zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:so who are you ? why should God go against his word for you?how did you know he forgives? are you a good person?zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:what if you are wrong?zcarz wrote:you SHOULD believe me because it makes sense, why do you believe the Bible?
and obviously i don't know everything, i can only postulate.
why should God punish me for creating sensible opinions if I am a good person? Surely if I am wrong, God will be level-headed enough to accept my logic because after all it is logic, and God created logic and He would forgive me, when He would be to blame for not making His existence explicitly clear.
I'm going with the Bible, the Bible says he is forgiving, so He should forgive me for being sensible, so it's either He is forgiving or He doesn't exist (as you imagine Him), and I am a good person, but that is irrelevant to the discussion.
zcarz wrote:my perception of what is right and wrong is different to yours. i am speaking generally, i doh go around killing everybody.
megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:my perception of what is right and wrong is different to yours. i am speaking generally, i doh go around killing everybody.
God isnt concern with that! He is concerned with keeping his sacred ten commandment
did you break any?
take it easy that new commandment is for believers/followers of Christ and it doesn't replace any otherzcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:my perception of what is right and wrong is different to yours. i am speaking generally, i doh go around killing everybody.
God isnt concern with that! He is concerned with keeping his sacred ten commandment
did you break any?
Yea I broke most, and if you have ever looked at the New Testament you will see that Jesus put a new commandment to replace the others:
" A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another. {John 13:31-35 RSV}
I'm disappointed megadoc, even someone that doesn't believe in Christianity knows more about it than you.
megadoc1 wrote:take it easy that new commandment is for believers/followers of Christzcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:my perception of what is right and wrong is different to yours. i am speaking generally, i doh go around killing everybody.
did you break any?
Yea I broke most, and if you have ever looked at the New Testament you will see that Jesus put a new commandment to replace the others:
" A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another. {John 13:31-35 RSV}
I'm disappointed megadoc, even someone that doesn't believe in Christianity knows more about it than you.
now you said you broke most of the ten commandments
God said the wages of sin is death so if you go before God today you will be judge guilty and because God is a righteous God you will recieve
just punishment because God is just
doesn't this concern you?
zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:take it easy that new commandment is for believers/followers of Christzcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:my perception of what is right and wrong is different to yours. i am speaking generally, i doh go around killing everybody.
did you break any?
now you said you broke most of the ten commandments
God said the wages of sin is death so if you go before God today you will be judge guilty and because God is a righteous God you will recieve
just punishment because God is just
doesn't this concern you?
how you know that, because it convenient?
and for the second part.. i know you have told at least one lie in your life (and who knows probably told even more than me, probably stole even more than me)yes its true I have done a lot of those i probably have less 'sin' than you, possible if this were true (i'm not saying it is) then why should God pick you over me just because you followed him, no because I repentedthat's ass-kissing not justice.
and megadoc , it does replace the others, i had discussions with a priest on quite a few occasions when i first began to question my faith.
zcarz wrote:surely you're not implying that u kno more than a priest, and repenting.. how i love that word.. because a priest can magically absolve you of your sins like if you never did it in the first place... how convenient yet primitive.
I am a "priest"
megadoc1 wrote: doesn't this concern you?
NO!so why then should you recieve forgiveness if you don't care about transgressing God's sacred laws?
megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:surely you're not implying that u kno more than a priest, and repenting.. how i love that word.. because a priest can magically absolve you of your sins like if you never did it in the first place... how convenient yet primitive.
I am a priest
NO!so why then should you recieve forgiveness if you don't care about transgressing God's sacred laws?
according to Gods law if you break them you are cursed and condemned
you dont care?
zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:surely you're not implying that u kno more than a priest, and repenting.. how i love that word.. because a priest can magically absolve you of your sins like if you never did it in the first place... how convenient yet primitive.
I am a priest
according to Gods law if you break them you are cursed and condemned
you dont care?
Are you a priest who preaches to congregations?maybe?
And no I don't care because you are wrong, logically.so why should God forgive you?
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Come one come all, be judged before the great megadoc1
bluefete wrote:It is amazing the amount of abuse Mega & I have put up with just by having a discussion about God.
ok but you aint answer where did I ask if science can prove sin exist ? why do you need to be lying?d spike wrote:...and as I'm on the topic of spouting nonsense...
What is all this twaddle about not belonging to a religion? Have you lost whatever grains of sense you had? Megadoc has also claimed before, but that was just in keeping with his character of braying while not really knowing what he's talking about.
I know where you boys are coming from... in order to evade/avoid queries and jibes about the "bad" aspects of Christianity - Crusades, Inquisitions, Schisms, poorly chosen leaders, odd/strange dogma and doctrine and customs - you claim to be "christian" but "not belonging to any religion". Well, lad, this falls into the same heap as megadoc's question - which I explained previously.
When one studies history, it's easy to see the grave injustices meted out in the name of religion. What the unthinking man doesn't realise, is that people use what tools they have access to, to do the job they want done. If one wishes to rule/conquer, seeming to want to share a religion justifies this, as it must be "right", "God wills it", and so on. If a man stabs another with a knife, does that make the knife evil? Cars aren't wicked, but many folks die due to their use.
You believe that Christ left concepts for man to believe in and follow, but somebody had to teach others what those concepts are... somebody had to say what NOT to do... in short, people had to get involved to keep this belief system alive, and run operations... and when humans get involved in running things, human things happen - after all, they're only human.
