Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

AlphaMan

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby AlphaMan » September 19th, 2024, 1:02 pm

greggle71 wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:Do you guys see "%" on your assessment forms?

Yea I have % on my form

The back and forth about property tax, it’s back and it not going anywhere even if there is a change in government it’s going to stay.

At a minimum the method may be varied, but it’s here. Residential collection already started so that can’t be reversed for Commercial and Industrial instead.

We’re screwed either way

Where you seeing the 2% on the assessment form? Because I not seeing that on mines. I may have the old assessment and not the new one. :|

generic

Postby generic » September 20th, 2024, 7:06 am

AlphaMan wrote:
greggle71 wrote:

Yea I have % on my form

The back and forth about property tax, it’s back and it not going anywhere even if there is a change in government it’s going to stay.

At a minimum the method may be varied, but it’s here. Residential collection already started so that can’t be reversed for Commercial and Industrial instead.

We’re screwed either way

Where you seeing the 2% on the assessment form? Because I not seeing that on mines. I may have the old assessment and not the new one. :|

If you have an old assessment, the letter should be dated prior to April. New assessments, however, would be issued from June onward. Additionally, you would still see a percentage, but it would be 3% on the old form.

Are you certain you received a Notice of Assessment from the BIR, or could it be a Notice of Valuation from the Valuations Division? These are two distinct documents. The Notice of Valuation only provides your Annual Rental Value, while the Notice of Assessment uses this value to calculate your tax.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2024, 8:24 am

adnj wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Yes but we can show we disagree by voting out the PNM
Bro the PNM African man are renters & Squaters they dont care about house taxes and have no need to vote non PNM parties.

The greedy Injuns could not care for less to vote non PNM. Most of these greedy injuns was blanked by UNC and decided to mash up UNC in favor of PNM.

Moral is Trinidad is full of people that only put themselves first and don't give a damm about you.

Squatters are held responsible for property taxes also.

U gofind squaters in the forest and tell them to pay taxes or go up laventille and try that nah

Postby Les Bain » September 20th, 2024, 10:38 am

So if a set of badjohn with cutlass squatting on some family land, you will be paying property tax for them while they bleating about squatter's rights?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 20th, 2024, 10:49 am

While we beating up about lavantee, all those bandits in suit and tie not paying a cent in property tax while using local government resources to make money all thanks to imbert.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 20th, 2024, 11:10 am

Think about a 20 apartment complex in a high-end area with millionaire tenants using water and garbage disposal as well as roads but not paying a cent in property tax because the are classified as commercial

That is where we are right now

It is just unbelievable that we are just accepting that as normal

death365

Postby death365 » September 20th, 2024, 11:15 am

every time i come on this topic i does be hoping to see a adjustment to the deadline date to 1st Jan. 25.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 20th, 2024, 11:45 am

They will have to they just one to collect as much as possible by September 30th

Postby hover11 » September 20th, 2024, 11:53 am

Budget day is the same day as the deadline for property tax expect an extension.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 20th, 2024, 2:17 pm

death365 wrote:every time i come on this topic i does be hoping to see a adjustment to the deadline date to 1st Jan. 25.

ab823e20-472b-40e7-b0c9-8e684fd4dbc2.jpg

New deadline will be announced on Monday 23rd

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2024, 2:28 pm

bandits coming for your tax money

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/09/19/senior-cop-criminals-targeting-people-withdrawing-to-pay-property-tax/

but here nuh

The Finance Ministry recently announced that the use of Linx was halted because of the end of the financial year. The service is set to resume on October 1. Payments may still be made by cheque or by cash.

The deadline for paying the property tax is September 30.

make it make sense -no online option and yuh removing the only non cash option at a time when you expect plenty ppl to have to pay

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 20th, 2024, 2:29 pm

Stevie Wonder could have seen thar coming from a mile away. Non news lol

death365

Postby death365 » September 20th, 2024, 2:32 pm

wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

death365 wrote:every time i come on this topic i does be hoping to see a adjustment to the deadline date to 1st Jan. 25.

ab823e20-472b-40e7-b0c9-8e684fd4dbc2.jpg
New deadline will be announced on Monday 23rd

Postby Dave » September 20th, 2024, 3:37 pm

It was inevitable

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 20th, 2024, 3:46 pm

Dave wrote:It was inevitable
Doh say it after call it before like I did

Postby The_Honourable » September 20th, 2024, 5:55 pm

Imbert: Property-tax deadline to be extended

FINANCE Minister Colm Imbert has said there will be an extension to the deadline to pay property tax. He said this will be announced on September 23.

In recent days there have been long lines at the Board of Inland Revenue (BIR) and district revenue offices as people tried to meet the deadline. No Linx services have been allowed since September 16, to allow the closure of the BIR's accounts for the end of the financial year.

The police have said as a result of people having to pay the property tax in cash, criminals have been targeting those withdrawing these sums from banks.

The minister said citizens will be able to pay via bank transfer and ACH in October.

Imbert was speaking in the House of Representatives on September 20.

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/09/20/imbert ... -extended/

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 20th, 2024, 9:37 pm

generic wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
greggle71 wrote:

Yea I have % on my form

We’re screwed either way

If you have an old assessment, the letter should be dated prior to April. New assessments, however, would be issued from June onward. Additionally, you would still see a percentage, but it would be 3% on the old form.

Are you certain you received a Notice of Assessment from the BIR, or could it be a Notice of Valuation from the Valuations Division? These are two distinct documents. The Notice of Valuation only provides your Annual Rental Value, while the Notice of Assessment uses this value to calculate your tax.

