Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Re: Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby RedVEVO » July 13th, 2021, 1:13 pm

sam1978 wrote:Rowrow strategy. Attack them with insults to stop them from talking. Everybody has an opinion whether they are straw men or not.

I’m a straw man but it’s upsetting to see their lifestyle they enjoy while being able to afford it yet riding the backs of the poor.

By cheap sell at a profit every two years while the bottom lickers defend it. Sense.

The 99% are somewhat straw men if your subscribe to the 1% division theory .

It's NOT a good analogy .

This is NOT the issue with exemptions .

During this pandemic period Cabinet (PM) stated that they will consider a moratorium or CAP on this perk .

THEY decide NOT to have discussions since it was LOW priority .

So if A side buys - then the B side will buy :D

It's a 50% SALE that continues on and on and on with NO curfew :D

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 13th, 2021, 2:00 pm

Politicians and persons who support them are hypocrites.

The supporters more so as they take a stand to support a party and then look to put forward arguements to support that party regardless of right or wrong. The arguements may change but their stance is always the same, the party I support is always right. Their mind can't process the politicians they support is wrong, corrupt, incompetent and selfish. UNC and PNM is the same crook just in different cults.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 13th, 2021, 3:08 pm

You all see how quickly they move to shut down DSS all because he was gaining too much popularity amongst the grassroots ppl and messing in money. It was done to send a signal to other blacks that non conformity will not be tolerated and also accumlulating wealth is disencouraged. Blacks in TT must only be consumers.

That's why the majority the the political class have nothing to show for their "contributions" but make sure to set themselves up for life with salary and pensions. Manning was in politics for 40 years, died and now his son is there to stay for the next couple of years where he will receive a pension etc for life.

The political class is there to serve close friends and financiers. They are placed in power to divert public funds via government contracts/ purchases into the hands of the former plantation class.

The country is a modern day plantation. The slaves just not cutting cane anymore.

Postby 88sins » July 13th, 2021, 3:11 pm

Wraith King wrote:Politicians and persons who support them are hypocrites.

The supporters more so as they take a stand to support a party and then look to put forward arguements to support that party regardless of right or wrong. The arguements may change but their stance is always the same, the party I support is always right. Their mind can't process the politicians they support is wrong, corrupt, incompetent and selfish. UNC and PNM is the same crook just in different cults.

Understand this
Politicians by nature are devoid of some critical things that most humans possess. Things like a soul, morality, proper ethics, a conscience, they happily and readily dispose of these things the moment they choose get into their profession.

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2021, 3:26 pm

lest not forget what bas teach us about politics and morality ever

Understand this
Politicians by nature are devoid of some critical things that most humans possess. Things like a soul, morality, proper ethics, a conscience, they happily and readily dispose of these things the moment they choose get into their profession.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 13th, 2021, 3:51 pm

Redress10 wrote:You all see how quickly they move to shut down DSS all because he was gaining too much popularity amongst the grassroots ppl and messing in money. It was done to send a signal to other blacks that non conformity will not be tolerated and also accumlulating wealth is disencouraged. Blacks in TT must only be consumers.

That's why the majority the the political class have nothing to show for their "contributions" but make sure to set themselves up for life with salary and pensions. Manning was in politics for 40 years, died and now his son is there to stay for the next couple of years where he will receive a pension etc for life.

The political class is there to serve close friends and financiers. They are placed in power to divert public funds via government contracts/ purchases into the hands of the former plantation class.

The country is a modern day plantation. The slaves just not cutting cane anymore.

I don't know the reason that DSS was shut down but I do know it was a pyramid scheme.

PNM supporters can't cry about the "system" when the party they support has formed the government for the majority of the nation's independence. While I do think the PNM is the enemy of any ambitious African, you can't support the party then claim you're a victim of the system that the party you continually support is in charge of.

Racial groups, excluding Africans, East Indians and persons mixed, are allowed to complain about the system because they don't have any representation in Parliament. Ironic the ones that can rightfully complain don't and the ones that have no moral authority to complain do.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 13th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Understand this

And persons that supports these politicians devoid of intelligence.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 13th, 2021, 3:54 pm

pugboy wrote:lest not forget what bas teach us about politics and morality ever

Understand this

That was just his narcissistic way of justifying his and other politicians' lack of morality.

