The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » August 20th, 2010, 5:40 pm

SRASC, check out @iphoneincanada

You can Mention him too. Pretty helpful.

BTW the actual cost you will pay is 659 PLUS 14% Tax. So it's around 752 CAN for a 16GB

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 20th, 2010, 5:51 pm

Yea I know. I have a friend looking into getting it for me & so far no luck. So that's why I'm here. Crunch time.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 20th, 2010, 6:24 pm

updating the software on my dad's iphone now.....

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » August 20th, 2010, 6:39 pm

A bunch of Appstore updates today, Facebook & Skype included.

Get to it!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 20th, 2010, 6:45 pm

SRASC wrote:Anyone know by chance where in Canada (Apple Stores) has unlocked iPhone 4s? Preferably near Pincourt, Quebec?

there is NONE available anywhere in canada

they only getting 4pcs per store

as they get it sells out

they said to order it only and wait 2-3 weeks for it

my gf and other family members been trying to get for me there with no luck

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 20th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Yea I heard things like that, but I also read that people still getting unlocked ones fairly easily. Friend up there said he just missed out the other day. So I hoping for the best. Would have ordered but it wouldn't have arrived before the 24th, if I had until at least September then it wouldn't have been an issue.

Apparently the Facebook 3.2 & 3.2.1 issues happen to people are running biteSMS. Don't think Facebook would do anything to fix it so it looks like its up to biteSMS. Sorta unfair since they technically didn't bring the issue...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 20th, 2010, 7:14 pm

M_2nr, I want to update my 3g from 3.0.1 to 4.0

Is there a site or steps that can show me how to get there?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 20th, 2010, 7:24 pm

Just download the iOS 4.0 (or 4.0.1) since that's safe to jailbreak/unlock as well from here.
Then in iTunes press Restore while pressing Shift on your keyboard, select the firmware & iTunes will deal with the rest.
Then go to www.jailbreakme.com on the iPhone & jailbreak. Cydia for ultrasn0w to unlock.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 20th, 2010, 7:28 pm

thanks man....i took note of your suggestion to use Google Accounts to backup Contacts

Thats still good to go?

Postby M_2NR » August 20th, 2010, 7:31 pm

SRASC wrote:Apparently the Facebook 3.2 & 3.2.1 issues happen to people are running biteSMS. Don't think Facebook would do anything to fix it so it looks like its up to biteSMS. Sorta unfair since they technically didn't bring the issue...

Yeh my facebook crashing A lot now. Sigh... 2G FTL

SRASC wrote:Just download the iOS 4.0 (or 4.0.1) since that's safe to jailbreak/unlock as well from here.
Then in iTunes press Restore while pressing Shift on your keyboard, select the firmware & iTunes will deal with the rest.
Then go to www.jailbreakme.com on the iPhone & jailbreak. Cydia for ultrasn0w to unlock.

idlemind, do the above if you got a AT&T sim.

OR

Just update to it (using a custom restore) start a fresh iphone (not from backup if u can) and sync your contacts, etc back.

Then, run redsn0w 0.9.5b5-5. If you need a link for it... let us know. and jailbreak it.

Follow this guide k:
http://www.redmondpie.com/jailbreak-ios-4.0.2-with-redsn0w-how-to-guide/

;)

With jailbreakme.com you MUST have an AT&T sim lying around to activate your phone :)

I am not sure if apple is still signing 4.0.1 as well. but 4.0.2 works and is jailbroken on the 3G

NOT THE 3GS eh!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 20th, 2010, 7:42 pm

Thanks guys...I usually let a padna do my upgrades.

I dont have an AT&T sim and this is the first time il be attempting to upgrade on my own.

So il follow the steps in the link.

Im just afraid that I waited too long to move from 3.0.1 and what steps I see may no longer work.

My Contacts, Messages and Notes are what I would really like kept

Thanks

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 20th, 2010, 7:55 pm

Keeping those shouldn't be an issue if you did a backup 1st & restored from it after.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 20th, 2010, 9:40 pm

^^ I like.

Postby M_2NR » August 20th, 2010, 10:09 pm

Ohh i got two zaggskins one for iphone 4 and other for 3G/3GS.

Anyone want them? $140

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 20th, 2010, 11:02 pm

I feel I blight with my 3g

I keep getting an error 6, nothing apple/google suggests.. IDK what to do again.

Help?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 21st, 2010, 2:23 pm

U.S Copyright Office had exempted jailbreaking iPhone from the Digital Millennium Copyright Act making it legal for users in the US to jailbreak their iPhone.