I got one letter with a letter head at the top saying government of the republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Ministry of Finance.
Notice of Assessment.
Date 20th June 2024.

Signature at the bottom,
Commissioner Board of inland revenue.

No where on the letter do I see 2%

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 20th, 2024, 9:38 pm

it is on the back of that letter so flip it over

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 20th, 2024, 11:35 pm

generic wrote:

I received only a Notice of Valuation. I suppose I may need to go in and find out what the assessment is.

Postby j.o.e » September 21st, 2024, 5:43 am

PariaMan wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hover11 wrote:
PariaMan wrote:She was hgonna implement the correct way starting with industrial and commercial first

Showing care for the small man

Commercial people would have just passed on that cost to the consumers.... Shrugs shoulders
So the logic is businessmen shouldn't be subjected to taxes because they will inflate their prices?

I never said businessmen shouldn't be taxed... All I'm saying is when it does happen, the consumer would end up paying for it. How many small businesses you known absorb unnecessary costs?
So Rowley said he would not shutdown Petrotrin and then did just that

Circumstances change and then we adjust

But starting with the residential is just plain wrong and just a move by the elite to avoid being taxed for as long as possible

If people can not acknowledge this, then God help us

The 1 percenters will give them sheit to eat and call it ice cream, and they will say thanks and ask for more

Why the assumption that elite not getting taxed? Fine they have commercial properties but they also have a sheit ton of residential properties some under utilized ….. I know someone with 18 PRIVATE properties

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 6:00 am

j.o.e wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
PariaMan wrote:She was hgonna implement the correct way starting with industrial and commercial first

Showing care for the small man

Commercial people would have just passed on that cost to the consumers.... Shrugs shoulders
So the logic is businessmen shouldn't be subjected to taxes because they will inflate their prices?

I never said businessmen shouldn't be taxed... All I'm saying is when it does happen, the consumer would end up paying for it. How many small businesses you known absorb unnecessary costs?
So Rowley said he would not shutdown Petrotrin and then did just that

Circumstances change and then we adjust

But starting with the residential is just plain wrong and just a move by the elite to avoid being taxed for as long as possible

If people can not acknowledge this, then God help us

The 1 percenters will give them sheit to eat and call it ice cream, and they will say thanks and ask for more

Why the assumption that elite not getting taxed? Fine they have commercial properties but they also have a sheit ton of residential properties some under utilized ….. I know someone with 18 PRIVATE properties
Residential property tax is much lower than commercial tax though as you using the space for business. That’s why commercial properties should have been first. Regardless if they choose to pass it on to consumers , let the consumers choose where to spend their money but tax the businessmen first, that's all we saying here. Asking the pensioners and the working class who live on a fixed income with no increases for the past ten years to pay first when it has businessmen who could afford 18 properties out here, is simply diabolical.

wing

Postby wing » September 21st, 2024, 6:38 am

A large section of the working class refused an increase and backpay last year, they could afford the property tax apparently.

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 6:40 am

wing wrote:A large section of the working class refused an increase and backpay last year, they could afford the property tax apparently.
Were pensioners offered an increase broken wing? Don't pensioners make up the majority of homeowners in this country? Last time I checked PNM hasn't done squat for them in the last 9 years but continue. When you coming as a PNM blogger come with sense.

wing

Postby wing » September 21st, 2024, 6:48 am

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:A large section of the working class refused an increase and backpay last year, they could afford the property tax apparently.
Were pensioners offered an increase broken wing? Don't pensioners make up the majority of homeowners in this country? Last time I checked PNM hasn't done squat for them in the last 9 years but continue. When you coming as a PNM blogger come with sense.
It's too early to be riled up. I clearly referenced the working class. I don't have information on property ownership, so I can't comment.

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 6:51 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
It's too early to be riled up. I clearly referenced the working class. I don't have information on property ownership, so I can't comment.
Right so get your information from your PNM fanatic groups, come with facts or don't come at all. You mentioned the working class, the 4 percent increase is much less than that of the property tax. Even you know PNM doing shite and have no clue to manage an economy but you continue to defend the indefensible lol

Postby zoom rader » September 21st, 2024, 8:01 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Epic back pedal when confronted.

Dis too early, I gonna jink

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 21st, 2024, 1:17 pm

I hate the idea of pensioners having to pay it, after working their whole lives and receiving a pittance.

I think that pensioners should be allowed ONE residential property that can be completely tax exempt once in their name rather than a deferral to the next owner to be potentially saddled in debt after inheritance.

One property to avoid people transferring assets to their retired parents to duck tax.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 21st, 2024, 2:25 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I hate the idea of pensioners having to pay it, after working their whole lives and receiving a pittance.

I think that pensioners should be allowed ONE residential property that can be completely tax exempt once in their name rather than a deferral to the next owner to be potentially saddled in debt after inheritance.

One property to avoid people transferring assets to their retired parents to duck tax.
Good idea . These people operate on a fixed income that will, therefore, be more pressure

wing

Postby wing » September 21st, 2024, 2:35 pm

Finally a solid Idea instead of the usual rants, complaints and insults. My parents are pensioners, I've paid their taxes for them. Will other children do it for their parents?

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 2:41 pm

wing wrote:Finally a solid Idea instead of the usual rants, complaints and insults. My parents are pensioners, I've paid their taxes for them. Will other children do it for their parents?
Were pensioners even considered knowing their income is fixed, what about the pensioners who don't have children, again you being presumptuous as usual. Any thoughts were placed on the financial status of these pensioners who now have to sacrifice medication, doctor visits and other necessities, no the fixation was revenue collection regardless of who was affected.