Same way a con man will steal from someone and consider it out smarting someone so it's okay or a man will justify violence and murder by survival of the fittest.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 13th, 2021, 4:36 pm

Wraith King wrote:
Redress10 wrote:You all see how quickly they move to shut down DSS all because he was gaining too much popularity amongst the grassroots ppl and messing in money. It was done to send a signal to other blacks that non conformity will not be tolerated and also accumlulating wealth is disencouraged. Blacks in TT must only be consumers.

I don't know the reason that DSS was shut down but I do know it was a pyramid scheme.

PNM supporters can't cry about the "system" when the party they support has formed the government for the majority of the nation's independence. While I do think the PNM is the enemy of any ambitious African, you can't support the party then claim you're a victim of the system that the party you continually support is in charge of.

Racial groups, excluding Africans, East Indians and persons mixed, are allowed to complain about the system because they don't have any representation in Parliament. Ironic the ones that can rightfully complain don't and the ones that have no moral authority to complain do.

You are assuming that the PNM is a black party. What about the people who finance it etc? What makes you so sure that the PNM works for black interests? Even slaves were used as overseers at a point.

DSS may very well have been a pyramid scheme but some can also argue that Clico etc was also one. Was there an overwhelming display of force by the police involving Clico? Was Duprey ever arrested or charged for anything? Was his passport seized and he forced to remain in TT etc? The man doesn't even live in TT.

Those "minority" races are well over represented in our Parliament unless you think that people such as David Lee, Stuart Young, Colm Imbert, John Rahael, Gerald Hadeed etc represent the "people". They represent their interests and their communities. Don't get it tie up.

Postby MaxPower » July 13th, 2021, 5:43 pm

The DSS was a SCAM.

Blacks took the bait and many lost their “investment”.

Maybe the correct word is stealing.

Those blacks that were fortunate to get paid cried racism when the DSS was shut down. They left their jobs to become “investors” so they can line up, play a hand, go home and do nothing, and then get paid with money that others lost.

So many problems could be solved if people would just get off their lazy asses and get productive.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 13th, 2021, 5:44 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

You are assuming that the PNM is a black party. What about the people who finance it etc? What makes you so sure that the PNM works for black interests? Even slaves were used as overseers at a point.

DSS may very well have been a pyramid scheme but some can also argue that Clico etc was also one. Was there an overwhelming display of force by the police involving Clico? Was Duprey ever arrested or charged for anything? Was his passport seized and he forced to remain in TT etc? The man doesn't even live in TT.

Those "minority" races are well over represented in our Parliament unless you think that people such as David Lee, Stuart Young, Colm Imbert, John Rahael, Gerald Hadeed etc represent the "people". They represent their interests and their communities. Don't get it tie up.

Non Africans controls PNM but PNM's support is African. PNM portrays itself as a black party and it is identified as such by its supporters and non supporters.

I don't believe PNM works in the interest of Africans but they are the supporters the party rely on.

If you're going to compare DSS to CLICO then it makes no sense for me to say anything else regarding DSS to you.

Only David, Stuart and Colm in Parliament at this time so I will ignore the other names. Besides being in the Indian and African party what avenues have any of them used in Parliament regarding issues related to their specific racial grouping. Stuart and Colm cannot criticise the government as they are part of it and David is also bounded by party loyalty where positions on Bills and other policies are predetermined by a meeting of the entire party. I don't know if questions to Ministers and Prime Minister's questions are vetted by the party as well but motions will definitely be.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 13th, 2021, 6:12 pm

Wraith King wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

Non Africans controls PNM but PNM's support is African. PNM portrays itself as a black party and it is identified as such by its supporters and non supporters.

I don't believe PNM works in the interest of Africans but they are the supporters the party rely on.

If you're going to compare DSS to CLICO then it makes no sense for me to say anything else regarding DSS to you.

