Humes wrote:New. I'm not an audiophile, but I appreciate good sound quality with my movies. As I said before, clear dialogue is important. I'll also be playing games on the system, so there's that. I doh even know what vintage is.
Nothing too much over $100USD per pair/center.
Pioneer, I went searching for those B652s, and I found a thread on reddit claiming that the manufacturer had changed and the quality had dropped a lot.
I would have bought that same centre on Amazon if I could find a matching L/R from Polk also on.X_Factor wrote:
its also a good choice for the price, just make sure and get L/R that will match it properly
Zim wrote:Humes wrote:New. I'm not an audiophile, but I appreciate good sound quality with my movies. As I said before, clear dialogue is important. I'll also be playing games on the system, so there's that. I doh even know what vintage is.
Nothing too much over $100USD per pair/center.
Pioneer, I went searching for those B652s, and I found a thread on reddit claiming that the manufacturer had changed and the quality had dropped a lot.
Oh I see. Understand buddy. Well you can look at Energy as well as BIC America.
Vintage is old school.
Those Polk & CV are good units, makes me wonder why I didn't go with CV initially
Lemme know if u need any further advice also.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I would have bought that same centre on Amazon if I could find a matching L/R from Polk also on.X_Factor wrote:
its also a good choice for the price, just make sure and get L/R that will match it properly
^ ^ ^ An Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater Package w/ 42"LCD TV will do for the kids for now.Zim wrote:Anyone here using old school / vintage components? (amps, receivers, pre/pros ect)
My $0.02¢Sanctifier wrote:FYI... 'LP' sales in the US alone crossed over 500,000 last year.![]()
Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ An Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater Package w/ 42"LCD TV will do for the kids for now.Zim wrote:Anyone here using old school / vintage components? (amps, receivers, pre/pros ect)
wow lucky kids, nice system 4 them, something not too expensive & reliable. Nice!
Eventually when $$$ permit (maybe over 2 years), I'll complete my ol' school, "Hi-Fi" stereo system... in a small (16'L x 12'W x 10' H) but purpose built, "dampened" listening room.
A few things to do first (plus a car project or two)... including a full restore of my ol' man's Garrard 401 transcription turntable... w/Shure Tonearm, Cartridge & Diamond stylus. All spares bought, only a new 'face plate' still needed... and maybe a motor 'referb' in the US or UK (similar to "blueprinting" an engine) to guarantee more precise speed control.
Already have 1st spare turntable (Kenwood KD 5100)... and my pride-&-joy...
Klipsch Epic CF-3 Floorstanding Loudspeakers... Trust me, that's all I'll need for 'clean' audio.
Also hoping to buy the ol' school amp (Audio Research), mixer (TEAC), tuner (Audio Research) and 2nd spare turntable (Technics SL-D2 Direct Drive) that I have on loan.
That should do it for a start, to enjoy some "real" music... my 250+ LP collection ranging from light classics, through rock (ol' school 'classic' & 'acid' mainly), ol' school calypso (a few), instrumentals, R&B and jazz (growing)...My $0.02¢Sanctifier wrote:FYI... 'LP' sales in the US alone crossed over 500,000 last year.![]()
not looking for floor standers ATM. Which bookshelf speakers are matched to that center? You have an amazon link?Zim wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I would have bought that same centre on Amazon if I could find a matching L/R from Polk also on.X_Factor wrote:
Actually there are the new bookshelf monitors & floor standing which are matched for it. Even the older ones would do.
Anyone here using old school / vintage components? (amps, receivers, pre/pros ect)
Anton wrote:CET also has the jbl line of HT equipment
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7uatB ... sp=sharing
https://www.facebook.com/CaribbeanAV/ph ... =1&theater
not too expensive... It's a factory reconditioned system with full warranty... @ $269 US shipped to Miami (eBay) I couldn't refuse.Zim wrote:wow lucky kids, nice system 4 them, something not too expensive & reliable. Nice!Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ An Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater Package w/ 42"LCD TV will do for the kids for now.
Sanctifier wrote:BTW about 6 months ago on eBay, an Audiophile listed a 'Loricraft (UK) reconditioned' 401 in a custom 'OMA slate plinth' (that alone is > $2,000 US).![]()
He was asking over $9,000 US. IIRC it sold for over $5,500 US.![]()
After seeing that, I decided to buy OEM spares and restore my Dad's Garrard 401.![]()
Sanctifier wrote:Possibly because almost inaudible noises over a broad frequency range are "picked up" by the stylus during the recording session and transferred to the "Master disk."
This also may be because LPs have a very slight amount of "white noise" from the recording stylus that cuts the 'Master', which gives the LP more realistic "studio quality" playback.
Sanctifier wrote:I'll also start with a 5-step LP Cleaning Routine...
(LP Cleaning Machine + Distilled water 'solution'... 'Glue'... 'Steam'... Distilled water 'solution' rinse... Vacuum drying)
Yup... 'glue' & 'steam' too![]()
MySanctifier wrote:
*That's where I'm heading (eventually) with all my music/archived movies/streaming media (Netflix etc.) sent to my Dell PowerEdge T300 server (Yup, eBay again!)... and use LAN &/or 'RF' to transmit to any/all TV(s)/Speaker system(s) in the house... Maybe 'broadcast' multiple channels (audio + movies simultaneously to multiple destinations)... while still having a dedicated "Listening Room" for my 'stereo' music.
Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Thanks for the feedback. Can you give more details on how to use it properly?
I bought one 'on sale' a couple weeks ago... but I have to install the Onkyo system first.
BTW do Nyrius offer additional transmitters for use with the receiver?
If so, maybe this might do the job of receiving (& broadcasting) output from multiple sources simultaneously.
Not sure if this is a complimentM_2NR wrote:I always look forward to a sanctifier post![]()