Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Wolfie » August 17th, 2010, 7:17 pm

No. :fadein:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 17th, 2010, 8:08 pm

Computerworld reports Apple won't be changing the antenna design for the purported Verizon iPhone coming in January. According to their source, Spencer Webb, "The antenna design is architecturally fixed in the design, and it would take them a while to make whatever the next design is." The report also states that Apple is likely planning to keep that antenna design around for a few years to match their previous three year iPhone design roadmap.

It makes sense that Apple would not have enough time to design an entirely new antenna for a device supposedly launching in only a few months. An antenna redesign would call for a device redesign, as the iPhone 4s new slimmer casing is based on the antenna not being internal. It also makes sense that if Apple waited until June 2011 to unveil the first Verizon-compatible iPhone and 5th generation AT&T iPhone, the antenna could change.

------

You remember the dude who ripped off the guy's finger stealing his iPad? Well, that is just the beginning. Turns out the robber ordered a hit on the guy who he de-fingered so that he wouldn't get charged for robbery.

In the letter, Smith identifies Jordan, his home address and tells the person he is writing, "YOU GET THIS DONE! AND I GO ON ANYTHING I'll rob a bank if you want me too. Just do this for your boy and I got you for sure. You know how we do it." Smith points out that Jordan's address is included and says, "That's the address, so handle it A.S.A.P." He concludes the letter by saying that, "I really need this otherwise it's a wrap!! If you do this, case is dropped."

I like an iPad but damn man...

Brandon Smith

------

Today, Apple was awarded with patents for the Slide to Unlock and the pop out keyboard character features of its iPhone, according to TUAW.

Three years ago, Apple filed for patents on two features that iPhone, iPod touch and iPad users see every day -- the Slide to Unlock feature of the Lock screen and the pop-up letters that appear when you're typing on the iPhone keyboard. The United States Patent and Trademark Office has today awarded Apple a series of two patents titled "Animated graphical user interface for a display screen or portion thereof " that provide Apple with patent protection for the animated unlock screen and keyboard.

The patents are numbered D621849 and D621848.

Image Image

------

The next generation iPhone could come with an antenna system made of liquidmetal, which according to experts could drastically improve the signal reception on the iPhone.

Folks at CultOfMac have pointed out that Apple has already started using liquidmetal for one small component of the iPhone 3G - the SIM eject tool to probably test its capabilities.

Apple is reported to have signed an exclusive agreement with LiquidMetal Technologies to bring their proprietary IP to Apple's consumer electronics products.

LiquidMetal is a series of exotic alloy components developed by researchers at CalTech and is often referred to as "bulk metallic glass". This is due to its atomic structure that makes it glass-like while offering a super-strong yet extremely flexible material that is resistant to corrosion and is scratch-proof as well.

Dr. Atakan Peker, one of the co-inventors of the alloying component had recognized the metal when he opened his iPhone 3G.

“That’s my metal,” he said. “I recognized it immediately. Take it from an expert, that’s Liquidmetal.”

Peker points out that the component was a good test of liquidmetal’s unique properties:

“It is practically unbendable by hand unless you want to hurt or cut your fingers,

According to CultOfMac, Apple sourced the SIM eject tool made of liquidmetal from Liquidmetal Technologies as a test of the company's manufacturing capabilities.

It also looks like Apple source the component from LiquidMetal Technologies for a brief period:

It’s not clear how long Apple sourced Liquidmetal for SIM ejector pins. European models of the iPhone 3G have ordinary steel pins, and maybe also those shipped to Asia, Peker said. ”They’re not Liquidmetal,” he said. “They bend like paperclips.”

Meanwhile, another former top researcher at Liquidmetal Technologies claims that Apple might build the next iPhone out of liquidmetal.

"I think they’re going to make the iPhone out of it," said Dr. Jan Schroers, the former director of research at Liquidmetal Technologies, the first company to commercially develop the space-age technology. "It's quite obvious from what Liquidmetal has done in the past and what the technology is capable of."

According to Schroers, Apple could create very intricate cases by blow-molding melted alloy like glass.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 18th, 2010, 12:04 am

Just a note to say:
Upgraded 3G to iOS4 a couple nights ago using Pwnagetool on the Mac.

Phones is so much faster.

The only think I needed to do extra was install the Caller ID Fix for 3.x (iSpazio) to get back functionality. iBooks much better app than Kindle on the iPhone. It's actually easier on the eyes – perhaps because of the textured 'page' look.

Didn't use Redsn0w so wallpapers and multitasking are off. Will run Redsn0w tomorrow and get back wallpapers, since Winterboard is broke and the beta i read screws up your phone.

Postby M_2NR » August 18th, 2010, 12:39 am

stay away from beta (new bb) and disable multitasking and wallpapers and yuh set.

