SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » August 10th, 2010, 8:16 pm

Just sayin...
--
Dating site, OkCupid has completed a fascinating study in which they analyzed 552,000 user pictures from a numerical angle.

According to the findings of OK Cupid’s survey, digital SLRs make you look more attractive, using camera flash makes you look older, large-aperture lenses make you hotter and iPhone users have more sex.

The chart below compares the number of sexual partners of people who use an iPhone, BlackBerry or Android phone. The survey was restricted only to people aged 30.

As you can see from the chart above, iPhone users have more sexual partners than BlackBerry and Android phone users.

Android users: Men had 6 sexual partners in their lifetime, while women had 6.1 sexual partners.

BlackBerry users: Men had 8.1 sexual partners in their lifetime, while women had 8.8 sexual partners.

iPhone users: Men had 10 sexual partners, while women had 12.3 sexual partners, twice that of Android phone users.

As you can see from the chart below, iPhone wins even when you break down the number of sexual partners by smartphone, by age.

OkCupid cheekily concludes:

Finally, statistical proof that iPhone users aren't just getting f**ked by Apple.

So I guess with that we can say that the smartphone wars are over :)

Don’t forget to pass this on to your friends who have a BlackBerry or Android phone.

------

Daring Fireball's John Gruber is predicting a new iPod touch with a Retina Display and Dual Cameras will be released in a few weeks time.

That’s almost twice as much as a good iPod Touch, and if you wait a few weeks to buy the Touch, you’ll get one with a Retina Display and dual cameras. If Dell can’t make an iPod Touch competitor, who can?

MacRumors has posted images of what may be an iPod touch LCD showing a front facing camera and HardMac has posted photo illustrations which show a camera and flash.

MacMagazine says it has received information from a "reliable source within Apple" that the event will be held between the 14th and 16th. The Apple iPod event is typically held in September.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » August 11th, 2010, 11:44 am

Hey guys I need to purchase an app from the App store. I don't have a US credit card. And the app is not available on Install0us.

Can I use an itunes gift card for this?
Will it upgrade the app gracefully when there is an update?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Apple iTunes Gift Card's - [ Wholesale & Retail ]

Postby RapToR » August 11th, 2010, 11:54 am

Trinifieds wrote:Hey guys I need to purchase an app from the App store. I don't have a US credit card. And the app is not available on Install0us.

Can I use an itunes gift card for this?
Will it upgrade the app gracefully when there is an update?

iTunes gift card will work

i got in stock

you can pay me in US$ also

US$15 value for US$20

US$25 value for US$30

US$50 value for US$60

US$100 value for US$120

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=326379

Apple iTunes Gift Card's

US$15 Value - $150.00 - Retail

US$15 Value - $120.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

ImageImageImage

US$25 Value - $210.00 - Retail

US$25 Value - $180.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

ImageImageImage

US$50 Value - $380.00 - Retail

US$50 Value - $350.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

ImageImageImage

US$100 Value - $730.00 - Retail

US$100 Value - $700.00 - Wholesale - [ 10pcs Minimum ]

FREE Delivery <--- Almost Anywhere !!!

Richard - 680-3752

you can pay me in US$ also

US$15 value for US$20

US$25 value for US$30

US$50 value for US$60

US$100 value for US$120

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » August 11th, 2010, 12:04 pm

Thanks! Will give you a call.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 11th, 2010, 3:03 pm

still thinkin hard about gettin th 4G or maybe an HTC but i really like my iphone...reallt tough decision...

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2010, 3:11 pm

got mine from RapToR. next day delivery (or same day in some cases) FTW!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 11th, 2010, 3:41 pm

Apple has just released an update to iOS, labeled iOS 4.0.2. The update, amongst other things, plugs the PDF security hole most notably used by the website jailbreakme.com. The update is available for the iPhone 3G, 3GS, and 4, iPod Touch 2G and 3G, as well as the iPad. If you have a jailbroken device, or think you might want to jailbreak your device at some point, we would recommend against applying this...

iPhone 3G (iPhone1,2)
iPhone 3GS (iPhone2,1)
iPhone 4 (iPhone3,1)

iPod Touch (2G) (iPod2,1)
iPod Touch (3G) (iPod3,1)

iPad (iPad1,1)

------

The iPhone Dev-Team has released an update to the UltraSn0w iPhone Unlock which may improve standby battery life.

ultrasn0w upgraded to version 1.1-1 we've tweaked a few things that may help with standby battery life, you can upgrade via Cydia.

