3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby Rooki3 » March 19th, 2010, 12:45 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:Good pics ppl!

Something from today's shoot.

WHO IS THIS ANGEL? :oops:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 19th, 2010, 3:40 am

^^wouldn't you love to know...

btw, I dunno who Billy talent is, but this was Mary J. Blije in concert a couple weeks ago in Reliant Stadium, Houston.

Postby Maserati » March 19th, 2010, 10:42 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:^^wouldn't you love to know...

btw, I dunno who Billy talent is, but this was Mary J. Blije in concert a couple weeks ago in Reliant Stadium, Houston.

:lol: :lol: he mightn't be your cup of tea

Postby M_2NR » March 19th, 2010, 5:19 pm

here are some n00b shots of our group project today. Sorry about the shitty quality. I really like my last two. I didnt edit them tho.
so i was trying out focus...
then was like.. hrm.. why not infinity...
any advice?

It actually looks so nice uncompressed

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 19th, 2010, 6:55 pm

A longer shutter speed would have made this shot look so sick.. Good job though

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 20th, 2010, 1:13 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:A longer shutter speed would have made this shot look so sick.. Good job though

Judging from the absence of noise, I'd say this was shot at low ISO
Add to that the little shadow detail that indicates high angle of sun (possibly 10am-2pm)
These all suggest that ambient light was plentiful.
A long exposure would not have been impossible without reducing the exposure by about 8 stops by using smaller aperture, neutral density filtering, or low-ISO.

In my opinion it would have shown some movement in the cascading water, but it wouldn't have been that significant in the frame, since the majority of the water is still.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 20th, 2010, 2:39 am

Yea he would have to set his aperture very high to avoid over exposure.. Since the water looks slow, I would have started at 3 seconds & work my way up or down till I get the right "blur"

Running water on a long exposure is amazing but requires a tripod or a steady place to rest the camera. 2 things that's never around whenever I find a waterfall :-(

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » March 20th, 2010, 8:09 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:Good pics ppl!

Something from today's shoot.

Saw quite a few of these shots on her fb prof. Really great stuff man!

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 20th, 2010, 9:14 am

vana looks gorgeous as usual...well done scully....

i haven't been getting time to do anything lately but hold this

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 20th, 2010, 9:16 am

Postby M_2NR » March 20th, 2010, 2:26 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:A longer shutter speed would have made this shot look so sick.. Good job though

Code: Select all

http://i605.photobucket.com/albums/tt133/corolla_2nr/DSC01356.jpg

Judging from the absence of noise, I'd say this was shot at low ISO
Add to that the little shadow detail that indicates high angle of sun (possibly 10am-2pm)
These all suggest that ambient light was plentiful.
A long exposure would not have been impossible without reducing the exposure by about 8 stops by using smaller aperture, neutral density filtering, or low-ISO.

In my opinion it would have shown some movement in the cascading water, but it wouldn't have been that significant in the frame, since the majority of the water is still.

:shock: :shock: :shock:
I need phototakerouter classes. That was P-Mode setting in my P&S Sony W170. I wish i can set aperture n stuff :(
I would have loved to do more shots but we were taking readings for a project. My tripod was my hand rested on a flat surface and at times my feet :lol:

thanks guys for the tips :)

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 20th, 2010, 4:05 pm

^ a longer shutter on moving water will give you an effect like this -

I took this 2 years ago.. The water blur may have been a bit excessive on the first pic, but this was before I knew anything. Hey I still don't know anything :lol:

Postby M_2NR » March 20th, 2010, 10:35 pm

ohh my! next time im surely trying this. now how to force this crap into longer shutter speed :?

thanks RB :)

aidan

Postby aidan » March 20th, 2010, 11:22 pm

woody woodpecker was attacking my tree

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » March 21st, 2010, 12:10 am

Bird Sanctuary today

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 21st, 2010, 4:51 am

Some pic from my new Canon Prof SLR.