Religion, in the true sense of the word, is the relationship man has with his God. We each have religion - genius and ignoramus alike. Religion is also used (in the social sense) to refer to the group that shares their relationship with God. They all share in the same concepts, culture, and style of worship.
So for you to say, "I'm a christian, but I don't belong to any religion." is just a big cop-out - only the latter half of that statement is true. For you to be a "christian", you have to "agape", or whatever you call whatever form of fellowship, somewhere - a follower of Christ, eh? Christ asked his followers to worship together - humans are social animals. Let me guess, you "worship" in a community, but you don't "belong" to that "community". Another grandiose cop-out. Or you worship in a "community" of fellow "drop-outs". That's a group! You share a... religion! Doh!
Whether you like it or not, religion helped play a major role in forming your knowledge, beliefs, and thinking. The very scriptures you read, where did that come from? Who decided what books should and shouldn't be in that great big ring-binder you think of as the bible? So religion was good enough to teach you what concepts you use, what scripture you read... but not good enough to follow...
"Be thee either cold or hot... for if thou art lukewarm, I will vomit thee from my mouth..."
megadoc1 wrote:d spike doh take it orn
d spike wrote:
And... no. I am not going to sift through 100+ pages,no need to I only speak concerning science a few pages aback looking for some irrational nonsense you spouted,but you came up with it as a problem why not show that it is realy there? simply because you want to deny something you probably said.(Isn't it just like you to focus on some little matter, in order to avoid dealing with what was said?no if you can tell lies on the little matters what would you do with the weightier ones.. oh wait you are doing it already Besides, it won't be the first time you deny something that you said a few pages before your denial - but I am not wasting my time.)c'mon prove your self to be true My time is too precious,yea right we seeing that you are too insignificant,then why bother? and whatever you have to say is quite likely immaterial.but but but it bothers you my dear
(By the way, that is how to be condescending. Now, back to your sandbox.)
megadoc1 wrote:d spike wrote:
Some time ago, Megadoc naively attempted to define a fundamentalist christian as one who believes in the fundamental teachings of Christ. He obviously thought that viewers of that post were even less well-read than he was, and as his definition sounds simple and self-explanatory, folks would believe it to be so. He very well knows what it means and refers to: literal application and strict adherence to scripture. Thanks to 9/11, even the most illiterate among us knows the meaning of "fundamentalist".d spike where according to scripture am I to do so?d spike wrote:I trust that those with eyes can see... if megadoc was in a position to do something about it, and our laws were not in place...
Many of us would be burnt at the stake...
("Gimme dat ol' time religion...")53And they did not receive him, because his face was as though he would go to Jerusalem.
54And when his disciples James and John saw this, they said, Lord, wilt thou that we command fire to come down from heaven, and consume them, even as Elias did?
55But he turned, and rebuked them, and said, Ye know not what manner of spirit ye are of.
56For the Son of man is not come to destroy men's lives, but to save them. And they went to another village.
megadoc1 wrote: could be, but through science we haven't yet found out how to rid ourselves of sin,
but this is a fact man have not discovered how to rid himself of sin...but where did I ask "if science can prove sin exist "?d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote: could be, but through science we haven't yet found out how to rid ourselves of sin,
(I never claimed to have quoted you verbatim, and I know that is what you will gripe about. Speaking of sin as though it were a scientific concept, or applicable within the realm of science... tch, tch, tch.)
Now, sandbox time...
megadoc1 wrote:
yeah yuh know just admit that you were in error like hered spike wrote:
Some time ago, Megadoc naively attempted to define a fundamentalist christian as one who believes in the fundamental teachings of Christ. He obviously thought that viewers of that post were even less well-read than he was, and as his definition sounds simple and self-explanatory, folks would believe it to be so. He very well knows what it means and refers to: literal application and strict adherence to scripture. Thanks to 9/11, even the most illiterate among us knows the meaning of "fundamentalist".
[/quote]megadoc1 wrote:d spike where according to scripture am I to do so?d spike wrote:I trust that those with eyes can see... if megadoc was in a position to do something about it, and our laws were not in place...
Many of us would be burnt at the stake...
("Gimme dat ol' time religion...")
megadoc1 wrote:but this is a fact man have not discovered how to rid himself of sin...but where did I ask "if science can prove sin exist "?d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote: could be, but through science we haven't yet found out how to rid ourselves of sin,
(I never claimed to have quoted you verbatim, and I know that is what you will gripe about :lol: . Speaking of sin as though it were a scientific concept, or applicable within the realm of science... tch, tch, tch.)
Now, sandbox time...
did you make a mistake? where you in error?
No, little one. That's what I meant by not claiming to have quoted you verbatim. Learn to use the dictionary.
and no I was not speaking of sin as a scientific concept
I said with all man's gathered knowledge (science)
we are yet to rid our self of sin
Really??? So why did you say... (and now I quote you verbatim - you looked it up, I trust)
"but through science we haven't yet found out how to rid ourselves of sin"
exactly and God gave us a conscience so when we go before him we will have no excuseDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ LOL
still having problems proving what you believe in so you are claiming 'this is we thread'?
no
sin is a human concept, conceived by man's own conscience.
Look up "Super Ego".