Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2024, 7:15 pm

DMan7 wrote:Better deal not bad...

True. For a one branch supermarket, they do have some good specials but you have to know what to buy.

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2024, 11:05 am

they selling par excellence rice for over $100 whilst pricesmart is $87

death365

Postby death365 » February 2nd, 2024, 12:16 pm

so it continues!

On the heels of Starbucks raising its prices two weeks ago, Royal Castle, Rituals and Blue Waters have done the same.

The confirmation of Royal Castle's price increases came from the quick-service restaurant chain's managing director Sandy Roopchand.

Roopchand told Guardian Media that the prices were adjusted last Friday, due to the minimum wage increase, as well as increases from suppliers.

She said the last time the chain, which has 39 branches, increased prices was in July 2022.

Guardian Media obtained Royal Castle's new price listing and customers are now paying between six and 14 per cent more.

A one-piece and side which cost $22 went up to $25 (13.6 per cent). A two-piece and side which was originally $32 is now $35 (9.4 per cent).

A three-piece, side and drink which was $47 is now $50 (6.4 per cent).

A sandwich, side, and drink that was priced at $32 is now $35 (9.4 per cent). The 12 piece, six sides, and atwo litre stood at $180 and is now priced at $210 (16.6 per cent)

The Queen Bucket with eight pieces was $128 and is now $143 (11.7 per cent).

At Rituals, prices also increased last Friday.

Global Brands director, Anthony Sabga-Aboud, via WhatsApp said only a few selected menu items increased, which were mainly drinks by approximately $1 to $3 depending on beverage size.

Sabga-Aboud indicated that prices did not change on sandwiches and pastries apart from one or two items. This, he said, equates to roughly a five per cent increase across the entire menu of Rituals..

He said this hike was due to the increase in minimum wage from $17.50 to $20.50 and the increase in input costs.

Sabga-Aboud made it clear that no staff at any of its 66 branches will be affected.

“We did not have any price increases at Church's Chicken or Pizza Boys,” he added.

Meanwhile, prices on Blue Waters range of water-based products increased on average $0.04 a bottle yesterday.

When contacted the company's managing director Dominic Hadeed said this is the first price increase since 2016.

Hadeed said letters advising of the price change were sent to customers two weeks ago.

The letter said over the last year, Blue Waters Products Ltd has been faced with varying increases in production costs, driven primarily by raw material increases and other macroeconomic factors.

“As a strategic partner, we have and will continue to absorb as much increasing costs as possible to ensure we provide quality products at affordable prices,” the letter further stated.

It noted that prices remain unchanged for Blue Waters-malt, Stamina Energy, Sparkling Cran+ and Caribbean Traditions.

https://guardian.co.tt/business/price-hikes-at-royal-castle-rituals-blue-waters-6.2.1914899.23cd624df3

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2024, 5:22 pm

I saw a new? canned food brand called Champion, manufactured in China beans with a local importer. Channa and red beans $7/can. And a cheese product in a red and yellow can from Jamaica called Tastee's. Don't know if tinned cheese will catch on culturally here. https://comm350.wordpress.com/2020/02/07/jamaica-produced-the-best-cheese-in-the-world/

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2024, 5:49 pm

have a good few local company labelled canned stuff from the far east, lot from thailand and malaysia

maj. tom wrote:I saw a new? canned food brand called Champion, manufactured in China beans with a local importer. Channa and red beans $7/can. And a cheese product in a red and yellow can from Jamaica called Tastee's. Don't know if tinned cheese will catch on culturally here. https://comm350.wordpress.com/2020/02/07/jamaica-produced-the-best-cheese-in-the-world/

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 2nd, 2024, 11:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:I saw a new? canned food brand called Champion, manufactured in China beans with a local importer. Channa and red beans $7/can. And a cheese product in a red and yellow can from Jamaica called Tastee's. Don't know if tinned cheese will catch on culturally here. https://comm350.wordpress.com/2020/02/07/jamaica-produced-the-best-cheese-in-the-world/

Jamaican tin cheese reach? Been looking for that for years.
Tastes pretty good, probably unhealthy but fairly long shelf life to keep in your emergency supply

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 2nd, 2024, 11:45 pm

Tin cheese goes very well with crix

Postby adnj » February 3rd, 2024, 4:39 am

What's the difference between Tastee cheese and Kraft Cheez Whiz?

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2024, 6:39 am

all the same processed predigested goop
not sure how much cheese they actually have in them

adnj wrote:What's the difference between Tastee cheese and Kraft Cheez Whiz?

Postby bluefete » February 3rd, 2024, 10:11 am

Food basket:

Pack ketchup 750 ml - BOGO - 2/$10.95
Milo drink 250 ml BOGO - 2/$7.45
Nestle 200 ml peanut punch BOGO - 2/$6.45

Postby Rovin » February 3rd, 2024, 10:50 am

i rarely eat fast food fry chicken aka kfc & d like maybe 2-3 times a yr if so much, my preference wud be royal castle but i find all of them really over doing it with d prices & smaller chicken too, i doh buy so it dont bother me

buy ur fries & chicken in d grocery, season it up rel nice - with an air fryer u good to go

fancy takeaway coffee i never buy either so no worries

blue waters price increase not bad so i guess i ok with it ... :|

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 3rd, 2024, 11:01 am

But why make fry chicken though? Bake the chicken sometimes too nah.

