*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby hover11 » April 29th, 2025, 12:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:When can we see the exact voting figures for PNM strongholds why are they withholding that information

up to now is still 1 vote for each PNM seat along east/west corridor :roll: like ebc stop counting and went home and sleep
Because they can't even see they way much less for those figures

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 12:45 pm

Ten Leadership Lessons from the Trinidad & Tobago General Elections

1. Lesson from Kamla Persad-Bissessar:
If you have psychological and emotional resilience you will win in spite of humiliation, betrayal, failure, mistakes and aging.

2. Lesson from Gary Griffith:
Being highly rated in one job doesn’t necessarily translate into being highly rated in another. Know your lane.

3. Lesson from Mikela Panday:
Success requires more than a good name; one must have a proven track record to back-up a good name.

4. Lesson from Stewart Young:
Leadership is not gifted, it is earned.

5. Lesson from Keith Rowley:
It doesn’t matter how loyal you perceive your people to be, if you push them too far, you lose them.

6. Lesson from the PNM:
Sometimes losing is the best thing to happen to you. It provides the opportunities for introspection, clarity and reset that winning never will.

7. Lesson from the UNC “Dissidents”:
In spite of anger, disappointment or bitterness, always consider the future long-term implications of current decisions.

8. Lesson from Farley Augustine:
You can punch above your weight and win. David can still defeat Goliath.

9. Lesson from the “Pop-up” political parties:
Ignoring reality is not a winning strategy.

10. Lesson from the UNC:
There is such a thing as second chances. Make it count.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/16S4vmEGFU/

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 29th, 2025, 1:01 pm

25-14-2
26-13-2
26-14-1
28-11-2
Is all kinda results people pelting out on the streets here, jumbling my good nice calm lunchtime

Postby j.o.e » April 29th, 2025, 1:07 pm

j.o.e wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Where is

St 7?
Joe ?
Wing?
Habit7?
Eliteauto?

All these fail to question PNM 10 yr of terrorism.

Congratulations on your win zoom. Even though I know you assert that you are not a UNC supporter but really against PNM.
So congrats on ousting the PNM. I wish KPB every success and I hope she delivers on the mantra that when UNC wins EVERYBODY wins , if she is even moderately successful it would benefit many of the citizens.
I live/own property in a UNC stronghold and I still vote in San Fernando East, a PNM stronghold which looks more marginal now. So I look forward to seeing how things change over the next few years.
I leave the country tomorrow for a few weeks and I will be following closely on the appointments as this will indicate how we move forward.
My win?

I said a year now that bago holds the keys to the government.

Had bago remained PNM, then Trinidad would still be PNM.

Bago is the downfall of PNM not Trinidad

Well even without the Tobago seats the UNC brought it home in T&T so not sure if I understand.
No, u still don't understand

It was bago that gave UNC the win.

The actions in bago over the 10 year cause pnm downfall

I’ll take your word for it but I don’t see the connection although I agree you understand the Tobago politics more than me

Postby timelapse » April 29th, 2025, 1:23 pm

j.o.e wrote:

St 7?
Joe ?
Wing?
Habit7?
Eliteauto?

Congratulations on your win zoom. Even though I know you assert that you are not a UNC supporter but really against PNM.
So congrats on ousting the PNM. I wish KPB every success and I hope she delivers on the mantra that when UNC wins EVERYBODY wins , if she is even moderately successful it would benefit many of the citizens.
I live/own property in a UNC stronghold and I still vote in San Fernando East, a PNM stronghold which looks more marginal now. So I look forward to seeing how things change over the next few years.
I leave the country tomorrow for a few weeks and I will be following closely on the appointments as this will indicate how we move forward.
My win?

Well even without the Tobago seats the UNC brought it home in T&T so not sure if I understand.

I’ll take your word for it but I don’t see the connection although I agree you understand the Tobago politics more than me

Zoom is correct here IMO. Tobago started the movement away from tribalism because they were first to realize that PNM does not have their interest at heart

Postby zoom rader » April 29th, 2025, 1:32 pm

timelapse wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

St 7?
Joe ?
Wing?
Habit7?
Eliteauto?

My win?

Zoom is correct here IMO. Tobago started the movement away from tribalism because they were first to realize that PNM does not have their interest at heart
Yes, that is the point I was trying to make, but I could not put the words to it, still stale drunk

Like I said, kams better not play with black folk

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2025, 2:05 pm

that little “realize” is all it takes to set a lot of ppl free from the mental slavery they are in
yet many resist due to battered wife syndrome

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 29th, 2025, 2:09 pm

Someone need to go and interview people who didn't vote for UNC in 2020 but voted for them in 2025.

