COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 82 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 30th, 2020, 12:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Max how bad you think this situation going to be in Trinidad?

Also i am scheduled for a appointment this week at Mt Hope for an ongoing diabetic infection and wound, should I still go and see what happens? or are we 100% sure I would be wasting my time and I would be sent back?

Hello ED,

Boi i dunno,

What is easing the health sector right now is manageable cases. They cannot do too much testing for mild cases because they will have to quarantine once tested positive and then contact trace and so forth. They will run out of hospital space and we know what is that outcome.

I believe the “spike” is already here but its just that they are not testing enough to realize the numbers. Call the hotline and pull smalls, its a VERY high volume of people calling with possible symptoms, but too mild to test, and im pretty sure these are community spread cases.

We cannot compare ourselves to other countries and brag that we are better off because our testing is bare minimum.

But to answer your question, i do not think it will get bad as we would have gotten more severe cases by now. Everyone will not get sick the same time as everyone’s immune system is different, so this one week, yeh one week, yeh man next week is just delayed predictions.

The govt however is basically saying if you have a mild case of Covid, stay home and isolate, do not stress the health sector. This can work yes, but not when you’re dealing with Trinidadians.

I may be right, I may be wrong, but always prepare for the worst case scenario and be cautious at ALL times.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 12:13 pm

Anybody has a source where the government said public hospitals has all clinic appointment date on hold for people who need minor surgery, diabetics with wounds and infections etc?

Heard someone say this but I have an appointment this week and need to know for sure if I could go, tried calling but no one answering the phone.

EDIT MAX Power thanks for response.

I will still go for my appointment date while things a bit slow right now, if I get through then I get through if not will wait but best I go soon as possible because come next week or following week there will be major rush with COVID patients. So best I try to get through with this before all that drama

one eye

Postby one eye » March 30th, 2020, 12:25 pm

ED,

One minute you are a cancer patient, next minute you have some kinda infection, now you have a diabetic infection.

Is all kinda fakery in the bakery with you.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 78 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby Gladiator » March 30th, 2020, 12:29 pm

For once I agree with you... Give the man a break. He really going through the world of stress...

Where the rest of the cabinet though? Hiding from COVID. He should delegate and let them assist and take some load off his shoulders.
boxy wrote:
No_Name wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Well that was a waste of 10 mins...

The_Honourable wrote:Prime Minister's Short Address to the Nation 29/03/2020

Growls lookin real sick n tired tho...but he shouldn't be, he jus hadda do what d 1 puss dem say...

Yeah u tend to look that way when you leading your country through a once in a century "plague" yuh youngest daughter in the epicenter of the virus in the US and u made the decision to close your borders and your oldest brother just died two days prior and u may not be able to have a proper funeral.
I can't imagine the mental fortitude it taking him to do what he doing.

Postby aaron17 » March 30th, 2020, 12:40 pm

one eye wrote:ED,

One minute you are a cancer patient, next minute you have some kinda infection, now you have a diabetic infection.

Is all kinda fakery in the bakery with you.
I guess he have all?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 30th, 2020, 12:42 pm

Will be 100 in 7days, prepare thy angus.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 30th, 2020, 12:47 pm

Unfettered civil unrest could be worse than the Virus.

Pandemic could spark unrest among West's urban poor - Red Cross aid agency
by Reuters
Friday, 27 March 2020 14:24 GMT
GENEVA, March 27 (Reuters) - Social unrest could erupt among the urban poor and marginalised in the West's biggest cities as they lack sources of income amid the COVID-19 crisis, the head of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) said on Friday.

More than 80,000 people have tested positive for coronavirus in Italy since the outbreak emerged little more than a month ago and some 8,215 have died, far more than in any other country.

Francesco Rocca, an Italian who heads the world's largest disaster relief network, said that as well as social unrest the risk of suicide is increasing among vulnerable isolated people.

"We have a lot of people who are living very marginalised, in the so-called black hole of society... In the most difficult neighbourhoods of the biggest cities I am afraid that in a few weeks we will have social problems," Rocca told a U.N. news briefing.

"This is a social bomb that can explode at any moment, because they don't have any way to have an income," said Rocca, whose Geneva-based agency also deploys volunteers in hard-hit Spain and France.

