*** The official car accident thread***

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby SMc » January 6th, 2017, 3:26 pm

bluesclues wrote:, indicator flicking on like clockwork for any move i have to make into another lane. .

Why? if you can read the road properly you should only need to do that if your lane change has an effect of another road user around you. ... you need not use them for every lane change unless in some Southern US states.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby bluesclues » January 6th, 2017, 3:34 pm

SMc wrote:
bluesclues wrote:, indicator flicking on like clockwork for any move i have to make into another lane. .

Why? if you can read the road properly you should only need to do that if your lane change has an effect of another road user around you. ... you need not use them for every lane change unless in some Southern US states.

Wrong. Because it's good communication. To keep talking to vehicles around you. It's car language. Drivers cant read your mind. I sure men does pull on you and you does be like 'wdmc bai use your indicator self nah'.. and is because just like u, them thought u wouldnt mind, they was clear, or they coulda fit normal. Lol

Postby Morpheus » January 6th, 2017, 5:16 pm

Wrong indeed. Indicators tell those in front, behind and at the side of you what your intentions are.
I have indicated to change lanes many times but because the car coming up behind me had already indicated and apparently was going to make a similar lane change I would remain in my lane until he has executed and passed.

Also car in extreme right land and you're in extreme left lane. You both decide to enter the middle lane. Peripheral vision should pick up his side marker flashing and you can maintain your position until the other one executes his manouver.

Just think about it as you're indicating for others, not for yourself. It's general safety.

I say the same for lights at dawn and dusk. It's for people to see you(your car), not for you to see them. I fed up see people driving at 5am with no lights on because they eyes good.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 6th, 2017, 6:14 pm

Men real good here... Up to this day the Lord hasn't blessed me with the vision to see through objects... Still can't see the indicator on a vehicle that is directly alongside. I don't rely on peripheral vision... Confirm by glancing over my shoulder.
With three lanes you run the risk of changing lanes in someone's blind spot.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 6th, 2017, 6:16 pm

Morpheus wrote:Wrong indeed. Indicators tell those in front, behind and at the side of you what your intentions are.
I have indicated to change lanes many times but because the car coming up behind me had already indicated and apparently was going to make a similar lane change I would remain in my lane until he has executed and passed.

Also car in extreme right land and you're in extreme left lane. You both decide to enter the middle lane. Peripheral vision should pick up his side marker flashing and you can maintain your position until the other one executes his manouver.

Just think about it as you're indicating for others, not for yourself. It's general safety.

I say the same for lights at dawn and dusk. It's for people to see you(your car), not for you to see them. I fed up see people driving at 5am with no lights on because they eyes good.

U is a driver. Not because u seeing good mean others seein good.

Postby S_2NR » January 6th, 2017, 6:22 pm

bluesclues wrote:When i just got my license, for at least the 1st year, i couldnt drive and read signs, seemed to take too much concentration.
how are you at walking and chewing bubble gum?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Kenjo » January 6th, 2017, 7:59 pm

bluesclues wrote:When i just got my license, for at least the 1st year, i couldnt drive and read signs, seemed to take too much concentration. Now i depend on signs and anticipate to read them comfortably. I also found it too tedious to be checking my rear view mirrors every second. But i broke myself into a habit and now it's just like second nature i dont have to think about it. Didnt believe too much in my indicator either but good sense prevailed eventually from experiences on the road. Now i dont miss not once, indicator flicking on like clockwork for any move i have to make into another lane. Yuh does have to learn and keep improving as a driver. Some things u can only get from experience cuz there isnt any book on those kind of intricacies that happen on the road sometimes.

You should try doing a defensive driving course, all these things that you learn by experience are taught there all in a few hours

Postby meccalli » January 6th, 2017, 8:09 pm

I just stopped driving after I got mine. Not worth driving in an island with this much car ownership.

Postby Morpheus » January 6th, 2017, 9:04 pm

kamakazi wrote:Men real good here... Up to this day the Lord hasn't blessed me with the vision to see through objects... Still can't see the indicator on a vehicle that is directly alongside. I don't rely on peripheral vision... Confirm by glancing over my shoulder.
With three lanes you run the risk of changing lanes in someone's blind spot.

That's your preference. If your peripheral can't pick up a side marker and dem bright flashers they even put on the wing mirrors, especually at night, well ok. Plus according to your speed and the traffic ahead, be careful.
But I was speaking about the importance of using indicators(as well) for such manouvers. Which woman you know taking their eyes off the road in front to glance across?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2017, 5:58 am

Postby Morpheus » January 11th, 2017, 6:19 am

Always lower your music and make a quick check before crossing any part of the bus route.
Seems simple enough

HSA

Postby HSA » January 13th, 2017, 8:28 pm

I hear langley dead....oman run over him twice?? I donno how to imbed but here's a screenshot of the vidImage

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 13th, 2017, 8:52 pm

Who is Langley?

HSA

Postby HSA » January 13th, 2017, 10:33 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Who is Langley?

I donno na....i hear d oman bawling langley dead....ohh gaaaad they kill langley

So i assume this langley must be of some importance

Postby DVSTT » January 13th, 2017, 11:11 pm

Link to video?

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2017, 10:40 pm

trailer stuck earlier....

WhatsApp Image 2017-01-17 at 9.06.54 PM.jpeg

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 18th, 2017, 8:37 am

One would think a measuring tape is expensive.

Postby nervewrecker » January 18th, 2017, 8:53 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:One would think a measuring tape is expensive.

If tax payers money buying it, then yes. A $20.00 tape might cost us $2000.00

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 18th, 2017, 9:01 am

Is this the same flyover where the army container hit and fell off last month?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 18th, 2017, 11:12 am

who get the contract to take it out?

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » January 18th, 2017, 11:22 am

Somebody should ask for a contract to mill down the asphalt at those flyovers.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 18th, 2017, 11:26 am

ADONI wrote:Is this the same flyover where the army container hit and fell off last month?

No. That was Claxton Bay, this one was Milton.

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » January 18th, 2017, 11:30 am

Wasn't Milton. This was at the harmony Hall overpass just south of Gasparillo. I passed there last night going northbound.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 18th, 2017, 11:55 am

^ The pics of the accident on Facebook has the Children's hospital in the background though.

Postby Morpheus » January 18th, 2017, 1:40 pm

Ah vagrant eh pass and tell them to "air dong" the tyres?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 18th, 2017, 1:44 pm

Morpheus wrote:Ah vagrant eh pass and tell them to "air dong" the tyres?

Won't it be easier to give somebody a contract to jack up or disassemble the over pass?

Postby Morpheus » January 18th, 2017, 2:36 pm

LoL good point...

Postby rspann » January 18th, 2017, 9:44 pm

Both ah allyuh wrong. This was Tobago, look a blue band maxi passing on the flyover.

Postby Country_Bookie » January 18th, 2017, 10:04 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Who is Langley?

Langley was well known throughout the area. Was a harmless drunk man who would walk around the neighborhood and talk to everyone.

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2017, 10:06 pm

fire up yuh imaginations

a light blue b11 hit a lightpole on the st. helena stretch this evening.
impressive damage. three elderly people were lying down on the grass across from it.