Flow Internet Thread

novastar1

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby novastar1 » April 8th, 2016, 12:18 am

Injected_1 wrote:I dunno what's going on. I have the 60Mbps package. I was originally in Malabar and had TOP NOTCH service... no issues nothing. I move to grande this week into a new place with existing wiring. I called FLOW and updated my location details, went onto their website and did the FLOW speedtest, and was getting decent speeds, close to 57MBps (although right now it varying wildly between 38 and 50MBps).

When I try speedtest.net I getting 0.67MBps... LMAO... So I figure it have to be something between their main DNS servers (200.1.104.35 and 200.1.104.36) and the link to the "outside world". But when I do some IP checks it REAL SPORADIC in terms of the pings.. sometimes I getting normal pings in the 100's, but then I getting pings almost 3.3secs!!!! And sometimes I can't even complete some pinging attempts!

If anybody have any other ideas (besides switching lololol I cyar do that right now), lehmih know.. I gwan try rebooting and calling tech support etc.

Similar was happening to me.... Lots of dropped packets
Try 192.168.100.1 and see how much uncorrected errors you have (if you have the Arris modem)
Flow was unable to fix mine though

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 8th, 2016, 2:05 am

random test on wifi 30 mb connection sando. works decent 95% of the time.

Injected_1

Postby Injected_1 » April 8th, 2016, 8:53 am

LAWD.... too much to quote.....

Well I noticed last night, speed was top notch... did the speedtests for both ookla and openspeedtest. I noticed that speedtest.net was using the Digicel server last night. WHen I checked this morning at different times, speedtest.net keeps on choosing "NOT the fastest" based on ping server.... I dunno why... When I manually choose either the FLOW, BLINK, DIGICEL servers it runs tops.... I don't know much about the WAN infrastructure/operation, but I am wondering if FLOW has some problems in terms of routing through there infrastructure.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » April 8th, 2016, 9:43 am

flow merger with liberty global?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 8th, 2016, 10:58 am

novastar1 wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:right now Carigamers kinda sticking i still waiting for my upgrade :\

So this carigamers thing is real?
So flow can afford to drop their prices even lower then?

yes, it took about a week to activate..from sign up..but it worked.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 8th, 2016, 11:34 am

Spitfir3 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:right now Carigamers kinda sticking i still waiting for my upgrade :\

So this carigamers thing is real?
So flow can afford to drop their prices even lower then?

yes its legit, couple of men on here pumping it strong it even stopped Effectic from commiting suicide

Yeah I got a refund on the Lanate.

Ever since that 60mb is blessed holy water internet since then not even a single disconnect. At one point I tried to reset the modem hoping for a disconnect as I was suffering from battered wife syndrome with flow I wanted to go back to the disconnects.

Postby M_2NR » April 9th, 2016, 1:26 pm

You may also need to call flow and confirm. Mine was applied and I didn't know until they called about another issue. I'm currently having crazy crazy drops and massive packet loss (>30%) but I'll monitor and update.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 9th, 2016, 1:27 pm

M_2NR wrote:You may also need to call flow and confirm. Mine was applied and I didn't know until they called about another issue. I'm currently having crazy crazy drops and massive packet loss (>30%) but I'll monitor and update.

also you can simply log in to your account on Flow's website and check there...under the 'Maintain Services' tab. look for 'MAX PROMO'

Postby Morpheus » April 10th, 2016, 12:24 pm

Guys my wireless router conk out after at least 8yrs of service. What's a reasonably good router to use with FLOW?

Bear in mind my Arris modem with the removable battery still going strong eh.

All I can think of is Dual Band and Wireless N.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » April 10th, 2016, 12:41 pm

What's your budget?

Postby Morpheus » April 10th, 2016, 1:21 pm

$500 to $800.

Could go more but rather not for now

Postby Spitfir3 » April 10th, 2016, 5:27 pm

so i figured out why my upgrade was taking so long apparently my email never got sent thanks a f%$kin lot windows live........

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 10th, 2016, 6:05 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:so i figured out why my upgrade was taking so long apparently my email never got sent thanks a f%$kin lot windows live........

ha ha ha .... gmail next time breds...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 10th, 2016, 8:34 pm

Goodbye Flow
Street Fighter V online is working real sweet since the switch
Thank you competition

Re: RE: Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Morpheus » April 10th, 2016, 9:01 pm

nick639 wrote:
Morpheus wrote:$500 to $800.

Could go more but rather not for now

Boy the linksys pricesmart has working well. N600 i think.. 3 months it hook up and never needed a reset , no dropped connections anything. And i game over wifi sometimes and it holds up well.

I used to game over wifi with the Linksys that conk out. Minor older games though. So I kinda leaning towards that brand again for real.

Thanks man

Postby TRAE » April 11th, 2016, 11:28 am

NOVO Communications leasing Flow's Internet- fibre to home, getting loss and unsteady pings at times tho.

zarfield

Postby zarfield » April 14th, 2016, 3:37 pm

Dear People,

I know you are having problems watching Twitch.tv like me. I have called to complain and would appreciate it if others would do the same. Maybe we will get it fixed. Especially over social media would be nice.
Thanks.

brickman

Postby brickman » April 14th, 2016, 5:43 pm

zarfield wrote:Dear People,

I know you are having problems watching Twitch.tv like me. I have called to complain and would appreciate it if others would do the same. Maybe we will get it fixed. Especially over social media would be nice.
Thanks.