At that time, we had mentioned that it wouldn’t stop Apple from making it difficult to jailbreak iOS to stay ahead in the cat and mouse with the iPhone hacking community.

Apple had also clarified that unauthorized modification of the iOS violates the warranty of the iOS-based device.

Apple has applied for a patent titled "Systems and Methods for Identifying Unauthorized Users of an Electronic Device", which will allow it to remotely disable an iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch if it detects any unauthorized activity such as hacking, jailbreaking or unlocking the iOS-based device.

Ars Technica reports:

The patent, titled "Systems and Methods for Identifying Unauthorized Users of an Electronic Device," describes several ways a device could sense who is using an iPhone or iPad. Among the methods considered are voice print analysis, photo analysis, heartbeat analysis (!), hacking attempts, or even "noting particular activities that can indicate suspicious behavior."

The device could automatically snap pictures of the unauthorized user and record the GPS coordinates of the device, as well as log keystrokes, phone calls, or other activity.

Once an unauthorized user is detected, the device can then automatically disable certain features or send notifications to Twitter or other services.

The patent describes how Apple plans to detect an unauthorized user:

[0060]To detect an unauthorized user, process 610 of FIG. 6b can determine whether particular activities are identified at step 612. As described above, the particular activities can include any activities indicating suspicious behavior such as, for example, entering an incorrect password a predetermined number of times in a row, entering an incorrect password a predetermined number of times within a period of time, hacking the electronic device, jailbreaking the electronic device, unlocking of the electronic device, removing a SIM card from the electronic device, moving the electronic device a predetermined distance from a synced device, or any combination of the above. If a particular activity is identified, the current user can be detected as an unauthorized user at step 614. If, however, a particular activity is not identified, process 610 can end at step 616.

Though the patent seems to indicate that Apple’s intention is to protect iPhone users from their device being accessed by an unauthorized user, the description of unauthorized activity has raised eyebrows especially since the patent doesn’t provide details on whether Apple or the owner of the device will have the ability to remotely disable the device.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 21st, 2010, 3:41 pm

KOTF wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:I feel I blight with my 3g

I keep getting an error 6, nothing apple/google suggests.. IDK what to do again.

Help?

PM me in details your problem.

They are a few tricks you can do before and avoid that problem

when trying to update I keep getting error 6 right when the phone is being verified by apple. I tried different firmwares, even letting itunes do the updating and it still wont work

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » August 22nd, 2010, 9:48 am

triniwattage increased their price for the factory unlocked 16gb iphone4 pre ordered from 5700 to 6500

Postby M_2NR » August 22nd, 2010, 11:49 am

gready123456 wrote:triniwattage increased their price for the factory unlocked 16gb iphone4 pre ordered from 5700 to 6500

they should probably make a post on tuner? or get a powerseller status?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2010, 7:52 pm

Motorola Droid 2 follows iPhone 4′s Antennagate Issue
Posted: 22 Aug 2010 06:55 AM PDT

Apple’s iPhone 4 is not the only victim of antennagate issue! Motorola’s much hyped phone Droid 2 is also showing the symptoms of antenna-fever and the users have already started reporting it to the company.

This time the Droid 2 signal issue seems to be different from what we have heard and seen in iPhone 4 devices. Some Droid 2 users are claiming that the new phone has antenna reception problem and it appears without even touching to the actual device.
hmmm

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 22nd, 2010, 7:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:iCade

Are you an old school gamer? Love the feel of real buttons as you blast aliens? Then this one of a kind iPad Arcade dock might be right up your alley.

The iPad Arcade was inspired by the iCade which was “launched” as an April Fools joke by the folks at ThinkGeek. To use the iPad Arcade you’ll need to have a jailbroken iPad loaded with a NES, SNES or Playstation emulator and games.

The iPad Arcade is hand built and features a joystick, four play buttons, a start and select button. You’ll need two AA batteries (not included) to power the Bluetooth interface used to connect the iPad to the iPad Arcade.

You can pickup the iPad Arcade on e-Bay. The bidding is currently at £122 ($190 US) and the auction ends August 28. Game on!

what game is that in the video ?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 22nd, 2010, 9:07 pm

Multifl0w is how we feel Apple should have implemented multitasking into iOS in the first place. It works quickly, beautifully, and efficiently on jailbroken iPhones, iPod touches and... iPads! The app collaborates with the free "backgrounder" app from Cydia and displays up to 9 apps at a time. You can get the app on the Cydia store for $4.99.