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2010, 3:44 pm

Oh crap... i now reading this too... Damn my phone isnt here so SHSH's wont be backed up. :cry:

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » August 11th, 2010, 6:22 pm

Any local vendors have the iphone 4 IN STOCK yet?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 11th, 2010, 6:41 pm

RedSn0w 0.9.5 can still jailbreak the iPhone 3G and the iPod Touch 2G (non MC) on the iOS 4.0.2 firmware, according to a tweet by MuscleNerd.

To jailbreak your device use this version of RedSn0w simply select the 4.0.0 instead of the 4.0.2 firmware when using the application.

------

Engadget has learned more information about the upcoming Apple TV which will reportedly lose the ability to play 1080i video.

Previously the site had heard that the device would cost $99, would have similar components to the iPhone 4, and would not have a hard drive but instead use streaming from the iTunes cloud.

Now they've heard that, apparently the box won't be capable of handling (or enabled to handle) 1080i or 1080p video. Instead it will only push out 720p clips. The word -- and cause for much internal debate, we're told -- is that this has something to do with the A4's inability to crank on higher resolution content, but we don't see how that's possible considering the iPhone 3GS could play back full HD video. Furthermore, the device will be getting apps and presumably an App Store entry, though it's unclear if there will be cross-pollination between iPad and iPhone / iPod touch offerings and new Apple TV applications.

Also Apple is said to be officially changing the name of the device to iTV. This sounds like a good move since many refer to the current Apple TV as the iTV anyway.

A reveal is expected this fall. Hopefully at the September iPod event.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 11th, 2010, 6:55 pm

well i jus got me a 3gs... runing 3.1.3

was about to upgrade to 4.0.1 but apple jus released 4.0.2..

so question.. is there anyway to update to 4.0.1?

can i do like this tutorial?

http://www.iphonexpert.com/how-to-downl ... -9-2-beta/

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2010, 7:39 pm

original_lollybob, i want u to go NOW!!! and get tinyumbrella from here:

1)
http://cache.saurik.com/umbrella/umbrella-4.01.08.exe

Get that and follow the guide to backup your SHSH's ok. THAT IS IMPORTANT. The gateway to upgrading to 4.0.1 might be closing. So this is like your insurance.

2)
Follow this guide in order to backup:
http://www.redmondpie.com/save-shsh-blobs-ecid-shsh-ios-4.0-iphone-4-iphone-3gs-ipod-touch/

3)
Save it to CYDIA ok?

4)
Now.. unless u have a at&t simcard or you can get access to a modded lockdown(i posted this before) to activate your phone IF you update to 4.0.1 you will need one of the above.

5)
You can get iOS 4.0.1 from here

6)
Do a custom restore to it.

7)
I have not tried this before BUT you can use this custom lockdown file from my previous post
to activate your phone.

8)
NOW! lol after that go to jailbreakme.com

9)
Jailbreak your phone.

10)
and unlock using ultrasn0w. by this method.

Yes it is a lot of sh!tty work cuz we have to be activated to be jailbroken via jailbreakme.com

You can check out redmondpie.com or ihackintosh.com for LOTS of more info but the above are the steps.

If i'm wrong sum1 correct me but i know this is the route for 4.0.1

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 11th, 2010, 7:47 pm

M_2nr wrote:original_lollybob, i want u to go NOW!!! and get tinyumbrella from here:

1)
http://cache.saurik.com/umbrella/umbrella-4.01.08.exe

Get that and follow the guide to backup your SHSH's ok. THAT IS IMPORTANT. The gateway to upgrading to 4.0.1 might be closing. So this is like your insurance.

