Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2016, 10:46 am

pete wrote:How to get people to sell/put to use the land they are just sitting on I guess.

I think this is it

Postby teems1 » October 6th, 2016, 11:11 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Man owning 80 acres of land and toting on paying 1% the ARV as property tax??
Even land czars can be sufferers!!!!

80 acres of land behind god back with no road/water/electricity isn't the same as 80 acres with infrastructure.

abbow

Postby abbow » October 6th, 2016, 11:53 am

^^correct....i know of a guy who owns a 77 acre parcel and another 16-20 properties....with and without infrastructure.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 6th, 2016, 12:41 pm

I am not sure how rental value is to be assessed, standardized or enforced.
What if shake d livin formulates a legal agreement stating that he leases all 80 acres of his agricultural land to his business partner for $1/year.

His annual property tax would then be 1% of $1 less 10%, or $0.009.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 6th, 2016, 1:16 pm

teems1 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Man owning 80 acres of land and toting on paying 1% the ARV as property tax??
Even land czars can be sufferers!!!!

80 acres of land behind god back with no road/water/electricity isn't the same as 80 acres with infrastructure.

And the ARV will represent that divergence in infrastructure, location etc. There a whole professional field dedicated to that kind of thing called Vaulations.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 6th, 2016, 2:02 pm

pjfred wrote:Rowley said "the people of Trinidad and Tobago are stupid!"

doh say stupid. Yuh could say wild hyena or duncey head children and have the people read the book from le Coto to White hall. then all ah we go be bright like he ...... hee hee !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 7th, 2016, 12:22 pm

Rowley Introduce VAT back on books then released a book. Coincidence?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2016, 1:12 pm

drchaos wrote:Rowley Introduce VAT back on books then released a book. Coincidence?

damn son and then we get double f*cked if we buy on Amazon too.

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2016, 1:16 pm

Agricultural land does usually rent for 5000 a year though lol

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Agricultural land does usually rent for 5000 a year though lol

How much you rent it for has no bearing on much the actual rental value is.

And that price you posted is usually 5000 per lot annually. My uncle had an acre in Arangues that he rent to some farmers for $2000/mo and he was being very generous giving them that rate.

However, the land value was easily over 2million. So most likely the rental value per acre might be closer to $5000/mo.

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2016, 2:31 pm

How much u rent it for has no bearing on how much they going say ur property could rent for.

Postby rspann » October 7th, 2016, 7:43 pm

By assessing rental properties and having them on the roll, the Government now knows how many apartments and what your rental income is, so with the revenue authority on stream ,they now know your tax liability.

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2016, 6:34 am

They would be assessing ALL properties, as if it were to be rented, then taxing based on that theoretical arbitrary figure.

viedcht

Re: RE: Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby viedcht » October 8th, 2016, 12:14 pm

rspann wrote:By assessing rental properties and having them on the roll, the Government now knows how many apartments and what your rental income is, so with the revenue authority on stream ,they now know your tax liability.

This makes sense

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2016, 12:45 pm

Postby The_Honourable » March 17th, 2017, 12:47 am

Any tuner squatters? No one will be exempt from the tax.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 17th, 2017, 1:02 am

The_Honourable wrote:Any tuner squatters? No one will be exempt from the tax.

Hmm again what's next for taxidad and Tobago. ...well the tax is soon coming as planned but how would evade this menace

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2017, 6:14 am

squat on government lands...

what happens when the tax isn't paid?
and, if ur paying tax for a piece of land, can they still move you, since ur being charged for making use of the land? i mean, like state lands. if u occupy state lands, and get charged for making use of it. private lands, there are ways and means to get people out... not a real concern.

Re: Property Tax In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 10:49 pm

dude2014 wrote:Some body has to pay for the infrastructure, such as roads, electricity, schools, security, hospitals and it comes in the form of taxes. Property taxes, VAT, PAYE, Health surcharge, etc and the infamous NIS, scheme and more scheme.

Trust me when I tell you patos had it worked out and I have the book to prove it. Local Govt had a rate and taxes dept that had completed an exercise to implement same. After spending millions of dollars it was abondon for the Revenue Authority. That was true Local Government reform as they would have retained some of it for roads construction, maintenance, recreation grounds, garbage collection, etc. ....

Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes.

Taxes are required but a property tax isn't. There is no reason for it and we'll have bobol in the local and national levels.

Postby matr1x » March 18th, 2017, 10:49 am

Will lavantille, beetham, malaoney and sea lots.be paying this tax? Or will they be free loading like usual?

dude2014

Re: Property Tax In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby dude2014 » March 18th, 2017, 3:05 pm

desifemlove wrote:
dude2014 wrote:Some body has to pay for the infrastructure, such as roads, electricity, schools, security, hospitals and it comes in the form of taxes. Property taxes, VAT, PAYE, Health surcharge, etc and the infamous NIS, scheme and more scheme.

Trust me when I tell you patos had it worked out and I have the book to prove it. Local Govt had a rate and taxes dept that had completed an exercise to implement same. After spending millions of dollars it was abondon for the Revenue Authority. That was true Local Government reform as they would have retained some of it for roads construction, maintenance, recreation grounds, garbage collection, etc. ....

Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes.

Taxes are required but a property tax isn't. There is no reason for it and we'll have bobol in the local and national levels.

Justify the reason/s for not charging a property tax. How in any body's name other than god's are we going to pay all the people at the Ministry of legal affairs who maintain the Land Registry, the persons at the Warden Offices?

Do you have land? Rest comfortably when I tell you in the absence of such, I can scheme you out of land and other assets.

Actually you do not have to pay tax. We will declare you Persona Non Grata who will be grateful for an ID card so you can pay for all the free services you will be enjoying such as roads, hospitals, schools which the rest of us who are paying taxes is entitled to do so because we paid all the taxes we are lawfully required to do.

With regards the bobol what I posted previously "Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes" I am to ask what are you doing presently to prevent BOBOL.

It is not about the big fish, but the small ones like me who are peeling away at their scales to keep them in check. Decide what type of fish you want to be. If you choose wisely I will follow ...........

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2017, 4:20 pm

tax the land, not the building... the building was already taxed via income tax and VAT.

i understand u need to pay for road, hospital, public servants, rowley vacation. and u have to tax the populace to get the funds.
when u buy land or inherit land in a certain area, the land value tends to go according to how developed the surroundings are. so u can use that as a metric to calculate land tax or situation tax.
can work with that.

but now, when u or ur family saved and banned belly for upteen years, cooking and eating bhaigan choka, stitching back clothes to build a good nice house for the extended family to live, and they may not have any big wuk with big income. what justification is there to vary the tax according to how comfortable they made their house?
u and the government are saying, that if u want a good life style, u must pay more, on a yearly basis ( u aint ask if their yearly income could accommodate it.
if u want to spend out all ur money going fete, buying brands, eating tgi and ruby, and living like rat in a hole, ur tax is less.

and just because america and england charging per brick every year, doesn't make it right. it may work in favor of the citizens there, cause they wuold have good roads, health care system, police system. but the injustice is compensated in real tangible justice in other areas.

remember, america considered black people no better than animals up till the 60's, and england just occupied other countries because they didnt consider the people there actual equal humans.
just because america does it, doesn't make it right.

tax the land, not the house. they didnt buy one damn brick, or one piece of wood and tell u, 'go, shelter the rain".. but they taxed it when u had to buy it though.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » March 20th, 2017, 10:06 pm

No person can live well unless provided with necessities - blame aristotle if you must ....

What are these necessities? Roads, schools, police, local government services, airport, seaports, civil service (not withstanding the bureacracy).

Am I to run out 4.00 am in the morning with ten shillings to pay the garbage collectors? Who otherwise should pay those guys? Maybe you guessed the Govt or since we are talking tax, could it be property tax? Has anyone stopped to ask whether they paid for driving on the road, such as a toll, or other tax .........

As I have indicated before you have to pay if you want to enjoy service .........

PROPERTY TAX may very well be a misnomer. Since all property owners will enjoy similar services, there should be no difference in the tax I pay with my 15K sq ft land and two storey house and my neighbour with 5k sq ft., single storey house. Also the right to enjoy other services at the national level is paid for by other taxes .................

Poll Tax, Governance Tax or you can help me to clarify ........

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 20th, 2017, 10:40 pm

matr1x wrote:Will lavantille, beetham, malaoney and sea lots.be paying this tax? Or will they be free loading like usual?

Nah the tax is based on the yearly rental value of the land. Which would be $0 for the areas you mentioned.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 21st, 2017, 1:12 am

the thing is you already paid taxes on the money (income)you used to acquire the land /building.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 21st, 2017, 1:17 am

drchaos wrote:
matr1x wrote:Will lavantille, beetham, malaoney and sea lots.be paying this tax? Or will they be free loading like usual?

Nah the tax is based on the yearly rental value of the land. Which would be $0 for the areas you mentioned.

How are they determining your yearly rental ? As far as i see betham lavantille maloney Embacdere are all prime property

Postby RASC » March 21st, 2017, 5:46 am

This will add a significant amount of liquidity to the market. MUCH needed!

Will they be instituting legislation to charge owners of derelict empty/over grown lots?
Can't wait for that one to be inacted:)

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 21st, 2017, 8:04 am

They probably will ... but I not worried bout my derelict lot ... the GORTT does pass legislation but impotent at enforcing it.

Postby teems1 » March 21st, 2017, 8:17 am

RASC wrote:This will add a significant amount of liquidity to the market. MUCH needed!

Will they be instituting legislation to charge owners of derelict empty/over grown lots?

Want to know what else will add significant minetary benefits to the country?

Trimming the fat in the public service and all those projects with massive overruns.

If you want more tax, prove you are able to spend the current tax dollars wisely, until then keep quiet.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 21st, 2017, 8:35 am

teems1 wrote:
RASC wrote:This will add a significant amount of liquidity to the market. MUCH needed!

Want to know what else will add significant minetary benefits to the country?

Trimming the fat in the public service and all those projects with massive overruns.

If you want more tax, prove you are able to spend the current tax dollars wisely, until then keep quiet.

So true the government demands we observe the law and pay our taxes but they don't seem to follow their own advice. So why should we?