Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby st7 » September 24th, 2024, 12:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
st7 wrote:what happening on May 26?

i keeping that in my back pocket

and when I ready I going to move it to my front pocket

you din answer the question

why is it hard for you to be straightforward with anything? you only spew nonsense with no legit proof.

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2024, 12:31 pm

what more allyuh want kamla to do? swear on the bhagavad gita? i remember under kamla we paid no property tax.

Postby mero » September 24th, 2024, 12:41 pm

Kamla and UNC also say we don't acknowledge Maduro as the vene president. Let's see how that gonna turn out when she is victorious. But daz a talk for a next ched

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 24th, 2024, 12:43 pm

We have to go with what she says and then hold her to it

That's how it works

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2024, 12:45 pm

All the ppl that for pnm and for the tax hope you singing the same tune when imbert say he wants to increase the percentage of the assumed rental value if they win. Two percent was a compromise, that falls below the percentage he actually wants.Forget kamla, she has ZERO influence over that, the ppl will have to blame themselves

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 24th, 2024, 1:17 pm

Taxpayers say property tax extension no real relief
Screenshot_20240924-131516 (1).png

Finance Minister Colm Imbert confirmed yesterday that the new deadline to pay property tax, is November 29, 2024. However, many property owners are still complaining that the cost is too high to bear.

When Guardian Media visited some revenue offices yesterday, there were visibly shorter lines, but some people, especially pensioners, said they were still pained with having to pay hundreds and even thousands of dollars in property tax.

Speaking outside the Inland Revenue division in Port-of-Spain, 73-year-old Dan Farrell and his 66-year-old wife Mary, from Diego Martin, said paying $539 in property tax may not seem like much for some people, but for them, it will be a struggle.

Dan said, “I am a pensioner. I find the cost is too high. We already have high food costs. We have to pay lights, water and now look at the amount of money they are charging you and it’s a yearly thing... I ain’t want them throwing us on the street because it seems as though that is their intention if you can’t pay for it, they take away your home.”

Echoing similar sentiments, Mary said, “We take whatever little money we have, and we come and do it. It too high for poor people like us.”

At the Revenue office in Tunapuna, Janelle Codrington said property tax for her family’s three-bedroom home in Champs Fleurs was more than $2,000.

And although there may be an extension to pay the fee, it doesn’t lighten her burden.

Codrington said, “An extension date doesn’t change the fact that you still have to pay it. You still have to pay... It’s ridiculous. I’m being honest, it is ridiculous. But, I have to come and pay it until better could be done about it. We really hope that they change it, and they stop with that because you have to pay for too many things and everything expensive at the end of the day. Why should we have to pay property tax? Why? Amongst everything else.”

Some people also complained that both offices in Port-of -Spain and Tunapuna were still only accepting cash or cheques and no linx.

Guardian Media observed signs indicating “cash only” and “no linx” at both offices.

As such, some people who wanted to pay with their bank cards were turned away.

However, Imbert took to social media yesterday to say that this is what people preferred.

Imbert said, “On August 16 2024, we published the National Financial Inclusion Survey Report 2023. This survey confirmed that 82 per cent of our citizens prefer to deal in cash, rather than online payments, and 85 per cent do not have a credit card. So why is the media demanding that all payments be online? The irony is that while the leader of the Opposition has declared that she is resolutely opposed to any transition to cashless payments in T&T, because in her mind this would compromise private banking information, the UNC Opposition Couva South MP is demanding online payments!”

In parliament on Friday, Imbert said a new property tax extension date would have been announced yesterday.

And by the end of October, it is expected that the Board of Inland Revenue will be able to accept payments by Automated Clearing House (ACH) bank transfer credit card.

But as he remained tightlipped on this aspect yesterday, some people said they aren’t taking any chances.

Maloney Gardens resident Veetlin Butcher said, “People must feel they could take their time now because of what he said, because it’s not up to the 30th anymore. That’s probably why it has such little bit of people. But, I decided I’m still coming today because I always planned to come today. I just want to get it off my chest. It don’t matter if you fuss, you still have to pay it.”

Guardian Media reached out to the Finance Ministry on this yesterday but received no response up to press time.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/taxpayers-say-property-tax-extension-no-real-relief-6.2.2116295.82ed2b854d

Postby The_Honourable » September 24th, 2024, 1:40 pm

But imbert is a kant (as usual) with his response about the revenue offices not having something basic as linx machines.