Also we need a documentary on trini Twitter beat up

Postby timelapse » April 29th, 2025, 2:09 pm

timelapse wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

St 7?
Joe ?
Wing?
Habit7?
Eliteauto?

My win?

Yes, that is the point I was trying to make, but I could not put the words to it, still stale drunk

Do you also agree that UNC backed off from Tobago to give them a fighting chance?

Postby goalpost » April 29th, 2025, 2:21 pm

When the final scores coming out? Since when this does take so long?

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2025, 2:21 pm

viedcht wrote:25-14-2
26-13-2
26-14-1
28-11-2
Is all kinda results people pelting out on the streets here, jumbling my good nice calm lunchtime
Farris said the sando west was very close and sounding like a recount in order ... I agree.

Sando east is gonna get a recount. Only off by a 1k votes .

Even still , pnm maxi still need one to go!

killercow

Postby killercow » April 29th, 2025, 2:21 pm

timelapse wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
My win?

Do you also agree that UNC backed off from Tobago to give them a fighting chance?
UNC never needed to contest Tobago. The enemy of my enemy is my friend.

Postby goalpost » April 29th, 2025, 2:21 pm

Also somebody need to help those Twitter peeps. They dying across there

Postby matr1x » April 29th, 2025, 2:23 pm

Pnm ppl sowing seeds of discontent.

A few done saying the election rigged

Postby goalpost » April 29th, 2025, 2:26 pm

How come not a single election count for the seats PNM win?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 29th, 2025, 2:39 pm

goalpost wrote:How come not a single election count for the seats PNM win?

The counters give up in embarrassment?

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 2:43 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Someone need to go and interview people who didn't vote for UNC in 2020 but voted for them in 2025.

Also we need a documentary on trini Twitter beat up

goalpost wrote:Also somebody need to help those Twitter peeps. They dying across there

Post some links guys, need some entertainment :drinking:

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2025, 2:43 pm

goalpost wrote:Also somebody need to help those Twitter peeps. They dying across there
Post some screen shots nah.. Gives us a taste

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 3:18 pm

History made in Point Fortin, La Brea as trade unionists win

In a stunning political upset, the PNM strongholds of La Brea and Point Fortin fell to the UNC, marking a historic shift that left residents reeling with disbelief, awe, and jubilation.

Labour leaders Ernesto Kezar from the Oilfield Workers Trade Union and Clyde Elder from the Communication Workers Trade Union secured unprecedented victories in the Point Fortin and La Brea constituencies long plagued by poverty, unemployment, and neglect.

Speaking to Guardian Media on Tuesday, Kezar, who contested and lost in 2020, said the victory was unexpected.

“Right now, I have not processed this entire situation,” Kezar said. “We were heavy on the campaign trail. It has been a hard and gruelling campaign, and it brought results.”

Kezar credited his team, which included trade union leaders and young volunteers.

“I could not have gotten this success without my entire campaign team. We had over 106 persons walking with me. We didn’t pay them. People just said, ‘Listen, we for the cause’,” he told Guardian Media.

He said his campaign focused on the issues facing the average person.

“We weren’t here to tell you what the other side didn’t do,” he noted. “We were here to say that all that has happened in the last nine years did not benefit the average person.”

Kezar pointed to the closure of Petrotrin and Trinmar as major blows to the community.

“Since the shutdown of Trinmar and Petrotrin, and the [loss] of all these workers, that was a major impact in Point Fortin. There has not been anything to replace that.”

He described the economic state of the constituency as one where people have been “limping along economically.”

Kezar said the victory represented more than a party win.

“When UNC win, everybody win,” he asserted. “People have been beaten economically, socially, and politically for the last seven to nine years. People just decided, ‘Let’s try something different.’ They took a chance on Ernesto Kezar. And by Almighty God, I hope that we’re not going to disappoint Point Fortin.”

He described the campaign as one owned by the people.

“They own the campaign. Ownership translates now to the ownership of being able to have an impact and benefit from the governance that is going to come under my leadership.”

Kezar noted that although he had previously contested the seat with the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ), the difference this time was being part of a mass party.

“The MSJ had the proper policies, but we only fought five seats. We did not present ourselves as a national party,” he observed.

“This time, with the UNC, labour, COP, and the People’s Empowerment Party,” he said, “it was a nice mixture with an excellent campaign strategy.”

He said young people were at the centre of his campaign.

“We had a lot of young initiatives. It was not just to attract youth. When we told young people what we were going to do in terms of job creation and stimulating the economy, it resonated,” he explained.