I forgot about Format fix thanks for that :)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 18th, 2010, 6:53 am

But I had wallpaper via Winterboard before with no performance hit.
I'm sure Apple's own built-in wallpaper will be even faster than that.

Don't care about multitasking.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 18th, 2010, 8:35 am

He may be a Mac, but as this clip shows Apple's former ad star, Justin Long, is also an iPhone jailbreaker as revealed on a US TV show this week.

Long was guesting on the Jimmy Kimmel Live Show, during which he pulled out his iPhone to show a series of funny SMS text messages to the audience. When he did, the Cydia icon was in plain sight among Long's other apps -- a big sign that his phone has been jailbroken.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 18th, 2010, 11:05 am

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 18th, 2010, 1:42 pm

iPhones have a default lock code?

The person tryin to enter in a lock code and it asking for a 4 digit code...

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2010, 1:52 am

streetlifestyle, go play around with activator. To lock i just slide my finger from status bar down (similar to qtweeter) :)

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 19th, 2010, 4:59 am

Push Doctor : Free Push Fix for hacktivated iPhone’s
2 March 2010 by Vinay 40 Comments

app-pushAnethema and CmdShft has rolled out the Push Doctor that officially fixes the push notification issue on hacktivated iPhone by providing each iPhone device with an unique certificate. Unlike PushFix [$ 5.99], Push Doctor is totally free of charge and available for download on NERV repo. If you remember your truly iHackintosh web app is also available on same repo [Check Here]

Following are the instructions on how to fix push notifications on your jailbroken iPhone.

Step One : Press to launch Cydia from your SpringBoard.
Step Two : Press to select the Manage tab at the bottom of the screen.
Step Three : Press the large Sources button.
Step Four : Press the Edit button at the top right of the screen.
Step Five : Press the Add button at the top left of the screen.
Step Six : Enter “ http://www.cmdshft.ipwn.me/apt/ ” as the new source address and tap the Add Source button.
Step Seven : Once the source has been successfully added press the large Return to Cydia button.
Step Eight : Press the Done button to exit Edit mode.
Step Nine : Press to select the newly added NERV repository.
Step Ten : Press to choose Push Doctor from the list of Packages
Step Eleven : Press the Install button at the top right of the screen.
Step Twelve : Then press the Confirm button to beginning installation
Note : Once rebooted verify that YouTube works. If not try reinstalling the patch. You may also need to remove then reinstall all your applications which use Push Notifications before they will work.

http://www.ihackintosh.com/2010/03/push ... d-iphones/

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2010, 6:21 am

Anyone here using jailbreakme.com method for 4.0.x and using a datasim with it successfully? Need to know for a buddy of mine. Since this jb is high level and not low level i'm seeing that the commcenter is not patched.

thanks

Sully

Postby Sully » August 19th, 2010, 7:00 am

M_2nr wrote:Anyone here using jailbreakme.com method for 4.0.x and using a datasim with it successfully? Need to know for a buddy of mine. Since this jb is high level and not low level i'm seeing that the commcenter is not patched.

thanks

I used that method to jailbreak 4.0.1. I'm not 100% sure what you mean my using a datasim with it. I have a data plan on my account, and it works fine.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 19th, 2010, 7:57 am

Facebook for iPhone makes it easy to stay connected and share information with friends. Use your iPhone to start a conversation with Facebook Chat, check your friends' latest photos and status updates, look up a phone number, or upload your own mobile photos to Facebook while on the go.

New features:
- Places. Use Places to see where your friends are and share where you are.
- You can set the privacy of individual status updates.
- See all recipients of inbox messages.
- (iOS 4) Upload photos and videos in the background.

Bug fixes:
- Fixed a delay when commenting on a post or posting a status update.
- Fixed some Notes display bugs.
- Fixed some reliability bugs in News Feed.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/facebook ... mpt=uo%3D4

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 19th, 2010, 8:15 am

^^^ The facebook app is nice and all (superior to other Facebook apps on other devices), but don't you prefer to just go in Safari and use the fullblown Facebook, and have multiple tabs opened to browse other sites?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 19th, 2010, 8:21 am

Strauss wrote:^^^ The facebook app is nice and all (superior to other Facebook apps on other devices), but don't you prefer to just go in Safari and use the fullblown Facebook, and have multiple tabs opened to browse other sites?

nah not really. i leave that for wen im on a pc. otherwise i do everything in-app

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 19th, 2010, 8:57 am

Anyone else getting problems with the new Facebook? Errors for pretty much everything. Made the mistake of signing out, now I can't sign back in...

------

Look, if there's one thing Nokia knows it's how to build hardware. Say what you want about the S60 user experience, the latch on the N97 is a mechanical masterpiece. But how could we resist sharing this image, posted by a reader in comments, of the presumed Nokia N9 "sitting on" a MacBook Pro? What was it that Anssi Vanjoki said? Something like, "If there is something good in the world then we copy with pride."
[Engadget]

------

iPad and iPhone production rates are beginning to catch-up with demand, Rodman and Renshaw analyst Ashok Kumar has said.