Let me know what u guys think.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 21st, 2010, 11:43 am

Click for full-size.

Rensh

Postby Rensh » March 21st, 2010, 10:50 pm

random portrait:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 21st, 2010, 11:47 pm

Nice work Chemical. What mode are you shooting in?

Paradoxx, I love the composition of that scene. Beautifully serene.

Bacon, WOW!
Great use of light in both photos!
Love the detail in both of them. I know it can be a challenge, but I may have tried for a tad smaller aperture on the second frame to get the bird sharp from head to tail. Still a fantastic photo though. What lens are you using again?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 22nd, 2010, 10:06 am

Thanks NS

I am still using the stock 18-55 kit lens.......But my wife was feeling a lil sorry for me this weekend so she say she go buy a lens for me when a bonus that she gettin fall in :fadein: ............. I thinking 18-200 for now but I have not started lookin as yet......still kinda overwhelmed :|

I was able to get one with some more detail in the tail.....but the head, distance and background was so so ...... always a trade-off I guess.....

Could not decide between these 2 :oops:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 22nd, 2010, 10:40 am

Oh......regarding the sunrise shot.....the sun did shift.....but it shifted the other way :evil: ...... so right now it completely behind the building......so salt for the next couple months :cry:

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » March 22nd, 2010, 12:21 pm

http://www.sachacosmetics.com/
idk if he noticed but Scully's pic is on the front page of Sacha Cosmetics.

Two more Sanctuary pictures

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 22nd, 2010, 2:32 pm

Bacon, I'd think long and hard about your next lens purchase. The 18-200 is a good all-round lens, but sacrifices heavily on image quality, bokeh quality, and is also a similar aperture range to what you're using now. Also at $683.50, it's not a great deal when you consider you can get a 70-200 f/4L for $636.00 :idea: Then there's also the 50mm f/1.8.

I think it's great that you're getting excellent results with a kit lens and proving the point that with some persisitence, kit lenses can produce good results, despite what many say.

Paradoxx wrote:http://www.sachacosmetics.com/
idk if he noticed but Scully's pic is on the front page of Sacha Cosmetics.

Oh cool, thanks

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 22nd, 2010, 10:49 pm

Fire on Mt. St. Benedict

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 22nd, 2010, 11:38 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote: Then there's also the 50mm f/1.8.

I was also planning on getting one of these as well.....

Thanks for the words on lenses...

I will love to get something that will meet all my needs in 1 maybe 2 lenses but I guess dais only for now.....after I do some preliminary research I will post some options and what I will be using it for to see what you experts think but as of right now I ringing meh kit lens to 57mm :|

But given my lifestyle and the fact that I never really plan to take photos, in most cases i go out and stumble across something, I really need something dynamic that will work well in most situations, something that kinda lives on the camera.....honestly I prefer to have 2 bodies than to be fumbling to swap lenses everytime I have to take a shot.

BTW Great job on the Sacha shot ......................

Aye if allyuh find I posting too much bush tell meh :oops:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 24th, 2010, 1:07 am

Real Matrix business went in to gettin this one.....it ain't the best, But the colors.....

More Bush :oops:

The last I promise.....

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 24th, 2010, 1:15 am

Almost forget Bird....

Postby M_2NR » March 24th, 2010, 1:18 am

Bacon, you living in a zoo? where u getting all those birds from :shock:
i love all those pics man!

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 24th, 2010, 9:59 am

lol......Nah them things from one of the parks on this side...

It have a nex bird I stalking......It ain't too pretty nut it HUGE and unusual.....waiting for it to do something interesting and for a great background/lighting........

I never went to the zoo here :cry: I should probably go yes....... :mrgreen:

Postby Razkal » March 24th, 2010, 10:54 am

went to the zoo yesterday to get some info, took a few pics nothing spectacular...will post one or two as soon as i upload and see which one brings me less shame :lol:

great pics bacon, those birds are unusual