Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby rfari » May 2nd, 2012, 10:02 am

the chive in my long system were started from seeds. the only things that came to mind is maybe ur fertiliser was too low on phosphorous (helps develops roots). but it doesn't explain how ur lettuce and ur chive cuttings are coming along better. (were these started from seeds as well?) in ur previous posts when u started, u mentioned that there was a stunt in growth. this can be another issue.
in the future, spray hi-phosphorous foliar on the seedlings at 1/4 strength (.5EC) until you notice healthy roots on the seedlings. then do the transplant.

as i mentioned before, the lettuce looks good to me. i know some types of lettuce tend to get that purple colour tho. if you can confirm the type, shakes will be in a better position to help you out.

mattu

Postby mattu » May 2nd, 2012, 12:45 pm

everything started up from seeds, except for the 2 big chive plants. How old are the chive in your picture?
the main problems i had in the earlier days was forgetting to turn on the light, and well up to now i dont have a pH meter.. im assuming the pH of the water is like 7.4 so im adding some lime to bring it down (i know is a BS way of doing it but...)

OHH the spots on the lettuce are purple... lol i thought they were brown lol... sorry im colourblind. ok that type should have some purple in it...... its buttercrunch lettuce

Postby rfari » May 2nd, 2012, 1:10 pm

mattu wrote:everything started up from seeds, except for the 2 big chive plants. How old are the chive in your picture?
the main problems i had in the earlier days was forgetting to turn on the light, and well up to now i dont have a pH meter.. im assuming the pH of the water is like 7.4 so im adding some lime to bring it down (i know is a BS way of doing it but...)

OHH the spots on the lettuce are purple... lol i thought they were brown lol... sorry im colourblind. ok that type should have some purple in it...... its buttercrunch lettuce

My chive is about 2 months. Have to check my notes and get back to you. And its a bad idea to raise the ph of ur solution, especially for plants that are healthy. When nutes are added to water, the ph drops. As plants absorb nutrients from the solution, the ph tends to rise. I'm assuming that as you don't have a ph and ec meter, you do regular nute changes. Correct? What nutrients are you using?

Postby nervewrecker » May 5th, 2012, 7:39 pm

rfari wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Saw a what looks like pretty good sized system at the back of a bar near the end of boodoo trace penal yesterday. About 30feet long and spans across the entire width of the building, I think multiple layers too.
I didnt want to take pics, I fraid I get labled as a bandit and be shot.

link some spy shots meng

went penal with my stalking capabilities and scored some pics. I end up meeting the guy, he says it didnt work out, he gonna try again. He also said he getting ready to go out but if I swing back a next time we can chat and I welcome to take some close up pics.
0505201213351.jpg
0505201213341.jpg
0505201213331.jpg

Postby rfari » May 5th, 2012, 8:35 pm

decent setup there. did he say what he grew and what the issues were?

Postby nervewrecker » May 5th, 2012, 8:36 pm

naw, he didnt get time to talk, man was in his underpants and look like he now done bathe (which he stated he did).
he said he starting over in a 2 weeks.

mattu

Postby mattu » May 6th, 2012, 3:19 pm

@ rfari,
im using Schultz liquid pland food (10-15-10)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 6th, 2012, 10:14 pm

rfari wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Saw a what looks like pretty good sized system at the back of a bar near the end of boodoo trace penal yesterday. About 30feet long and spans across the entire width of the building, I think multiple layers too.
I didnt want to take pics, I fraid I get labled as a bandit and be shot.

link some spy shots meng

went penal with my stalking capabilities and scored some pics. I end up meeting the guy, he says it didnt work out, he gonna try again. He also said he getting ready to go out but if I swing back a next time we can chat and I welcome to take some close up pics.

why this tree have so much fruits on it?? allyuh want help to clean it or wa? :lol: :lol:

Postby stev » May 9th, 2012, 9:58 am

just saw this and decided to drop it here

Postby rfari » May 28th, 2012, 9:30 pm

^^ simple yet effective planters there. earlier in the ched, shakes posted some photos of DIY planters similar. good stuff to hang off ur roof or on a window sill.

system wasn't in my care for almost 3 weeks and had mixed results with produce. because of lack of root support, the chive started to lean and get out of hand. started to reap this evening. pesticide free :mrgreen: . giving away to the neighbours and relatives. if there's more, i'll bring some to sweat this week.

peppers in the hydroton not catching on like i expected. the hydrid sweet peppers tho. the tomato plants started to get too heavy for the supports and it broke down so i'll have to mcgyver something soon.

hopefully by the end of the week, i'm going to start fresh.

