The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread!!!

Postby Slartibartfast » June 24th, 2020, 11:33 am

Redman wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:For today's entertainment...

Hema Ramkissoon spoke with COP Political Leader Carolyn Seepersad Bachan on the Morning Brew. She says the party is continuing to grow and is gearing up for 2020 Elections.

Nope.
Nope.
Nope.

CSB and Prakash securely nailed that coffin shut.

They had it 2010-2015 but frittered it away.

Yep they had 150k votes- and if they did what they said what they were going to do.....and I mean vote in parliament as an independent party-instead of a rubber stamp....they would have been the 3rd party in 2015, but she and prakky decided to become unc small goal sweat side.....effectively dissolving the franchise they obtained in 2010.

why would any one expect them to do differently in 2020.

Failed party-
I second this opinion. Everyone I know sees COP as either a sellout or a joke. It's a shame because I had high hopes for them and actually voted for them in 2010.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2020, 11:38 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Redman wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:For today's entertainment...

Hema Ramkissoon spoke with COP Political Leader Carolyn Seepersad Bachan on the Morning Brew. She says the party is continuing to grow and is gearing up for 2020 Elections.

Nope.
Nope.
Nope.

CSB and Prakash securely nailed that coffin shut.

They had it 2010-2015 but frittered it away.

Yep they had 150k votes- and if they did what they said what they were going to do.....and I mean vote in parliament as an independent party-instead of a rubber stamp....they would have been the 3rd party in 2015, but she and prakky decided to become unc small goal sweat side.....effectively dissolving the franchise they obtained in 2010.

why would any one expect them to do differently in 2020.

Failed party-
I second this opinion. Everyone I know sees COP as either a sellout or a joke. It's a shame because I had high hopes for them and actually voted for them in 2010.

I still vote for them.
They have run as a 3rd (or 4th) party in the last two local elections in my seat.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 24th, 2020, 11:49 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I still vote for them.
They have run as a 3rd (or 4th) party in the last two local elections in my seat.

Oh well, can't blame you there. I like the idea of that ranked choice system mention in the latest patriot act episode. Gonna do some reading up on that and see if there is any way I can promote it.

Postby Rovin » June 25th, 2020, 7:00 pm

tv6 headline jes now : mikela throws hat into d political ring ..... :shock:

Postby The_Honourable » June 25th, 2020, 9:22 pm

Yuh seeing that? Patriotic Front looking for candidates...

Political Leader of the Patriotic Front, Mickela Panday, says the talk about 'a vote for the Patriotic Front is a wasted vote' is all propaganda.

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2020, 9:26 pm

Every vote makes a statement.

Especially if that statement is "f*** you, I demand better or neither of you get my vote"

my preferred way of making that statement is voting for the PEP and a 'half-syrian Jesus', but if some want to vote for Mikela, I see nothing wrong with that.

Postby eliteauto » June 25th, 2020, 11:23 pm

Hubert Volney had endorsed Terrence Deyalsingh for the St.Joseph constituency, he's quoted as saying that the UNC isn't an option.

Jerlean John has been announced as the candidate for La Horquetta-Talparo for the UNC

Cleopatra Borel's POS South candidacy seems up in the air atm

Postby De Dragon » June 25th, 2020, 11:27 pm

eliteauto wrote:Hubert Volney had endorsed Terrence Deyalsingh for the St.Joseph constituency, he's quoted as saying that the UNC isn't an option.

Jerlean John has been announced as the candidate for La Horquetta-Talparo for the UNC

Racketeers gon' racket.......

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2020, 11:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Every vote makes a statement.

Especially if that statement is "f*** you, I demand better or neither of you get my vote"

my preferred way of making that statement is voting for the PEP and a 'half-syrian Jesus', but if some want to vote for Mikela, I see nothing wrong with that.

I agree with you here. That split vote argument is rubbish.

I actually wanted NOTA as an option on the ballot, but that will never happen here

Postby K74T » June 26th, 2020, 5:58 am

Mickela > Plebward

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2020, 6:21 am

eliteauto wrote:Hubert Volney had endorsed Terrence Deyalsingh for the St.Joseph constituency, he's quoted as saying that the UNC isn't an option.

Racketeers gon' racket.......

Hearing Cedric did not approve

Postby Dizzy28 » June 26th, 2020, 8:51 am

It emerged Borel has dual citizen ship. Seemed we went down this road as recently as Le Hunte and previous to that Gypsy and Chaitan.
How does this still come up as an issue after the fact when its known you cannot run as a dual citizen?
Does one forgot they hold a second passport?

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 9:20 am

It emerged Borel has dual citizen ship. Seemed we went down this road as recently as Le Hunte and previous to that Gypsy and Chaitan.
How does this still come up as an issue after the fact when its known you cannot run as a dual citizen?
PNM and EBC have their own rules

Postby Rovin » June 26th, 2020, 11:08 am

i feel poo nm selectors used this as a lame excuse to not choose she cause she didnt seem to get pos voters approval

me em kno why d residents beatin up cause like some1 in history said even if u put ah crappo in certain areas they go still vote fuh pnm ...

