Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby hover11 » November 1st, 2024, 8:19 am

Ppl who receive pensions abroad , the forex situation is affecting them as well. The banks don't have the US to send out , pensioners are advised to open local bank accounts. Note well.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 1st, 2024, 8:23 am

I have a stupid question.

So I expect a stupid answer.

If everything we buy is basically in usd.

And everything we sell is in usd.

Can we not throw away the ttd and just adopt the usd as our currency?

Even if we go to the ec, at least we can function along with the rest of the Caribbean.

I am not a finance person, so I don't know anything.

Postby hover11 » November 1st, 2024, 8:25 am

Animal Pak wrote:I have a stupid question.

So I expect a stupid answer.

If everything we buy is basically in usd.

And everything we sell is in usd.

Can we not throw away the ttd and just adopt the usd as our currency?

Even if we go to the ec, at least we can function along with the rest of the Caribbean.

I am not a finance person, so I don't know anything.
I understand where you coming from, however the question remains where we getting the US to pay ppl, do you have US to pay for your everyday expenses? Don't forget another issue we have is the hoarding of US by individuals and businesses.

My thing is Trinidad Government doing shite but on top of it what is CARICOM doing , we supposed to have one single currency which would have held value to do away with the TTD but again that was probably just a pie in the sky dream

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2024, 8:37 am

a common currency for a wide range of countries could never work simply because of the same imbalances
some countries will earn more forex whilst others opposite

Postby hover11 » November 1st, 2024, 8:45 am

I understand so why make that part of their agreement just BSing everybody yes

The whole point of CSME is one single market economy

pugboy wrote:a common currency for a wide range of countries could never work simply because of the same imbalances

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2024, 8:59 am

caricom is just a talk shop
no diff than the corner rum shop
place where gonsalves and them small islanders come to talk big and loud

hover11 wrote:I understand so why make that part of their agreement just BSing everybody yes

pugboy wrote:a common currency for a wide range of countries could never work simply because of the same imbalances

Postby hover11 » November 1st, 2024, 9:10 am

Well that was our last hope,the TT $ is on the verge of being devalued. Even Stevie Wonder can see this
pugboy wrote:caricom is just a talk shop

hover11 wrote:I understand so why make that part of their agreement just BSing everybody yes

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2024, 9:16 am

it’s an election year
lewwe see what he does

Postby zoom rader » November 1st, 2024, 9:17 am

pugboy wrote:caricom is just a talk shop

Caricom only serves African tribes.

All of Caricom especially St Vincent & Grenada is PNM voting bank, a bunch of misfits

Postby st7 » November 1st, 2024, 9:44 am

i understand that it's okay to vent and complain, but it seems there are a lot of 'experts' in this ched, and the wider sub-forum.

but everyone here is just repeating the same thing and just adding their 'expert opinion', while doing nothing in real life. allyuh calling for changes but only doing so from behind a keyboard. allyuh expecting other people to do it for allyuh instead. allyuh also blame other people for where we at now.

this is why allyuh is only frothers because you expecting someone else to wipe away the white foam from allyuh mouths. all the 'experts' in here, keep being the hypocrites you are and expect change while doing nothing. allyuh is part of the reason the country is this way but keep blaming others.

this is tuner - full of hypocritical keyboard warriors.

Postby adnj » November 1st, 2024, 10:25 am

^^ while planning Black Friday import purchases
LOLOL!

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2024, 10:37 am

hehe
order early to avoid the skybox traffic jam

Postby st7 » November 1st, 2024, 10:58 am

i see bestbuy and them start sales since last week.

Postby goalpost » November 1st, 2024, 11:07 am

Can I still use my Scotia CC to withdraw money abroad? I see they specifically say Visa Debit cards.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 1st, 2024, 1:15 pm

goalpost wrote:Can I still use my Scotia CC to withdraw money abroad? I see they specifically say Visa Debit cards.

Not only Scotia but what about the other banks.
Can you use your FCB,RBC,RBL,JMMB DEBIT cards in a foreign ATM (USA or Europe) and withdraw the respective currency provided you have ttd in the account?

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2024, 1:40 pm

not all the banks have their card systems linked to international arm networks(plus etc) even if they say they do their internal may not allow
scotia def does.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 1st, 2024, 1:48 pm

adnj wrote:^^ while planning Black Friday import purchases
LOLOL!

It's for them to operate their very important small businesses

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 1st, 2024, 3:02 pm

What exactly is the definition of a "small business'

Postby Dizzy28 » November 1st, 2024, 4:08 pm

AlphaMan wrote:What exactly is the definition of a "small business'

Not sure if your just being facetious but In Trinidad there is a standard definition for what thresholds constitutes Micro, Small and Medium businesses. This is because there are tax incentives, funding programmes etc for those businesses.

Screenshot_20241101-160646.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2024, 5:02 pm

Not sure if your just being facetious but In Trinidad there is a standard definition for what thresholds constitutes Micro, Small and Medium businesses. This is because there are tax incentives, funding programmes etc for those businesses.

I think it was prob a poke at the shadow economy. Buy/sell businesses that don’t pay taxes/declare income

Postby paid_influencer » November 1st, 2024, 6:37 pm

^ another problem Rowley can solve by going cashless

do eet rowley

do eeeet

Postby hover11 » November 1st, 2024, 6:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

I think it was prob a poke at the shadow economy. Buy/sell businesses that don’t pay taxes/declare income
Makes you wonder how massive the shadow economy truly is

Postby paid_influencer » November 1st, 2024, 7:03 pm

hover do u use cash

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2024, 7:35 pm

[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]% of the national gdp back in [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]].

https://publications.iadb.org/en/estima ... ean-states

Some data suggests % in [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]].
[emoji[emoji6]]% back in [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]

Trending upwards,
So don’t doubt if shadow economy near [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]] in [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]].

That’s not an insignificant amount.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2024, 7:36 pm

wtf going on with tuner and these emoji injections

Postby hover11 » November 1st, 2024, 7:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:hover do u use cash
Always, cash is king bro

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2024, 9:07 pm

shadow economy is bigger than most ppl think
ever wonder where the usd the trinis who collect from venes hopping across goes?

Postby adnj » November 2nd, 2024, 8:30 am

Beats Studio Pro: was $349.95 now $169.99 at Amazon.

Get them while you can.

Postby hover11 » November 3rd, 2024, 1:25 pm

After a week in which concerns over the availability and distribution of foreign exchange have risen, it has emerged that the International Monetary Fund (IMF) has cautioned T&T in all of the last three Article IV consultations with the Ministry of Finance and Central Bank that T&T “maintains an exchange restriction and two multiple currency practices subject to the Fund’s approval under Article VIII, Section 2(a) and Section 3.

Read more:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/imf ... 43e7d0b8dc

The ImF has spoken
FB_IMG_1730654575630.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » November 3rd, 2024, 1:29 pm

^ 1% newspaper manufacturing consent for a devaluation

so it going to happen regardless who win d next election