*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby DVSTT » June 29th, 2014, 12:34 pm

Xecutive wrote:What I could suggest is possibly going with the denon receiver Zim suggested for 150us on amazon and select an entry level 5.1 setup. I saw amazon also had the Polk audio rm6750. Not sure on the reviews about it but the price was 190us. Only 40bucks over ur budget. At least when ur getting rid of the speakers u'll still be able to hold on to the receiver. Do some searching, u may not regret it

I read reviews on the boston audio and denon receiver setup and I think I'm decided on that.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » June 29th, 2014, 2:23 pm

Cool. I was just suggesting the Polk because of price in keeping with your budget. It's a good start though and u could eventually add/remove components as you like.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 29th, 2014, 3:14 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Xecutive wrote:What I could suggest is possibly going with the denon receiver Zim suggested for 150us on amazon and select an entry level 5.1 setup. I saw amazon also had the Polk audio rm6750. Not sure on the reviews about it but the price was 190us. Only 40bucks over ur budget. At least when ur getting rid of the speakers u'll still be able to hold on to the receiver. Do some searching, u may not regret it

I read reviews on the boston audio and denon receiver setup and I think I'm decided on that.

denon/yamaha recievers go almost good with anything.Good choice.

Postby DVSTT » June 30th, 2014, 7:22 am

ru$$ell wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

denon/yamaha recievers go almost good with anything.Good choice.

Plus 5 year warranty on the speakers is also good.

Thanks for all the advice fellas. I appreciate the help.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » June 30th, 2014, 9:31 am

No probs man...let us know how it works out for your purpose.

I'm looking to purchase a cabinet for my movie/game collection but can't seem to find a good one locally similar to either of the ones shown in the pics below. I recently checked roopnarines, fens and some other places but most of them carry open front bookshelves only.

Preferably something with sliding glass doors to eliminate the bulk/space of opening doors. I'm also open to suggestions if you all know of any reputable person who can custom build this using solid wood. Thanks in advance.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 30th, 2014, 9:21 pm

try to buy it local as these things are heavy.

Got myself this table for our tv and the blasted thing caused the shipment of everything to be taking so long.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » July 1st, 2014, 12:08 am

I'm actually going through raptor if I have to order it but just not really getting much variety, surprisingly. The real nice ones that I found were 1500us upwards which is ridiculous.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 1st, 2014, 6:12 pm

yup genuine woodworking in the US aint cheap. that one above cost just under 1000 usd and weighs 200 lbs

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » July 1st, 2014, 9:39 pm

My only option right now may be to get it custom built. That way I could get exactly what I want using solid wood. Might be costly as well but definitely not in the 1000usd range lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 1st, 2014, 9:50 pm

Xecutive wrote:My only option right now may be to get it custom built. That way I could get exactly what I want using solid wood. Might be costly as well but definitely not in the 1000usd range lol
use sketchup to draw exactly what you want and take it to a few joiners and woodwork shops and get different quotes.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 2nd, 2014, 9:32 am

http://www.salamanderdesigns.com , these are excellent quality

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 2nd, 2014, 9:36 am

samsung stops production of its plasma production on November 30th. Time to snatch one up!

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2014/07/0 ... W620140701

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » July 2nd, 2014, 9:40 am

Xecutive wrote:My only option right now may be to get it custom built. That way I could get exactly what I want using solid wood. Might be costly as well but definitely not in the 1000usd range lol
use sketchup to draw exactly what you want and take it to a few joiners and woodwork shops and get different quotes.

Thanks for the suggestion. That's a nice piece of software. Was actually gonna do the design in autocad but I'll try this out first and see how it works. Downloading it right now lol

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » July 2nd, 2014, 9:52 am

gfbl wrote:http://www.salamanderdesigns.com , these are excellent quality

Love the pull out shelves for audio components and accessories for mounting surge protectors. Really nice finishes too.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 2nd, 2014, 10:11 am

yep they can make custom pieces also, the quality is superb.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » July 2nd, 2014, 11:36 am

Just put together something quick in AutoCAD. Still have to do the doors and may remove the legs and add in base and crown moldings.