JWT

Postby JWT » August 22nd, 2010, 10:09 pm

that app is great

JWT

Postby JWT » August 23rd, 2010, 2:13 am

ok i loaded MyWi and so far it is working great
3gs on ios4

i got a cracked version and working great so far

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 23rd, 2010, 10:24 am

Fortune reports that analyst Charlie Wolf has broken down IDC numbers on Apple's Mac sales for June and shows incredibly high growth in government spending.

Not only did Mac share triple in government, but it doubled in large business as well:

Wolf also points out that Mac sales are booming in European homes, likely a benefactor of the iPhone halo effect. He notes the halo effect is much stronger in Europe because the iPhone has grabbed a much larger market share. That, he says is due to the fact that the iPhone is available on all carriers.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2010, 11:40 am

^ growth

a 2yr old can show remarkable growth in 2 months, but it doesn't make him taller or bigger than a 10yr old :|

glad to see more govt orgs and businesses getting in on the iOS bandwagon though - it's worth it!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 23rd, 2010, 12:53 pm

The end of Apple's free iPhone 4 case giveaway, along with improved production of the iPad, will help the company's gross margins improve, one analyst believes.

Apple Chief Financial Officer Peter Oppenheimer last week participated in a conference call with New York-based investment firm Gleacher & Company. Unsurprisingly, Oppenheimer did not reveal any incremental information about Apple, but analyst Brian Marshall did state he believes Apple's gross margin profile is in the process of bottoming.

"In fact, if we are correct in our assessment that 'antenna-gate' is behind us and the bumper give-away will cease soon, APPL's gross margin will automatically improve 100bps assuming all else equal (due to $175mil revenue deferral reversal)," he wrote. "If this happens, in our view, one of the greatest investor concerns will be lifted."

In the company's last quarterly earnings conference call, Apple said it would defer about $175 million to buy cases for the iPhone 4 Case Program. That cost will be recognized upon delivery to customers.

In July, Apple Chief Executive Steve Jobs announced that his company would give away free cases to all iPhone 4 buyers through Sept. 30. After that date, the company will review the situation and conclude whether or not it will continue the giveaway.

In addition to the potential conclusion of the iPhone 4 Case Program, Marshall also sees Apple's margins improving as production of the iPad continues to ramp up and the manufacturing process continues to improve.

Marshall also noted that the Mac is likely to see market share gains in the current quarter due to a strong back-to-school season. He also does not believe that the iPad is cannibalistic to any of Apple's other products, and he projected that the new iAds mobile advertising network could drive roughly $1 in incremental annual earnings per share when fully ramped.

Finally, Marshall also noted that Apple seems to launch "revolutionary products" on a three-year cycle: The iPod ramp took place in 2004, the iPhone was launched in 2007, and the iPad debuted in 2010. Next up for Apple, he believes, is the living room, perhaps in 2013.

"For now, we will have to be satisfied with Apple TV," he said.

Gleacher & Company reiterated its "buy" rating for AAPL stock, and has maintained a price target of $345.

------

Patently Apple does what they do and today found some patents related to a touch based iMac-type computer. These patents cover the sensors in the hinge that would change settings based on the orientation of the iMac Touch. For instance, if the thing is upright, it would accept input based on keyboard/trackpad but if laid flat, it would accept touch input. Now, when can we haz? 10.7!

JWT

Postby JWT » August 23rd, 2010, 1:58 pm

SRASC wrote:Multifl0w is how we feel Apple should have implemented multitasking into iOS in the first place. It works quickly, beautifully, and efficiently on jailbroken iPhones, iPod touches and... iPads! The app collaborates with the free "backgrounder" app from Cydia and displays up to 9 apps at a time. You can get the app on the Cydia store for $4.99.

installed it but it has drawbacks on ios4

it does not allow you to close apps running in the background such as cydia, phone,messages and settings as well as other items.

it will allow you to toggle between apps suck as skype, facebook, mail and safari.

still prefer the standard ios4 toggle

Postby M_2NR » August 23rd, 2010, 2:01 pm

JWT, proswitcher coming out again soon 8)

JWT

Postby JWT » August 23rd, 2010, 2:14 pm

pallie i was up late last nite trying to figure these stuff out as i am new

and the best way to internet tether on ios4 is the following:

1. open cydia
2. open manage sources
3. add source cydia.myrepospace.com/atomicmufin
4. scroll down to tether me works great with your bluetooth simple and easy
5. go into settings-general-network-internet tethering- ON thas it :lol: :lol: 8-)

the MyWi cracked you need to install Rock to make it work and it was buggy but tether me works great