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2024, 1:52 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Allya will need to sell some of your property to pay the property tax.

If everyone selling who buying?
Black rock and vanguard .. Is a world wide thing.

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2024, 1:56 pm

mero wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
mero wrote:If it's known kamla not gonna axe tax

what jackassness allyuh talking

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... d8e99.html

Kamla: Axe the wicked tax
Mar 19, 2024

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has called for a total repeal of the Property Tax Amendment Act.

She argued that people are under more pressure now than they were 15 years ago when this “poverty” tax was first introduced.

In her contribution to the Property Tax Amendment Bill 2024 at the Parliament sitting yesterday, the former prime minister also made it “categorically clear” that she owns no property abroad.

She was responding to Finance Minister Colm Imbert who said Opposition members pay exorbitant property taxes in other countries where they have properties.

Persad-Bissessar said that in 2009 Dr Keith Rowley stood up against the Patrick Manning government and said the property tax was a burden to the people.

She read Rowley’s words from Hansard: “I know many people in this country for whom $100 is much money, there are many people in this country who are struggling to make ends meet and such persons faced with an increase whether $200, $600 or $500, they are living at the margin.”

She said Rowley spoke about the anger of his Diego Martin West constituents over the tax and questioned what happened to Rowley in the past 15 years that changed him from fighting for his constituents to now saying that the property tax is a priority.

She emphasised that her position remains unchanged - she was against the tax 15 years ago, and today.

“I am of the view that this tax is not property tax, I believe it is poverty tax that will further bring citizens to pauperisation,” she said.

Tax revolts

The tax is form of “open warfare” at a time when the country is experiencing so much hardship with Government-induced high prices and inflation, Persad-Bissessar added.

The Government, she said, should bring a Bill to repeal the Property Tax Act.

“We are totally against the property tax, because it is an unfair tax. It will cause more hardship on the population, we do not support whether it is 0 per cent, 2%, 3%, any per cent, the whole Property Tax Act must go. We say no to it,” she said.

According to Persad-Bissessar, “tax revolts” in other countries led to regime changes, adding that history is replete with revolutions and wars that began because ordinary people refuse to pay unjust unfair taxes to tyrant leaders.

She added that since the beginning of civilisation, tax resistance has caused the collapse of several empires, including Egyptian, Roman, Spanish and Aztec.

Persad-Bissessar narrated the biblical story of Zacchaeus — a short, rich and corrupt chief tax collector.

She said when Jesus passed through Jericho on his way to Jerusalem, Zacchaeus climbed up a sycamore tree to see him, because he was so short.

Persad-Bissessar said Jesus went to the tree and invited Zacchaeus as his guest.

And after this encounter, Zacchaeus said: “Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount.”

Persad-Bissessar said in this holy time of Easter, this story symbolises Jesus’ open arms to all “and therefore I call upon this Government to do like he did…to repeal and remove this wicked tax once for all and call the elections now and take yourself out of Government.”

Glaring errors

Persad-Bissessar also blasted the Government on its speed to bring the Property Tax Amendment Bill and all its glaring errors.

The legislation, she said, is like “property invasion” as the Government is moving swiftly to grab up as much taxes as it can.

The Opposition had warned about the unfair calculation of the property tax, and even in the face of objections from the population on the calculation of Annual Rental Value Imbert has ignored this, she said.

Persad-Bissessar also criticised Imbert’s statement that the tax will be deferred for those who are unable to pay such as pensioners, the elderly and the vulnerable on social support.

“This is where they are going to defer it and when you die it becomes a death tax…it is an inheritance tax because your successor in title will become an inheritor of the tax, they will have to pay it,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar further objected to a provision whereby the minister, subject to negative resolution, could amend the schedule and make changes to the rate for residential property tax.

At present, she noted, it is an affirmative resolution, so the minister must come to the Parliament before any changes are made.

Persad-Bissessar said she disagrees with changing this as she questioned why the Government does not account to the people.
This feels like dejavu yes lol.

Kamla not going and axe no mc tax . Stop setting up yourself for disappointment
De javoo is good enough. Did anyone pay any taxes whilst they are there?

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2024, 2:01 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Mar 19, 2024

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has called for a total repeal of the Property Tax Amendment Act.

She argued that people are under more pressure now than they were 15 years ago when this “poverty” tax was first introduced.