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2024, 11:22 am

so dasani and the others raising price next week huh

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2024, 11:39 am

Wasa water is still the best on my ends...

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2024, 11:44 am

taste depends where you live

tbh wasa water very safe to drink straight out the tap once no works don’t upstream to cause mud in lines

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Wasa water is still the best on my ends...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2024, 12:00 pm

pugboy wrote:taste depends where you live

tbh wasa water very safe to drink straight out the tap once no works don’t upstream to cause mud in lines

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Wasa water is still the best on my ends...

I in the bush, water from north oropuche is probably the best in the country.

Postby Dave » February 3rd, 2024, 12:07 pm

Buying bottled water is the biggest scam out there.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 3rd, 2024, 12:12 pm

#WasaWater4Life

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 3rd, 2024, 4:27 pm

Food Prices in the mall gone up by $5 while minimum wage went up by $3.
Imbert just spinning the economy in circles because everything goes up when minimum wage goes up.

Postby paid_influencer » February 3rd, 2024, 4:40 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Food Prices in the mall gone up by $5 while minimum wage went up by $3.
Imbert just spinning the economy in circles because everything goes up when minimum wage goes up.

things was going up long time now and would have gone up regardless of minimum wage

minimum wage workers being held out as the cause of inflation
people making $200 for a 10 hour shift, causing inflation apparently

corporate profits hitting the billions tho
they not raising price just because they want more money, no that would be greedy, and they not greedy like them minimum wage workers that getting $200 for a 10 hour shift

Postby paid_influencer » February 3rd, 2024, 4:45 pm

DMan7 wrote:But why make fry chicken though? Bake the chicken sometimes too nah.

linda's have some nice packages with grill chicken, salads, all kinda thing for carnival.

grill chicken $38
bbq chicken salad $50
all kinda other thing i doh remember

it tasting bess and decent portions, and all the calorie information printed instore. but big $$ to do that regular tho

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » February 3rd, 2024, 5:32 pm

pugboy wrote:tbh wasa water very safe to drink straight out the tap once no works don’t upstream to cause mud in lines

If you unsure, just leave some in a gallon bottle to let d mud settle

Postby bluefete » February 4th, 2024, 1:49 pm

WASA water is the best water - having drank water in USA, UK, up de islands, Puerto Rico, USVI etc.

Pennywise Tunapauna had Boost in container buy 2 get 1 free -$33.95 (original flavours only)

Postby 88sins » February 4th, 2024, 3:08 pm

bluefete wrote:WASA water is the best water - having drank water in USA, UK, up de islands, Puerto Rico, USVI etc.

Pennywise Tunapauna had Boost in container buy 2 get 1 free -$33.95 (original flavours only)

True to some extent. But if ever you want to test the strength of your stomach, drink from the tap in Mexico.

Minor caveat, just keep 2 bale ah tp on standby :lol:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 4th, 2024, 3:42 pm

bluefete wrote:WASA water is the best water - having drank water in USA, UK, up de islands, Puerto Rico, USVI etc.

True to some extent. But if ever you want to test the strength of your stomach, drink from the tap in Mexico.

Minor caveat, just keep 2 bale ah tp on standby :lol:

I'll remember that BUT when drinking Blue Waters, Dasani, Oasis etc...

Postby maj. tom » February 8th, 2024, 5:19 pm

I saw some wild chicken in my yard and put a box with some dry leaf somewhere and now found this. I'm going to assume they're fertilized because it have a rooster too and he does put down some rel dinosaur action every minute he get.

So is she just laying them and leaving it, or she coming back to hatch them? I feed her scraps and old rice sometimes.

Postby 88sins » February 8th, 2024, 7:24 pm

maj. tom wrote:I saw some wild chicken in my yard and put a box with some dry leaf somewhere and now found this. I'm going to assume they're fertilized because it have a rooster too and he does put down some rel dinosaur action every minute he get.

So is she just laying them and leaving it, or she coming back to hatch them? I feed her scraps and old rice sometimes.

Well she only laying there cuz she find is a good nest, so she's probably going to come back and lay a few more and hatch them.

Postby maj. tom » February 8th, 2024, 7:27 pm

Chickies! I gonna leave them and hope for the best.

Postby alfa » February 8th, 2024, 7:48 pm

In a case like this how do you know which eggs you can eat and which will probably have an embryo in it? Not sure how the whole egg thing works and only now thought about it as I saw it here. Someone told me once that white fowl eggs don't hatch, how do they even propogate the species? Buying food in a supermarket in the modern era people generally don't think about these things but good to know nonetheless

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2024, 8:20 pm

you could eat any egg

we had chickens as a child with a male and ate the eggs, they were put in fridge though
so that would have arrested any development

just that over a week, the little dark dot would have started to change into a baby chick