:54 pm

N.m . don't aa mnnnnmwx0 77779221

Postby zoom rader » September 29th, 2024, 12:55 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:1- She not getting in power
2- She wouldn't repeal one arse even if she did get in power
3- Even if the tax was repealed, the law which allows the public servants to assess your house and furnish you with an ARV is a completely separate law which was around since 1969.
Thats the continued attitude of persons like you and negative thinking.

You again know what other governments will do ?

You have crystal ball or u pulling this out of ur arse?

Best u join the others like Mero

Postby paid_influencer » September 29th, 2024, 1:38 pm

is up to you if you want property tax, proton

ball in your court

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 29th, 2024, 2:38 pm

stay delusional folks

Postby zoom rader » September 29th, 2024, 10:56 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:stay delusional folks
Yeah, all your post are in favor of PNM.

Its like you want to eat ah food and stay in job .

You PNM clowns are easy to spot.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 29th, 2024, 11:18 pm

staying in your online echo chamber won't change the sad reality outside

a leader of a party who makes undecided voters steups when she opens her mouth has 0 chance of being elected to power

Postby zoom rader » September 29th, 2024, 11:20 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:staying in your online echo chamber won't change the sad reality outside

a leader of a party who makes undecided voters steups when she opens her mouth has 0 chance of being elected to power
As I said PNM clowns are easy to spot.

You promoting the PNM mantra of who we go vote for shows ur a PNMite
Last edited by zoom rader on September 29th, 2024, 11:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2024, 11:21 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:staying in your online echo chamber won't change the sad reality outside

On the other end of the spectrum a leader that suffers the nation for 9 years and warns of further suffering due his own actions and policies that he created will have undecided voters running to him. Gimme a break.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 30th, 2024, 12:07 am

You all dont realise that pnm politics is more than just failing on the issues at hand and still winning.

Every time they rename some street or building, or have a response to kamla's statements on vaccines, they gain support from somebody who drinking sugar water for breakfast.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 30th, 2024, 6:15 am

Murder in santa cruz in broad daylight. Five shot. I doubt people are so stupid to put those people back in power

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2024, 6:36 am

Question, where will the money come from in the population? If you don’t increase people’s salary, or if you increase the salary minimally by 4 percent , how are they going to pay? How you want ppl to pay property tax along with the soon to be increased utility rates

generic

Postby generic » September 30th, 2024, 7:10 am

generic wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Deferment to leave a huge 'Inheritance ' tax on their children who may be equally poor and/or close to retirement when they Inherit the house.

The act already addresses this

snippet.png
snippet.png (124.02 KiB) Viewed 10618 times

basically if the successor can't pay, they can apply for an exemption of the outstanding (previously deferred) taxes.

If you inheriting property with back taxes that you can't afford you can apply for an exemption.

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2024, 7:24 am

generic wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Deferment to leave a huge 'Inheritance ' tax on their children who may be equally poor and/or close to retirement when they Inherit the house.

snippet.png

basically if the successor can't pay, they can apply for an exemption of the outstanding (previously deferred) taxes.

If you inheriting property with back taxes that you can't afford you can apply for an exemption.
How do you prove you can't pay sounds like it's up for discretion by someone

Postby paid_influencer » September 30th, 2024, 7:30 am

yea they have the option of applying for an exemption or waiver

there is no guarantee it will be granted probably won't be granted in most cases

deal with it

or vote against property tax on election day

pnm strategy is to make you disenfranchise yuhself. they making people like proton feel he have no say.

ball in proton court on election day. if he smart, he will swing it back. if he chupid he wil stay home and let the ball pass him.
Last edited by paid_influencer on September 30th, 2024, 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

generic

Postby generic » September 30th, 2024, 7:34 am

hover11 wrote:
generic wrote:

snippet.png

How do you prove you can't pay sounds like it's up for discretion by someone

Isn't that the same for the deferral though?

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2024, 7:34 am

paid_influencer wrote:yea they have the option of applying for an exemption or waiver

there is no guarantee it will be granted probably won't be granted in most cases
It not making sense because I'm assuming I have to bring proof of income and if the person making just saying 12k, however they have children and a mortgage along with other commitments how the hell they paying back taxes?

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2024, 7:36 am

paid_influencer wrote:yea they have the option of applying for an exemption or waiver

deal with it

or vote against property tax on election day

pnm strategy is to make you disenfranchise yuhself. they making people like proton feel he have no say.

ball in proton court on election day. if he smart, he will swing it back. if he chupid he wil stay home and let the ball pass him.
Men in here said it has no alternative to PNM, that is either complete brainwash or battered woman syndrome