The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

apple

Re: Self Employed...The Thread

Postby apple » August 11th, 2010, 10:01 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote::| why would you tell your wife you going to do something like that?

Just tell her the money invested in some import and retail business

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 12th, 2010, 7:24 pm

So ...

I started :D

I love what i'm doing :D

and its fantastic :D

de end

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 12th, 2010, 10:24 pm

oh btw ..I not working for marcus , even tho he offer me the proposition b4 but my mother would kill me ...

I meant I started up my own business , it running , have no time for nothing :| wuk in meh tail ( ok i lie I work 100% 5 days wed-sun, mon-tue i work 50% of the time ) .. I have no money !!! I ain't making a large profit but I making my clientele :D !

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » August 13th, 2010, 1:18 am

Congrats Eurogirl.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » August 13th, 2010, 6:54 am

^^ lol, have patience and dont give up =]

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 13th, 2010, 8:08 am

eurogirl wrote:oh btw ..I not working for marcus , even tho he offer me the proposition b4 but my mother would kill me ...

I meant I started up my own business , it running , have no time for nothing :| wuk in meh tail ( ok i lie I work 100% 5 days wed-sun, mon-tue i work 50% of the time ) .. I have no money !!! I ain't making a large profit but I making my clientele :D !

What business do u have.?

Well folks lemme join this thread a bit, I am a plant Operator, working shift 4days on 4 days off. So i decided to open a Cyber cafe and computer store to run on my off days, Lexxis Computer Services, i offer computer repairs, Internet cafe, multiplayer gaming etc. Its a decent cafe next to where i live, nice client base and most important NO RENT and i owes nobody for nuttin :). So come check it out :mrgreen:

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » August 13th, 2010, 8:46 am

Hey folks, this thread has progressed nicely. So far we have not violated Duane's advertising rule.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 13th, 2010, 9:17 am

I think some of it is 'bordering' on the advertising rule.....and maybe the rule of law ( :lol: @ marcus)

But considering the nature of this thread, I'm sure the bossman will let it fly.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 13th, 2010, 9:32 am

if anyone of you got over 100k lying around doing nothing

invest in oil stock now :!:

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » August 13th, 2010, 9:34 am

Mr Gear wrote:Hey folks, this thread has progressed nicely.

Indeed. Looking forward to the next meetup.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » August 13th, 2010, 12:41 pm

yes yes , im glad i made a priceless contribution to the topic =]

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 13th, 2010, 12:45 pm

marcus8860 wrote:^^ lol, have patience and dont give up =]

Thanks babe :D !!! :mrgreen:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 14th, 2010, 3:29 am

Got into photography as a hobby some years ago.
Started making some supplemental income from it while at my day job.
Became the in-house photographer at my day job.
Started an online photographic community last February.
Quit my job to pursue photography professionally and open a studio/photographic education institution last November.
There have been some ketcharse times, but it's growing. Over 2000 facebook fans, and every week I meet more and more people who say they've heard the name or they're familiar with the logo as a result of guerilla marketing.
The online community continues to grow, and offers free photographic mentoring sessions to photographers of all levels.
Next weekend the studio hosts its first seminar and workshop with an internationally acclaimed instructor.

work = 27 hours a day / 369 days a year

I've watched this a couple times. I find it interesting cos I grew up nearly identically to the guy in the video.

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2010, 4:31 am

Sigh..no rest for the wicked

Just booked for POS-Hong kong and HK to Shanghai for October 5th to November 18th

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 14th, 2010, 6:02 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:I've watched this a couple times. I find it interesting cos I grew up nearly identically to the guy in the video.

Thanks a lot for that vid.

I'm thinking of making that big jump.

What I've noted locally is the misconception that to do anything worth doing you'd need a lot of capital. This alone would hamper instead of nurture upcoming entrepreneurs.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » August 14th, 2010, 9:40 am

Excellent post there Skully.

I am always surprised when I encounter other people who visit [url]Ted.Com[/url]

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 16th, 2010, 2:58 pm

Need some USD urgently.

Anyone?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 16th, 2010, 3:04 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Need some USD urgently.

Anyone?

check RBTT

i get daily from them

but the rates are from 6.38 to 6.46

Postby Redman » August 16th, 2010, 7:52 pm

Conrad wrote:
Notorious Scullman wrote:I've watched this a couple times. I find it interesting cos I grew up nearly identically to the guy in the video.