2)
Follow this guide in order to backup:
http://www.redmondpie.com/save-shsh-blobs-ecid-shsh-ios-4.0-iphone-4-iphone-3gs-ipod-touch/

3)
Save it to CYDIA ok?

4)
Now.. unless u have a at&t simcard or you can get access to a modded lockdown(i posted this before) to activate your phone IF you update to 4.0.1 you will need one of the above.

5)
You can get iOS 4.0.1 from here

6)
Do a custom restore to it.

7)
I have not tried this before BUT you can use this custom lockdown file from my previous post
to activate your phone.

8)
NOW! lol after that go to jailbreakme.com

9)
Jailbreak your phone.

10)
and unlock using ultrasn0w. by this method.

Yes it is a lot of sh!tty work cuz we have to be activated to be jailbroken via jailbreakme.com

You can check out redmondpie.com or ihackintosh.com for LOTS of more info but the above are the steps.

If i'm wrong sum1 correct me but i know this is the route for 4.0.1

that's shift + restore in itunes rite?

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2010, 7:49 pm

yips :)

but do that tinyumbrella thing 1ST lol

and make sure it says successful backup..etc. to cydia :)

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 11th, 2010, 8:09 pm

yea i did that

now im at the emergency call only screen

i d/l the patch

wat to do now?

how do i upoad that patch to the phone?

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2010, 8:35 pm

from the thread:
If you are having this issue, the work around is to get the lockdownd from a working hacktivated iphone 3G/3GS respectively. The lockdownd file is located in /usr/libexec. Copy the the file to the device you are having problem. You can copy file using utility such as ifunbox or something similar. The permission on the lockdownd file is 755. If you are copying the patched lockdownd over the existing one, the permissions should be in-tact.

If you do not have a working hactivated lockdownd file, you can patch the existing one by using bspatch. The patch file is located in the pwnagetool bundle for iphone 3G and 3GS. (** we will elaborate more on this later).

or via the UPDATE

@pushfix has created a cydia package to fix this activation problem and to simplifiy the patching process.

If you are having issue like I described in post #1, please run Cydia and add source:
Cydia.pushfix.info and install the "Hacktivation Patch" package.

Please note: It's now supports IOS4, 4.0.1, 3.1.2, 3.1.3

at the bottom of that same thread i posted

remember i said i never tried it yet.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 11th, 2010, 8:47 pm

im tryin to do that but i cant find that folder in ifunbox

wat do i do now? :S

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 11th, 2010, 8:59 pm

i cant do anythin.. this is fcuked

after i did the update to 4.0.1 im gettin the No SIM cad screen

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2010, 9:13 pm

lord... you get the home screen?

well then go on safari, go to jailbreakme.com and jailbreak :|

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 11th, 2010, 9:17 pm

^
nope!

JWT

Postby JWT » August 11th, 2010, 9:24 pm

ok after talking with some gods here i finally got the 3gs with ios4 and it is running great no battery issues and it is running smoothe.
already loaded some apps and customized ringtone and sms messages enjoying it

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 11th, 2010, 9:29 pm

i cant do the lockdownd patch till i jailbreak the phone... i cant jailbreak till i get to the homescreen... i cant get to the home screen cause it says i dont have a valid SIM

this is gettin irritating

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2010, 10:01 pm

i did say i never tried it. I'm trying to source an AT&T simcard now. :?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 11th, 2010, 11:50 pm

A new rumor suggests Apple is testing a CDMA iPhone, code-named N92, that would work on the Verizon network.

Jon Gruber of Daring Fireball said Wednesday that "a few little birdies" told him that a CDMA variant of the iPhone is just two steps away from production. According to the report, the device is in the EVT (engineering verification test) phase, one step below DVT (device verification test).

DVT status, which takes place right before production, is best known as the status of the iPhone 4 test unit that was "lost" in a bar by an Apple engineer in April.