He believes Apple's on course to achieve 14 million iPhone 4 sales in the current (September) quarter and another 15 million by the end of the year.

iPad sales continue to be strong. LG has apparently managed to boost display manufacturing, beefing up iPad supplies. Apple should sell between 5 million and 6 milllion iPads in the current quarter, the analyst said.

Apple's soon-to-be-revealed 7-inch iPad also seems set to boost sales. The Economic Daily News of Taiwan is reporting that construction of a 7-inch iPad has begun.

This is likely to be cheaper and more portable while also offering good screen real estate for reading and games playing. It is likely to be a smash for the holiday and back-to-school market.

Kumar believes the growth trajectory on both devices will translate into continued stellar earnings in Cupertino.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 19th, 2010, 9:09 am

no problem with it this morning. no wifi where i am now so im not sure abt the current status

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 19th, 2010, 2:42 pm

Both Apple and AT&T don't have no-commitment pricing options on their websites. Apple now states on its US website:

At launch, AT&T said that they'd sell iPhone 4s without contract for $599 and $699 for the 16 and 32 GB versions. Now you can't buy it without a plan online at Apple or AT&T for any price.

(Update: AT&T has contacted us and stated that there is no difference in policy on their end and they can't account for Apple's website. Also, you can only buy a no-commitment iPhones in an AT&T store, there is no way to do so online [which seems insane because less paperwork has to be filled out])

------

Relying on a user's picture or the sound of their voice, future portable devices from Apple like an iPhone or iPad could recognize individuals who pick up and use the item.

The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office this week revealed a patent application from Apple entitled "Systems and Methods for Identifying Unauthorized Users of an Electronic Device." The security-centric invention describes methods to identify users through a picture, the sound of their voice, or even their unique heartbeat.

"The photograph, recording, or heartbeat can be compared, respectively, to a photograph, recording or heartbeat of authorized users of the electronic device to determine whether they match," the application reads. "If they do not match, the current user can be detected as an unauthorized user."

If an unauthorized user were to attempt to access an iPhone or another device, the owner of the handset could be notified in a variety of manners, including a phone call, text message or e-mail. It could even send the owner -- or the police -- a picture of the unauthorized user, or other information specific to the potential thief, such as the current location.

The handset could also recognize an unauthorized user if they do certain uncharacteristic activities with the phone. Specifically named are hacking, jailbreaking, unlocking, or removing a SIM card.

But beyond security, such technology could also be used to identify individual users and allow users who share a product, like an iPad, to customize it to their liking. Apple has shown interest in such capabilities for some time.

In January, before the iPad was announced, The Wall Street Journal revealed that an early prototype of the device would use a camera to recognize users' faces, allowing it to be one device easily shared by the entire family. Apple reportedly experimented with the ability to customize the device, and have it automatically switch to a user's personal settings once they picked it up.

One early feature included virtual "sticky notes" that one user could leave for another, and would be read the next time they picked up the iPad.

Apple's security-centric patent application was first filed on Feb. 19, 2009. It is credited to Taido Nakajima, Pareet Rahul and Gloria Lin.

The invention is also not the first time Apple has explored recognizing users by their heartbeat. One patent application revealed in May dealt specifically with that technology, describing a heart rate monitor seamlessly built in to the exterior of an iPhone. Reading a user's unique biometric data, the iPhone could then recognize them.

------

A new "Compare Macs" option was added to Apple's online store Thursday, allowing customers to review the hardware specifications and prices of multiple machines at once.

The Apple Store was down temporarily early Thursday, and returned to quietly offer the unannounced new feature, which was first noted by The Loop. When browsing the Mac section of Apple's online store, the new feature is listed to the left of the product lineup atop the page.

After selecting Compare Macs, users are taken to an interactive Web application in the browser that allows them to select up to three different Macs, including notebooks and desktops. Users can view the standard hardware, or make additions such as more RAM or a larger hard drive, and compare the prices of each machine.

The side-by-side breakdown of each computer is presented in five categories: hardware, software, technical specifications, environmental status report and configuration summary.

After configuring a Mac in the comparison tool, if customers decide they want to buy that machine, they can quickly add it to their cart with the click of a button. In addition, customers save the configuration for later as they ponder their purchase.

Shoppers can also compare prices on Macs from Apple and other resellers by turning to the AppleInsider Mac Pricing Matrix, including below. Deals are available on all current generation Macs, which include the MacBook, MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, iMac, Mac mini and Mac Pro.

------

Apple is internally testing the first material update to its iOS 4.0 mobile operating system against a handful of new devices, including next-generation iPod touches, an iPad revision, and an "unknown" product, AppleInsider has discovered.