Thanks a lot for that vid.

I'm thinking of making that big jump.

What I've noted locally is the misconception that to do anything worth doing you'd need a lot of capital. This alone would hamper instead of nurture upcoming entrepreneurs.

Well breddo- you need to be well capitalized- if not you can be right WRT your idea etc but wrong on your execution-not having enough cash to execute it properly,can be a fatal mistake.
Its not a misconception its good advice- better to have to much than too little.
Fact of life

Later

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 17th, 2010, 11:26 pm

I disagree. Many of the most successful companies around today started on the smallest of budgets. The fact that one can make a business venture succeed without being financially catapulted into the arena says a lot about the entrepreneur and a lot about the company's future.

That said, there are also avenues available for small business financing. This financing can be quite easy to receive, but requires hard work and determination to ensure it is repaid on time, thus qualifying you for secondary financing to take you to the next level.

Postby Redman » August 18th, 2010, 7:56 am

We on the same page
You say small budget- a budget is a plan of action.
I'm saying well capitalized-meaning that having planned you have the required funds. Or at least sourced them

Same result from different POV

Proper planning requires SUFFICIENT funds not plenty.

Later

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 18th, 2010, 8:41 am

Redman wrote:Proper planning requires SUFFICIENT funds not plenty.

Conrad wrote:misconception that to do anything worth doing you'd need a lot of capital.

:wink:

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » August 19th, 2010, 1:50 pm

This thread has indeed progressed nicely.

The difficulty I find in my line of work (Accounting), is that people will ask for advice (which is not paid for) but then some they take their business elsewhere.
However, business is good but can always be better.
The market may be saturated as alot of other areas but I believe that once you can provide excellent service with conveniences to clients at competitive prices you can never go wrong.
I aim to provide services customized to the business/company's individual needs at prices suitable for the service provided.

Postby Rooki3 » August 19th, 2010, 2:03 pm

are the profits form selling alcohol(bar) attractive, seriously considering it!!!!

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » August 19th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:I disagree. Many of the most successful companies around today started on the smallest of budgets.

Success stories along those lines (alot of them local) have played a major role in my inspiration to be self employed.. knowing of people who started off with next to nothing ( 2 piglets or a few loaves of bread per day or a couple chickens) and now have extremely successful businesses... that's going to be me someday :D

btw TED.com 8-)

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » August 19th, 2010, 7:34 pm

Rooki3 wrote:are the profits form selling alcohol(bar) attractive, seriously considering it!!!!

Yes they are! Believe me.

See an earlier post by me in this thread though, for behind the scene details about the running of a bar. Sometimes the headaches may outweigh the profits, depending on your particular stage in life.

Postby brams112 » August 25th, 2010, 8:23 pm

alcohol will always have money,once you are prepared to go the distance,ever see the price a beer in the grocery,then go to a pub and pay for one?man it is just a matter of wanting to acheive something in life,choose a business because you either know about it or want to get into something for your future,anytime someone does it just for the lust of the fast buck you will fail,hate what you got into or just want to give it up,,,beer garden is a good choice,,,location is the key,,

Postby wagonrunner » September 6th, 2010, 6:26 pm

In case I missed it,

what are the pros vs cons, requirements & recommendations of registering a business as a sole trader vs a limited liability company in Trinidad?

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » September 6th, 2010, 9:57 pm

The main benefit is that as a Limited Liability company the assets of the company are separate and apart from your own personal assets. In the event that the limited liability company goes belly up or is sued and losses the person taking action against the company has to limit his claims to the assets of the business and cannot go after your personal assets.

Take for example an employee of your is driving the company registered van and it crashes into an Audi Q7 carrying four lawyers and a doctor and they all die. Your driver caused the accident and has no legal excuse. The wrongful death claim is in the multi millions and exceeds the coverage provided by the vehicle insurance policy. The claims will then have to be satisfied by the assets of the business. You don't want them coming after your car and house and bank accounts. An accident like this can happen to any business at any time without warning.

There are other benefits that others will add in response to your question.

Postby wagonrunner » September 6th, 2010, 10:26 pm

hmm, with that thought, the director / operator of said business should then have a personal vehicle, and a company vehicle.
for starting companies thats a bit of a hurdle. any insights / recommendations?