Postby Rovin » June 26th, 2020, 11:20 am

it is a shameful purely dumb move that mikela wud come a mere 5mths b4 elections to even think of winning any seat far less more than 21 or even 2 to say well we go be d deciding factor on who forms d govt

dunno why Bas wud use he daughter like this maybe out of spite like a last final malice against kamla & d rest of d unc , dat jes sad & pathetic for a man who ppl once looked up to & loved at 1 point in history & who cud have even been d president which wud have been a fitting tribute

for those saying nah she eh go spit d votes , allyuh really feel voters\ppl who sit on d fence or never voted b4 will suddenly jump on her side .... be real nah man

Postby Dizzy28 » June 26th, 2020, 11:27 am

Rovin wrote:it is a shameful purely dumb move that mikela wud come a mere 5mths b4 elections to even think of winning any seat far less more than 21 or even 2 to say well we go be d deciding factor on who forms d govt

dunno why Bas wud use he daughter like this maybe out of spite like a last final malice against kamla & d rest of d unc , dat jes sad & pathetic for a man who ppl once looked up to & loved at 1 point in history & who cud have even been d president which wud have been a fitting tribute

for those saying nah she eh go spit d votes , allyuh really feel voters\ppl who sit on d fence or never voted b4 will suddenly jump on her side .... be real nah man

Can't split what you don't get.

Postby Rovin » June 26th, 2020, 11:36 am

like all d 3rd parties i doubt each candidate gonna get 100 votes each ...

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2020, 11:54 am

Rovin wrote:it is a shameful purely dumb move that mikela wud come a mere 5mths b4 elections to even think of winning any seat far less more than 21 or even 2 to say well we go be d deciding factor on who forms d govt

Nah man regardless of what you think the motives might be I respect anyone willing to throw their hat in the ring, we have more complainers than doers, more people asking why someone else doesn't protest that those protesting. Even if I may not like a candidate they have a right to contest, the more the better, we can't complain about the 2 main parties and then bash when more options arrive.

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 11:58 am

eliteauto wrote:

Nah man regardless of what you think the motives might be I respect anyone willing to throw their hat in the ring, we have more complainers than doers, more people asking why someone else doesn't protest that those protesting. Even if I may not like a candidate they have a right to contest, the more the better, we can't complain about the 2 main parties and then bash when more options arrive.

Total Bull%hit.

You know very well that PNM welcomes these candidates to split Votes.

PNM ppl will not vote anything else than PNM.

Freethinkers are more opened to vote for other Non PNM parties.

death365

Postby death365 » June 26th, 2020, 12:18 pm

it have dozens of hadeeds and others who living off their parents greatness ... and with good benefits,,, al rawi kids et al

so why she cant get some political benefits from she father. who bar none is THE GREATEST politician to ever pass thru T&T
Last edited by death365 on June 26th, 2020, 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2020, 12:20 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Total Bull%hit.

PNM ppl will not vote anything else then PNM.

You're upset that other options are on the table? You claim to support non PNM parties yet upset there are more non PNM parties? You expect PNM people to not vote PNM? You called them PNM people so who else would they vote for? You're not making sense you're contradicting yourself

Postby Rovin » June 26th, 2020, 12:21 pm

nobody dictating who to vote for but as history has showed time & again as recently as COP with 150k votes [ i voted for them back in 2007} & ILP with how much thousands didnt make any useful impact

in d end its a numbers game , majority wins even if its by a slim margin from d 60-70% of d total eligible voters who cast their votes ...

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 12:29 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Total Bull%hit.

You're upset that other options are on the table? You claim to support non PNM parties yet upset there are more non PNM parties? You expect PNM people to not vote PNM? You called them PNM people so who else would they vote for? You're not making sense you're contradicting yourself

No Hoss,

PNM knows very well that PNM ppl will always vote PNM (not 1986).

PNM are always happy when there are other options cause they know for sure it favors them.

Only when PNM ppl can free their minds then third parties can make an impact.

As it stands third parties is a win for PNM.

Postby Rovin » June 26th, 2020, 12:41 pm

^^^ dise true

look at very recently with Louise lee sing ...

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2020, 12:54 pm

the reality is the older pnm diehards always come out and vote so in a low turnout election it usually favors the pnm even by a slim margin like existing.

until those die out it is difficult proposition for any opposing parties trying a ting

but COP was able to garner votes so who is to say it cant happen again
its just that the pieces have to fall in place for the opposing parties to get enough swing votes and stay home folks to come out and vote.

Postby mero » June 26th, 2020, 1:00 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Total Bull%hit.

No Hoss,

PNM are always happy when there are other options cause they know for sure it favors them.

So how PP win 2010?

PNM ppl didn't vote for them then?

Stop spinning in mud zoom. Yuh yelllowness lil over glaring

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 1:00 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^ dise true

Don't bother with elite , he full ah 5hit.

Don't know he hope to fool with that BS

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 1:02 pm

mero wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Total Bull%hit.

No Hoss,

So how PP win 2010?

PNM ppl didn't vote for them then?

Stop spinning in mud zoom. Yuh yelllowness lil over glaring
PNM still had it core voters and PPP was seen as one party as they had agreements in place before elections.

Third parties dont have that option now

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2020, 1:11 pm

So you're anti-PNM but saying that multiple non-PNM parties equals a PNM victory, so you're saying is better yuh vote PNM and done then?
Me saying people have a right to offer themselves, me saying I respect and endorse that right is BS and I'm full of 5hit. You saying people offering themselves is a lost cause because of the PNM, you blaming PNM voters for other parties losing is straight up brilliance though
Zoom pro-PNM oui

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 1:42 pm

eliteauto wrote:

So you're anti-PNM but saying that multiple non-PNM parties equals a PNM victory, so you're saying is better yuh vote PNM and done then?
Me saying people have a right to offer themselves, me saying I respect and endorse that right is BS and I'm full of 5hit. You saying people offering themselves is a lost cause because of the PNM, you blaming PNM voters for other parties losing is straight up brilliance though
Zoom pro-PNM oui

Only when we have free thinkers in TT then a third party is an option .

As it stands PNM will win if there are 2 different parties and PNM in one district .

If however PNM is up against a Non UNC only party ( 1 to 1) then its possible depending on that district that the Non PNM party may win.