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2014, 3:34 pm

https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-au ... r--300-652

dayton b652 $34.80

not too keen on it but just a heads up.

Anton

Postby Anton » July 20th, 2014, 3:14 pm

Humes

Postby Humes » July 24th, 2014, 5:56 pm

I think this Onkyo on the way out. It's doing the same thing it was doing about two years ago, where I randomly lose video completely for a second. Last time that happened, the HDMI port went completely dead after a while.

I'm also hearing a random crack/pop noise from the speaker (center) every now and then. Finally, I'm getting background buzz/crackle from the speakers whenever anything loud is happening onscreen. It happens with some movies.

Might be heat, I doh know.

Either way, any suggestions for a replacement? I was looking at this Denon on Amazon, mostly because it's the newer version of the bestseller.

Also, any suggestions for new center and L-R speakers? I don't think the center that came with this Onko does a good enough job with dialogue.

Postby X_Factor » July 24th, 2014, 6:21 pm

the Yamaha RX-V377 is also pretty decent as well

as for speaker replacements---get a pair of floor standing speakers with a matching center
and ur easily set for a few years

Humes

Postby Humes » July 24th, 2014, 7:29 pm

I will stick to bookshelf for now. Space is at a premium and I don't need anything too powerful.

Zim

Postby Zim » July 24th, 2014, 7:48 pm

Humes wrote:I will stick to bookshelf for now. Space is at a premium and I don't need anything too powerful.

I know how it is. there ae many small footprint towers there, but if you can't have them becuase is very tight, I have a few suggestions for shelf speakers if you want....

X_Factor wrote:the Yamaha RX-V377 is also pretty decent as well

as for speaker replacements---get a pair of floor standing speakers with a matching center
and ur easily set for a few years

Not sure about the receiver but what you said about the towers is quite true.

Humes

Postby Humes » July 24th, 2014, 8:09 pm

Suggest away!

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » July 24th, 2014, 9:13 pm

Finally finishing up my garage, time to start my theater
Just bought an Epson 5030 and tested
Amazing quality,
I didn't get the wireless hdmi in the ub model but got n external which has no lags

Anyone into curve screens, gonna try n imax experience lol
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406250631.432162.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406250631.432162.jpg (23.86 KiB) Viewed 2443 times

It's big lol
Got one of these also but projector to big think of buying smaller epson 2030
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406250705.731367.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406250705.731367.jpg (19.05 KiB) Viewed 2443 times

Might rent out if anyone interested lol
Need to upgrade receiver and get subs
For my klipch 6.2s

Postby pioneer » July 24th, 2014, 9:14 pm

These been serving me for years and they real crips

http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652 ... B002RMPHMU

Competitor which has nice reviews

http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-108250- ... +bookshelf

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » July 24th, 2014, 9:17 pm

Btw this projector did well in moderate lot room for World Cup final
With a towel on the wall lol But direct tv hd feed made it Awsome
100"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 24th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Btw this projector did well in moderate lot room for World Cup final
With a towel on the wall lol But direct tv hd feed made it Awsome
100"
a towel?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 24th, 2014, 10:43 pm

https://shop.pricesmart.com/tt/en/produ ... d-smart-tv

^ Thoughts on the price for what you getting? I'm helping someone set up a home theatre room / man cave.

Zim

Postby Zim » July 24th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Humes wrote:Suggest away!

What u looking for? New? used? Vintage?

Humes

Postby Humes » July 25th, 2014, 2:55 pm

New. I'm not an audiophile, but I appreciate good sound quality with my movies. As I said before, clear dialogue is important. I'll also be playing games on the system, so there's that. I doh even know what vintage is.

Nothing too much over $100USD per pair/center.

Pioneer, I went searching for those B652s, and I found a thread on reddit claiming that the manufacturer had changed and the quality had dropped a lot.