Only David, Stuart and Colm in Parliament at this time so I will ignore the other names. Besides being in the Indian and African party what avenues have any of them used in Parliament regarding issues related to their specific racial grouping. Stuart and Colm cannot criticise the government as they are part of it and David is also bounded by party loyalty where positions on Bills and other policies are predetermined by a meeting of the entire party. I don't know if questions to Ministers and Prime Minister's questions are vetted by the party as well but motions will definitely be.

The ppl in control of PNM don't have the numbers to control the gov't via electoral means so they ride blackman back all the way into office. What they have done is institutionalise this via the PNM so any form of upliftment for blackman have to be done via the PNM. So ya got Marlene secret scholarship, hdc house, gov't wuk etc. Entrepreneurship etc is disencouraged and probably also subliminally attacked by that institution. It may have a black face but it defintely isn't black. If it was then why are the major portfolios held by non black ppl? Ministry of finance, energy, attorney general etc? Even Nat Sec was held by a chinese in Young and even years before that under Manning by Chin Lee.

I'm not comparing DSS to Clico I am comparing the attention it was given by the powers that be to make it into a national spectacle. Meanwhile Clico has cost the taxpayers over 23 billion tt. Anyone even get artested for that as yet?

What specific issue do those races have to raise in Parliament? Are they suffering for housing, water, jobs, food etc? Are they being discriminated against? Unlike other countries where the minorities are at the bottom of society here in TT the minorities are actually in charge.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 13th, 2021, 6:34 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

The ppl in control of PNM don't have the numbers to control the gov't via electoral means so they ride blackman back all the way into office. What they have done is institutionalise this via the PNM so any form of upliftment for blackman have to be done via the PNM. So ya got Marlene secret scholarship, hdc house, gov't wuk etc. Entrepreneurship etc is disencouraged and probably also subliminally attacked by that institution. It may have a black face but it defintely isn't black. If it was then why are the major portfolios held by non black ppl? Ministry of finance, energy, attorney general etc? Even Nat Sec was held by a chinese in Young and even years before that under Manning by Chin Lee.

I'm not comparing DSS to Clico I am comparing the attention it was given by the powers that be to make it into a national spectacle. Meanwhile Clico has cost the taxpayers over 23 billion tt. Anyone even get artested for that as yet?

What specific issue do those races have to raise in Parliament? Are they suffering for housing, water, jobs, food etc? Are they being discriminated against? Unlike other countries where the minorities are at the bottom of society here in TT the minorities are actually in charge.

I can't control the actions of others so I'm not going to bother.

Nothing personal to you I meant that in a general way regarding the general mentality of Trinidadians and the actions of politicians.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 13th, 2021, 7:05 pm

Wraith King wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

Nothing personal to you I meant that in a general way regarding the general mentality of Trinidadians and the actions of politicians.

The country has been designed since Independence to benefit a small minority. This a country running on favours. You scratch my back and I scratch yours in secret. We didn't get independence. What we got was exchange. The fact that politicians could write their own employment perks and give themselves these sort of benefits just highlight that. This is a mafia state.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 13th, 2021, 8:05 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

The country has been designed since Independence to benefit a small minority. This a country running on favours. You scratch my back and I scratch yours in secret. We didn't get independence. What we got was exchange. The fact that politicians could write their own employment perks and give themselves these sort of benefits just highlight that. This is a mafia state.

It is what it is and nothing can be done because a significant number of persons allow it to continue.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 13th, 2021, 8:15 pm

The keep the significant number of persons in check by keeping them desperate and hungry. Making them always having to fight for water, roads and even SEA places so that by the time they ready to protest they done tired and broken.

The other half they bribe with gov't jobs such as police, army etc and housing etc. So they will feel better about themselves and keep the lesser ones in check. It is about containment.

That way they have unfettered access to the country's riches. The political class has positioned themselves to eat off the fat of the land for generations.

Postby RedVEVO » July 14th, 2021, 12:46 am

Redress10 wrote:The keep the significant number of persons in check by keeping them desperate and hungry. Making them always having to fight for water, roads and even SEA places so that by the time they ready to protest they done tired and broken.