He said the largest Western cities could see these problems emerge "in a few weeks".

https://news.trust.org/item/20200327134620-yc7e3

Postby The_Honourable » March 30th, 2020, 1:24 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:As of last night I have 4 family members in Long Island who were tested positive for the virus. All have underlying ailments from diabetes to HBP, ages from 40-70. After speaking to other relatives, they indicated that hey have to communicate with them via sign language because anytime they try to speak(it hurts and hurts badly). They are able to speak with them via vids calls etc

Shakes i hope they make a 100% recovery.

2WNBoost

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 82 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » March 30th, 2020, 1:30 pm

Hope they pull through ok

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2020, 1:40 pm

Gladiator wrote:For once I agree with you... Give the man a break. He really going through the world of stress...

Where the rest of the cabinet though? Hiding from COVID. He should delegate and let them assist and take some load off his shoulders.
boxy wrote:
No_Name wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Well that was a waste of 10 mins...

The_Honourable wrote:Prime Minister's Short Address to the Nation 29/03/2020

Growls lookin real sick n tired tho...but he shouldn't be, he jus hadda do what d 1 puss dem say...

Yeah u tend to look that way when you leading your country through a once in a century "plague" yuh youngest daughter in the epicenter of the virus in the US and u made the decision to close your borders and your oldest brother just died two days prior and u may not be able to have a proper funeral.
I can't imagine the mental fortitude it taking him to do what he doing

And the rest of us us doing what? a cakewalk?
We found my bro-in-law dead in his room Friday morning, body already started to swell. He was in his early 50's, healthy with no major illnesses and exercisesd regularly. Over 3/4 of his immediate family living in US, UK and Canada, (can't attend the burial), and as far as we know 7 of them infected, and 2 are high risk cases (potential for deaths soon)
It ain't only King Toolumhead holding strain right now son. Is EVERYBODY feeling it. He actively chose and pursued his current career, so he have to weather the rough waters just as well as the smooth sailing, that's not optional.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 1:44 pm

Hey anybody know if you can order food? I think I saw subway was doing delivery? how much extra do they charge for this and anybody else offering such a service?

I can't cook nah and me eh have no stove I does usually buy food but the place up by me on lock down they not opening until covid goes away so looking for ways to get stuff to eat without having to cook it. Plus I on vacation from work so yeah.....

Postby maj. tom » March 30th, 2020, 1:51 pm

ED now is your chance to change that very, very bad habit. For your health and wallet. And you know it's bad, so no one has to tell you. You don't want to hear this from anyone right now.

You have a car right? Go Bel Air. A simple 1-burner ring stove is $100. 2 pots $100. Pick up pot spoons and everything basic in a kitchen for $100. Go grocery after and spend $100 on some fresh vegetables and some meats.

How long that $400 would have lasted buying food everyday? 2 weeks? Do this one small thing and your life will change. This is the time! This is the opportunity you've needed in your life to do it. YouTube has a million simple recipes for you to learn. Watch Gordon Ramsay and learn what he teaches!

Postby Rovin » March 30th, 2020, 2:26 pm

hope this is not a repost

level fakeness ....
Chinese contractor builds COVID 19 hospital in Trinidad and Tobago

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fH1vLv ... JXg0_MsWe0

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 2:29 pm

maj. tom wrote:ED now is your chance to change that very, very bad habit. For your health and wallet. And you know it's bad, so no one has to tell you. You don't want to hear this from anyone right now.

You have a car right? Go Bel Air. A simple 1-burner ring stove is $100. 2 pots $100. Pick up pot spoons and everything basic in a kitchen for $100. Go grocery after and spend $100 on some fresh vegetables and some meats.

How long that $400 would have lasted buying food everyday? 2 weeks? Do this one small thing and your life will change. This is the time! This is the opportunity you've needed in your life to do it. YouTube has a million simple recipes for you to learn. Watch Gordon Ramsay and learn what he teaches!

Ok thanks I will take a drive and organize some stuff, checking out some videos on cooking doesn't seem difficult, I may save money in the long run as well cause I find buying food outside does be rather costly. I was also in fear of how people prepare the food and if it may have corona in the food, so you are correct this would be the best opportunity to learn some cooking as I home for a week.

Postby Rovin » March 30th, 2020, 2:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Hey anybody know if you can order food? I think I saw subway was doing delivery? how much extra do they charge for this and anybody else offering such a service?