In addition to Gruber's unidentified sources, the report cites several suppliers that have added to recent rumors of a CDMA iPhone. One rumor claimed Qualcomm is set to manufacture millions of CDMA chips for a Verizon iPhone in December. Another report points to Pegatron as a supplier for the CDMA iPhone.

While a CDMA iPhone could work on a number of networks, Verizon, which is the largest wireless provider in the U.S., seems the most likely candidate. A June report by Bloomberg mentioned January 2011 as the target for a Verizon-compatible iPhone launch. According to Gruber, a product currently in EVT would be on track for a January 2011 release.

On Monday, AT&T warned that some of its smartphone exclusivity agreements will soon expire. The news, filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, set off a fresh round of speculation about the expansion of the iPhone to other U.S. carriers. Steven Fox, an analyst with CLSA, cites the new exclusivity references as evidence that Apple could add Verizon as a U.S. carrier by early 2011.

------

An unconfirmed report claims that Sony Ericsson is at work on a Playstation-branded Android smartphone with a new gaming ecosystem.

Published by Engadget, the report cites "a trusted source" for leaked details of the upcoming device. Described as a cross between "the Samsung Captivate and the PSP Go," the phone would use PSP-style controls instead of a traditional QWERTY keyboard. It could also include a 5 megapixel camera and a 1 GHz Snapdragon processor.

With a potential release as early as October of this year, the phone would pioneer both an Android dedicated gaming ecosystem and the long-rumored PSP phone combination.

The smartphone will reportedly run Android 3.0, also known as Gingerbread. A new area of the Android Market would be created specifically for games, which could be ported from the PSP or PSX library. These games could then be brought to other Android phones, provided they meet certain specification and control requirements.

For its part, Apple has recently been ramping up its focus on mobile gaming. The Cupertino, Calif., company is developing a Game Center social gaming network for iOS 4 that will provide a centralized friend system, leaderboards, and unlockable achievements. The feature was announced in April and is slated for release this fall.

In March, Flurry Analytics reported that Apple's share of the American mobile gaming market had grown from 5% to 19% from 2008 to 2009. Apple's growth cut significantly into the Sony PSP's market share, which dropped nearly half from 20% to 11%.

In April, Apple hired a new games editor, Matt Casamassina, for the iPhone App Store. According to Casamassina, he will "be leading the charge for games on the App Store."

Apple could also be looking to purchase a Chinese game developer to advance further into the mobile gaming market. In early August, rumors said a final deal with Handseeing Information Technology Co is "close," with an estimated price of $148 million.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 12th, 2010, 8:20 am

^
i ordered on off ebay this morning...

so if it work i have no problem lending u...

If anybody have one here that would be great tho

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 12th, 2010, 8:41 am

Now this is as blatant as it comes...

While Apple’s iPhone 4 is going on sale at different countries in the world, a Chinese knockoff company is selling iPhone 4 knockoff through a fake iPhone 4 product page site. What’s so funny is that the company shows a certificate of authorization on the fake website to let customers know that the iProducts are legally registered in China… So, maybe these people are telling you that they are Apple authorized reseller and you can get a “real” iPhone 4 from them, for just $1180 yuan (about $174).

This Chinese knockoff company appeared out of nowhere, and we found them through their fake iPhone 4 website. The company is selling iPhone 4 and iPhone 3GS knockoff on the site, and they even explained the features and design of the phones, all in Chinese. They have six highlights for their products — Officially licensed, US original, quality assurance, cash on delivery, 7 day refund and lifetime warranty.

This company copies Apple’s iPhone 4 product page, and set up a fake website to sell their iPhone 4 knockoff. The site is pretty genuine at first sight, and the Chinese consumers would not know it’s actually a fake. Interestingly, the site has a guide which teaches you how to differentiate a real iPhone 4 and a knockoff version, while they are actually selling a fake iPhone 4. For the purchasing, the site provides a online booking form which customers needs to input their names, phone number, shipping address, and choose the type of iPhone 4 they wish to purchase. After submitting the order form, the company will keep contact with you, and ship the “real” iPhone 4 to your door step in 3-5 working days. Well, customers can also call their hotline number for more details, 400-6789-785. WTF…

To qwell curiousity - Fake & Real

------

The iPhone 4 remains in limited stock at Apple's U.S. retail stores seven weeks after its launch, suggesting that "antennagate" has done little to slow sales.