In her contribution to the Property Tax Amendment Bill 2024 at the Parliament sitting yesterday, the former prime minister also made it “categorically clear” that she owns no property abroad.

She was responding to Finance Minister Colm Imbert who said Opposition members pay exorbitant property taxes in other countries where they have properties.

Persad-Bissessar said that in 2009 Dr Keith Rowley stood up against the Patrick Manning government and said the property tax was a burden to the people.

She read Rowley’s words from Hansard: “I know many people in this country for whom $100 is much money, there are many people in this country who are struggling to make ends meet and such persons faced with an increase whether $200, $600 or $500, they are living at the margin.”

She said Rowley spoke about the anger of his Diego Martin West constituents over the tax and questioned what happened to Rowley in the past 15 years that changed him from fighting for his constituents to now saying that the property tax is a priority.

She emphasised that her position remains unchanged - she was against the tax 15 years ago, and today.

“I am of the view that this tax is not property tax, I believe it is poverty tax that will further bring citizens to pauperisation,” she said.

Tax revolts

The tax is form of “open warfare” at a time when the country is experiencing so much hardship with Government-induced high prices and inflation, Persad-Bissessar added.

“We are totally against the property tax, because it is an unfair tax. It will cause more hardship on the population, we do not support whether it is 0 per cent, 2%, 3%, any per cent, the whole Property Tax Act must go. We say no to it,” she said.

According to Persad-Bissessar, “tax revolts” in other countries led to regime changes, adding that history is replete with revolutions and wars that began because ordinary people refuse to pay unjust unfair taxes to tyrant leaders.

She added that since the beginning of civilisation, tax resistance has caused the collapse of several empires, including Egyptian, Roman, Spanish and Aztec.

Persad-Bissessar narrated the biblical story of Zacchaeus — a short, rich and corrupt chief tax collector.

She said when Jesus passed through Jericho on his way to Jerusalem, Zacchaeus climbed up a sycamore tree to see him, because he was so short.

Persad-Bissessar said Jesus went to the tree and invited Zacchaeus as his guest.

And after this encounter, Zacchaeus said: “Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount.”

Persad-Bissessar said in this holy time of Easter, this story symbolises Jesus’ open arms to all “and therefore I call upon this Government to do like he did…to repeal and remove this wicked tax once for all and call the elections now and take yourself out of Government.”

Glaring errors

Persad-Bissessar also blasted the Government on its speed to bring the Property Tax Amendment Bill and all its glaring errors.

The legislation, she said, is like “property invasion” as the Government is moving swiftly to grab up as much taxes as it can.

The Opposition had warned about the unfair calculation of the property tax, and even in the face of objections from the population on the calculation of Annual Rental Value Imbert has ignored this, she said.

Persad-Bissessar also criticised Imbert’s statement that the tax will be deferred for those who are unable to pay such as pensioners, the elderly and the vulnerable on social support.

“This is where they are going to defer it and when you die it becomes a death tax…it is an inheritance tax because your successor in title will become an inheritor of the tax, they will have to pay it,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar further objected to a provision whereby the minister, subject to negative resolution, could amend the schedule and make changes to the rate for residential property tax.

At present, she noted, it is an affirmative resolution, so the minister must come to the Parliament before any changes are made.

Persad-Bissessar said she disagrees with changing this as she questioned why the Government does not account to the people.
Doh study mero and st7... Dem does eat callalloo with balisier flowers .

Them jess come to chain up people to go pay .

The way they roll out this sounding like some scheme ... If it squash and they hadda reimburse , u will hadda apply or sue....and who gonna sue for 500?

Postby st7 » September 24th, 2024, 2:47 pm

what i hadda do with what kamla say? lol

allyuh PEA bottom lickers is the same yes. spewing baseless sheit as always and seeing what sticks.

FYI i not for this property tax BS. poor ppl are affected hard by this and done know this govt not gonna do on sheit to improve anything but just steal money

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 24th, 2024, 7:12 pm

generic wrote:
MISHI wrote:
generic wrote:
Are you certain you received a Notice of Assessment from the BIR, or could it be a Notice of Valuation from the Valuations Division? These are two distinct documents. The Notice of Valuation only provides your Annual Rental Value, while the Notice of Assessment uses this value to calculate your tax.

I received only a Notice of Valuation. I suppose I may need to go in and find out what the assessment is.

