2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Re: 2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby RASC » October 8th, 2015, 7:10 am

K74T wrote:KFC goes up by dollars yet people still buy, doubles go up by a dollar and everyone loses their minds.

No corporate tax
No employee benefits
No serious advertising campaigns
No PAYE

Yet a 25% increase over a 15% increase of an extremely small portion of your overall expenditure/costs?

I think people have a right to complain and its time they pay their dues to the country. TAX DOUBLES VENDORS!

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2015, 7:22 am

RASC wrote:$4 for a doubles was stretching it... $5?
Not worth it in the least. Let them keep it!

Raising the price IN ANTICIPATION??? Foolishness...anyway govt coming to tax their backsides too-it's about time!!
They're making money hand over fist without paying a cent-while everyone else has to fork out to the tax man.

Shameless profiteering. Doubles never went down with the removal of VAT on staples but they quick too increase on a marginal input rise.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 7:30 am

It's not profiteering exactly. Businesses need to secure themselves in light of expected inflation.

it's exactly as I speculated, the perception of more disposable income combined with increased transportation costs will lead high inflation.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 8th, 2015, 7:35 am

RASC wrote:
K74T wrote:KFC goes up by dollars yet people still buy, doubles go up by a dollar and everyone loses their minds.

No corporate tax
No employee benefits
No serious advertising campaigns
No PAYE

Yet a 25% increase over a 15% increase of an extremely small portion of your overall expenditure/costs?

I think people have a right to complain and its time they pay their dues to the country. TAX DOUBLES VENDORS!

Fcuk KFC too. They keep raising because people keep buying.

Postby RASC » October 8th, 2015, 7:36 am

Daran wrote:It's not profiteering exactly. Businesses need to secure themselves in light of expected inflation.

it's exactly as I speculated, the perception of more disposable income combined with increased transportation costs will lead high inflation.

They already increased from 1 to 4dollars in the matter of a year or two.
All of a sudden ANOTHER increase with one of the smallest expenditures?

During that major hike it was FLOUR OIL and the MINIMUM wage which all saw a significant hike-15% on super gas warrants another 25%? While paying NO CORPORATE TAXES?

Madness!

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 7:43 am

Rasc it's not as simple as that. These are people like you and me, not large corporations. Their profit is their salary.

So if general inflation increases by 5-10% every year, expect the price to go by a similar rate.

The reason they didn't drop the price when VAT was removed from flour and oil, is because that compensated for the general inflation, so the net effect was no price increase.

You now want to tax small businesses with corporate tax? Do you understand anything about the economy?
Last edited by Daran on October 8th, 2015, 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » October 8th, 2015, 7:43 am

It is profiteering... They're jumping the gun and saying "yeah well super raise so we hadda do dis"

-No other ingredients have significantly increased
-Minimum wage increase long time
-Flour prices steady
-No corporate taxes

Then this one minor increase,on one of their smallest expenditures- "we cyar tek it no more Nah bai dan"

They're sending a message, and I think the government needs to send an even STRONGER message right back!

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2015, 7:50 am

Good ting I lock off da doubles ting long before elections. Dem boy giving ppl black eye peas mix wid channa

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 7:51 am

Rasc, do you understand the concept of purchasing power and inflation?

By your logic people providing service type businesses should never increase their rates since they have little to no overheads?

You want the government to send them a message? This is a free market hoss, consumers will send a message if they're unhappy. Are you listening to yourself?

Postby dougla_boy » October 8th, 2015, 7:59 am

rfari wrote:Good ting I lock off da doubles ting long before elections. Dem boy giving ppl black eye peas mix wid channa

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Postby RASC » October 8th, 2015, 8:03 am

Daran wrote:Rasc, do you understand the concept of purchasing power and inflation?

By your logic people providing service type businesses should never increase their rates since they have little to no overheads?

You want the government to send them a message? This is a free market hoss, consumers will send a message if they're unhappy. Are you listening to yourself?

Don't lecture me on purchasing power parity and demand push inflation.

They are JUMPING THE GUN...because the govt has not even fully corrected the vat issue.

There are a lot of zero rated items which do not deserve to be , plus other items which may become zero rated. We got a reprieve on income tax allowances while simultaneously increasing the price of other services...the budget was balanced... And is still being tweeked and reviewed!

They are unnecessarily jumping the gun!

Some of your highest costs is EMPLOYEE WAGES... minimum wage significantly increased under the last administration- NOT A PEEP from them, neither did the cost (approx $2) per doubles go up...a minor increase and yuh ready to jump 25% extra on?

Get Real

Postby RASC » October 8th, 2015, 8:10 am

ADDED TO WHICH

The nasty comments that were being made by UNC commentators many of whom are involved in the doubles industry... About "well is only them does buy we ting so we go buss price on them"

That was he attitude post budget by the UNC faithful... And how they gonna boycott Syrian businesses and boycott anyone who supporting the PNM...well its time everyone who does not subscribe to that level of hate, racism and ignorance show them what it means.