Kezar vowed to advocate for Point Fortin’s fair share in national programs.

“There’s a program in Chatham where over 200 young people were given land. Only five persons from Point Fortin benefited. I have to make sure that people from Point Fortin benefit.”

In La Brea, Elder said the UNC victory was historic.

“Never before has an opposition UNC won the seat,” he said.

Elder, who had just weeks to prepare, said he was not surprised by his win.

“I was almost confident of the victory. Based on the campaign I ran, and the UNC ran,” Elder said, “I think we did an excellent campaign this year.”

He said the mood in La Brea was one of disbelief and euphoria.

“There’s that historic feat of attempting to win the seat for so many years and not doing it. Now to cross the line and get over the line to that victory—people [are] just absolutely elated. It’s almost like a surreal feeling.”

Asked about his priorities, Elder told Guardian Media:

“I am here to serve the people, as the incoming Prime Minister has told us: ‘Serve the people. Serve the people,. Serve the people’.”

He said the main issues are, “unemployment, underemployment, and poverty in La Brea. That should not be existing. Then comes water, roads, and infrastructure.”

As a labour advocate, Elder said he would push for change to labour laws.

He said there was much work already done through committees like the International Labour Committee.

“We have done excellent work on those committees. Some are low-lying fruits that we could immediately get out of the way.”

Speaking about the short campaign, Elder said:

“The campaign was about six to seven weeks. I would have started campaigning from morning straight into the night. It was tiring, but it was fun. I enjoyed meeting the people.”

Elder also underscored his respect for voters’ rights.

“We will not meet people of the same persuasions that we have, and that too is acceptable,” he said. “That is our defined right to support any political party of our choice.”

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/history-made-in- ... nists-win/

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 3:39 pm

Secretary Marco Rubio @SecRubio

Congratulations to Kamla Persad-Bissessar on her election as the next Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago. She is a strong leader, friend, and U.S. ally who shares @POTUS's priorities on security and immigration. We look forward to building a close partnership for the future of Trinidad and Tobago, and the entire Caribbean.

https://x.com/SecRubio/status/1917294780201013596

Postby Gladiator » April 29th, 2025, 3:49 pm

Where are the numbers.... Why can we see statistics?

Postby j.o.e » April 29th, 2025, 3:52 pm

Gladiator wrote:Where are the numbers.... Why can we see statistics?

Final numbers after recount which has already been requested and started

Postby hover11 » April 29th, 2025, 4:04 pm

MANNING SEAT is getting a recount.

Imagine riding on your father's name and the seat your father held to be neck and neck with a man who is new to politics yet acted on the ground and supported the ppl in the area to the point you only beat him by 500 votes. A recount is needed but I also hope Brian understands that the ppl does not want him there and he can't be riding on his father's strength for much longer.

Postby bluefete » April 29th, 2025, 4:16 pm

Why TOBAGO kicked out the PNM:

Postby bluefete » April 29th, 2025, 4:31 pm

ELECTION OBSERVERS SAY CAMPAIGN FINANCE REFORM DESPERATELY NEEDED.

NEVER GONNA HAPPEN.

Postby bluefete » April 29th, 2025, 4:35 pm

Max - How allyuh could kick out the pilot bai?

I thought you said he was a best performing minister?

Postby MaxPower » April 29th, 2025, 4:45 pm

bluefete wrote:Max - How allyuh could kick out the pilot bai?

I thought you said he was a best performing minister?

Weyyyy and thas my area. I did not expect that at all.

Rel rel nice MP, he did alot.

But the people didn’t want to give the UNC that seat. I rel wish he had jump ship.

Wwgd

Postby 88sins » April 29th, 2025, 5:03 pm

timelapse wrote:Zoom is correct here IMO. Tobago started the movement away from tribalism because they were first to realize that PNM does not have their interest at heart

And it only took that sandals to deal to open their eyes

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2025, 5:03 pm

hover11 wrote:MANNING SEAT is getting a recount.

Imagine riding on your father's name and the seat your father held to be neck and neck with a man who is new to politics yet acted on the ground and supported the ppl in the area to the point you only beat him by 500 votes. A recount is needed but I also hope Brian understands that the ppl does not want him there and he can't be riding on his father's strength for much longer.

Also recounts in Malabar/Mausica and Arouca/Lopinot.

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2025, 5:11 pm

goalpost wrote:When the final scores coming out? Since when this does take so long?

they eh even release the interim numbers :roll: PNM only get 1 vote in all d east west corridor seats apparently