You could calculate it yourself.
ARV x 0.90 x 0.02

I know. I just was under the thought that you needed to have the "Notice of Assessment" prior to paying.

generic

Postby generic » September 24th, 2024, 7:31 pm

MISHI wrote:
generic wrote:
MISHI wrote:
generic wrote:
Are you certain you received a Notice of Assessment from the BIR, or could it be a Notice of Valuation from the Valuations Division? These are two distinct documents. The Notice of Valuation only provides your Annual Rental Value, while the Notice of Assessment uses this value to calculate your tax.

I received only a Notice of Valuation. I suppose I may need to go in and find out what the assessment is.

You could calculate it yourself.
ARV x 0.90 x 0.02

I know. I just was under the thought that you needed to have the "Notice of Assessment" prior to paying.

The Notice of Assessment is a sure indicator that you are in fact registered in BIR's system. If you aren't they won't be able to accept your payment. Potentially you could call and have them check for your PIN... granted someone actually answers the phone

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 24th, 2024, 7:52 pm

Cool yourself, no assessment, do not pay

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2024, 5:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Mar 19, 2024

Tax revolts

Glaring errors

Kamla just love to yap
I want an explanation from her on why is it, that when she had the opportunity, in government with massive majority in parliament, that she and her minions did not repeal it and put forward legislation to permanently bring an end to any form or amount of property tax ever in this country from thence forth

Postby hover11 » September 26th, 2024, 5:35 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Mar 19, 2024

Tax revolts

Glaring errors

Kamla just love to yap
I want an explanation from her on why is it, that when she had the opportunity, in government with massive majority in parliament, that she and her minions did not repeal it and put forward legislation to permanently bring an end to any form or amount of property tax ever in this country from thence forth
Sins,

Please remember Kamla only had FIVE years.Surely, you can't expect the woman to address everything in just five years. Probably if the citizenry gave her another term as they did with the Rowley led PNM administration, she may have done such. However, let's stay focused on who reimplemented the tax and using it to their advantage at this time

Postby The_Honourable » September 26th, 2024, 6:23 pm

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Mar 19, 2024

Tax revolts

Glaring errors

Kamla just love to yap
Sins,

Please remember Kamla only had FIVE years.Surely, you can't expect the woman to address everything in just five years. Probably if the citizenry gave her another term as they did with the Rowley led PNM administration, she may have done such. However, let's stay focused on who reimplemented the tax and using it to their advantage at this time

Hover, while we can stay focused on who brought back this property tax, you can't escape sins point.

Repeal should have been one of the first things that she did since the partnership (chiefly the COP) ran on the axe the tax campaign. The "she just had 5 years" excuse valid in some cases but don't cut it for this one. Repealing this act could have been easily done, is not constitution reform we are talking about.

Postby paid_influencer » September 26th, 2024, 6:26 pm

why didnt the COP raise it tho
they had the leverage

Postby hover11 » September 26th, 2024, 6:36 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Mar 19, 2024

Tax revolts

Glaring errors

Kamla just love to yap
Sins,

Hover, while we can stay focused on who brought back this property tax, you can't escape sins point.

Repeal should have been one of the first things that she did since the partnership (chiefly the COP) ran on the axe the tax campaign. The "she just had 5 years" excuse valid in some cases but don't cut it for this one. Repealing this act could have been easily done, is not constitution reform we are talking about.
Honourable , you know how coalition governments are. The vested interests of many , multiple goals, I'm not making excuses for such but it may have been on the list of priorities however time did not permit. This does not diminish or negate the accomplishments that were made within the five years. I'm just saying if a tax wasn't active for many years it would be on the back burner and more pressing issues would be dealt with.

Postby paid_influencer » September 26th, 2024, 7:07 pm

it is true that axe the tax was a COP platform issue and not a UNC platform issue
questions on why certain legislative actions were not taken
should be directed to the COP platform leadership that sat in parliament for 5 years

this time around it is a UNC platform issue tho
kamla will get it done

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2024, 8:00 pm

paid_influencer wrote:it is true that axe the tax was a COP platform issue and not a UNC platform issue
questions on why certain legislative actions were not taken
should be directed to the COP platform leadership that sat in parliament for 5 years

this time around it is a UNC platform issue tho
kamla will get it done

Only thing kamla gonna get done, is the frequent and thorough emptying bottles of puncheon into her gi tract, and turning a blind eye to her fellow politicians questionable conduct.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 26th, 2024, 8:14 pm

People good yes man putting more blame on the one who did not repeal versus who implemented it yes

A lot of people I know are not against the principle of the tax but the way it was implemented.