Postby rfari » May 28th, 2012, 9:34 pm

got some seeds. i can't use all on my own so if 2nrs interested in starting a seed bank i'm up for it.

Survival Vegetable Garden Seeds- 35 Varieties

Included in this selection of heirloom seeds are the following tomato varieties (all packages 75+ seeds):
Cherokee Purple
Black Krim
Brandywine, Pink
Mortgage Lifter
Roma- 200+ Seeds
Beefsteak
Yellow Pear
German Johnson
Rutgers
Pink Oxheart

Lettuces (over 5,000 seeds in total)
Red Romaine
Rouge d'Hiver
Black Seeded Simpson
Buttercrunch
Forellenschluss
Spinach- Gigante d'Napoli
Brune d'Hiver
Oakleaf
Red Salad Bowl
Arugula

Herbs (2,300+ seeds)
Basil- Large Leaf 300 seeds
Parsley- Gigante Di Napoli 500 seeds
Dill 1,300 seeds
Coriander 200 seeds

Peppers (150+ seeds)
California Wonder Bell 75 seeds
Quadratto Giallo- Yellow Bell 75 seeds

Others (2,000+ seeds)
Eggplant- Black Beauty 100 seeds
Cabbage- Copenhagen 300 seeds
Cauliflower- Snowball 300 seeds
Broccoli- Waltham 200 seeds
Onion- Yellow Sweet Spanish 250 seeds
Cucumber- Straight 8 100 seeds
Carrot- Scarlet Nantes 1,000 seeds
Carrot- St. Valery 300 seeds
Turnip- Purple Top White Globe 500 Seeds

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 28th, 2012, 9:50 pm

fari,wa u doing with all dem seeds hoss,all dat u gonna plant,or some1 was generous.

Postby rfari » May 28th, 2012, 9:54 pm

it was just the wide variety of tomatoes i was looking for and i get carried away yes. willing to trade or give away. dont mind trying them all over time tho.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 28th, 2012, 10:08 pm

hmmm try ah thing yes...but this rain real fukking up these days bai...cyah plant nuttin good nah..

Postby rfari » May 28th, 2012, 11:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:hmmm try ah thing yes...but this rain real fukking up these days bai...cyah plant nuttin good nah..

i seeing that jed. i put down some melongene and lettuce using traditional methods and no considerable growth noted. using top soil with a horse manure/sawdust mix. no added fertilisers yet. a little over a month now. tmmrw i gonna pudong some blaukorn

geodude

Postby geodude » May 29th, 2012, 4:54 am

yeah fellas the rain caused me a lot of stress in mid April, lost about 200 plants due to water logging, and the rains game like 3 days after i transplanted so the conditions they created basically shell shocked the plants, cost me alot of time and money to get the plants out of the funk they were in.
and as i first time farmer boi i was way over my head i was actually ready to cut my losses, watching all the plants yellow in the ground and seeing no real development in them after 2 weeks of being transplanted was very hard on me, but daily trips to the village bar provided me with enough information, advice and encouragement to see through with the project, them old fellas have some good info, but dread not me and punchin again nah.
so the peppers have started flowering and a few are developing peppers right now, sorry i didn't take pics to catalogue the process but hopefully when i return home my 1500 tress will be lit up like its Christmas. :)

Postby bluesteel29 » May 29th, 2012, 8:38 am

any of you use vinegar as ph down?
trying to find out if the harvested crops will have any difference in taste with vinegar vs the ph down(phosphoric acid)

Postby rfari » May 29th, 2012, 11:53 am

bluesteel29 wrote:any of you use vinegar as ph down?
trying to find out if the harvested crops will have any difference in taste with vinegar vs the ph down(phosphoric acid)

never used to control ph but i read about it. that and lime juice. but it's shouldnt be a long term solution.it would hold for a few days then ur ph would shot back up. if u get a link for some reasonably priced phosphoric or nitric acid, lemme know.