Twitch tv has nothing to do with flow,twitch assigns its own servers to different regions & we seem to be getting a bad one outside of the u.s for the past 2 months.Only way to watch twitch these days is to install the twitch buffer fix extension on chrome,it will pick a u.s server & things will run fine.Wish there was a version/something similar for other browsers but gonna have to run chrome for now.

zarfield

Postby zarfield » April 14th, 2016, 7:19 pm

brickman wrote:
zarfield wrote:Dear People,

Thanks.

Twitch tv has nothing to do with flow,twitch assigns its own servers to different regions & we seem to be getting a bad one outside of the u.s for the past 2 months.Only way to watch twitch these days is to install the twitch buffer fix extension on chrome,it will pick a u.s server & things will run fine.Wish there was a version/something similar for other browsers but gonna have to run chrome for now.

I don't believe that is true. 1. I don't get this problem when using blink. 2. If I connect to a VPN to Miami (therefore the same server) I get full source streaming.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 14th, 2016, 10:46 pm

Interestingly Twitch just does not work for me even though I can watch youtube on 4K just fine. Twitch just does not work on Flow it buffers like Crazy it has been like this since day one for me and everyone I know who has Flow. I will try the chrome extension and see if that makes it buffer less./

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 15th, 2016, 12:52 pm

How many of you with Flow have your wireless on their Arris(flow modems ) turned OFF and are running a separate Wireless router ? ive been advised by a few people that those Arris routers are extremely problematic and I will get much better service using after market routers.

Postby pete » April 15th, 2016, 2:23 pm

I have it on. Works fine.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 15th, 2016, 2:50 pm

^^^same here. no issues

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » April 15th, 2016, 8:36 pm

Flow sucks. Not working in Arouca

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » April 15th, 2016, 8:45 pm

Anyone have Internet problems in Arouca

Caribnomad

Re: Arris modem: WiFi

Postby Caribnomad » April 16th, 2016, 7:39 am

My Arris modem WiFi power output dropped to such low levels that I had to keep the PC within 2-3 feet of the modem to be able to connect. All the Wifi detector programs (like Network Signal Info, or WiFi detector) showed really low 2.4GHz levels from the Arris modem. Reported it to FLOW and they gave me a date for a tech to visit which was more then 14 days from the day of my call. I gave up trying to get an earlier visit date and bought a WiFi access point at the Mall and was up and running less than an hour after hanging up with FLOW customer care.

Life is too short to wait 14 days for a customer care visit. I cancelled my FLOW account soon after.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 17th, 2016, 11:06 am

^ Good for you bro you don't wanna hear my past stories about them. Just think this one time I reported having issues they determined the modem is not good through 0 real knowledge as we know their techs does live life by guess, well they send a new modem that never worked. Then they say the new modem is truly busted so I had to wait 1 MONTH for a tech to visit and replace it. AND I would also have to pay $200 bill for a month of internet I am not using. Could you imagine that? no need to, its reality with these losers. BUT BUT BUT BUT it didn't end there after a couple weeks and calling their support line 67 times I got a tech who wasn't sitting on his ass who actually decided to check the cmac address and turns out they mix up the A with an 8 and viola just like that the modem and everything started working BUT BUT BUT it didn't end there, you didn't think it ended there now do you? Well guess what the disconnects were worse than the old modem ROFL. In the end switching to 60mb magically stopped the disconnects even though it totally ruined my friend who had a perfect working 15MB so even though I was happy my best friend I play games online with had no way to play games online so that flow issue still didn't end. ROFL

Mine works for now which is the only reason I am still with them but this 60mb special ends in 2 years of which the package will then change and the nasty disconnects will start back when that day comes which I predict to me sometime March 2018. luckily this time around I won't have to report anything just switch and call up flow and say adios.

Things worked out quite well for me in all honesty.

TriP

Postby TriP » April 17th, 2016, 10:18 pm

:D

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » April 19th, 2016, 9:49 am

Re the speedtest video: Where are you located, and which server did speedtest automatically test to?

Best to hover your cursor over the triangle symbol, and test to each of the servers in Trinidad to get a better understanding of your situation, rather than letting speedtest select the destination server based on ping.

Postby teems1 » April 19th, 2016, 10:04 am

TriP wrote:
:D

Were you connected via LAN or WiFi.

If on the wireless, were you on the 2.4Ghz or the 5Ghz band and if so how many meters from the router? Also were there any other wireless devices (blink hotspot, neighbour's router etc) broadcasting on the same channel? 1, 6 and 11 are the main channels used and there is often overlap in densely populated areas.

Also what was the traffic on your local network at the time of speedtest? Was anyone else downloading/streaming/torrenting?

Instead of repeating FLOW is a thief 10 times, why not just state the parameters of the speedtest.