The government have a gift brewing for them also in the form of PROPER corporate tax collection!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 8th, 2015, 8:15 am

RASC wrote:
Daran wrote:Rasc, do you understand the concept of purchasing power and inflation?

Don't lecture me on purchasing power parity and demand push inflation.

They are JUMPING THE GUN...because the govt has not even fully corrected the vat issue.

There are a lot of zero rated items which do not deserve to be , plus other items which may become zero rated. We got a reprieve on income tax allowances while simultaneously increasing the price of other services...the budget was balanced... And is still being tweeked and reviewed!

They are unnecessarily jumping the gun!

Some of your highest costs is EMPLOYEE WAGES... minimum wage significantly increased under the last administration- NOT A PEEP from them, neither did the cost (approx $2) per doubles go up...a minor increase and yuh ready to jump 25% extra on?

Get Real

While I think doubles people on sheit I go side with Daran on this one. Government shouldn't do anything in this case. The people should. We complain then go right back and buy. Let people reduce how much doubles they buy and you'll see the price drop back.

Postby pete » October 8th, 2015, 8:19 am

They may want to do corporate tax collection but how do you get doubles vendors to register?

Do we move towards the way it's done in the US where all street vendors must have a license, be tax registered and file taxes every year?

Should all business down to the parlor on the side of the road do this as well? Can we crack down on those places with no parking that disrupt the flow of traffic too?

Postby RASC » October 8th, 2015, 8:19 am

I'm advocating both. I apologise if I didn't pass along that message either.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 8th, 2015, 8:30 am

Jeez taxing small businesses is the exact opposite of what we should be doing. They can be regulated, but any tax more than 5% will result in drastic inflation.

Rasc please express these same vociferous complaints next time any big business raises their prices ok. At least doubles men were honest about why they raised the cost.

Advent

Postby Advent » October 8th, 2015, 8:30 am

I agree with RASC , since when doubles is like a stock market ? anticipation causing price to raise ? lolwut?

Postby j.o.e » October 8th, 2015, 8:31 am

I am NOT buying $5 doubles.

Postby dougla_boy » October 8th, 2015, 8:45 am

fok doubles

#teamfitforlulz

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 8th, 2015, 8:46 am

RASC wrote:$4 for a doubles was stretching it... $5?
Not worth it in the least. Let them keep it!

Raising the price IN ANTICIPATION??? Foolishness...anyway govt coming to tax their backsides too-it's about time!!
They're making money hand over fist without paying a cent-while everyone else has to fork out to the tax man.

how the government going to calculate how much money a doubles man making, or any family owned food business? this extends to loads of other business which deal in cash eg small hardwares have more than one receipt book.
Even up to maisons or labourer , plumbers make way more than the taxable income , but how are you going to prove that?

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2015, 8:46 am

have a doubles man in penal still selling doubles for $2

paltoo doubles is $3 currently

Postby *KRONIK* » October 8th, 2015, 9:03 am

I now eat a 5 doubles dey

Paid 3/unit

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 8th, 2015, 9:10 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:have a doubles man in penal still selling doubles for $2

Paltoo doubles 8-)

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » October 8th, 2015, 9:18 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:have a doubles man in penal still selling doubles for $2

Dan........

Will the price of aloo pie, saheena etc raise also?

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2015, 9:26 am

Daran wrote:Jeez taxing small businesses is the exact opposite of what we should be doing. They can be regulated, but any tax more than 5% will result in drastic inflation.

Rasc please express these same vociferous complaints next time any big business raises their prices ok. At least doubles men were honest about why they raised the cost.

Well when doubles vendors pay rent,NIS,Income tax,Green fund business levy and solid wages ....then they deserve protection....

Until then they are abusing the system while enjoying the benefits of other peoples tax dollars.

How does a 15% increase in FUEL cause a 25% increase in cost of a STATIC FRIGGIN BUSINESS???
Last edited by Redman on October 8th, 2015, 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 1UZFE » October 8th, 2015, 9:35 am

j.o.e wrote:I am NOT buying $5 doubles.

This..
But do u still buy kfc???

Postby The_Honourable » October 8th, 2015, 9:39 am

Jump high jump low, if the populace continues to buy, businesses will keep raising prices.

Postby mero » October 8th, 2015, 9:40 am

Hope the Saheena don't get touch yes

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2015, 9:45 am

pete wrote:They may want to do corporate tax collection but how do you get doubles vendors to register?

Do we move towards the way it's done in the US where all street vendors must have a license, be tax registered and file taxes every year?

Should all business down to the parlor on the side of the road do this as well? Can we crack down on those places with no parking that disrupt the flow of traffic too?

No tax return, no food badge.
No food badge and caught selling food = big fine.

Tax evasion is a serious thing and although doubles/food businesses are a dread hustle, we all have to work hard and pay our taxes. Why should some folks be illegally exempt?
Doh let them fool you, you ever see their 'other' cars or houses?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 8th, 2015, 9:54 am

Curry channa and coehlo bread.. buy le tin channa in le supermarket. .curry to suit..

To acquire le bread one must live in a populated area and le coehlo man will be willing and ready to assist you by the junction. ..