According to people familiar with the matter, the latest beta of iOS 4.1, due to ship in the coming weeks, includes three new "Configuration Descriptors" within its USB configuration files -- all of which pertain to devices that list "Apple, Inc." as their "manufacturer" -- as can be seen in the screenshot below.

The first product, a fourth-generation iPod touch, is referenced within the code as "iPod 4,1." That particular identifier indicates the device will be the first iteration of a fourth-generation device, rather than a revision to the touch's existing design, which would have been denoted as an "iPod 3,2."

For Apple, this represents the fourth consecutive year in which the company will deliver a significant internal or external design change to its flagship iPod, preserving a tradition that has seen the media player's adopt the architecture of iPhones that hit the market a few months earlier.

As such, this year's iPod touch family calls for models akin to a slimmer iPhone 4, equipped with dual cameras, FaceTime support, Apple's custom A4 processor, and high resolution Retina Display. For reference, the first three generations of the iPod touch were identified as "iPod 1,1," "iPod 2,1" and "iPod 3,1," respectively.

The second unreleased product referenced in the USB configuration files is "iProd 2,1." All indications are that this device represents a material update to the company's iPad, as the inaugural version of the device released this past April was similarly listed in configuration files as "iProd 1,1" prior to its announcement.

Finally, and most intriguing, is a previously undiscovered mention of a mysterious device listed only as "unknownHardware." Although the configuration files tag this device with a unique Apple product ID of 20547, it's textual descriptor is similarly listed as "Unknown- Add device descriptor info for this device."

While purely speculative at this time, it's possible that those place holders are related to an Apple TV reincarnation -- rumored to be dubbed iTV -- that will reportedly jettison its existing Mac OS X-based software platform for one built around iOS 4.0 and capable of running applications found on the App Store.

Apple is widely expected to hold its annual music and media event next month, as it has done for the past several years, ushering in the fourth-generation iPod touches and potentially the much rumored Apple TV makeover.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 19th, 2010, 3:00 pm

Another Facebook update was released (3.2.1). In my case however it still doesn't fix the issue since I updated to 3.2

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2010, 3:14 pm

Sully wrote:
M_2nr wrote:Anyone here using jailbreakme.com method for 4.0.x and using a datasim with it successfully? Need to know for a buddy of mine. Since this jb is high level and not low level i'm seeing that the commcenter is not patched.

thanks

I used that method to jailbreak 4.0.1. I'm not 100% sure what you mean my using a datasim with it. I have a data plan on my account, and it works fine.

I mean like, the usual, putting internet as APN and edge works on the phone?

streetlifestyle wrote:
Strauss wrote:^^^ The facebook app is nice and all (superior to other Facebook apps on other devices), but don't you prefer to just go in Safari and use the fullblown Facebook, and have multiple tabs opened to browse other sites?

nah not really. i leave that for wen im on a pc. otherwise i do everything in-app

Once i have less than 10 notifications.. I check on my phone. :)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 19th, 2010, 3:40 pm

^^^ You have an iPhone with Safari.
I was asking why use the FaceBook app, when you can use Safari on the iPhone and get the same Facebook page as you would on a PC?

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2010, 3:46 pm

Strauss, ohh on a 2G... trust meh... i stick to the app.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 19th, 2010, 6:49 pm

yea peep, my iphone 2g took ah lil fall and i believe that the stuff inside shifted because the home button not working and i gettin ah reception problem...if i had d tools i wudda open it myself but i dont so i need to know who does repairs, immediately....my contact is 475-9944 or just PM me....thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 20th, 2010, 3:16 pm

iCade

Are you an old school gamer? Love the feel of real buttons as you blast aliens? Then this one of a kind iPad Arcade dock might be right up your alley.

The iPad Arcade was inspired by the iCade which was “launched” as an April Fools joke by the folks at ThinkGeek. To use the iPad Arcade you’ll need to have a jailbroken iPad loaded with a NES, SNES or Playstation emulator and games.

The iPad Arcade is hand built and features a joystick, four play buttons, a start and select button. You’ll need two AA batteries (not included) to power the Bluetooth interface used to connect the iPad to the iPad Arcade.

You can pickup the iPad Arcade on e-Bay. The bidding is currently at £122 ($190 US) and the auction ends August 28. Game on!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 20th, 2010, 4:10 pm

^^^^ has to get one of those :!:

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 20th, 2010, 5:05 pm

installed ios 4.0.2 and jailbreaked...

Postby M_2NR » August 20th, 2010, 5:08 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:installed ios 4.0.2 and jailbreaked...

it working so much faster eh!

the 3G without Multitasking, spotlight and Wallpapers is working so much faster than my 2G.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 20th, 2010, 5:34 pm

Anyone know by chance where in Canada (Apple Stores) has unlocked iPhone 4s? Preferably near Pincourt, Quebec?