Analyst Gene Munster polled 30 retail stores this week, and found that 16 of them had some stock. Most stores he checked with indicated they are receiving daily iPhone 4 shipments to meet up with supply.

Despite limited supplies, the situation is improving. Before July 10, there was no in-store availability, with 0 of 20 stores in stock. On July 26, Munster polled 5 stores and found 3 had the iPhone 4 available.

The continued limited supply, he said, is evidence that demand for the iPhone 4 remains strong despite the "antennagate" controversy, which erupted when users realized that covering the bottom left corner of the handset could reduce reception. Supply constraints are not a sign of a production slowdown, Munster said.

"We had expected near full in store availability in the U.S. by now, given it has been several weeks since the iPhone 4 U.S. launch (June 24)," he wrote. "Longer than expected supply shortages are not new to the iPhone. As a point of reference, in last year's September quarter conference call, the company indicated that iPhone supply was constrained in most countries through late Sept. or early Oct. due to better than expected demand of iPhone 3GS."

The iPhone 4 sold a record 3.7 million units in its first three days, making it the fastest selling Apple product in history. Munster believes that in the September quarter, Apple will sell 11 million units worldwide.

Piper Jaffray has maintained its overweight rating for AAPL stock with a price target of $371.

------

Mike Gdovin emailed Steve Jobs and got a reply regarding their lack of focus on Macs and computers. To his surprise, less than 15 minutes later, he received a push notification that said he had an email from Steve Jobs!

Mike Gdovin wrote:Is Apple moving away from Desktop and laptop computers and more towards mobile devices? I love using a full Mac computer when I am at my desk and then use mobile devices when I am on the move. I think it is still important for Apple to have both computers and mobile devices, yet Apple hasn’t recently made any major updates to their computers for some time, especially the Mac Pro. I love the mobile devices but, I still like having a desktop or laptop computer too.

Mike Gdovin

Steve Jobs wrote:Yep, we agree.

Sent from my iPad

------

iPhone Dev Team wrote:On Wednesday, Apple (finally) released firmware 4.0.2, which patches the very large security holes exploited by @comex in the 2nd incarnation of jailbreakme.com. The only problem is they outright abandoned iPhone2G and iPod Touch 1G users! Even though Apple acknowledges in their security update the severity of these holes, they left iPhone2G and ipt1G owners high and dry — completely vulnerable to truly malicious variants of jailbreakme (these variants aren’t out yet, but they’re sure to come!).

Luckily for Apple, the Jailbreak community isn’t so callous. @saurik has been burning the midnight oil coding a Cydia package that will fix the holes for all devices and all firmware versions (even going back to version 2.x!). It will be released very soon, after some more testing is done.

Since the only reason for 4.0.2 was to fix the security holes, and since the upcoming Cydia package will fix them too (and then some!), everybody should sit tight on 4.0.1 (or lower) and install the Cydia package as soon as it’s out. Jailbreakers can have their cake and eat it too.

P.S. Dear Apple: you’re welcome!

Postby M_2NR » August 12th, 2010, 1:15 pm

original_lollybob wrote:^
i ordered on off ebay this morning...

so if it work i have no problem lending u...

If anybody have one here that would be great tho

hoss i looking for one for you as well :|

u did the tinyumbrella thing though?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 12th, 2010, 2:30 pm

In keeping with the iPhone 4 knock off post from earlier today...

Postby nemisis » August 12th, 2010, 3:12 pm

does a cut black berry data sim work in the 3g ipad

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 12th, 2010, 3:15 pm

thats is one of the best phone reviews i have ever watched and it was for the worst phone ever LOL, thanks srasc