The other half they bribe with gov't jobs such as police, army etc and housing etc. So they will feel better about themselves and keep the lesser ones in check. It is about containment.

That way they have unfettered access to the country's riches. The political class has positioned themselves to eat off the fat of the land for generations.

Wow and wow :D ALL this for a mere exemption by a chosen few ? :D

Me thinks you really out there in space traveling with Virgin Galactic and Sir Branson .
However Branson returned to earth within a few minutes ( 50-60 mins ) but you seem to be heading for the Sun.

The Political Class is controlled by the Business Class . ONLY in communist countries like Cuba and Venezuela
and etc., and dictatorships there is unfettered access to the country's riches . And it's known as theft !
Example : Libya's Mummer Gaddafi is reported to have had amassed $200 billion USD (£162bn) .

The business class knows how to lobby not bribe . Bribe is an extreme illegal concept .
ALL T&T's working class is underpaid . TTPS , Regiment - T&T have no army - even Duke's PSA etc.

Is this EVER going to change ? Definitely NOT ! Why ? The business class will not allow it since
it affects THEIR profit margins and lifestyle .

Let me ask you a question ? You think MP's are adequately compensated ?
Let me ask you another question ? YOU think T&T dollars are worth anything in World Markets ?
So where is this FAT that is flowing and destroying T&T ?

You are talking salary crumbs my so-called learned Tuner . Repeated ! Crumbs . Hence tax exemptions .

Do you know that GOTT traveling officers and farmers get tax exemptions ? Similar to MPs. Who bawling now ?

Business is the power class both Local and International.

Concluding question .

Who would you rather be Mr D. Chin or Dr Rowley ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 14th, 2021, 1:43 am

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 14th, 2021, 2:01 am

The government is in control of over 70% of all spending in this economy. That affects everything from media advertisement spending to public sector salaries. The business class funds the political parties and in return they are given preference for government contracts etc. Everything is a government contract. Without this relationship there wouldn't be a business class as they are more famous for tenderpreneurship than actual innovation. There is a reason why our companies hardly ever expand outside of the region. They have little influence outside of the caribbean and can't get politicians in their back pockets like they do here.

I am not sure what MPs and ministers salaries are but let me ask you a better question. What qualifications and qualities do they possess that make you believe they can command better outside of Parliament? Do you think that there is a line of employers just waiting to hire the likes of Shamfa, Manning and Fitzy? To do what? What have those ppl ever achieved in their lives. On the yellow side you have Ameen and fellas like Mark. Yet they are incharged of ministries that control billions of dollars.

TT currency may not be worth much to the world but they themselves are not worth anything. What do they create? Where do they generate revenue for the country? What is the sum of their efforts exactly? They are no paid crumbs. They know what the salary is and they are eager to take it because they also know that it would most likely be the highest that they ever earn in their lives. Not to mention the opportunity for kick backs etc.

Ever heard the saying if you can't buy it twice then you prob can't afford it? Would they still purchase those vehicles if they were not afforded those exemptions? Probably not because alot of them are not of means. Don't be fooled.

Of course I would like to be Mr Chin and that's why I won't venture near politics. I rather eat what I hunt but there are plenty people in society who simply are not good at hunting and they see politics as an easy way out. That affects the actual hunters such as myself when they mess with the economy and mess up market conditions etc because of stupid political decisions.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 14th, 2021, 5:00 am

travelling officers in the govt are entitled to get the tax exemptions also but they not getting it.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 14th, 2021, 6:19 am

Travelling officers of the public service and farmers' exemptions are capped and I can't remember the exact figure but I believe it's around 50k. As well, travelling officers that are on contracts usually are unable to access their exemptions because they don't usually have their contracts during the period where the allowance can be accessed and are employed via an offer letter. Contracts are pushed through for some who are favoured so they can access the benefit because the public service in love with corruption and nepotism.

So the exemption available to a parliamentarian is way greater that the exemption available to a travelling officer and farmer.

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2021, 8:37 am

so who is the govt official that ttps checking on for this loophole ?