And that lies solely on the short beep and his lap puppy who identifies as a Rottweiler

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 26th, 2024, 8:18 pm

This election is all about the PNM, and are we better of as a nation

10 years is enough for Rowley and his minions to have made some sort of progress

Instead, we are actually far worse off by every single matrix

dogg

Postby dogg » September 28th, 2024, 4:56 pm

more like there's no alternative.
hover11 wrote:Allya men have battered women syndrome yes, we going by our abuser because we don't like the alternative, sounding like women who say crap like a man doesn't love you if he doesn't beat you. PNM doesn't love you unless they suffer you I guess.
dogg wrote:I dislike PNM more than most.

But, I dislike pandering Kamla and her disorganised, infighting band of losers more.

So PNM it is.

zoom rader wrote:All these old people complaining?

Yet still they vote PNM

Jack arse Country

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 28th, 2024, 5:30 pm

PariaMan wrote:This election is all about the PNM, and are we better of as a nation

10 years is enough for Rowley and his minions to have made some sort of progress

Nah man ... I know people who gave Rowley a chance twice.

I say we give him another chance ... What do we have to lose?

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2024, 6:42 pm

drchaos wrote:
PariaMan wrote:This election is all about the PNM, and are we better of as a nation

U are a cnt

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2024, 6:45 pm

drchaos wrote:

Doctor,

Surely you jest, can you picture another Five years of Rowley, just picture how the country coupled with the economy, crime and general attitude of the ppl will be with five more years of ....this.

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2024, 8:54 am

PariaMan wrote:People good yes man putting more blame on the one who did not repeal versus who implemented it yes

A lot of people I know are not against the principle of the tax but the way it was implemented.

And that lies solely on the short beep and his lap puppy who identifies as a Rottweiler

You seem more than a little confused.

A toolumhead and his minions tell a bunch of idiots prior to election day "is property tax in yuh mc if yuh vote for we", and the idiots vote for them and then complain about property tax.
Then, a bunch of lying arseholes come together to form a coalition, shouting the mantra "axe the tax, vote for we and we will get rid of property tax", idiots vote for them, and they then proceed to do all kinda questionable and unethical not to mention criminal shite, damn near everything wrong under the sun that they could think of with their rather limited intelligence, EXCEPT what they promised to do, while they could have very easily done it.

In a nutshell, the point is this
Politicians in this country DO NOT GIVE A GOOD GOD DAMN ABOUT ANYONE OR ANYTHING ELSE OTHER THAN THEMSELVES AND LINING THEIR POCKETS, and they are more than happy and willing to do this at the expense of the wider population, who they view to be as intelligent as an old wet kitchen sponge, and the population, if they truly want better, MUST recognize this and take action to put a stop to it, to quote Malcolm X, "by any means necessary".

Postby zoom rader » September 29th, 2024, 9:06 am

PariaMan wrote:People good yes man putting more blame on the one who did not repeal versus who implemented it yes

You seem more than a little confused.

A toolumhead and his minions tell a bunch of idiots prior to election day "is property tax in yuh mc if yuh vote for we", and the idiots vote for them and then complain about property tax.
Then, a bunch of lying arseholes come together to form a coalition, shouting the mantra "axe the tax, vote for we and we will get rid of property tax", idiots vote for them, and they then proceed to do all kinda questionable and unethical not to mention criminal shite, damn near everything wrong under the sun that they could think of with their rather limited intelligence, EXCEPT what they promised to do, while they could have very easily done it.

In a nutshell, the point is this
Politicians in this country DO NOT GIVE A GOOD GOD DAMN ABOUT ANYONE OR ANYTHING ELSE OTHER THAN THEMSELVES AND LINING THEIR POCKETS, and they are more than happy and willing to do this at the expense of the wider population, who they view to be as intelligent as an old wet kitchen sponge, and the population, if they truly want better, MUST recognize this and take action to put a stop to it, to quote Malcolm X, "by any means necessary".
Tuner is full of Conts like Eliteauto,

This Cont has never spoken out on the unjust of house tax, but pretends he unbiased

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 29th, 2024, 9:11 am

Ent the option to defer the tax if you cannot pay, like in the case of a pensioner, still available? Or did they amend that? Was telling someone who is a pensioner 3yrs now, I think that is an option