zoom rader wrote:pioneer wrote:Habit7 wrote:pioneer wrote:As I said go UWI and look for it, they might let you in with your utt ID just tell them you need to do some research.
If that speech was ever made public in these times, chaos would ensue and all PNMites would be demanding jostiss. Speak Out T&T would not have a wall big enough to hold all their rage.
Many political scientists have written books about the speech. If you have $5USD on your credit card I can show you where to get it.pioneer wrote:Habit7 wrote:pioneer wrote:Habit7 you left out the part where williams attacked hindus
Well first your argument was that Dr. Williams made racist speeches. I quoted from your sources to show that you were wrong and the author cites Dr. Williams' speeches from Nehru's speeches (something a proved before).
Now you are unto how he attacked Hindus. From what I understand from the author, the Hindus were coalescing under the banner of DLP against Dr. Williams to reject what they perceive to be a "hegemonic" racial governance of Afro-Trinidadians. Dr. Williams sought to allay their fears and showed that his gov't was multi-racial and non-partisan. Nevertheless, the DLP appealed for support on the base of race and religion.
If you believe your source is making your point then quote it. Don't just throw a book into the air and say "my point is made here" with the hope that nobody would actually read it.
Were there much black hindus back in the 50's?
As I said everything he said is in his speech, which has never been published (to my knowledge) anywhere on the internet for it will release a can of worms the pnm will can't handle.
The books I posted were discourse based on what he said, and the politics of the time back then.
That's all really.
So this 60 year old speech, which you heard, but hasnt been recorded, proves your point.![]()
Stick to trolling, factual items are not your thing.
Ok guy kool, don't blame me if you refuse to research and read.
For your sake of denial though:
1. Eric never referred to hindu schools as "cowsheds"
2. Imbert never refer to students of the Biche High School as duens and lagahoo (resembles 1. ent?)
3. PNM didn't cannibalize Kamal Mohammed (same thing they accuse UNC of)
I'll go on but is time for GTA5
Those things you speak about never happened same as calutta ship was just a rumour .
Habit7 wrote:It seems like every argument you all put up gets shot down. The "recalcitrant minority" get shot down (by your own source) so now it is unto the "cowshed" reference as if he was really using it as a pejorative.
I still waiting on excerpts from his racist speech 60 years ago that you heard. Do not move on just yet, the hole you are digging for yourself not deep enough yet.
zoom rader wrote:Yeah rfari pp does tell dey tell ppl doh vote for the Congo ship when doing dey election house to house walk .
... "Indo Trini Block" - Diamond Estate, in the early stages was a virtual squatting area where vegetables were cultivated by a number of Indian and Irish families.
The Irish came mostly from Barbados and St. Vincent and were regarded as 'poor whites'.
Iris Toyer, 89, of Irish heritage was born in "Indo Trini Block" and has lived there all her life.
She said: "My mother was a Redhead from Barbados and she came to Trinidad in search of better opportunities."
The name of the place was changed to Patna Village in 1958 by former Chief Minister Dr Eric Williams, because he wanted the word "Indo Trini" removed from the local vocabulary.
It was called Patna Village because most of the East Indians living there had roots in Patna, a town on the Ganges, and the capital of Bihar state in India.
As a group with a common culture, they started celebrating Divali by lighting deyas in the village savannah.
Then a special committee headed by Basook Mahadeo decided to close North West Drive to vehicular traffic and light up the entire street.
This initiative was a huge success for many years as it brought hundreds of people to the village during the festival of Divali.
However, because of a lack of financial support from the government, the last time the village was illuminated was in 2008.
"Two years ago we stopped the lighting up because of lack of funds," said Mahadeo.
The water wheel located at the entrance to the village was used for crushing the sugar cane produced on the estate. Opposite the wheel is a museum highlighting a history of the estate.
Blue Basin Waterfall remains as one of the major showpieces in the valley and is the most accessible waterfall in Trinidad.
Diamond Estate has its own history.
It was home to many East Indian families until the land was assigned for housing development. Tola Ram, a former resident, said: "We were asked to move to Cumuto when government decided to convert Diamond Estate into a housing settlement, but we refused. Cumuto was too far as many of us had already established ourselves in the valley so we went to Patna Village. In 1961 Homes International built 2,000 houses on 102.4 acres.
The project, the first of its kind in Trinidad, was launched on April 5, 1961 and Diamond Estate became Diamond Vale.
zoom rader wrote:Williams wanted the word "Indo trini removed form local vocabulary .
Well he failed big time with that .
The name of the place was changed to Patna Village in 1958 by former Chief Minister Dr Eric Williams, because he wanted the word "c o o l i e" removed from the local vocabulary.
zoom rader wrote:Williams wanted the word "Indo trini removed form local vocabulary .
Well he failed big time with that .