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2021, 8:37 am

hotels are also allowed exemption for use as a "chauffeur" vehicle

Wraith King wrote:Travelling officers of the public service and farmers' exemptions are capped and I can't remember the exact figure but I believe it's around 50k. As well, travelling officers that are on contracts usually are unable to access their exemptions because they don't usually have their contracts during the period where the allowance can be accessed and are employed via an offer letter. Contracts are pushed through for some who are favoured so they can access the benefit because the public service in love with corruption and nepotism.

So the exemption available to a parliamentarian is way greater that the exemption available to a travelling officer and farmer.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 14th, 2021, 9:17 am

The lack of situational awareness is quite astounding!!!

Opposition Senator Jayanti Lutchmedial has disclosed that she applied for a tax exemption to purchase a vehicle. She said she was not afraid of criticism because she works and was entitled to her benefits, unlike Government ministers who were “derelict in their duty”.

She was speaking at the United National Congress (UNC) virtual meeting on Monday. Lutchmedial defended colleagues who have had questions raised about them with regard to the purchase of luxury vehicles.

“I have seen a lot of criticism about some of my colleagues and let’s save you all the time so you don’t have to go and dig up in my business for the trolls to have a field day and so on. I have also applied for an exemption as it’s my entitlement to purchase a vehicle,” she said. She said the UNC was not responsible for the current state of Trinidad and Tobago.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 58091.html

Postby Habit7 » July 14th, 2021, 9:54 am

Dizzy28 wrote:The lack of situational awareness is quite astounding!!!

Opposition Senator Jayanti Lutchmedial has disclosed that she applied for a tax exemption to purchase a vehicle. She said she was not afraid of criticism because she works and was entitled to her benefits, unlike Government ministers who were “derelict in their duty”.

She was speaking at the United National Congress (UNC) virtual meeting on Monday. Lutchmedial defended colleagues who have had questions raised about them with regard to the purchase of luxury vehicles.

“I have seen a lot of criticism about some of my colleagues and let’s save you all the time so you don’t have to go and dig up in my business for the trolls to have a field day and so on. I have also applied for an exemption as it’s my entitlement to purchase a vehicle,” she said. She said the UNC was not responsible for the current state of Trinidad and Tobago.

I am sure more UNC politicians are vexed that Moonilal raised the issue than PNM politicians.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 14th, 2021, 10:00 am

^ Quite possibly.
Lutchemdial setting the stage for when her exemption letter is revealed as per recent trends where Saddam Hussein and Ratiram's purchases were shown.
On another note seems politicians give up on Range Rovers and back on the Prado/Land Cruiser wagon.

Wonder if we will have our own Pradoville like Guyana?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 14th, 2021, 10:35 am

Dizzy28 wrote:^ Quite possibly.
Lutchemdial setting the stage for when her exemption letter is revealed as per recent trends where Saddam Hussein and Ratiram's purchases were shown.
On another note seems politicians give up on Range Rovers and back on the Prado/Land Cruiser wagon.

Wonder if we will have our own Pradoville like Guyana?

Trinidad was always pradoville. That's one of the ultimate "ah reach" symbols.
I like it, but not for that reason.

If saddam really buy that LC, yuteman have good taste

Postby Dizzy28 » July 14th, 2021, 10:41 am

My pardner father on his 4th Prado since the Gen 2.
When we asked him why he always buying that and not something else he say in 4-5 years he could sell the Prado but would have to give away a Range Rover or Cayenne.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 14th, 2021, 10:41 am

Habit7 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:The lack of situational awareness is quite astounding!!!

I am sure more UNC politicians are vexed that Moonilal raised the issue than PNM politicians.

Your certainty is based on what other than political bias?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 14th, 2021, 11:16 am

I personally believe that Mps and Ministers should have an official vehicle that is procured for the specific purpose of their work use. That vehicle should be owned by the state though and just made available to them. If an MP would like to purchase a vehicle then they should access the same benefit as any other citizen.

It is telling that none of them has gone for a more environmentally friendly car. Just goes to show what they think about the environment etc. Guess those cars don't look good lined up outside Parliament. BTW, is there a requirement that they have to be black?

Group think is a hell of a thing yes.