Postby bluesteel29 » May 29th, 2012, 8:10 pm

rfari wrote:
bluesteel29 wrote:any of you use vinegar as ph down?

never used to control ph but i read about it. that and lime juice. but it's shouldnt be a long term solution.it would hold for a few days then ur ph would shot back up. if u get a link for some reasonably priced phosphoric or nitric acid, lemme know.

lime juice works really good but it isn't cost effective if u dont got lime trees :(
yeah the ph does raise after awhile in my DWC/bubbleponics system but not by full pts so its nothing big to put a few ml of ph down every 3-4days.

heading into Maraval there's a hardware before the quickshoppe on ur left close too the police station...bought a big bottle of phosphoric acid to clean yards some years ago for a decent price...dont know if they still sell it tho.

i ordered some atlas ph down n up from amazon but its garbage so stay away from it...it takes less vinegar to achieve the same results

On another note....anyone used the tracmac nutes "thumbs up"?
tried it for a week in my bubble system n i got alot of slime...anyone else had this prob?

Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby rfari » May 29th, 2012, 11:20 pm

Never heard of the thumbs up/down products. What kind of slime was it? Like algae? This week I gonna look for some phosphoric acid in hardwares. Didn't knw they sold it. Never made ph adjustments to my solutions. Had to changes nutes regular. Bad practice, I know. :(

Tell me something. What's the ph of ur tap water? Mine's is normally about 7.8 and about the same level when I use tank water.

Postby bluesteel29 » May 30th, 2012, 12:41 am

nah not algae...it was light brown in colour,thick n gooey and floatin all over the place..ph would also fluctuate alot with those nutes,not sayin it isnt good for other hydro systems tho

7.2-7.7
221-252ppm
thats the avg in my area

v30

Postby v30 » August 25th, 2012, 3:04 am

i sell the general hydroponics flora nova grow and bloom by orders only, also got all the other special nutes as well fox farms etc ;) ... inbox

Postby Chimera » September 3rd, 2012, 12:55 am

taken at a customer's place
started about 4 months ago

the concrete tank has 2500 tilipia
when the man throw a container of feed...if you see the frenzy yes....

the half tanks have larger fish

he's using 12 inch pvc panels to make the beds for the lettuce

nutrient rich water from the tilipia tank will be pumped to two filters, one to filter out solids, the other to filter out i can't remember what

then to the beds with the plants

then back to the fish tank

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 3rd, 2012, 6:23 am

ABA is he using the recirculating water type system for his setup?

Postby Chimera » September 3rd, 2012, 11:36 am

yes its recirculating

water from fish tank goes to filters then to plants
then back to fish tank

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2012, 8:53 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:taken at a customer's place

nutrient rich water from the tilipia tank will be pumped to two filters, one to filter out solids, the other to filter out i can't remember what

real nice job man,saw something similar to this in Waterloo last year.

Postby Chimera » September 3rd, 2012, 8:58 pm

apparently some company sells 10 foot diameter tanks for $3000, cant remember the company
centrum or something so?
one concrete fish tank as posted above will provide enough nutrients for 5000 square feet of plants

Postby DVSTT » September 3rd, 2012, 9:03 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:taken at a customer's place

real nice job man,saw something similar to this in Waterloo last year.

By chance that's the house right next to the ice factory in San Fernando before the Mon Repos round about?

Postby Chimera » September 3rd, 2012, 9:06 pm

^^^ no this is in central, less than 5 minutes from st mary's junction

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2012, 9:23 pm

wow! bess setup there. is he commercial as yet? just this weekend my parents bought hydroponically grown lettuce and that produce is delicious!
wish i had the time to continue with my project but as it is i have wedding planning, masters, home construction, business and a side project to deal with all at once :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: so its alotta pace. will still play a part in the ched as best as possible.

aye ABA i eh forget you with the link analysis eh hoss