I can't cook nah and me eh have no stove I does usually buy food but the place up by me on lock down they not opening until covid goes away so looking for ways to get stuff to eat without having to cook it. Plus I on vacation from work so yeah.....

hoss for a young man who living on d net & always taking about health u buying processed mess from subway

stove & ring stove fairly cheap , buy ingredients from d grocery & market & learn to yuh own ting , u mom never teach u to cook so no gyul eh go buss style on u

even if u doh know it have a million cooking vids on youtube even by locals making local food so u have no excuse

try this lady she have some good recipes .... https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCr8MhU ... U_Ckb1582w

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2020, 2:33 pm

Ambulance pick up the cashier who works at a supermarket on Rock Road . She was on the cruise and came back to Trinidad and started to get symptoms and then hospitalised . She worked after she came back so people running scared now.

Postby maj. tom » March 30th, 2020, 2:35 pm

Steups. Penal people again.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2020, 2:39 pm

i thought all the ones who came back separately were already identified and held down in isolation

rspann wrote:Ambulance pick up the cashier who works at a supermarket on Rock Road . She was on the cruise and came back to Trinidad and started to get symptoms and then hospitalised . She worked after she came back so people running scared now.

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2020, 2:42 pm

She was , but already worked before they got her. I sell it just how I buy it.

Postby gastly369 » March 30th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Bredda... YouTube and ah lil small stove.... Better start early
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Hey anybody know if you can order food? I think I saw subway was doing delivery? how much extra do they charge for this and anybody else offering such a service?

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2020, 2:58 pm

RIP ED.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 3:02 pm

Ah buy some fruits for now until I organize the stove, I have plenty wood so I made a make shift stove outdoor with blocks and wood, the mini mart by me has pot and thing so I going and organize some stuff next hour.

I almost ate it without washing it with soap, I like bananas cause you can just peel and eat no hassle and no need to wash it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 30th, 2020, 3:05 pm

Social Distancing Guidelines for Taxis:
All 4 Seaters are allowed only 2 passengers
All 7 seaters are allowed only 3 passengers
Taxi Drivers are now increasing fares

be2f31b4-0802-4b74-99cc-099841577c3c.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 30th, 2020, 3:07 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:As of last night I have 4 family members in Long Island who were tested positive for the virus. All have underlying ailments from diabetes to HBP, ages from 40-70. After speaking to other relatives, they indicated that hey have to communicate with them via sign language because anytime they try to speak(it hurts and hurts badly). They are able to speak with them via vids calls etc

Shakes i hope they make a 100% recovery.

Update: one is very critical as doctors dont look so positive, second is slightly better than the first but worst than the remaining two as they are now in the beginning stages of the virus

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 3:12 pm

makes sense with Taxi service, you allowed 2 passengers instead of 4 so you double the price to compensate.

However for people traveling perhaps the government should pass a new law quick to force employers to compensate for travel fares those who don't get should be allowed travel allowances. This is very unfortunate for people working for small money

Postby aaron17 » March 30th, 2020, 3:34 pm

https://youtu.be/rnP7v0SsVq8

Change of heart now?
Wearing mask to flatten the curve.... china is saying this.hence the reason why usa and italy is struggling right now.

Postby adnj » March 30th, 2020, 3:58 pm

gastly369 wrote:Bredda... YouTube and ah lil small stove.... Better start early

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 30th, 2020, 3:59 pm

aaron17 wrote:https://youtu.be/rnP7v0SsVq8

Change of heart now?
Wearing mask to flatten the curve.... china is saying this.hence the reason why usa and italy is struggling right now.

Kinda obvious to be honest. Literally all the doctors (Trini, US and UK) on my Facebook list are strongly recommending the public wear masks.

Especially as this virus as so many asymptomatic cases, wearing the masks reduce the spread significantly dropping the R naught to manageable levels.

Is it any wonder Asian countries are handling this so well? In those places, wearing masks even before this outbreak were commonplace.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 30th, 2020, 4:22 pm

so wearing mask useful for AFTER you have it or is it just for people who has it and don't want to spread it?

Cause my supervisor in work said and allyuh phaggots go tell me I making up nancy story but whatever the man said anytime he get covid he making sure to spread it to as much people as possible. Knowing how nasty minded he is I won't doubt him for one second and this mentality is very common among Trinis.

People who are stuck in one position and can't do better often become bitter and resentful towards others in life so if they get a virus like this it is a perfect excuse for them to take it out on others. So mask not helping people like them which also could explain why most Trinis on the whole not wearing masks.

Also I have a question regarding goggles, how useful is a mask without some form of eye protection?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 30th, 2020, 4:38 pm